Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(119 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(106)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 4/22/2020
by Sal
Cycling Enthusiast
Manhattan NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Where Do I Begin .......

I gave these 5 stars not because I love them, because I don't, but because they are bomb-proof and you will grow old wearing them out. I have them on for two years now and do 30 mile runs 5 times a week around the outer Central Park loop in Manhattan and they still show very little wear. No cuts anywhere. The loop is well paved and with no debris so these are totally overkill. Yes overkill.

So, would I rather be riding on something more fun, well yes, but I am simply amazed with the durability of these tires. Might try the Pirelli's, will report back.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by dahveed
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This tire gets no flats!

This tire gets no flats! The ride quality is okay, though it can sometimes not grip well laterally (slides out a bit)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and all over the country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is a GREAT tire!!!

I went to the GatorSkin Hardshell in May of 2016. I teamed it up with the Forte puncture resistant tubes. I ride 200-250 miles a week. I have seen I can get about 3500 mile out of the tires before I have to change them out for new ones. The wear indicator is a great help. I do rotate the tires from from to back which allows me to get about another 500 miles out of the tire set. Since making this change I have had to replace the tires 3 times but I have not had a flat in over a year. I am still using the same tubes from May of 2016. This is a great tire and great combination for me. I do try and wait until the BOGO sale is on though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
Competitive Racer
Northern Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great tire, but I need a new bike!!!

Just let me say.......yes, the tires were great. The problem was I was hit from behind and left in a coma by the driver. I awoke in the hospital and finally got home the next day. My Ti bike is a mess!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Ã‡ookie
Daily Commuter
Thunder Bay, Ontaril
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires, have tons of miles on them, no flats, great durability.

I've been using these tires for about 4 years now. I switched to them because of the number of flats I was getting on other brands. I'm kind of heavy for a cyclist, at 215 lbs, so worn tires and flats used to be the norm for me. Not anymore. Great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2017
by Mike Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire that will get you there and back with zero flats!

I had been wanting to try Continentals GatorHardshell tires in the 700c x 25mm width. I had been riding 23's the last few years. When I originally switched to the Hardshells I was concerned the ride might be on the harsh side. To my surprise they weren't. I rotate my tires about every 750 to 1000 miles to maximize mileage. I got 4,100 miles out of my last set. I probably could have gotten another 1,000 but they were showing signs of aging. In that time I never flatted once! I've got a couple rides in on the new 25's. I'm running them at 100 psi. front and rear. Initially I tried 95 psi. and they felt a little sluggish. Once you get them rolling they are definitely faster than the 23's and the ride is smoother and more comfortable. One particular road I'm frequently on is like a minefield with all the debris on the sides. These Conti Hardshells get me where I'm going and back riding not walking or stopping to fix a flat. Great tires!!! Thanks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire &40Folding&41 is the best flat protection tire on the market, hands down.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (folding) is utilized on a Trek 1.1 and 1.2 Road Bike, averaging 38-57 miles per day. What I like most about this tire is the mileage indicators on the tires that let you know when to exchange them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Flat Rides - which is not climbing

I began using the Gator Hardshell after I flatted 3 times on one ride...I had to call for a ride home (embarrassing). Since I moved to the Hardshell, I have not had a flat on a ride. Last year I rode close to 800 hours...13K...no flats. I am not sure if they are a fast tire, but I am sure that the ride will move continually forward on the Gator Hardshell

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Allen
NW Arksnsas
Overall Rating
Great set of flat proof high mileage tires

I have put several hundred flat free miles on these tires and they still look almost new! They are a tiny bit heavier for the weenies and maybe a tad less plush, but if you hate changing tires on the roadside (especially in the cold), these are awesome tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These never let me down on century rides

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/18/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Durable tire with lots of puncture protection

I ride city streets, bike paths and the occasional paved rail trail. All the gatorskin products have been superior for me, virtually no puncture flats in several years. The hardshell continues that success and I have no reason to switch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2016
by Roundlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire, reasonable tread life but I still get glass punctures.

I use these tires forSaturday rides, training and racing. Corner and handle well but I still have as many of not more flats as riders with standard tires. 21 ratio.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by mrnsax
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love It!

I've been riding Continental Gators for many years, and after a couple hundred miles I can say that the my new Gator is everything my old one was and lighter and better looking too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2019
by norcal.chris
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental never fails.

Kinda pricey but, tough as nails, even when you run over one. If you're still using tires with tubes, like me, can't say enough good about these, and I can't say anything bad about them either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
The go to training tire

Every time I go away from Gators I find myself coming back to them for the best training tire. I'm 185 lbs and ride about 5,000 miles a year with just one or so races. I keep my tires at 100 I ride both DFs and recumbents. Recently I tried the new Michelin Pro 4 Endurance on my bent. On the rear, one week punctured with a wire shard from steel belted auto tire, two weeks later a goats head. I like these tires as they roll well and corner well, but I don't like the flats. I have had a Gator Hardshell on my other bent for over a year with no flats and just one very small cut. I'll still use the Pro 4s on the front but not on the rear of my bents as that's were most of the weight is. It's hard to beat Gators for strong tires. The Hardshell is even better with the thicker sidewalls, that's were I got the goats head on the Pro 4..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2019
by MTfighter
Competitive Racer
SoCal., CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My Shoulder Hugging Friend that doesn't get shredded from road clutter that trashes expensive Race Training tires first ride out, not these tires!!!!

I've been riding these tires for years now and get my value and confident performance from a set of these tires. I ride my race bike like a cross bike sometimes just because of these tires, I think it gives me extra assurance against punctures when thrashing thru places you would normally keep a Ridley Noah SL away from. My choice for my style of riding places these tires under me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2020
by Laura
Fl
Overall Rating
Gator Skins

Love +++! Have used for years and will continue!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2019
by Shadow Rider 575
Cycling Enthusiast
OregonArizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Gatorskin Hardshell is one tough tire!

I used other brands until I found Gatorskin Hardshell! I find them to be much more resistant to goat-heads of AZ and other road debris. I will continue to buy from BTD since they have the best prices and best service!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bomb proof quality ride

I used a different manufacturers tires last year and suffered over 20 flats. I'm not going to throw the brand under the bus but switched to these Conti gator hardshells at the beginning of the year and after almost 1000 miles have had zero flats. Also, the ride quality seems to be very good as well as traction. Because of this all 3 of my road bikes now use these tires and I couldn't be happier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 12

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]