FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Schwalbe Marathon 26" Tire HS420

SchwalbeMarathon 26" Tire HS420(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(81%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by SLOvic
Central CA
Overall Rating
the best touring tire

My original set of these finally wore down their tread. The back tire had about 9000 miles, the front about 7000. I think I would still be on them, but I left them at 35 psi for way too long after a tour with a couple hundred miles of hard-pack gravel roads. Never had a flat. Ride was grippy even on fast corners and mountain descents. Easy to mount. Just no problems at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Manitowoc wis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ex tire wheres like iron

Little to costly

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Northern New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fast Road Tires for MTB

I use these for fair-weather commuting on mostly roads and paved bike paths. My only basis for comparison is the Continental Travel Contacts I've been using for the same purpose for the past 6 years, so take this with a grain of salt if you're comparing to other high-pressure city tires. The Schwalbes are quite thick where the tire meets the road (enough to make the bike feel taller). The Schwalbes also take a higher pressure (100 psi, I run them at 80), and they have very low rolling resistance. The lack of treads on the outside edges means they're more stable when cornering on pavement, but less stable in gravel. The reflective sidewalls are a nice touch, they're really noticeable at night. I don't have enough miles on them to evaluate durability, but there's a lot of rubber between the bottom of the tread and the top of your inner tube, so I can't imagine them being prone to punctures. I wouldn't use them for loose gravel or off-road, but for on-road use, this is a great high-pressure, low rolling-resistance tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2017
by Jonathan
San Francisco
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tires

No flats yet and i ride on roads paved in glass. These were a welcome change for city riding over my off road tires on my adventure bike- now commuter bike. Look cool too and has sidewall reflectors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by td
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire for road rides

I have this on my 1990 mountain bike which I have started using to ride distances. I pump it up to 80psi, and it does great for the 50-60-mile rides I've been doing. Some day I'll graduate to a road bike, but for now this is a decent substitute, and the tires are an important part of making that possible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2017
by Randy
New Jersey
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires

Put 700 miles on them in 3 weeks. and they are still looking good. Roads and gravel paths. Easy to install as well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by VickiC.
Fresno CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Always good luck with Schwalbes.

This is my first set of Marathons. I have a new Cruzbike T50 with 26 wheels that take a wider tire than I am used to. These perform well, they are high-pressure, and though I know I have run over stickers and glass, I have not yet had a flat in about a thousand miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2015
by Cyclistfor40years
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very disappointed

The tires I received and mounted on true wheels caused obvious hops in riding at anywhere from 60 to 95 psi. suspect this was due to manufacturing imperfections. I am returning them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2015
by EricB
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Two years. Several thousand miles of city riding. No flats.

Simply the best flat-resistant tire I've ever own. Smooth ride, too, and excellent traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2015
by CORider
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great All-Around Tire

I have owned a set of these tires in another size on another bike for about five years now. The same set of tires have been mounted that entire time, getting about 1,500-3,000 miles a year. This year, all of a sudden I started finding myself getting flats (In the years prior, I had never flatted, even having goat heads stuck through the tread). At first I was upset, considering I'd always thought of them as pretty puncture proof. But, when I realized I'd had the tires for almost 5 years and about 11,000 miles, I couldn't really fault the tire. They were certainly worth the money and they were replaced with the very same tire. Additionally, I am a heavy rider, so these tires have put up with a lot over the years.

The 26 version here on BTD, I purchased a couple of months ago for a different bike and they have, thus far, been just as reliable as I'd grown to expect with my previous set on the other bike. They are great for all around riding - meaning that they do great on pavementasphalt, and they work well on dirt trails. They would not make the best mountain bike tire, and I don't know if I'd use them for all-dirt or gravel rides, but they are pretty decent at a lot of different types of road - and the best part is they keep me from having to change tubes on the side of the road.

Even though this is not Schwalbe's most puncture proof tire, they seem to do very well through glass, nails, goat heads, and other road debris, so unless I were doing long distance tours, I can't imagine I'd need anything better than these. They may not be the speediest tires, but they do pretty well given their durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Over 5000 miles, no flats

I got these tires to outfit my mountain bike for a trip down the west coast of the US last spring. They lasted through about a thousand miles of training, plus the trip itself which was another thousand miles, followed by on-and-off training for the rest of the year, and finally I've been using them to prep for another trip this summer - total of over 5,000 miles across 15 months with no problems at all. One of them has finally worn down and I'm back to get another pair. Fantastic tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2014
by Ironmikey72
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy Tires, so they should wear well

I am installing these to replace the Schwalbe Marathon Racers that came on my Catrike. I have 3200 miles on the Racers and the 20 tires are worn, while the 26 tire shows little wear. These are considerably heavier and thicker on the tread, so they should wear well. My only complaint with Schwalbe are the inner tubes that came installed on the 20 tires. Both failed within the first 1500 miles. They split internally at a seam. No punctures thru the tires were found. I would not recommend Schwalbe Tubes for this reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great cross tire, mostly used on paved trail

Works great for light duty gravel and paved trails.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gunnison CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, reliable tire

2nd Marathon I have owned. Very impressed with quality and durability. Never had a flat in 2000 miles on first one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2013
by hubbird
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

About 800 miles so far, and still no flats. Doesn't hurt that I have tube liners installed, I'm sure. Ride is great. A little difficult to get seated evenly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2012
by jlong414
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
best commute tire yet!

What a great tire! I've had a pair for a few months now for my commute bike. They ride better than I expected - they feel solid and they corner well. They seem to have good traction in the rain.

Today I heard a thwack thwack thwack from the back tire. I stopped and pulled out a 6 penny nail that was bent over and hitting the fender. The tip of the nail was in at least a quarter of an inch (a bit sideways), and no flat!

Do not use that rubber-band type rim tape though. The higher pressure of this tire will blow a hole in the rim tape at a nipple hole and then a hole in your tube. That was the only time I've had a flat with these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by BCBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
East Lansing, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great tires low rolling resistance.

used it on my custom build MTB works like a charm, can inflate up to 100 psi. some times i can even out run other road bikes!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2012
by Troll
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Working well so far.

This is a sad story - I have been trying to replace the very worn tubless tires all summer but the airfree website would not get back to me like I did not rate a penny. 26 inch, and rimsize tubeless tires don't have many choices. I found the mnfr in UK but they wanted about the same money for shipping as cost of tire. I finally gave up and within a week I have very nice tube tires that feel so much better than those worn wheelchair models. Should have done this sooner!

Good product

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2012
by jman7659
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best tire I've ever found for sure grip plus flat free riding. Mounts on a 559 with no effort.

I ride mostly urban and paved trails but venture off road to path sometimes. I have a storage shed full of competer tires but prefer the Schwalbe for my lwb RYAN recumbent. I have been car free for over 3 years now and these tires can't be beat for mu urban use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2012
by steveazcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Rock solid mix of performance and durability

We use Marathons for touring and around town errands. Rarely get punctures unless it's a huge thorn or nail. The tread gets good traction on loose stuff and wears very well. We plan to keep using these forever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.