FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle

BrooksB17 Imperial Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(8%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/14/2018
by colorado biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montrose , CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle for a touring bike.

I will use this saddle on my touring bike ,like all Brooks saddles it does need breaking in. After about 200mi it will conform to my shape. I find it best to take 20mi daily rides until it is my shape, then longer rides will be fine. This saddle came with a wrench and a sample of leather dressing. If you take the time to break it in it will comfortable for several years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Marshall
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, WAPortland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I have been riding for over 30 years and wish I would have believed the hype I have been hearing about Brooks Saddles years ago.

Daily commuter (29 miles round trip for more than 20 years), very pleased at how this saddle is not only very comfortable once broken in, but, how it was never uncomfortable like I always thought they would be. Again I wish I would have believed all the hype years ago as it would have saved me a lot of time and money. In the Pacific Northwest the rain cover comes in very handy and is a great fit as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by Distance Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod, MA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great saddle, I have 5 of them now.

These saddles are very comfortable and a lot less expensive than Gilles Berethoud saddles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2018
by Ron
Cincinnati Ohio
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
An immediate improvement

I was a little apprehensive when I learned it may take 500 miles to break this saddle in. Some years I may not ride 500 miles all year. Anyway it was an immediate improvement and allowed me to increase the frequency and length of my rides.

Also, I had experienced prostate pain with blood in my urine (Gross, I know) with another saddle. This is why I choose the saddle with the interior cutout. I have not had any prostate problems with this saddle. I am very happy with this saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Brad
Oviedo, Florida
Overall Rating
I love this saddle!

Not even finished breaking it in and haven't had a sore day yet. I have used a B17 on my commuter road bike for years, andI just bought a nice new carbon fiber Cannondale but couldn't enjoy it properly without a B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2018
by Brad
Oviedo, Florida
Overall Rating
I love this saddle!

Not even finished breaking it in and haven't had a sore day yet. I have used a B17 on my commuter road bike for years, andI just bought a nice new carbon fiber Cannondale but couldn't enjoy it properly without a B17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2018
by DSMo
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Extraordinary saddle comfort from the very first ride.

I'm getting older and it's become harder for me to get and stay comfortable on longer rides. This past winter I've tried a half dozen different brands and styles of saddle. Some were better than others and brought improvements which typically turned out to be relatively short-lived. And then I bought a Brooks B17 for my touring bike. Instantly, I felt more comfortable in the saddle than I have in years. An immediate settled-ness and fit. It's terrific and well worth the extra 100 grams. I'm considering getting Brooks saddles for all my other bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2017
by Safe in the Saddle
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic saddle that will last a lifetime

I have put off purchasing a Brooks saddle since I was 20 years old - 40 years ago. During these years of separation, I have ridden every make and model of saddle on the market that now pile high in a cardboard box in my closet. Piled just as high are the butt calluses I accumulated riding over 8,000 every year commuting to work, racing, and bike touring across the United States. It has taken a long time to return to my roots in the 70's when I rode Masi, Ital Vega, Raleigh, and other great Brooks holders of the era. But I'm back, here to stay, like finding a high school sweetheart at your 40-year reunion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

Only have about 100 miles on it so far but im really liking it. They say it will only get better. Im a big boy(270lbs) so im hoping it will hold up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pleased with saddle

Came with a small blemish and BTD offered to replace. I suggested a discount and they agreed. Great service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by JS
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Petersburg, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
All Day Comfort

In my opinion, Brooks makes the finest saddles with regards to comfort and durability. Yes, they take a while to break in although I have always found that I never experience any pains after a good day's ride. I generally ride 20 miles as a reference point. This time, I opted for the Imperial saddle not only for the extra relief but also the logic of less seat, less to break-in About a two months and a few hundreds miles old now, I love it. Thank you to Bike Tires Direct for the savings too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pleased with saddle

Came with a small blemish and BTD offered to replace. I suggested a discount and they agreed. Great service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2016
by UtahC2C
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Coast to coast comfort

I took my partially broken in B17 and my WTB saddles on my coast to coast trip last year. The idea was that if I got a little sore I could switch saddles for a day or two for some relief. By the time I crossed the Cascades I stowed my WTB and dropped it with a friend in Boise. It took 37 riding days to cross the US. Of those 37 days only 8 days were without rain of varying degrees(don't cross the US in the Northern climes in the spring time). I treated the saddle about 4 times, top and bottom, during the crossing. I thought it held up extremely well considering the water torture it endured. I'm still riding it approximately 20 milesday commuting to and from work. The Brits know quality especially in bike saddles. If I had one critique it would be how long it took me to break it in. But it was well worth it. Without a doubt I will exit this life with Brooks on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/22/2017
by dwig
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice quality saddle, color is perfect for my vintage Merckx.

The saddle is Brooks quality, very nice. The color is as advertised, it is exactly what I was looking for. Breaking in has taken a few 20 mile rides and is now sitting on perhaps my favorite ride. Looking forward to many more rides in the future, that wouldn't be the case if the saddle had not broken in well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2017
by Lexleggett
Oregon, wi
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love my saddle

Bought my saddle 2 weeks before a 720 mile 1 week round trip Madison WI. to Minneapolis Minnesota. 6 days of consecutive 100 mile centuries and no issues with comfort. The saddle is weighty but comfortable so I'll go for that anyday

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
best seat ever after trying out many others

I have a garage full of different seats I have tried out over the years. I have finally found one that is comfortable on long multi-day rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle

Excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle

Excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2013
by Mason Jah
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
The last saddle I will ever buy.

What's not to like. This saddle is superior to all others. It looks great, and rides the best. It's not even broken in yet, and is still far more comfortable than any other saddle I have owned. Aside from the general quality of this product, bike tires direct offers it at the best price on the net.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Best in class product

Best in class product and also price match here

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.