Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
WTB Byway TCS 700c Gravel Tire

WTBByway TCS 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(3)
(1)
(2)
(3)
(68%)
(11%)
(4%)
(7%)
(11%)
Reviewed 8/23/2022
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Hard to keep inflated.

The WTB Byway is a nice rolling tire. I like that, but in a tubeless setup it's hard to get it sealed up. I noticed it leaked air pretty quickly from the beginning and then I found literally dozens of little pinprick sized spots on the sidewalls where the sealant was plugging up holes, so I put more sealant in and worked it around. That improved the leakage for a while but then it started happening again. Now, after a year of riding on it, I have to inflate this tire before every ride, even if it's the next day. I've considered taking it off and putting a tube in, but I've decided to just ride it until it's worn (almost there) out and replace it with something else. I will not buy it again, and I strongly recommend against using it tubeless for backpacking or touring unless you enjoy working the pump. Maybe with a tube it would work well. I did not buy the tire from BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2022
by turnerxce
Cycling Enthusiast
Centennial, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice rolling on pavement, but still hooks up well on gravel

Only a handful of rides on these, but so far I'm really liking them a lot over the Nano 40s they replaced. The center tread rolls nice and smooth on pavement and hardpack, but the shoulders provide just enough for confidence on gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth rolling tire with just enough edge grip for hard pack

700c x 44m, used on my winter bike, a Kona Sutra LTD, for dry gravel and paved trails. My rides are typically 60% paved, and 40% gravel. These roll smoothly on pavement and feel pretty supple. On gravel they are plenty grippy, and have just enough side knobs for when riding on a side hill to not slip.

Setting these up tubeless was a mild pain. They weren't too hard to get on my rims, a set of Velocity Ailerons, by hand, but they did resist inflating a bit. Eventually, after a few tries, I got them to pop on and hold air. Once inflated, with 3oz of Orange Seal, they've done an excellent job holding air. I ride in goat-head country and have had no issues with flats.

The previous tires on this bike were a set of Rene Herse Snoqualmie Pass (44m) tires. They were super supple, very fast on pavement, and plenty grippy on gravel. The only place they fell short for my needs was on the side of a hill. They have no side knobs so were prone to slipping. I had a couple offs because of the lack of side grip with them. They were also prone to punctures.

The WTB Byways are close to the Snoqualmie's in speed and suppleness, equal in straight-line grip, and are superior in side grip and puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2022
by biker_bryce817
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love How They Roll

On my third set of the 700x34 and haven't thought of changing to a different tire. I love the versatility of them. Whether the path is paved, gravel or dirt, they are fast and dependable. I run tubeless and only had to throw a tube in once, but was super easy to get off the rim and back on. I have a feeling these will also be my 4th set of tires when needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling on tarmac and confident on bad roads

I bought the 700x 34 with tan sidewalls, which look AMAZING. They were a pain to install on the rim. I had to use soap and water to seat them properly and had to inflate past 60 PSI to pop them into place. Once installed, man are these tires awesome!! I bought these tires to ride on bad roads and light gravel & dirt. The smooth interior allows for speed and outer knobs offer extra confidence - exactly what WTB intended. I do not feel any slower on tarmac than I did on the 30mm Schwalbe tires that I replaced. Only criticism is the price, a little pricey. Will shall see how they wear over time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2022
by JWies
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Poor Durability, Quality

This is the last WTB tire I will purchase. I've given this tire, of different sizes, numerous chances to become my go-to tire, but it continues to come up with defective construction, poor casings and poor wear. In comparison to competitors tires of this type, the WTB Byway rates low in my book. I ride about 125 miles per week, mostly pavement with 10% of that on fine gravel and single track. I tried. I'm done.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/12/2021
by BustedKnuckles
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Great ... until you need to take them off!

Everything is great about these tires except one all-important issue too many manufacturers seem to ignore -- the ability to easily install AND remove when necessary. When I decided to swap these for a smaller, lighter set of tires I have, they refused to come off my rims. it was only after a major, hour-long struggle and the use of tools you're *never* supposed to use on tires and rims that I finally got them off. I shutter to think of being forced to change a flat while out in the boondocks.

Yes, denoting only one start may seem a bit harsh for otherwise good tires. But good tires are utterly worthless if you can't easily get them on and off.

By the way, the set of tires I replaced them with were Bontrager R2 Hard-Case Lite's, which unfailingly, easily pop on and off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2022
by CarbonRyda
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great pair of gravel treads

These tires are awesome on hard packed gravel trails and crappy paved city streets. The only small issue that I had was the bead seating correctly. I had to take the tire pressure up to 50 PSI and it popped into place. They have sealed correctly, but took a few days to seal the tire imperfections. Overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by  J Stew
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires for 60/40 road/gravel! Even sidewall survived a shard of small glass!

I don't have much to compare against because this is my first foray into any tires over 28mm and also the first time I've gone tubeless however the first couple hundred of miles on these have been great.

Installation: I have them mounted on Bontrager Aeolus Pro 3V. This was my first time mounting tubeless on a rim and at first I had some trouble but using a bit of soapy water I was able to get the wheel to pop in to place. There was a little beading of sealant the first day or two but certainly nothing excessive. Since it's been fine.

Sealant: I'm running them with Stan's Sealant and so far I've also seen the power of sealant go to work when I had a tiny shard of glass get stuck in the sidewall. I thought I was out of luck when I removed the glass and the tire was still losing air but once I popped the wheel off and rotated it around a bunch the sealant quickly plugged. Beautiful!

Use: I'm using these on prob about 60/40 road/gravel. I feel like the smooth centerline is great for the road and comfortable on gravel, towpaths, crushed rock, etc. I did find the wheel slipping at times when I was putting down some power on steep climbs but I also had the PSI at around 50-55 and so this could have contributed to that. Dropping the PSI may combat the slipping a bit.

Overall, these tires combined with my titanium frame make for a great pairing. I look forward to exploring other similar tires but hopefully not too soon! I'm looking to have these last for a while.

Also, I did have a quality issue with one of the first two tires I received but, as always, BikesTiresDirect, was lightning fast in helping to resolve. I was seriously bummed for not having it for the first weekend of my build (I thought the tire would show up the following Wed or Thur) and I had it delivered Friday - I couldn't be happier with the customer service here!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by Saug
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent All-rounder for Mixed-Surface.

Bought this tire to replace the wider tires on my Fargo. I became tired of working too hard on hardpack and tarmac surfaces, in-between gravel. These tires are supple and absorb a lot of unwanted vibrations from the ground. I have found that correct tire pressure is very important with these tires (tubeless setup here). Started with ~40 psi and found they were a little squirrely on looser gravel. I reduced the pressure down around 30 psi and they ate the gravel for lunch. Instant stability. I've become a very large fan of these tires. I now find myself riding these tires on tarmac and bike paths more than my road bike. I would purchase the Byway again but would consider the new SG2 technology that just came out. I've had zero issues with the Byways but a little extra puncture protection wouldn't hurt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by DrGDoyle
Competitive Racer
North Eastern maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
My new favorite all surface tire

I have been super impressed with the look and the durability of WTB tires for years now - I first rode a set of 40mm Resolutes and loved them, but felt like I was leaving a lot of rubber on the asphalt between gravel roads here in the Mid-Atlantic so my next set was some 38 mm (I think) Riddlers which I also loved and when they started to look close to retirement age I started browsing for replacements and came across the ByWay 40mm and decided to give them a try. The tubeless set-up was super easy on my Chinese (Velobuild.com) 25 mm carbon "cyclocross" wheels and I have a good 500 miles on them so far on asphalt, gravel, grass, single track, mud and tar & chip - they perform great just like the other WTB models - a little spin-out now and again on steep gravel, grass or mud, but not horrible. For the few feet or so I needed slightly more aggressive tread I have miles and miles of carefree riding. No flats yet, Orange Seal works really well with these babies. I almost wanted to say I will not ride these at DK200, but am now having second thoughts after my experience AND reading and seeing so many of the top folks going more towards "slicks" ... I doubt anyone will be disappointed with these tires!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great all around tire so far

A little on the pricey side but it's exactly what i was looking for on my cross bike. Solid center tread does well on pavement and I have no issues on gravel trails.

However, these 700x34 tires were the hardest set I have ever tried to seat. I knew it was going to be rough when getting just the first bead over the rim presented difficulty. I had no issues with 700x25 trainer tires, but it took me multiple rounds of soapy water and massaging the tire to get the bead to seat on the rim. So be careful and check the sidewall to make sure its actually seated! Other than that, no issues so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
State College, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Massive tear within first 100 miles

Set up tubeless on new rims without issue.

Did a 50 mile ride. Pressure slowly dropped over the first 30 miles, used a CO2 cartridge and made it home.

Swapped out my valve stem trying to isolate the problem and added more sealant.

Second ride: 10 miles over asphalt, followed by relatively tame hard-pack dirt trails. Went over a small rock, got a massive tear where the knobs meet sidewall. Used both plugs I had on me, a blast of CO2, and prayed that it would hold. Had to use my second and final CO2 cartridge about two miles later. But I did make it home.

12 hours later, and I can tell that the plugs won't be sufficient to squeeze even a little more life from this tire.

Maybe I just got unlucky, but I've done much more challenging terrain on bargain-bin tires without issue. I'd really hesitate to buy the Byways again. Destroyed in less than 2 weeks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/29/2020
by Allen
Cycling Enthusiast
Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
As advertised!

Bought 4 of these to mount tubeless on our Kona Libre DLs with Easton EA70 AX rim upgrades for Acadia. AS ADVERTISED, great for paved local, park loop and Cadillac Mountain climb and gravel carriage roads. One wheel set, all conditions. Must mention one tire had a sidewall pinhole defect. Never had a problem with WTB product before. Suspect this is very rare. BTD replaced immediately. Kudos for that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super Happy with these tires

The description they provide is spot on. These tires are perfect for hardpack, decent gravel roads and crummy pavement. Overall, the ride is supremely comfortable and so far, no flats. I found them easy to mount on my ENVE G23s. But decided to add the Vittoria tire inserts. You will not get them on with bare hands or regular tire levers

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by JWNorCal
Cycling Enthusiast
Chico, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
44s are Perfect

Fair price. Excellent pavement/gravel tire for an all-rounder. Hitting the gravel, air down. Sloppy mud or sandy conditions, pick a different tire... but if you have pavement to hammer to the gravel, this is the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/18/2022
by Adam
Charleston
Overall Rating
Perfect!

Fast rolling with enough knob on the perimeter for grip when you need it most. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/21/2022
by MOrtega
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Only tires I use! great price too!

These are the best gravel tires I've purchased so far! I've ridden in the South Florida Everglades levy and they survived it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by John
Chico
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Supple

Fast rolling for the pavement, designed with a meaty corner for the gravel. Super satisfied with this tire. Previous tire was the Panaracer GravelKing. Again, the most supple tire I have experienced. No flat issues. Running tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
hard to mount

As others mentioned these are very difficult to mount. Will not buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 62

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]