FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(87%)
(11%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/23/2017
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bike Tire Ever

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2017
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2017
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires ever...

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2018
by nanfourteen
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Tire Ever

I've used Gatorskins in all weather and a lot of different terrain and it never disappoints and they last forever! I was a courier for 10 years and I got the least flats of anyone...maybe 1 every 6 months and that is with riding 9 hours a day!! Ready to head out on a tour with some new Gatorskins! I'll let you know!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Flat free

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Flat free

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2018
by Mikebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best tire for reducing flats

I hate having to fix flat tires while in the middle of nowhere. I've been using the Gator Hardshells for quite a few years now and my number of flats has quite nicely. They are long wearing so I don't need to replace them very often (I rode over 10,000 miles last year).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2018
by Anonymous
texas
Overall Rating
Great tore

Road on these for years,no flats

You can't go wrong,very dependable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2018
by Tony Buffington
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires for glassy California roads!

I've used these tires all over the Sacramento ValleySierras 150 miles a week and 1 flat in 2 years (3 sets of tires). Also theeasiest to mount I've found (Shimano and Altamont rims) Not the lightest available, the the durability more than makes up for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2018
by Dario
Cycling Enthusiast
Indio, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tires, have used them time and again, good guard for puncture protection.

Have used the Gator Hard Shell tires for a few years and I am very satisfied with its duration, and puncture protection. They may be a few grams heavier than other race tires, but since I do not race but just road ride a lot I prefer them for their toughness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2018
by Wambwaze
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire. Grab all you can when they are on sale.

Value rating is based on sale price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/1/2018
by dekaru
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best puncture protection ever. Period.

If you don't ever want to ruin a group ride by being that cyclist that suffers a puncture, this is the tire for you! Sure, it might be a bit heavier than other race tires or could make use of a bit more grip, but that sounds like a fair price to pay in order to be able to ride over grime, glasses and debris for over 5000 miles!

Don't buy the gatorskin version, this is the legit one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and all over the country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is a GREAT tire!!!

I went to the GatorSkin Hardshell in May of 2016. I teamed it up with the Forte puncture resistant tubes. I ride 200-250 miles a week. I have seen I can get about 3500 mile out of the tires before I have to change them out for new ones. The wear indicator is a great help. I do rotate the tires from from to back which allows me to get about another 500 miles out of the tire set. Since making this change I have had to replace the tires 3 times but I have not had a flat in over a year. I am still using the same tubes from May of 2016. This is a great tire and great combination for me. I do try and wait until the BOGO sale is on though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2017
by Marc
Tucson Arizona
Overall Rating
Great tire for the rear

This is the only rear tire I will ride on in Tucson AZ. This tire holds up well and rarely flats. Still retains some comfort and the last one lasted over 5K miles. Great tire for training and I would even consider racing on it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
Competitive Racer
Northern Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great tire, but I need a new bike!!!

Just let me say.......yes, the tires were great. The problem was I was hit from behind and left in a coma by the driver. I awoke in the hospital and finally got home the next day. My Ti bike is a mess!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Ã‡ookie
Daily Commuter
Thunder Bay, Ontaril
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires, have tons of miles on them, no flats, great durability.

I've been using these tires for about 4 years now. I switched to them because of the number of flats I was getting on other brands. I'm kind of heavy for a cyclist, at 215 lbs, so worn tires and flats used to be the norm for me. Not anymore. Great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2017
by Mike Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire that will get you there and back with zero flats!

I had been wanting to try Continentals GatorHardshell tires in the 700c x 25mm width. I had been riding 23's the last few years. When I originally switched to the Hardshells I was concerned the ride might be on the harsh side. To my surprise they weren't. I rotate my tires about every 750 to 1000 miles to maximize mileage. I got 4,100 miles out of my last set. I probably could have gotten another 1,000 but they were showing signs of aging. In that time I never flatted once! I've got a couple rides in on the new 25's. I'm running them at 100 psi. front and rear. Initially I tried 95 psi. and they felt a little sluggish. Once you get them rolling they are definitely faster than the 23's and the ride is smoother and more comfortable. One particular road I'm frequently on is like a minefield with all the debris on the sides. These Conti Hardshells get me where I'm going and back riding not walking or stopping to fix a flat. Great tires!!! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2017
by ECROZIER
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for general riding and training.

This tire significantly cut down the number of flats.

Has good grip in both hot and rainy conditions.

In the event you do get a flat, It can be difficult to remove and replace.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/1/2017
by VinnieS
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One tough, long lasting tire

Using the 700x32. This has become my tire for tandem touring with panniers. I have done two 30 day tours on the same tire and still enough rubber left for local training rides. We average 50 milesday. On my third set of these tires and have yet to get a flat. (Will probably wish I didn't write that soon.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.