Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle

BrooksB17 Imperial Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(9%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 3/21/2019
by Rixtoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best seat ever for me . . .

Like you, I researched extensively reviews of the Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle before purchasing. I recognize no saddle is a fit for everyone, but the overall great ratings convinced me to give it a chance.

I also researched the myriad of break-in recommendations, from the sublime to the ridiculous. In my own case I used a technique recommended whereby I took the new seat, turned it over and applied with an old toothbrush the Proofide that came with it everywhere I could reach on the underside of the saddle.

Then I put the saddle in our oven at the lowest temperature (170 degrees) for 20 minutes. Then I removed (with hot pads) the saddle and re-applied more Proofide wherever I could reach. Then, back into the oven for 20 minutes. I repeated this for around 6 cycles of this process, then let the saddle cool to room temperature.

I installed the saddle and rode about 15 miles. then I extended the mileage. After only a few rides I found the seat to be quite comfortable. My fourth ride I went 50 miles and not once did I think it was uncomfortable.

I recently got my dream bike and , of course, had the Brooks put on the new bike. The technician told me I must not care about speed because the brooks weighs so much. I told him I am always interested in speed, but do not race and comfort is a higher priority than weight of the saddle.

I have several hundred miles on the new bike and have not once thought about my ass on any rides.

Love this thing!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by John Almond
Columbus, Mississippi
Overall Rating
No wonder the B-17 is legendary

Once broken in, my Brooks B-17 saddle became like an old pair of my favorite blue jeans or comfortable shoes.

Plus, it�s drop dead handsome on my bike. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by Wags
PA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love it!

I read a lot of reviews on Brooks Saddles and they were mixed. My experience has been great so far. I have about 600 miles on my saddle and it was comfortable from the first ride. My longest ride was 80 miles and I didn�t have any of issues I had with my other saddles. I can�t wait until it�s broken in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by Lfeats83
Casual Cyclist
Scenic Tucker, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Most comfortable saddle ever

Have these saddles on my e-bike and road bike. Maybe 100 miles max break in, now so comfy I can easily do 40 miles with non-padded shorts. Cutout seems to do its job, if you get my drift....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2019
by Red Bud Rider
Wichita, KS
Overall Rating
Comfortable

I bought this because of ongoing soft tissue pain on long multi-day rides. Break in took a while but it is the most comfortable saddle I have ever owned. It feels good in the morning and better each time I get back on the bike during the day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2020
by Ham
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks Saddles Don't Dissapoint

Brooks saddles aren't for everyone, obviously. But they do provide me with the most comfort of any saddle I've tried. They are all I ride. This particular saddle went onto a 1987 Fuji and enhances the comfort of the steel ride in a more aggressive riding position.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2018
by colorado biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montrose , CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle for a touring bike.

I will use this saddle on my touring bike ,like all Brooks saddles it does need breaking in. After about 200mi it will conform to my shape. I find it best to take 20mi daily rides until it is my shape, then longer rides will be fine. This saddle came with a wrench and a sample of leather dressing. If you take the time to break it in it will comfortable for several years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/17/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
High quality, comfortable, timeless retro look.

I am very happy with this saddle. 400 miles to break in using the conditioner once or twice a week. . This is not a weapon of a** destruction like most other minimalist saddles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by drkayaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classic Ride

Having owned a Brooks saddle for almost 40 years I decided to try this model. I felt it was completely broken in after about a 100 miles. Although it was not unduly uncomfortable before that. I use this on my all-road bike and on gravel or easy single track its been feeling great. I dont always wear padded shorts and have not had any problems. Ive got about 500 miles on it now with no regrets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Safe in the Saddle
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic saddle that will last a lifetime

I have put off purchasing a Brooks saddle since I was 20 years old - 40 years ago. During these years of separation, I have ridden every make and model of saddle on the market that now pile high in a cardboard box in my closet. Piled just as high are the butt calluses I accumulated riding over 8,000 every year commuting to work, racing, and bike touring across the United States. It has taken a long time to return to my roots in the 70's when I rode Masi, Ital Vega, Raleigh, and other great Brooks holders of the era. But I'm back, here to stay, like finding a high school sweetheart at your 40-year reunion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2016
by UtahC2C
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Coast to coast comfort

I took my partially broken in B17 and my WTB saddles on my coast to coast trip last year. The idea was that if I got a little sore I could switch saddles for a day or two for some relief. By the time I crossed the Cascades I stowed my WTB and dropped it with a friend in Boise. It took 37 riding days to cross the US. Of those 37 days only 8 days were without rain of varying degrees(don't cross the US in the Northern climes in the spring time). I treated the saddle about 4 times, top and bottom, during the crossing. I thought it held up extremely well considering the water torture it endured. I'm still riding it approximately 20 milesday commuting to and from work. The Brits know quality especially in bike saddles. If I had one critique it would be how long it took me to break it in. But it was well worth it. Without a doubt I will exit this life with Brooks on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Marshall
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, WAPortland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I have been riding for over 30 years and wish I would have believed the hype I have been hearing about Brooks Saddles years ago.

Daily commuter (29 miles round trip for more than 20 years), very pleased at how this saddle is not only very comfortable once broken in, but, how it was never uncomfortable like I always thought they would be. Again I wish I would have believed all the hype years ago as it would have saved me a lot of time and money. In the Pacific Northwest the rain cover comes in very handy and is a great fit as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by Distance Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod, MA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle, I have 5 of them now.

These saddles are very comfortable and a lot less expensive than Gilles Berethoud saddles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2018
by Ron
Cincinnati Ohio
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
An immediate improvement

I was a little apprehensive when I learned it may take 500 miles to break this saddle in. Some years I may not ride 500 miles all year. Anyway it was an immediate improvement and allowed me to increase the frequency and length of my rides.

Also, I had experienced prostate pain with blood in my urine (Gross, I know) with another saddle. This is why I choose the saddle with the interior cutout. I have not had any prostate problems with this saddle. I am very happy with this saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Brad
Oviedo, Florida
Overall Rating
I love this saddle!

Not even finished breaking it in and haven't had a sore day yet. I have used a B17 on my commuter road bike for years, andI just bought a nice new carbon fiber Cannondale but couldn't enjoy it properly without a B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2018
by DSMo
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Extraordinary saddle comfort from the very first ride.

I'm getting older and it's become harder for me to get and stay comfortable on longer rides. This past winter I've tried a half dozen different brands and styles of saddle. Some were better than others and brought improvements which typically turned out to be relatively short-lived. And then I bought a Brooks B17 for my touring bike. Instantly, I felt more comfortable in the saddle than I have in years. An immediate settled-ness and fit. It's terrific and well worth the extra 100 grams. I'm considering getting Brooks saddles for all my other bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

Only have about 100 miles on it so far but im really liking it. They say it will only get better. Im a big boy(270lbs) so im hoping it will hold up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pleased with saddle

Came with a small blemish and BTD offered to replace. I suggested a discount and they agreed. Great service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by JS
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Petersburg, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
All Day Comfort

In my opinion, Brooks makes the finest saddles with regards to comfort and durability. Yes, they take a while to break in although I have always found that I never experience any pains after a good day's ride. I generally ride 20 miles as a reference point. This time, I opted for the Imperial saddle not only for the extra relief but also the logic of less seat, less to break-in About a two months and a few hundreds miles old now, I love it. Thank you to Bike Tires Direct for the savings too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pleased with saddle

Came with a small blemish and BTD offered to replace. I suggested a discount and they agreed. Great service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 56