Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Selle Italia SLR Superflow Saddle

Selle ItaliaSLR Superflow Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(9)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(61%)
(27%)
(9%)
(0%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 2/16/2012
by Dipper44
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Feeling Numb? There is hope!!!!

I bought this saddle to replace the Fizik Anatares I previously had. Don't get me wrong, the Fizik was a great looking and low-weight seat, but I then started to have problems... Down there, if you know what I mean... I figured the numbness was just apart of cycling, so I just dealt with it. Little did I know that my broad seat was causing pressure on my perineum area resulting in the numbness. Turns out this numbness can lead to erectile dysfunction, which at 25 I do not need (may be TMI, but hey, its the truth.

A little research found that this a common problem among cyclist, and there are many saddles made to fight this. I decided to go with the SLR Superflow because of the relatively low weight and profile. Upon receipt of the product (which was promptly shipping by Bike Tires Direct) I was amazed on how big the cut-out actually was... Its massive! It took no time at all to get use to the saddle and I must say that I immediately noticed a difference. I've been riding with this saddle for a couple months now and I can gladly say that the numbness is gone and I am back to my former self.

This saddle combines expert craftsmanship from Selle Italia while providing ample comfort and relief from perineum pressure. I have nothing but praise for this seat, and I highly recommend it if you are facing this problem yourself.

Cheers

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by James
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon City OR
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Solves numbness and pain issues

I bought the SLR Superflow to try and address numbness issues that I was having with my Fizik saddle, mainly on longer grinding climbs. I'm a larger rider at 6'1 and 215 lbs and have never used a saddle with a cut out, so I thought I'd give this one a try. I've now put a few hundred miles on this saddle and so far I can say that it's virtually solved all of my numbness and pain issues. On first look, the SLR was a bit harder than what I was used to, and initially I thought that this might be a problem for me on longer rides. But I've found that this saddle actually feels more comfortable the longer I stay on it- making it great for the events I do like Cycle Oregon, STP etc. It's also pretty flat which I thought could cause a problem (since that's also different than what I'm used to) but it isn't at all. It's quite easy to move around on and find that comfort spot as the road changes. So now I can pretty much climb, and hammer away all day long pain free and without numbness in the nether regions. It's quite nice looking to boot and lightened up my bike a bit-(mine came in at 190 gms 5 less than advertised) which are all added pluses. Saddles are so personal and none of them are going to be couches for anyone. But if you're experiencing numbness or pain like I was, I would definitely give this saddle a try-it could be just what you need to solve the problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by danielcipriani
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale CA
Overall Rating
Easy to install and crazy comfortable

Been riding for 30 years...ride about 8000 milesyear. This is a super comfortable saddle - yet stiff - which is a great combination. Easy to install...pads just thick enough to protect but not so much to influence power in seated spinning. Nose length ideal for bike control.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2017
by Mark
tucson
Overall Rating
1 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Like sitting on a brick

Saddle not for me. Needed more padding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2015
by Fenster
Houston
Overall Rating
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great great saddle, super smooth and comfortabl on long rides.

I had issues with discomfort in the nether regions and this saddle solved it. Not to mention, it looks like it was made to go in an Italian sports car. Very nice! The extra wide cut out is what I think makes this saddle work. The difference is noticeable right away. Get one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/25/2018
by DClark
Phoenix AZ
Overall Rating
Good quality and takes pressure off

I hadnt thought much about the saddle that came with my bike. I think it may have been contributing to gradual nerve numbing down in that area I sit. I think I might be regaining nerve sensitivity while the saddle has been perfectly comfortable. That large opening and a slight nose-down angle takes the contact pressure off.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2018
by Billnv
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Overall Rating
My most comfortable Saddle.

This is my third SLR Superflow saddle, I have them on all three of my Road Bikes. I ride about 200 miles a week all year And I like this Saddle better than the ones that came on my Bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2018
by Nick
Saint louis mo
Overall Rating
Great saddle so far so good.

I have a 2017 giant trance pulled off the stock saddle wasn't real happy with it wasn't terrible just wasn't that comfortable. This saddle is more comfortable I like the open Channel it gives you a relief. The saddle was a bit pricey but you get what you pay for I don't regret my purchase at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2017
by HockeyPhool
Cycling Enthusiast
Westminster, CO
Overall Rating
Delivers what it promises

I installed this saddle on my Giant Defy 5. I've ridden as much as 55 miles at a time on this saddle. I like the light weight and stiffness, and the huge cutout definitely helps relieve pressure underneath. My first two rides on this saddle were uncomfortable and caused some significant chafing, but when I moved the saddle forward it alleviated those problems. I have yet to find a saddle that's truly comfortable, but I'm happy with this one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best saddle worth the money

This is my second saddle. Very confy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2017
by Anonymous
cincinnati
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No pressure

I have struggled to find a saddle. I did RAGBRAI 2 years ago and ended up with perineal paresthesia. In other words, my lady parts went numb. This took months to resolve. I tried a Cobb split seat but still struggled along with sciatic nerve pain. I took this saddle for its first ride today for 26 miles. The wide cut out resulted in absolutely no pressure. My sit bones are sore but I know this resolves as I have only riden three times this year( mostly because of the dreaded discomfort). I have a 320 mile ride in 2 weeks over 4 days. Excited for the ride with this new saddle. It is a firm saddle but the padded ones don't work for me either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Performs as designed!!!

I am 5' 10 200 lbs. This saddle delivers as the product info states. 145 mm with is still very light, supportive and comfortable even on the longer rides I have done. It is an investment! but a good one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE. Ohio
Overall Rating
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome!

I have this saddle on two bikes. I am a clyde and finding a light saddle that is also comfortable has been a challenge. This saddle is absolutely wonderful. Just did a 50 mile ride on Sunday and did not even thing about my seat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 09