Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Michelin Pro4 Endurance Tire

MichelinPro4 Endurance Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(320 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(237)
(59)
(6)
(7)
(11)
(74%)
(18%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/12/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
In praise of Pro4 Endurance!

I've typically run Gatorskins 32c on my travel bike (Ritchey Breakaway). While durable enough, the Gatorskins have frustrated me with how sluggish they feel, and how hard they are to mount. I saw the BTD listing for Pro4 Endurance in 28c and remembering that Michelins run a little large and in my experience, are easy to mount and reasonably durable, I decided to take the plunge.

What a difference! The travel bike rides light and lively, the tires have proven to be durable, they were super easy to mount, and they do run a little large - which makes them fit just fine on my cross travel bike. I've taken them on smooth and rough roads, as well as light gravel, and they are holding up well.

Highly recommended (especially on sale!) and I will be picking up more in different sizes for various bikes. Good balance between durability, light weight, and ease of mounting.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matt

Reviewed 5/20/2023
by Matt
Chicago
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing Bang for Buck

In terms of rolling resistance, durability, road feel, AND not spending $xxx per tire, look no further. Great value for how much tire you get. I have gone through quite a few of these Fairly easy to seat. And I haven't had a problem with punctures. It's fairly easy to see when you need to replace the rear as you'll start to pick up small cuts and can see that clear flattening where the rubber meets the road. I have had luck using super glue to cover small cuts in new-ish tires (though I know other recommend things like shoe goo). I also will rotate the front, less-used tire into the rear, then put a new one on the front. Solid in the wet and exceptional stopping power when emergency braking. Just wish they made a tubeless version of this tire!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/14/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Evanston IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Glad I got a pair of these

Installed easily, smooth ride, I'm faster on these at the beginning of the '23 season than I was on Krylion 2 Endurance at the end of the '22 season. I've been riding 1200-1300 miles a year, and I own one bike (English, 531 from 1973, and I'm a lot older than the bike) so I don't buy a lot of tires. These are the best I've had. I like the compromise between performance and puncture prevention of the Krylion 2s, so I believe I'll like the compromise of the Pro 4s.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wally

Reviewed 3/25/2023
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
goes the distance on the front

I'm 76, ride for distance, solo, 5000 miles per yr, lots of centuries.

I used many, many different tires and have come to rely on the Pro4 Endurance as my go to FRONT tire.

I know this can be very subjective, but in my experience is this is the most reliable front tire to get me home w/o flatting. Or worse, cutting/blowout. There are a lot of bad roads and debris out there.

You will notice I specify front. I have found different behavior/types of flats between front and rear, and use different tires on the rear..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by puptent

Reviewed 12/16/2022
by puptent
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I am pleased with this tire

First off, purchased these on sale at BTD for a very good price. I'm running Conti "road" tubes in both sets. Tires are 700c 25. One set on my Six13, the other on my CAAD5. They mounted with no more than the usual struggle on Mavic rims, tire lever only for the last little bit. I'm enjoying a blizzard at the moment...I'm old, so more of a recreational rider than a racer. Had a couple of rides before winter set in on my "in town route" which includes some short gravel (mostly road crossings where I usually walk the bike across), asphalt, concrete, and a little bit of chip seal. No flats, and good ride quality. One longer ride on the Six13, about two hours (I don't keep track of miles, time, watts, etc.) at about 70 to 75 psi and the ride was pretty good over tar snakes, stretches of broken pavement, highway shoulders and asphalt bike trail. I cross RR tracks on nearly every ride, no drama. It's MTB and my "city" bike season now, if I get some clear roads I'll get out with them for some cold weather. I will put more miles on when spring gets here, if there's something dramatic to report I will update.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old NE Roadie

Reviewed 12/5/2022
by Old NE Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
My go to tires

Riding these for years on 2 bikes. Get well over 2k miles per tire. Easy on and off. Seldom flat unless I run them thru sharp debris. Good traction in corners. Using 25mm on carbon race bike and feel the ride is smooth enough.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 8/17/2018
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Love my Michelin Pro 4 tires

I have been using GatorSkins for years but have watched my speed go down as I have gotten older. I switched to Michelin Pro 4 ties after reading reviews on Amazon and other websites. I ordered a pair from BikeTiresDirect.com and they came pretty fast. The tires are a tight fit, but I have been happy so far. I have had two flats, however, one was a pinch flat and the other was from a thorn hight up on the sidewall. I don't fault the tires for those. The best part is I have picked up speed. The tires are slick and ride well, allowing me to ride a bit faster. I'll bu these again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob

Reviewed 6/29/2018
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
EXCELLENT ALL AROUND TIRE

This is an excellent all around tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mwa

Reviewed 7/19/2022
by mwa
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Long time user. Great long wearing tire. Tire profile is different, check your tolerances.

I have used Michelin Pro4 for some years. A great all around tire. I recently sized up from 700x23 to 700x25 and found a number of clearance issues. The 25 width profile is closer to 28mm than 25mm which created clearance problems on my Cervelo bikes. Also the vertical profile is higher that another brand and found a frame rubbing conflict. May bikes are older, so maybe new Cervelo's have larger clearances. Anyway a check when mounting is a good thing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris E

Reviewed 6/22/2022
by Chris E
Cycling Enthusiast
Escondido CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
I never knew choosing the right tire could make such a big difference.

I bought a pair of these from Bike Tires Direct based on the reviews I read.

Excellent tire, I highly recommend giving them a try, especially for the price.

One review piqued my interest from an older cyclist, 70 I think, who said over the years he noticed his average speed seemed to be slowing somewhat, until he used these tires.

Thinking it was probably just psychological on his part, I decided to get them to replace some Giant PSLR1tires, one of which was deteriorating badly and delaminating.

I was wrong, what an incredible difference in performance, much lower rolling resistance in a straight line (at 85 psi) and inspired grip when cornering. Would buy them again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/23/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Humboldt, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable, reliable, a great ride - perfect for recreation and training.

An excellent training and recreational tire. When properly inflated, seems to reduce rolling resistance. A very minor issue can be the fatness of the tire puts up a little resistance against the brake pads when reinstalling a wheel, but really that's part of the design.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Converse, TX USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
excellant tire

Michelin pro4 endurance tires are excellant !! I bought a pair of these and started to ride on them the beginining of October 2021. They are still on my wheels and have put 3000 miles on these tires, on rough rural roads in Texas, USA. They are just great tires. I was using the Conti Gator tires which are very good. I switch to the Michelin to check them out. These are my new go to tires. The Gators are good but seem to be heavier. I get better response from the Endurance tires and like their grippy feeling. I like them so much I have purchsed another pair of them. I will come back and update this as I feel they will last for quite some time. They are a good buy, I am pleased to say Michelin has come through again!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida Suncoast area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This tire is durable and yet comfortable riding

I have been riding Michelin tires for over 25 years, When Michelin came out with the Endurance tire I tried them and really like them I very seldom have a flat and I get about 2,500 miles of wear. Last year I rode about 7,200 miles and had two flats.When the rear is worn out, i put the front tire on the back and a new tire on the front. They aren't as sticky as a pure race tire, but they last a lot longer and are much more resistant to road debris.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/13/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
40 of 44 customers found this review helpful.
THIS...

I have had 3 sets of these now that I have run completely in to the ground with a grand total of 1, yes 1, flat. The shocker is the suppleness of the ride, compared to saya Gatorskin. I ride on a lot of sketchy rural roads, so these have seen all sorts of action. I have also run these for crits, with no complaints on that end either. I run 25's and modify the pressure according to the situation. I just put some 23's on my TT rig and the rid is a bit stiffer, but more responsive. My advice, go with the 25's as an all around tire, and you'll be satisfied. The all black looks dope. Happy trails!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan

Reviewed 7/29/2021
by Dan
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very supple

These tires are excellent if you need a little more cushion in your ride. I recommend the 28mm.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob J

Reviewed 12/29/2022
by Bob J
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Decent tire

Rolling resistance seems to be acceptable. They aren't the most comfortable tires I have ridden but I guess that's the trade off for the "Endurance". I haven't put on enough miles to determine life span. So far no flats.

Value is difficult to determine. Price increases of most tires have exceeded the value. Remember 2 years ago?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sterno

Reviewed 2/23/2021
by Sterno
Brooklyn, New York
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, durable and puncture resistant

I have used these tires for about a year and 2000+ miles on the rough and glass strewn roads of New York. I have not had a single flat, yet there are several deep cuts in the tread from glass. I feel totally secure on these tires. Even after the mileage, I can barely see any tread wear. Only con is that they were very difficult to mount the first time. Because of that I got a kind of lever that lifts the bead up an over the rim, and now it's easy every time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Flaco

Reviewed 11/28/2022
by Flaco
Cycling Enthusiast
South Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Reliable everyday road tire

This is my second set of these tires. Affordable, durable, reliable, and solid they stand up to all of the road cycling elements a rider from the Midwest faces.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim O�D

Reviewed 12/1/2022
by Tim O�D
Cycling Enthusiast
Puget Sound WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Grippy Tough tire

Great tire much better gripping than conti Gatorskins though not quite as puncture resistant at a comparable price. 2nd set I�ve had.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/21/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best all around tire

I have put about 1100 miles without a flat!!! I also have a friend (man of integrity) that works at Michelin...he said that a cyclist team tested the Pro series tires and found them to use 20% less wattage than the nearest competitor....I can testify that the tires (Pro 4 Endurance Tires) are incomparable in every area...and no need to remove for a race....

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 98

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]