Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Continental Contact Tire

ContinentalContact Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(75 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(23)
(1)
(4)
(3)
(59%)
(31%)
(1%)
(5%)
(4%)
Reviewed 3/31/2022
by Guenther
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for my Rans Rocket

I use this as the rear tire on my recumbent. So far, it's working well. The width means that the tire absorbs socks and bumps well. It's not too draggy on pavement and it gets okay grip on gravel. In extremely slick spots, I have lost traction, but its never slid otherwise. The construction overall seems sturdy and likely to hold up for awhile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Trusted brand tire

Installed the 20 inch Conti Contact as a replacement front tire and also rainy days were approaching and I certainly weren't going to ride on a front worn tire. So far, it has performed just what I wanted and that's good traction and grip turning corners. Just having the new tired gave me ease of mind riding in wet conditions. Price is good too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Value for the money

II ride 100 to 200 miles a week on mostly trails and they work great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2021
by Anonymous
NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good commuter tire

Put these on a bike that I am commuting to work with. I wanted a heavier all weather tire that would also resist punctures. So far so good. Even though they have an aggressive tread they roll quite nicely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2022
by MAC
Cycling Enthusiast
Left Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Goodroad feel

Bought the 20 x 1.75 for my recumbent front wheel. Fairly light, fairly supple, seems fairly sturdy. Good cornering and road feel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Anonymous
Northern Minnesota
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good all around tire.

I purchased this tire as an exact replacement for the rear tire on my Surly Long Haul Trucker. The tire I'm replacing has just over 2,000 miles on it right now. My plan is to just replace the rear, thats the only one that shows significant wear at this point. It appears that the front may go another 2,000 miles before needing replacement. It's a heavy bike, and I'm a heavy rider. I ride about 90% pavement, paths, steets and rural highway, and about 10% gravel roads. Zero flats in over 2,000 miles. The reflective strip on the sidewall is a nice feature as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
Great everyday commuting and touring tire.

These donuts tasted horrible, but I found them to be excellent replacement tires for my bike. They're pretty ideal for commuting and the occasional weekend trek. They handled all that DC has thrown at them potholed streets, slick pavement, leafy bike lanes, shuttered government roads with aplomb. Great price, fast shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/12/2019
by Olentangy Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
THE 1 BEST long wearing tire for riding any terrain in any type of weather

This tire has excellent construction, easily wheel mounted, excellent rolling, superior puncture resistance, and is long wearing. I use this tire for riding everywhere - on city streets, bike paths, dirt roads and trails - recently the full-length of the Greenbrier (WV) River Trail and the Ohio Erie Canal Towpath. This tire has never failed to perform year after year after year. Thank you BTD for carrying this tire product at a fair and reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice tires for the price

These tires work well on wet and dry roads, I've also used them on dry hardpack trails with great success. They feel a bit narrower than advertised, but I'm not bothered by that. I also really appreciate the reflective bands on the tire for night rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2019
by Rob
Daily Commuter
Oakland CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Commuter's Second Set of Continental's - 3.5 Stars

This was my second set after the first similar model set lasted 2 years. Would give 3.5 stars. Read on.

Commute Year Round City driving 20 milesweek to and from Amtrak Train over asphalt, broken asphalt, along side railroad on railroad rocks, past homeless encampments, over broken glass, gravel, potholes - typical Oakland CA. By the start of rainy season the tires get dirty and the reflective tape wears and becomes more dull. A small part detached (13 inch) but that's it. Cleaning moderately helps but it's less reflective especially compared to specialized tires I see on the Amtrak bike storage car and the reflect tape is applied cattywhompus (made in India). Reflective tires are an important function due to dark morning commutes. Well over a year in use and cracks appear in the tread. I use a tire liner to protect the inner tube but even so, with both sets, I've never had a puncture - pulled glass shards out, but no puncture. Very similar wear and tear compared to specialized Armadillos but cheaper. Unfortunately I anticipate this set may fall short of a full two years of tread wear. I'm going to try another brand.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2021
by Matthew
Brooklyn
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire and price

Tire works well with my foldable bike . Price was great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2017
by Bpkellypa
SE PA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
More road than trail

Great on road and packed earth. This is where I do most of my riding, so I am very happy. Not so hot in the soft stuff. I have only ridden about 125 miles, so I can't address durability

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by mklowe
Cycling Enthusiast
salt lake city, utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This is a excellent road/gravel tire with low resistance and -quiet ride

this is a excellent roadgravel tire with low resistance and -quiet ride.

Also is very puncture resistant.

I ride this at 38 psi so is more comfortable ride as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2016
by John In DC
Daily Commuter
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
14,000 miles. 'Nuff said.

I commute on my bike to and from work every day, year round. It works out to between 3,500 and 4,000 annual miles on that bike. I installed a Contact II 26 x 1.75 on my front wheel in June 2012 - and finally replaced it last week (September 2016). Four years at 3,500 () miles per year works out to - well, if I didn't keep meticulous maintenance records, I wouldn't believe it myself.

Most of my daily ride is on a reclaimed rail bed (so no glass, gravel or potholes) and the tire was worn nearly to the threads when I did replace it. To be honest I probably should have swapped it out a year earlier, but I wanted to see how far it would go and finally did only when the rubber began to separate from the threads in places. A couple of times in the latter stages of its life I suffered a couple of flats from debris that a newer tire probably would have repulsed, but I was still going several weeks or months without a problem.

I have to change out the rear tire every couple of years, but 6,000-8,000 miles is nothing to sneeze at either.

Anyhow I really like this tire - it's perfect for my uses and I'll keep buying them as long as Continental keeps making them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2016
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
fast comfortable ride!!

Purchased the 700x37 size. As others have said, they seem not as wide as the specified. Other than that they run smooth as silk and absorb the bumps really well!! Well worth the upgrade from stock Trek FX tires which were already great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2019
by DaRealOleg
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great universal tire for most road conditions of suburban NJ

I put these tires on my 2019 Trek Domane SL5 as a replacement for slicks that came with the bike. I was unhappy with the slicks as they did not feel safe on wet roads, or if there was some sand/dirt spilled, nor could I take them on the gravel tow path. These tires are perfect for what I want - low rolling resistance, confident grip to the pavement under most conditions (cornering on spilled sand, steel bridges, fall leaves, ice, etc.) and ability to take it on the gravel path for light gravel riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2015
by Frank M
Cycling Enthusiast
Nash County, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quality, Value, and Easy Installation

I purchased these tires as part of a revival of my daughters vintage Trek 800 Sport. These tires really added some pep to her rides over the old knobby tires as she mainly rides it now for fitness, in the neighborhood. The reflective strip is a nice touch as we typically get out and ride near, during, and after dusk. These tires are well made and were installed along with new rim strips and tubes without a hitch. Now, my wife wants a set for her bike, but she will have to wait until spring!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/27/2015
by MEYA103
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent All-Around

I was searching for a all-around tire to replace the somewhat knobby tires that came on my Cannondale CAADX Rival cyclocross bike. I'd say that I ride about 80% on road (often poorly surfaced roads) and 20% on light singletrack, dirt trails, and gravel paths. Since my old tires were designed more for the off-road side of things, I wanted a tire that would increase road performance while still allowing for some off-road usage. I couldn't be happier with my choice in the Continental Contact II's. My average road speeds have increased by approximately 2-5 mph, and they have handled damn near everything I have thrown at them off-road as well (and thats with riding them near the top end of their PSI capacity at 80psi). If you are looking for a versitile all-arounder that also offers outstanding puncture protection and good durability, look no further. The reflective sidewall option is a great feature as well, every little bit of visibility helps out there!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, but measures less wider than listed

Received a pair of quality tires, but was regretful that I did not order the larger 32mm. The 28mm's I got actually measured in at 24mm inflated...

Otherwise, the tires performed very surprisingly well through street, sidewalk, gravel, rocky terrain, and dirt trails. Very cushiony for its size and even bouncy at times.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2019
by Anonymous
New Hampshire
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice commuter

I got these in 28mm to replace my 25mm continental gatorskins, I immediately noticed some increased rolling resistance likely due to the tread on these tires. So far they have held up great, I'm a big fan of the reflective sidewall and the traction has been excellent. I ride a mix of dirtgravel and pavement on my commute and these have gripped well on all surfaces while wet and dry. Solid tire for the price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 45

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]