Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin HRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor

GarminHRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(76 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(57)
(11)
(3)
(3)
(2)
(75%)
(14%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Happy but with two caveats

Easiest to use (comfort, consistency) of any brand I've used over the years. Both my wife and I have moved to Garmin Bike Computers so we just adopted the Garmin Duals that came with the computers.

Two things... 1) battery replacement didn't go well with one of the Garmin transmitter units... I got the battery out, the new one in, and it worked but I damaged one of the screws so I was not going to be able to replace the battery again in the future. The new, new HRM being reviewed now comes with a 'special' screwdriver to use in battery replacement so things may be less risky the next time.

2) I've had two units start to corrode around one of the terminals that snaps into the strap. The two terminals look like a different color/material but one certainly starts to 'rust' before the other. That has happened on two of these HRMS for me. I've tried Garmin's recommended cleaning/drying strategy and I can't say that is extending the life vs just not worrying and just replacing every year or two once it dies. The good(?) news is that I may never need to replace a battery again because the thing rusts before the battery needs replacing.

Final note, the description says 'may not need to replace battery for up to 3.5 years'... welllll... I rode 11,000 miles last year with the HRM and the battery needed replacement early this year... so 3.5 years not so much, unless there are internal changes now that make battery life longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far, works grea!

I wear the HRM for cycling. I have worn it 4 time and it works great.

My main reason for purchasing the HRM is, because I had a heart attack and I need to keep an eye on my heart rate. So far, its been working great for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and works well

This HRM is much more comfortable than an earlier Garmin HRM strap. In dry weather such as cold winter days, it's important to first spray or drizzle some water on the electrodes to get readings started. Otherwise, you may need to wait a bit for sweat to do the job early in a workout. The HRM has worked very reliably and has provided consistent readings on my Garmin bicycle computer. A tool was included for removing small screws when the battery needs replacement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Timberwolve17
Cycling Enthusiast
Central, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Promise but typical Garmin HRM failure

The major reason you would consider this is because of the Bluetooth + ANT support so you can zwift and use your Garmin computer at the same time. Sounds like a great plan, and when it works it is awesome.

My Garmin softstrap/removable hrm units have all had significant issues with hanging heart rates. You can start your ride, HR 75 bpm, 10 minutes of max effort later its still 75... remove the hrm, wait a minute reconnect suddenly its 185 bpm, stop all effort, take a seat on a bench, wait 30 minutes and your HR is still 185...

Thanks to an article from DC Rainmaker I learned that this is a feature from Garmin, want to impress your friends with obviously wrong HRs? Depending on how you play the Garmin strap game you can. This is not a sweat issue, i run my straps under lukewarm water prior to each ride in addition to spraying my chest with water. I wash my straps with technical fabric soaps, after no more than 2 uses, and rinse after every single use.

DC Rainmaker to the rescue, apparently it is a strap issue because he discusses using a polar strap with the garmin hrm. The connection buttons are technically a few mm spaced differently but it works. Tada! My garmin HRM Dual is back to working. Notably this issue has not occured with my Garmin HRMs that are built into the bands. I would not buy this again, I would love to sell it for half of what I paid and just upgrade to the HRM Pro with BT, ANT, and the old school strap/hrm one piece but that�s another discussion for another day.

Do Not Waste your Time unless you have an old Polar strap to use with this HRM.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Aasim Sheikh
Marietta? GA
Overall Rating
Occasionally does not pick up heart rate

Synced easy with watch. Strap can at times looses sync. Also if exercise is vigorous, may not stay in position on the chest.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2021
by Aasim Sheikh
Marietta? GA
Overall Rating
Occasionally does not pick up heart rate

Synced easy with watch. Strap can at times looses sync. Also if exercise is vigorous, may not stay in position on the chest.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2021
by Mark MN
MN
Overall Rating
Wish I�d waited

So it works but I bought it so that I could get heart rate on my watch and Zwift at the same time on my trainer. Haven't gotten it to work that way. I ended up getting the pro version and it has worked flawlessly. This one works for either but not both at the same time from my experience. Tried it connected to my watch with both ant+ and Bluetooth and didn't play well. All that said, it would do either perfectly well, so four stars it is. I should also mention I would have tried harder to figure it out if the pro hadn't gone on sale. May we'll be a way to make it work that I didn't search hard enough for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by JP
Daily Commuter
NYC & Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good but Could be Better

I've had two of these. They work well with my Garmin Edge and are reasonably responsive to changes in heart rate. The strap needs to be run under water before you put it on, and I rinse/soak the strap (with the monitor unclipped) after every ride (3-5 rides/week).

Why have I had two? They seem to need to be replaced every couple of years. After several months you'll see accuracy drop/disappear, which is usually fixed by replacing the battery. But after a couple of battery changes, the monitor craps out totally and battery replacement doesn't fix it. As an annual cost it's not a big deal, but it's odd that this item has such a short lifespan. By comparison, my speed and cadence sensors have never needed to be replaced.

And the comments about battery replacement are spot on. '70's-era tiny-screw technology. Use the right screwdriver, put on your patience face, and soldier through. Seems like Garmin could come up with a more human-friendly design.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2021
by Siouxbirds
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The count is on

The fit is comfortable and it works flawlessly. The battery is durable so far. I've been wearing it in 90+ degrees and don't know it is there. Perfect

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2021
by Eric S
Georgia
Overall Rating
Great product.

The strap is comfortable and stays in place. I have had no connectivity issues. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2021
by Biker Bob
Phoenix
Overall Rating
Reliable part of my Garmin Bike computer

Good signal, reliable and easy to wear

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/9/2021
by bobj
Competitive Racer
western mass
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great HRM

I was looking for a HRM that paired with Strava, and this one did the trick. Works just as it should...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2021
by Anonymous
east coast
Overall Rating
No problems so far

Has worked great so far with no issues. Switched to this after my polar h10 started bugging out. Which was after my h7 stopped working. Been very happy with it, only annoying thing is tightening it and it hooks on the right side of your chest which feels awkward for myself being right handed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Harrisburg, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great device and easy to use

I got this on sale, and it was the best decision I have made in a while. It is more reliable and accurate than the wrist based sensor I was using on long rides. It connects to both my Fenix watch to do my ride records and my cheap bike computer I use to keep myself from looking at my wrist all the time. This has made HR zone training much easier. The strap is very comfortable and I haven't had any bunching problems with it at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Spaghetti and Meatballs
Cycling Enthusiast
SLC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Much better than I had anticipated

I�m a woman, 5�4� and 116# with no experience using a HRM. My son-in-law uses this one all the time and loves it. I wasn�t sure how I would like it wrapped around my chest. Since, I have a Garmin 1000 Edge, it was important to have a device that would pair easily, which is does. The chest strap isn�t uncomfortable like I initially imagined. It works like a charm. I am very pleased with the quality & value. I did find that I have the strap almost as small as can be adjusted. It would be nice to have a chest strap made to accommodate a small frame, however, this is working so I should not complain. I would highly recommend this product to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Drives me crazy with inconsistency

This is the only Garmin product that I have had to replace once a year. No kidding. Within the first 7 months the HR readings become intermittent during the ride, progressing to full non-function on the latter half of the ride. Replaced batteries, reset Edge 1000 and Edge 1030 to no avail. Buy another one. That's my cycle (Pun intended)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2021
by BRike
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
DUAL HRM Good Value/Buy

THe Dual HRM is great for smart trainers because you can connect it via Bluetooth and ANT+ (Garmin Watch).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Jay Cahow
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Very Poor Battery Design

This sensor has a real poor battery replacement design using four very very tiny screws to hold the back cover in place unlike all their other sensors that have easy to turn and pop off backs. I get about one year out of the battery and the screws are either impossible to get out (do not drop them) or they strip out when replaced. I have to glue the back on with silicone glue as all the screws or their mounts have been damaged over time.

Other than the pathetic battery design it seems to work well and the strap is washable. If the battery design would have been sensibly designed I would given it five stars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Rene Mendoza
Amarillo tx
Overall Rating
Great buy!

I ordered this just for simple fact of not using my watch to do same thing! I wanted something that would not get in the way of my Mtb! Great buy at the best price! Thank you bikes tires direct!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Eric @ MD
Cycling Enthusiast
Frederick, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

I've only had the Garmin HRM for three months and it simply works everytime with my Edge 520 when I'm on the road or with Trainer Road when I'm riding indoors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 17

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]