Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(130 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(116)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 11/5/2018
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires if you are looking for flat prevention.

I hate flats! I found the Hardshell after trying many brands that claimed to be flat resistant but let me down. The are extremely flat resistant and they are all I use for training (they are a bit heavy for racing though). I rated them as a steal (5 stars) as you have to consider all the tubes and CO2 canisters you use fixing flats. I have even run a couple of my bikes with liners and that pretty much makes these tires indestructible. Friendly warning though, they are really tough to put on when new but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2022
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Quad Cities USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tires were awesome!

Gatorskin Hardshell tires are awesome. I have not had a flat using them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and all over the country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is a GREAT tire!!!

I went to the GatorSkin Hardshell in May of 2016. I teamed it up with the Forte puncture resistant tubes. I ride 200-250 miles a week. I have seen I can get about 3500 mile out of the tires before I have to change them out for new ones. The wear indicator is a great help. I do rotate the tires from from to back which allows me to get about another 500 miles out of the tire set. Since making this change I have had to replace the tires 3 times but I have not had a flat in over a year. I am still using the same tubes from May of 2016. This is a great tire and great combination for me. I do try and wait until the BOGO sale is on though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
Competitive Racer
Northern Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great tire, but I need a new bike!!!

Just let me say.......yes, the tires were great. The problem was I was hit from behind and left in a coma by the driver. I awoke in the hospital and finally got home the next day. My Ti bike is a mess!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Spokesmoke
97203
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Alot lighter than Marathons!

Not the lightest, but glad I mounted on the commuter when the November dark arrives. Continentals rock across the lineup!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Ã‡ookie
Daily Commuter
Thunder Bay, Ontaril
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires, have tons of miles on them, no flats, great durability.

I've been using these tires for about 4 years now. I switched to them because of the number of flats I was getting on other brands. I'm kind of heavy for a cyclist, at 215 lbs, so worn tires and flats used to be the norm for me. Not anymore. Great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2017
by Mike Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire that will get you there and back with zero flats!

I had been wanting to try Continentals GatorHardshell tires in the 700c x 25mm width. I had been riding 23's the last few years. When I originally switched to the Hardshells I was concerned the ride might be on the harsh side. To my surprise they weren't. I rotate my tires about every 750 to 1000 miles to maximize mileage. I got 4,100 miles out of my last set. I probably could have gotten another 1,000 but they were showing signs of aging. In that time I never flatted once! I've got a couple rides in on the new 25's. I'm running them at 100 psi. front and rear. Initially I tried 95 psi. and they felt a little sluggish. Once you get them rolling they are definitely faster than the 23's and the ride is smoother and more comfortable. One particular road I'm frequently on is like a minefield with all the debris on the sides. These Conti Hardshells get me where I'm going and back riding not walking or stopping to fix a flat. Great tires!!! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire &40Folding&41 is the best flat protection tire on the market, hands down.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (folding) is utilized on a Trek 1.1 and 1.2 Road Bike, averaging 38-57 miles per day. What I like most about this tire is the mileage indicators on the tires that let you know when to exchange them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by mrkgrysngr
Cycling Enthusiast
All voer the country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT tires!

I am not a racer. I just love riding. I ride 180-200 a week and have been doing that for many years now. After trying many combinations I found the Gator hardshell tires combined with a puncture resistant tube helps keep flats to a minimum. I have only had about 4 flats in years since going to this comb. the tires last anywhere from 3000 to 3500 miles depending on the quality of the roads I ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Allen
NW Arksnsas
Overall Rating
Great set of flat proof high mileage tires

I have put several hundred flat free miles on these tires and they still look almost new! They are a tiny bit heavier for the weenies and maybe a tad less plush, but if you hate changing tires on the roadside (especially in the cold), these are awesome tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These never let me down on century rides

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by dennyburnham
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacrament ca area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
fantistic

Just a great tire, I have been using for years and at 79 yrs old still love to ride. Last year rode 5543 miles, but missed my goal of 6000 mi. Have used this tire for years and 90lbs in the rear and 80 upfront. Cannot remember my last flat

denny

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by Jacobus
Danville CA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable is an understatement

The road in the Bay Area have gotten more problematic. Ive went through two different sets of tires (Michelins and Vittoria) in the last couples months. The tires were destroyed by box cutters and broken glass. No tire would survive these. I do have a piece of mind with the Continental gator hardshell tires. They are also fast for the weight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by Sean
Jackson
Overall Rating
Awesome tire

switch to the Conti after i kept flatting with the Schwalbe one. This tire provides excellent grip, rolls fast, and is cut resistant.. my new tire of choice

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2016
by Roundlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire, reasonable tread life but I still get glass punctures.

I use these tires forSaturday rides, training and racing. Corner and handle well but I still have as many of not more flats as riders with standard tires. 21 ratio.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by dahveed
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This tire gets no flats!

This tire gets no flats! The ride quality is okay, though it can sometimes not grip well laterally (slides out a bit)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2020
by Sal
Cycling Enthusiast
Manhattan NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Where Do I Begin .......

I gave these 5 stars not because I love them, because I don't, but because they are bomb-proof and you will grow old wearing them out. I have them on for two years now and do 30 mile runs 5 times a week around the outer Central Park loop in Manhattan and they still show very little wear. No cuts anywhere. The loop is well paved and with no debris so these are totally overkill. Yes overkill.

So, would I rather be riding on something more fun, well yes, but I am simply amazed with the durability of these tires. Might try the Pirelli's, will report back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
The go to training tire

Every time I go away from Gators I find myself coming back to them for the best training tire. I'm 185 lbs and ride about 5,000 miles a year with just one or so races. I keep my tires at 100 I ride both DFs and recumbents. Recently I tried the new Michelin Pro 4 Endurance on my bent. On the rear, one week punctured with a wire shard from steel belted auto tire, two weeks later a goats head. I like these tires as they roll well and corner well, but I don't like the flats. I have had a Gator Hardshell on my other bent for over a year with no flats and just one very small cut. I'll still use the Pro 4s on the front but not on the rear of my bents as that's were most of the weight is. It's hard to beat Gators for strong tires. The Hardshell is even better with the thicker sidewalls, that's were I got the goats head on the Pro 4..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Flat Rides - which is not climbing

I began using the Gator Hardshell after I flatted 3 times on one ride...I had to call for a ride home (embarrassing). Since I moved to the Hardshell, I have not had a flat on a ride. Last year I rode close to 800 hours...13K...no flats. I am not sure if they are a fast tire, but I am sure that the ride will move continually forward on the Gator Hardshell

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 81

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]