Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(119 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(106)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 6/6/2020
by sconway
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire at a reasonable price.

When I first installed the tires on my Mavic rims, at about 60psi one popped out of the rim bead and the inner tube blew. I reseated the tire and haven't had a problem since. I really like these tires, because they fit the tight clearance my frame requires for the tread height.

I have about 500 miles on the tires now with no flats and they provide wonderful control.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by SNespo
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bend, Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Ride

I replace my tires about once a year and have found out that the Continental Gator Hardshell works out very well for me. I got a quick delivery and the tire is very easy to put on and my bike. Thank you for your service.

Steve

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2018
by Doug
Tucson AZ
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The best tough training tire

I live in Tucson and ride nearlt everyday. There are myriad road obstacles, debris and sharp pointy things to puncture my ride, and thats why Ive gone back to gatorskin hardshell. I rode other continental products here and while they are as road gripping on downhills and across sand and gravel, they punctured far more than the gatorskins. Ive been riding the hardshell 25's now for a year or so and see the difference in tracking and softness on the road. Weight issues dont effect me as Im not racing and the small difference doesnt seem to effect climbing mt. Lemmon or flying down the mountain on the way hime. Not too clear on the difference between hardshell and standard gatorskin but seems like the hardshell has more sidewall protection which seems to help stop rock punctures when riding on gravel ( which I do everyday to get from my house to the main road). In any case, I recommend these tires to all my friends and so far, Ive heard nothing but positive comments..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Nick H
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I have used Hardshells for years without having any problems and very few flats.

I use Hardshells on all of my wife's and my bikes, and our tandem, and have done so for years.

Good mileage and very good flat protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2017
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Best Bike Tire Ever

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2017
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2017
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires ever...

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Cycle Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, smooth rolling road bike tire.

I've used Continental tires on my road bike for years. More recently, I've been using the Gator Hardshell folding tire, and I find that I get about 10,000 miles use from a pair of these tires. I rotate them once a year, & I ride them on a variety of terrain mountain roads, city & bike trails. I like the two 'dots' that allow me to gauge the remaining tread on the tire. I count on these tires on several tours a year, whether domestically in the U.S. or in Europe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No Flats in Years

I'm not the best mechanic, I can change a flat - but don't like to. I ride 10K a year. I chose Gator Hardshell after wading through flats from other tire companies. I have worn out 3 sets of 'Hardshells without a single flat. Currently, I ride without a repair kit or tubes, that's how confident I am in these tires. The ratings say they aren't the fastest - but they are certainly the most reliable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Matk
Ash Flat, AR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Every day rider!

I teamed this tire up with puncture resistant tube and have only had 3 flats in about 3 1/2 years. I get about 3500 miles out of each set of the Hardshell tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2019
by Giant e-biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you have an E-Bike, this is the tire to use!

I ride a 44 lb Giant Road E1. Big battery and big motor to haul my 220 lb carcass up so pretty steep grades and I really didn't wanna have to fix a flat on that bike. I picked the Gator hardshells cause I heard they were the most puncture resistant tires out there, short of an off road knobby tread tire. Weight isn't a prob using an e-bike. I knew the rear would wear faster than a lighter rider on a carbon frame, but I still got 2500 miles out of the rear considering the wattage being put down with 260 lbs. combined weight. No flats the whole time and the tread looked pretty clean with no gashes or cuts. I'd get this tire again. Get this tire if you just don't want flats and can put up with a slightly heavier tire. I had no prob mounting these, didn't even have to use a tire lever! It just depends on the rim you have, not the tire so much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Spokesmoke
97203
Overall Rating
Alot lighter than Marathons!

Not the lightest, but glad I mounted on the commuter when the November dark arrives. Continentals rock across the lineup!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2019
by Itri2
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A very nice training tire! Heavy and it grips well!

I try to change my tires at least once a year if not twice. I have been using these tires for a while. When they are new they are fantastic.

Good deal and I like how they hold up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Solid training tire

I get about 3000 miles out of a set before they are ready to be replaced. Heavy and hard.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by mrkgrysngr
Cycling Enthusiast
All voer the country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT tires!

I am not a racer. I just love riding. I ride 180-200 a week and have been doing that for many years now. After trying many combinations I found the Gator hardshell tires combined with a puncture resistant tube helps keep flats to a minimum. I have only had about 4 flats in years since going to this comb. the tires last anywhere from 3000 to 3500 miles depending on the quality of the roads I ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by dennyburnham
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacrament ca area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
fantistic

Just a great tire, I have been using for years and at 79 yrs old still love to ride. Last year rode 5543 miles, but missed my goal of 6000 mi. Have used this tire for years and 90lbs in the rear and 80 upfront. Cannot remember my last flat

denny

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2019
by KT
Greensboro
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No stop tires

I have rode these tires for 3500 miles, multiple times, without one stop for a flat. The tire wear indicators are especially helpful to know when to change them out. They are my go to training tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by Jacobus
Danville CA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable is an understatement

The road in the Bay Area have gotten more problematic. Ive went through two different sets of tires (Michelins and Vittoria) in the last couples months. The tires were destroyed by box cutters and broken glass. No tire would survive these. I do have a piece of mind with the Continental gator hardshell tires. They are also fast for the weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by Sean
Jackson
Overall Rating
Awesome tire

switch to the Conti after i kept flatting with the Schwalbe one. This tire provides excellent grip, rolls fast, and is cut resistant.. my new tire of choice

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires if you are looking for flat prevention.

I hate flats! I found the Hardshell after trying many brands that claimed to be flat resistant but let me down. The are extremely flat resistant and they are all I use for training (they are a bit heavy for racing though). I rated them as a steal (5 stars) as you have to consider all the tubes and CO2 canisters you use fixing flats. I have even run a couple of my bikes with liners and that pretty much makes these tires indestructible. Friendly warning though, they are really tough to put on when new but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 25

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]