Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(7)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(16%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/10/2021
by Carbonfiberkid
Overall Rating
Comfortable shoes

I I haven't done any long rides yet but so far on the shorter rides, 30 minutes, on the trainer these are really comfortable. With the short tongue and BOA system they are a little harder to put on

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2021
by Aaron
Savannah,Ga
Overall Rating
Awesome and stiff

The shoe is really stiff and responsive, power transfer felt spot on. The aeration is so good specially this hot and humid weather. I had some long rides a couple of times and never felt any pressure spots. The boa dials are great in spreading the tension and provides good fitting. The best thing on this is that I got it on a discounted price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Mkey
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love my new RC701s

My previous shoes (Shimano R171s) which I loved, were damaged in a cycling accident and needed replacement. Doing some research, it seemed like the RC701 was the logical replacement. I love these shoes. Comfortable, stylish, and Boas instead of Velcro, and a great price point. While the Boas cannot be turned the other direction to loosen them, I find that is not an issue for me. I usually keep them a little loose to start my ride and give them a little twist if I need to later. The soles are quite stiff and I really haven't noticed any difference riding from my old beloved R171s. It you don't want to spent S-Phyre money for a great shoe, the RC701is a great choice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by GeorgiaJeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Georgia, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable with irritating Tongue

These are really comfortable and great for warmer riding. The sole is plenty stiff and the shoe fits comfortably around my foot. The double BOA system really gives you a lot of flexibility when trying to properly tighten the shoe to your foot; you can easily tighten and loosen to get a good feeling fit without over or under tightening the shoe and creating a hot spot. My only complaint is when putting the shoe on the tongue is hard to grip to keep it from slipping to one side or being pushed down. This is because the tongue has a "V" cut in the top which removes the part of the tongue you'd usually grasp to hold it in place while pulling on the shoe. This isn't a "deal breaker" but it is still frustrating. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and as I've always been, happy with Bike Tires Direct's service.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2020
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic for my feet on long rides.

ive struggled to find cycling shoes that are comfortable on longer rides. every other shoe ive tried started giving me hot spots around mile 20 and ive just had to deal with the discomfort. i decided to try these out and boy am i glad i did. the toe box is generous and comfortable. i did a 50+ mile ride the day after i got these and at mile 50 my feet felt great. no hot spots at all. easy to adjust on the fly if need be as well which is nice. overall im very happy with these so far.

also the shimano size chart is different from your standard EU to US sizing. i got a 48 based on shimanos chart (usually i wear a 46-47EU, 12US) and they fit perfectly for my size 12US feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2020
by Back roads fan
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good value, light and stiff

I upgraded to these shoes when they were on sale, from almost 20-year-old lace-up Lake shoes. The boa system makes it so much quicker and easier to put on and remove the shoes. I am still getting used to how to fine tune the tightness of the two boas. The action is so smooth that it is easy to over tighten the lower adjuster. I find that I need to leave the tightness less than what I thought was needed and make small changes to optimize the fit.

The ventilation is good as advertised. I can feel the air move through the shoe when it is hot out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Braunfels, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love these shoes, true to size compared to Bontrager shoes,

I do not compete anymore but love a light weight, stiff sole shoe and these fit the bill. Haven't ridden in them enough to find anything bad with them. I love the little extra room I feel I have in the toe box area. Would buy them again from what I can tell so far. I wear an 11 in almost all my casual shoes and the 46 was a perfect fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2020
by Mike H
New Jersey
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent shoe, well vented and stiff sole

I've been wearing Fizik for years and was ready to try something new. I bought the white and they are a beautiful shoe. Well ventilated, and very stiff sole. As far as sizing, I am a 9 1/2 and I bought these in a 45. I like my cycling shoes slightly large to accommodate swelling in hot temps. These fit perfect, and have a very roomy toe box.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2021
by Grayson cloy
Atlanta ga
Overall Rating
Love them

They are amazing and definitely recommend them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable yet rigid and good for high insteps

Pros: I use these shoes for road and gravel riding. They are responsive on climbs, especially the rigidity provides stability and power. I have a high instep and wide feet. These are great for accommodating both. I would buy them again.

Cons"For some reason the tongue can get pushed into the shoe when I am putting them on. Very small detail given the quality and performance of the shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Solomona8
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super comfy, stiff, and good fit for a wide toe box

My foot is a challenge to fit because I have a wide toe box and a narrow heel. The Shimano RC 701, fit my foot really well throughout the entire ride. I am > 200lbs, and they remain stiff even when I stand on the pedals. I really enjoy riding with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2019
by East Bay Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Roomy and well ventilated

I've always worn Shimano cycling shoes because they offer a nice size toe box for me, not that I have big toes but they have always been roomier than say SIDI for example. The RC7's are spot on, plus they seem well ventilated for those hot summer rides coming up. Not the stiffest sole I've experienced, but great for me. Lightweight carbon sole and of very comfortable. I love the twin BOA dials for getting a snug fit. The shoe last seems to be the same as previous models so I bought my usual size (46) without any worry.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice shoes!

These are my first try of a shoe with the BOA dial system. My other shoes are entry level with velcro closures- not bad but was wondering what the improvement in a nicer shoe would bring to the riding experience.

There are definite differences. The new shoes feel a bit lighter than the old, I like the BOA and the snugness of the fit, the soles are very stiff and it feels like an actual improvement in power transfer, especially out of the saddle.

The cons it's difficult to get them on, and they chafe a bit above the heel the back of the shoe. I'm thinking this will improve as they break in with use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by JohnA
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
Perfect fit and love the Boa

Shimano shoes fit my feet well and these are no exception. They loosened up quickly and I really like how easy and precise the Boa closures are.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by SeattlePete
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WAS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love it

Light, sturdy yet comfortable, love the Boa dials (will never go back to Velcro).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/13/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Stiff, light,

I wanted a solid Shimano road shoe with double-BOA and this fit the bill. They feel very stiff (10 out of 12 according to Shimano's own scale, FWIW) and the fit is great, I have wide-ish feet and Shimano usually works well for me. The BOA is super convenient, I've found myself making adjustments a couple times while riding which I haven't done before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/26/2019
by MKE biker
Cycling Enthusiast
53051
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome shoe

Great looking shoe. Feet are really locked in with no slipping. My only complaint is that the material buckles on the insteparch area. Looks a little wide and sloppy looking down on it. It has happened with other Shimano shoes I have owned. Other than that awesome shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Really nice shoes

Purchased after getting too much toe and foot burn with some high end Sidis. More room in toe box with these. Doing well after 1000 miles and an Ironman. Boa dials are nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2019
by Anonymous
Greater Vancouver Area, BC
Overall Rating
good shoes

double boa helps grip foot where needed.

very easy to adjust mid ride.

stiff sole.

good ventilation.

there is a slit on the tongue of the shoe which needs to be centered at all times, if not circulation would be restricted.

overall good shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
amazing shoe!

I love this design. I love the twisty thingies and didn't want new shoes to have velcro. This was the verdict. Slick in looks, design, and function. I can get my foot snug. I would probably do a half size smaller next time, but I will definitely buy again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 95

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]