Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle

BrooksB17 Imperial Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(9%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/22/2017
by dwig
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice quality saddle, color is perfect for my vintage Merckx.

The saddle is Brooks quality, very nice. The color is as advertised, it is exactly what I was looking for. Breaking in has taken a few 20 mile rides and is now sitting on perhaps my favorite ride. Looking forward to many more rides in the future, that wouldn't be the case if the saddle had not broken in well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2017
by Lexleggett
Oregon, wi
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love my saddle

Bought my saddle 2 weeks before a 720 mile 1 week round trip Madison WI. to Minneapolis Minnesota. 6 days of consecutive 100 mile centuries and no issues with comfort. The saddle is weighty but comfortable so I'll go for that anyday

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
best seat ever after trying out many others

I have a garage full of different seats I have tried out over the years. I have finally found one that is comfortable on long multi-day rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent saddle

Excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2013
by Mason Jah
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
The last saddle I will ever buy.

What's not to like. This saddle is superior to all others. It looks great, and rides the best. It's not even broken in yet, and is still far more comfortable than any other saddle I have owned. Aside from the general quality of this product, bike tires direct offers it at the best price on the net.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Best in class product

Best in class product and also price match here

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2013
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Lancaster, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Could be Good

Only have 300 miles on new seat, still breaking in although it does seem to be getting better. Concern included sharp edges on seat cut out caused problems at first. Did some gentle cutting around the opening which seems to have taken care of the initial issue. Very high quality leather and hardware. Hopefully another 300 or 400 miles will get it broken in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2012
by Perry
Cycling Enthusiast
N. of Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
The only saddle I will use now

I remember the leather saddle that came on my first ten speed forty years ago. It was not comfortable. Maybe I didn't adjust it correctly. Maybe it was a cheap brand, I don't remember. I do know it was not a Brooks.

Given that history, it took a small leap of faith to try a leather saddle again. This is my second Brooks B17 Imperial and I won't use anything else on a road bike. I might be just as happy with a Brooks without a cutout, like the Imperial has, but I don't need to experiment. The Imperial disappears when I'm riding my 18 mile commute or 60 mile days on a loaded touring bike.

I haven't used any proofide yet but I'm careful not to get it wet. I adjust the tensioner every now and then so that the saddle flexes a bit but not enough to get pinching from the cutout.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2012
by badcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
An excellent saddle

My search for a great cut-away saddle is over. This is it. It is comfortable, and the leather around the cutaway section gives the saddle just a little extra give in the sensitive parts of the anatomy. (Some so-called comfort saddles have a little hard ridge around the cutaway that kind of negates the whole point of the cutaway). The only possible issue that some people will have is weight, but that is not my top concern when it comes to my saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2012
by RatTail
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Quality and comfort!

Ordered the B17 Imperial to replace the torture slab WTB saddle that came stock on my Surly Cross Check. I couldn't be happier with it. I had developed some rear end issues over the years that have been greatly diminished with the Brooks saddle. Saddle has broken in nicely even though I had put 1,000 on it before I was able to obtain the magic Proofide. Expensive, yes, but I am sure that I will be ordering another Brooks to replace my wornout road bike saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very good saddle, comfortable, but worry about water sensitivity

Best saddle I have owned. Much more comfortable than the stock saddle on my CAADX. I expect when it gets fully broken in it will be a 5 star, but only time will tell. I am worried about the color changes and absorption of watersweat in the saddle. Suppose it will be alright.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2020
by Michael Thompson
Daily Commuter
Basalt CO
Overall Rating
Very comfortable saddle, and I really like its potential for long lasting product endurance. No more plastic saddles for me!

This Brooks B17 Imperial saddle is on my main touring bicycle, a 1993 Bianchi Project 5 cross bike, converted to a gravel bike with aero bars. I will benefit from the comfort of this saddle on multiple consecutive, 40 mile days of cross country travel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Robert
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Overall Rating
Very easy to break in!

I applied several coats of Proofhide to the underside of the saddle over a 2 week period. I also loosened the adjusting screw approximately 12 turn. After 50 miles or so of use the saddle is quite comfortable. Much easier to break in than the standard B-17 which I also have.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2018
by Howard Maher
Richardson, TX
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Brooks!

I have been a true believer in Brooks for many years, and this year Ill be exploring with my new Imperial Saddle... watch out world... here I come in comfort! Ride On!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2018
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle!

Great saddle,comfortable and they give you the wrench to adjust the tension in the seat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2015
by Dax
Seattle
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Monkey see monkey do...

Monkey see monkey do... Go show up to a rando ride and count the number of Brooks chosen by cyclist who regularly ride 200K to 1200K events. The first time you sit on your Brooks Saddle you will think eh... its pretty good (I road mine fresh out of the box on a 300K event with no problems)

The first time you ride your bike after your saddle is broken in (For me this was at mile 819) you will think Holy smokes! This is wonderful... now I understand why all those old dudes use these saddles!

The bottom line is that once your saddle becomes shaped to YOUR BUTT you will never have a saddle problem again. Just like breaking in a good pair of boots....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/20/2018
by Sam D
savannah, Ga
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No break in needed

No wonder Brooks is the best. Great saddle from day one. Minimal break in. Looks great and is very comfortable. Dont know what took me so long. May get on for Bike 2

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfy saddle

My first leather saddle and glad i made the switch. Fast shipping, no issues

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2017
by Maury
New York
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best of the Brooks!

This is the fourth Brooks saddle I've owned and by far my favorite. The best part is you don't even notice it while riding, it's just there as a natural extension of the bike. Shock absorbing in the city and a source of ease and comfort for miles, this is the one for me from now on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2017
by Rekrespite
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, IN
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Wish I'd bought a Brooks saddle 20 years ago.

I am very satisfied with this saddle. There was virtually no break-in period. Great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 41