Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano RC701 Road Shoe

ShimanoRC701 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(7)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(16%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 7/4/2019
by Stan
Bozeman, MT
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet on the first ride!

Im impossible to fit in road shoes. These are the best Ive worn yet, and Ive tried all the high end shoes. Feel soft, but plenty firm in the soles for power transfer. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 1/12/2018
by HK
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Shoe with most Cleat Position Adjustability

I initially bought a pair of SIDI Genius 7 road shoes since I have only used SIDI for my mountain biking and found them to be very comfortable. The SIDI Genius were exceptional except for one problem- The Cleat adjustment in the sole did not allow me to place the Cleats far enough backwards. I wanted the place the cleats as far back to allow proper alignment on the pedal. Most carbon soles only have 3 holes without any fore-aft adjustments.

After a lot of research and most of all, the expert help from BTD staff, they directed me to the Shimano SH-RC7 road shoes. As others have mentioned, they are

-Super comfortable from day one

-Very adjustable with the dial system

-Very stiff Carbon sole

-Very light weight- lighter than the SIDI genius

The biggest advantage for me was the Fore-Aft adjustment on the Carbon Sole. It allows you to adjust the cleat placement a lot more than many other carbon sole shoes. If you want to place your cleats farther back for more power transfer, then this shoe will allow you to do this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 4/8/2017
by FJ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome pair of shoes!

Comfortable, light well built carbon shoes. Great value for the money. I got about 1,000 miles on them and they feel great. Big fan of the BOA system.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 10/8/2018
by Brian
Blaine WA
Overall Rating
Very satisfied

I have been wearing Shimano shoes at this price point for 15 years. These are definitley the best version yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 3/27/2018
by Zues Duval
Los Angeles,Ca
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
My 1st pair

I bought this pair just before Thanksgiving last year. I'm happy to say that they are spot on in comfort, fit, and durabilty. They are light weight and the soles allow for adjustable placements of the cleats. The boa dial is neat and with a twist you may adjust the fit to your needs. I especially like that with just a pull on the boa dial it releases it's tension and you slide your foot easily out of the shoe. Or you may reset the tension should you require a loose fit.Unfortunately I have no experience with other shoes so my opinion is biased. But,rest assured that if this were to be your first road shoes purchase, I'm sure you'd buy these shoes again.My humble opinion of course.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 2/26/2018
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Pisgah National Forest, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great value

Bought these for my wife. We both wear the mtb version off road. Great fit and plenty stiff. I sense zero flex for my 185lbs. My only quibble is that they didnt put the cats-tongue fabric on the heal of the RC as they did on the XC version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 1/12/2018
by JD Pinilla
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good looks but delicate

Good looks but delicate

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 4/8/2017
by FJ
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome pair of shoes!

Comfortable, light, well built carbon shoes. Great value for the money. I got about 1,000 miles on them and they feel great. Big fan of the BOA system.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2020
by tkollig
Cycling Enthusiast
midland, mi
Overall Rating
Great shoe / great vendor

These shoes fit great and the upper is soft. The sole is plenty of stiff for aggressive riding. I wore them now for ~400mi and really like them.

I was unsure about sizing but I called the vendor and they gave me info about shimano's sizing variations.

Returns would have been easy (according to that conversation) but The shoes fit perfectly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2021
by NW
Vancouver WA
Overall Rating
Comfortable and easy

These shoes are super comfy and quick and easy to get laced up

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA
Overall Rating
great shoe for the price.

I also own a pair of the S-Phyre RC9's as well. The RC7 is not quite

as stiff but still a great shoe considering the price compared to the RC9. Adding the 2nd Boa makes this a better shoe than the previous option. Super comfortable right out of the box.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by imdodgrfan
Cycling Enthusiast
Socal
Overall Rating
Great comfort and ease of use.

These shoes are very comfortable. During long rides I do not get any hot spots. They fit true to size. I wear 11.5 to 12 in shoes and these are 46.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2020
by Me from here
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Happy Feet

I have been waiting to buy these shoes, I had to wait for my Shimano SH-R171's which were a solid purchase to wear out before I deserved new shoes. I have had shoes from Sidi, Mavic, Garneau, Northwave, and Shimano. The Shimano shoes seem to be the best at combining comfort and power transition at the right price. More toe box space than the previously mentioned shoes and great overall feel. The Boa closures are really sweet and super easy to use, my Garneau' also has the Boa system but placed differently, the Rc7's placement is more comfortable and secure to me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2020
by Vortex
Competitive Racer
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
The shoes are worth every penny!

The shoes are stiff for power transfer, yet comfortable. They are thinner than other older models of cycling shoes, so be ready to wear shoe covers. I measure 225mm and got a size 42.5 since my feet are a little wide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2019
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Orem, Utah
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice shoe for the price

These are light, comfortable, stiff and really do the job. They might not be on the highest end of the shoe war but I doubt you'd notice much difference if any against the bigger dollar shoe. Super glad I pulled the trigger to buy them. You really cannot go wrong with them. I ended up with about 12 size larger for better fit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2019
by cf55
Cycling Enthusiast
Kent, WA
Overall Rating
RC701 - Awesome shoes

I have a hard time finding shoes that fit. Shimano shoes are the best fitting shoes for me. These have a larger toe box, which is very important for me. The shoes are really stiff and still comfortable. I have noticed the positive difference in my pedal stroke. I love these shoes and will always buy shimanos with carbon soles going forward. I wish I would have bought these years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2019
by Anonymous
Florida
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent shoe

Excellent shoe for all seasons in Florida. The right amount of stiffness and very light. Becoming my go to shoe.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 8/2/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
4 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Nice riding shoe, Uppers scuff after few rides

Very nice looking riding shoe, which look great out of the box. Perfect summer shoe. Fit my foot really well. Downside is that the graphics start rubbing of the synthetic upper when you clip as you flick the pedal over to clip in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic road shoe at a reasonable price.

Immediate impact on my performance. This shoe has a design that seems to promote proper technique while maintaining comfort. My average speed has increased by 1 mph. Love the design, the uppers are a little hard at first, but after a few rides the shoe breaks in nicely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Shimano SH-RC7 Road Shoe
Reviewed 9/4/2017
by Trevor
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable and stylish, too much volume in toe for my foot.

I really like the shoe style, comfort, stiffness and price. The toe has too much volume for my foot . I will have to try alternative foot beds to get it just right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 11

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]