Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
GU Energy Gels (Box of 24)

GUEnergy Gels (Box of 24)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(103 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(83)
(17)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(81%)
(17%)
(2%)
(1%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/4/2014
by Frankie
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just works

I was doubtful at first but the numbers don't lie. My average speed increased .6 mph while using this stuff as directed. Taste great. The caffeine boost is nice. I always swore coconut water is best. But this with the coconut water seems to work great. I bought 2 big boxes of this stuff. I use it every ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by EB ?? TOWN USA
Competitive Racer
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
GU ENERGY GEL (SALT & WATERMELON)

Sometimes you want solid Clif Bar food on a ride and other times a tasty gel. Salt & Watermelon tastes great and friends like it when we trade gel flavors during nutrition/hydration stops.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by rmictks
Competitive Racer
Wichita Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Taste great works

Been Using GU pre race and during for years have not found anything that works better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/11/2021
by bhroadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Black Hills of South Dakota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
FUELING THE EPICNESS

I use GU in accordance with their instructions...5 minutes to ride and every 45 minutes thereafter. It gives me that added boost to perform above and beyond by natural abilities!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2020
by Anonymous
Kansas
Overall Rating
Energy on the go

Love the product many good flavors. Just the right amount to get you home.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego , CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
VERY SATISFYING TASTE TO START THE RIDE

Start my riding by consuming (1) of these gels and every hour or so take another one -- easy to carry and take while riding -- not much not to like

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by Craig
Eads
Overall Rating
Chocomint

My new fave

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2020
by Pcola_Matt
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Energy Boost

During long rides I notice a big difference using the Energy Gels vs not using them. I like the flavor of the Salted Carmel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by DaveEye
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great taste and no crash

Been using GU gels (no caffeine) for years and they are the only gels I use. I find the consistency perfect. Some complain theyre too thick but I disagree with that. Ive tried the runny types and I spillt more,on my gloves than went into my mouth. Most importantly they are easy to digest and they dont cause me to crash. Buy them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/13/2018
by jlabombard
Cycling Enthusiast
Plattsburgh NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for sustained energy

This is a great product for sustained energy. Be certain to purchase the GU with caffeine as was recommended by a friend of mine who is a personal trainer. Follow the directions to take one approx. every 45 minutes and you can push your effort. I never tired during a 50 mile bike ride in the Adirondacks and I attribute that to this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Cyclingmasterseller
Cycling Enthusiast
Grove City, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good stuff

I used to prefer this gel over the more liquidy PowerBar gels, but not any longer.

All in all, this is a very good product, but I find it just a little tough to swallow, it's so gooey, it's almost like slugging down raw honey or something?

Pros It works to keep you moving and definitely helps you get up that next big hill or to keep up in your paceline after a long day in the saddle.

Cons A little on the gooey side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by DonBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super Product!

A must have for long rides!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Espresso Love!!!

My go to GU, love the flavor and the double caffeine!!! Being in AZ summer ride get warm and some GU's are hard to stomach or even get down this is quit the treat...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent product!

This is all I use for running !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2017
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Yummy!

This is my second favorite flavor and a consistent go-to for me. Try the salted caramel if you want an even sweeter (literally) gel.

Good mix of flavor without being too sweet.

I don't notice any real kick from the caffeine, but I do notice the energy kick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2017
by Tmchale
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is the best quick energy for a long ride.

I use GU to start refueling 30 miles into my ride. This workers well with my other fuel that I am eating so I don't end up bonking before I get half way through my ride. I only need to take a few of these for a century ride so I don't need to fill my pockets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2017
by Will Freeman
Competitive Racer
Horatio ,S.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Hard to find at a good price, Thanks BTD

Been using this for years love it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Livermore
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you like s'mores you'll like this product

Strong s'mores taste. A little to strong for my taste, but some will love it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2017
by Tri_Doc
Competitive Racer
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Absolutely Recommend for Long Endurance Events

I've used both the GU and GU Roctane for 5 years primarily for marathons and long training runs and these have always been reliable. The flavors are based on personal preference and it takes time getting accustomed to the taste. Definitely practice fueling at least 3 to 4 times during long runs, as I would suggest taking a gel everything 5-6 miles to start and if you need more then you can increase consumption. I have only relied on GUs and salt pills during races which have been the only fuel required to get me to the finish line. The sodium citrate (versus sodium chloride) is less acidic and easier on the stomach, but consuming too many during a long race may lead to GI distress due to the heavy consumption of the maltodrexin in these. Train appropriately, figure out your ratios and you won't have any problems. Highly recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/22/2017
by Anonymous
Eastern Shore
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Salted Caramel has been my GU for last 4 years.

My go to and only GU i use, the Salted Caramel, going as far back as when the Sasquatch was part of the logo.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 58

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]