Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin HRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor

GarminHRM-Dual Heart Rate Monitor (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(123 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(89)
(19)
(7)
(6)
(2)
(72%)
(15%)
(6%)
(5%)
(2%)
Reviewed 4/25/2022
by Ron
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Improved monitor

I've been using the Garmin heart rate monitors for nearly two decades, the latest HRM-Dual is the best so far. They finally replaced the Phillips screws for the battery compartment with Torx head screws AND a include your own Torx screwdriver for removing them! Changing the battery is always the biggest headache since the screws, as delivered from the factory, were always so tight it was hard to remove them without stripping the heads. Thanks Garmin for finally addressing this issue. The dual ANT+ and Bluetooth makes pairing quick. I assume there are other internal hardware/firmware changes because the heart rate recording seems more stable and less 'aliasing' (the misidentification of a signal frequency) occurs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Timberwolve17
Cycling Enthusiast
Central, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Promise but typical Garmin HRM failure

The major reason you would consider this is because of the Bluetooth + ANT support so you can zwift and use your Garmin computer at the same time. Sounds like a great plan, and when it works it is awesome.

My Garmin softstrap/removable hrm units have all had significant issues with hanging heart rates. You can start your ride, HR 75 bpm, 10 minutes of max effort later its still 75... remove the hrm, wait a minute reconnect suddenly its 185 bpm, stop all effort, take a seat on a bench, wait 30 minutes and your HR is still 185...

Thanks to an article from DC Rainmaker I learned that this is a feature from Garmin, want to impress your friends with obviously wrong HRs? Depending on how you play the Garmin strap game you can. This is not a sweat issue, i run my straps under lukewarm water prior to each ride in addition to spraying my chest with water. I wash my straps with technical fabric soaps, after no more than 2 uses, and rinse after every single use.

DC Rainmaker to the rescue, apparently it is a strap issue because he discusses using a polar strap with the garmin hrm. The connection buttons are technically a few mm spaced differently but it works. Tada! My garmin HRM Dual is back to working. Notably this issue has not occured with my Garmin HRMs that are built into the bands. I would not buy this again, I would love to sell it for half of what I paid and just upgrade to the HRM Pro with BT, ANT, and the old school strap/hrm one piece but that�s another discussion for another day.

Do Not Waste your Time unless you have an old Polar strap to use with this HRM.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2022
by Eyekayak
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida West Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Consistently good

I use this heart monitor strap 3-4 times per week for 2 hour rides each time. This is a very comfortable strap and once adjusted for my chest stays in place. In fact, I never notice that I have this strap on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2022
by COtriathlete
Competitive Racer
Denver foothills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable

Purchased after I dropped my Wahoo HRM on concrete and it broke. Definitely the most comfortable HRM I have used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2022
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good heart rate monitor

I use this heart rate monitor (HRM) in combination with my Garmin bike computer and trainer (Zwift interface). It is comfortable on long rides. Definitely make sure to follow direction and wet the band prior to riding. This HRM was bought to replace my more expensive Garmin HRM PRO, which had a very short life span under my usage conditions (seal failed, electronics were subsequently corroded and quit working).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2021
by Beth Mc
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Most accurate HRM in my pain cave

I use this primarily with indoor & outdoor cycling and see no drop-outs. The ANT+ and BT connectivity is a plus, but doesn't have an easy access to the battery compartment, compared to three other brands I've used over the years. I needed to change the battery and didn't have the exact right screwdriver and ended up ruining one of the screw holes, yeah, stupid on my part... while it still worked, I was afraid sweat would now get inside and corrode it so when I saw it on sale again, I bought another, and a correct sized screwdriver. :\

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2022
by Devrin
Park City
Overall Rating
Works like a charm

Love this. Pairs easily with 830 but having trouble syncing with 530

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2022
by wyomingboy
Competitive Racer
Wyoming
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
variable reliability

So in 4 years I'm now buying my 3rd strap. The first one lasted 3 years!, The 2nd one only lasted 13 months, and completely failed, New battery didn't work and the plastic screw holes deteriorated, to where the screws would no longer hold the cover. I might add that is how the 1st strap failed, the screw hole plastic deteriorated and would no longer hold the screws.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They last just long enough to get through the warranty.

They last just long enough to get through the warranty.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but questionable response curve.

Good sensor in the abstract; band is easy to adjust, connects to my cycling computer with no issues. Easy to wash, and when properly fitted you'll completely forget it's even there- I've worn it on a 4+ hour long century ride and didn't have it bother me at all. However, its response curve is suspect- it seems to think I get up to 190 BPM just walking my bike out the door, and reads an RHR about 15 higher than the one recorded at my last physical. Probably fairly accurate readings in relative terms, but in absolute terms take it with a lot of salt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2021
by Paul
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable data so far

I bought this to replace another Garmin HR strap that died after 2-3 years of use. I've been using the new one 3-4 days week for two months and have had no trouble with dropped signals or wonky data during rides and runs. The strap pairs easily with my Wahoo head unit (ANT+) and my iPhone (bluetooth). I've even worn the strap overnight to measure sleeping HR data and only noticed two points where the signal dropped briefly in a 7-hour period. Before working out, follow the instructions and wet the strap before putting it on you. You should also follow the instructions about regular washing, especially if you're a heavy and/or salty sweater.

I can't comment on battery longevity and replacement. However, my package did come with Garmin's proprietary screwdriver, which appears critical to opening and closing the battery compartment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/20/2022
by Aggie
Cycling Enthusiast
Placentia, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better than one included with bike computer

This was a replacement for one included with my edge 1030. It became very erratic. This seems to be higher quality and reads accurately.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Andy
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Happy but with two caveats

Easiest to use (comfort, consistency) of any brand I've used over the years. Both my wife and I have moved to Garmin Bike Computers so we just adopted the Garmin Duals that came with the computers.

Two things... 1) battery replacement didn't go well with one of the Garmin transmitter units... I got the battery out, the new one in, and it worked but I damaged one of the screws so I was not going to be able to replace the battery again in the future. The new, new HRM being reviewed now comes with a 'special' screwdriver to use in battery replacement so things may be less risky the next time.

2) I've had two units start to corrode around one of the terminals that snaps into the strap. The two terminals look like a different color/material but one certainly starts to 'rust' before the other. That has happened on two of these HRMS for me. I've tried Garmin's recommended cleaning/drying strategy and I can't say that is extending the life vs just not worrying and just replacing every year or two once it dies. The good(?) news is that I may never need to replace a battery again because the thing rusts before the battery needs replacing.

Final note, the description says 'may not need to replace battery for up to 3.5 years'... welllll... I rode 11,000 miles last year with the HRM and the battery needed replacement early this year... so 3.5 years not so much, unless there are internal changes now that make battery life longer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and works well

This HRM is much more comfortable than an earlier Garmin HRM strap. In dry weather such as cold winter days, it's important to first spray or drizzle some water on the electrodes to get readings started. Otherwise, you may need to wait a bit for sweat to do the job early in a workout. The HRM has worked very reliably and has provided consistent readings on my Garmin bicycle computer. A tool was included for removing small screws when the battery needs replacement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2021
by Mark MN
MN
Overall Rating
Wish I�d waited

So it works but I bought it so that I could get heart rate on my watch and Zwift at the same time on my trainer. Haven't gotten it to work that way. I ended up getting the pro version and it has worked flawlessly. This one works for either but not both at the same time from my experience. Tried it connected to my watch with both ant+ and Bluetooth and didn't play well. All that said, it would do either perfectly well, so four stars it is. I should also mention I would have tried harder to figure it out if the pro hadn't gone on sale. May we'll be a way to make it work that I didn't search hard enough for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by JP
Daily Commuter
NYC & Suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good but Could be Better

I've had two of these. They work well with my Garmin Edge and are reasonably responsive to changes in heart rate. The strap needs to be run under water before you put it on, and I rinse/soak the strap (with the monitor unclipped) after every ride (3-5 rides/week).

Why have I had two? They seem to need to be replaced every couple of years. After several months you'll see accuracy drop/disappear, which is usually fixed by replacing the battery. But after a couple of battery changes, the monitor craps out totally and battery replacement doesn't fix it. As an annual cost it's not a big deal, but it's odd that this item has such a short lifespan. By comparison, my speed and cadence sensors have never needed to be replaced.

And the comments about battery replacement are spot on. '70's-era tiny-screw technology. Use the right screwdriver, put on your patience face, and soldier through. Seems like Garmin could come up with a more human-friendly design.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2022
by Thony
NJ
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product, excellent Bikeshop

Working perfectly and the shop is the best

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Spaghetti and Meatballs
Cycling Enthusiast
SLC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Much better than I had anticipated

I�m a woman, 5�4� and 116# with no experience using a HRM. My son-in-law uses this one all the time and loves it. I wasn�t sure how I would like it wrapped around my chest. Since, I have a Garmin 1000 Edge, it was important to have a device that would pair easily, which is does. The chest strap isn�t uncomfortable like I initially imagined. It works like a charm. I am very pleased with the quality & value. I did find that I have the strap almost as small as can be adjusted. It would be nice to have a chest strap made to accommodate a small frame, however, this is working so I should not complain. I would highly recommend this product to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It works

This HRM replaces my older Garmin HRM which seemed to go through batteries too quickly. This one seems fine, works with my Garmin head unit and watch and pairs easily with Zwift.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Drives me crazy with inconsistency

This is the only Garmin product that I have had to replace once a year. No kidding. Within the first 7 months the HR readings become intermittent during the ride, progressing to full non-function on the latter half of the ride. Replaced batteries, reset Edge 1000 and Edge 1030 to no avail. Buy another one. That's my cycle (Pun intended)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 69

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]