Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 26" Tire HS420

SchwalbeMarathon 26" Tire HS420(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(78%)
(12%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 8/4/2022
by IntoAHeadwind
Cycling Enthusiast
USA (touring all over)
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2000km so far and barely showing any signs of wear

From what I hear, these are pretty much the gold standard for long haul touring tires, so I was super stoked to get the 26x2 version for $43 per tire here on BikeTiresDirect. I got them as the 4th set of tires on a long haul (over 11,000km total) bicycle tour and they carried me and my very heavily loaded Surly LHT the last 2000km of the journey without showing much sign of wear at all and not a single puncture despite riding over quite a lot of road debris. I'm looking forward to these tires lasting a good long time, and when the time comes to replace them, I expect I'll be getting the same thing. Definitely the go-to tires for those of us on 26" Surly Long Haul Truckers!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent commuting tire

Great puncture protection for commuting, as well as feeling a bit cushioned compared to non reinforced tires. A bit of a pain to get on initially, but it�s worth the struggle. I cannot recommend this tire enough

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2021
by Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Californtia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Testing the Marathon after a successful 2 years with the Marathon Plus

Testing these tires for the first time after riding Schwalbe Marathon PLUS tires for two years. These tires are a little less expensive than the PLUS tires, so I though I would test a pair for a year for commuting in town. For my rides 50 miles from home in the mountains I will continue to use the Schwalbe Marathon Plus, which are the best tire I have used in my life of 50 years cycling, pro racing, commuting and touring. I don't like weak tires that explode when they get punctured, and wear out in a few 1000 miles, and grip the corners complaining and slipping. The Schwalbe PLUS tires have slow wear, good grip, and have never blown out. One slow leak in 2 years of riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very strong and durable tire

Worth the price. These tires are very durable and puncture resistant. The reflective sidewall is an added plus. The only major con is that they are difficult to mount. They reliably last for twice as many miles as cheap tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2022
by Skippy
Central Oregon Coast
Overall Rating
Sturdy Tire

Good rolling sturdy tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by SLOvic
Central CA
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
the best touring tire

My original set of these finally wore down their tread. The back tire had about 9000 miles, the front about 7000. I think I would still be on them, but I left them at 35 psi for way too long after a tour with a couple hundred miles of hard-pack gravel roads. Never had a flat. Ride was grippy even on fast corners and mountain descents. Easy to mount. Just no problems at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
PNW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Skinny, like my girlfriend

I had 1.5" wide tires on my bike, so I bought these. Old Specialized Armadillo. These are half the width of the others. They are super skinny. Buy wider if you have wide needs. I could hit the trails with my old tires, not with these skinny bitches.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Northern New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Fast Road Tires for MTB

I use these for fair-weather commuting on mostly roads and paved bike paths. My only basis for comparison is the Continental Travel Contacts I've been using for the same purpose for the past 6 years, so take this with a grain of salt if you're comparing to other high-pressure city tires. The Schwalbes are quite thick where the tire meets the road (enough to make the bike feel taller). The Schwalbes also take a higher pressure (100 psi, I run them at 80), and they have very low rolling resistance. The lack of treads on the outside edges means they're more stable when cornering on pavement, but less stable in gravel. The reflective sidewalls are a nice touch, they're really noticeable at night. I don't have enough miles on them to evaluate durability, but there's a lot of rubber between the bottom of the tread and the top of your inner tube, so I can't imagine them being prone to punctures. I wouldn't use them for loose gravel or off-road, but for on-road use, this is a great high-pressure, low rolling-resistance tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/27/2017
by Jonathan
San Francisco
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuter tires

No flats yet and i ride on roads paved in glass. These were a welcome change for city riding over my off road tires on my adventure bike- now commuter bike. Look cool too and has sidewall reflectors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by Opjim
arizona
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire.

I wanted a road tire I could put on my mountain bike for road riding. My main criteria was one that wouldn't require superhuman hand strength to actually get the tire on rim. This one met this criteria and has performed well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2020
by ogrex
Competitive Racer
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not too impressed..

Made it 101 miles after installing on my ebike before the first flat. Picked up a staple(with flat ends..) it went straight through the thickest part of the tire and a thorn-proof tube.. rear tire of course. Bad luck? maybe.. can't say I'm impressed so far though :|

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2015
by Cyclistfor40years
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Very disappointed

The tires I received and mounted on true wheels caused obvious hops in riding at anywhere from 60 to 95 psi. suspect this was due to manufacturing imperfections. I am returning them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2015
by EricB
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Two years. Several thousand miles of city riding. No flats.

Simply the best flat-resistant tire I've ever own. Smooth ride, too, and excellent traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2015
by CORider
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Great All-Around Tire

I have owned a set of these tires in another size on another bike for about five years now. The same set of tires have been mounted that entire time, getting about 1,500-3,000 miles a year. This year, all of a sudden I started finding myself getting flats (In the years prior, I had never flatted, even having goat heads stuck through the tread). At first I was upset, considering I'd always thought of them as pretty puncture proof. But, when I realized I'd had the tires for almost 5 years and about 11,000 miles, I couldn't really fault the tire. They were certainly worth the money and they were replaced with the very same tire. Additionally, I am a heavy rider, so these tires have put up with a lot over the years.

The 26 version here on BTD, I purchased a couple of months ago for a different bike and they have, thus far, been just as reliable as I'd grown to expect with my previous set on the other bike. They are great for all around riding - meaning that they do great on pavementasphalt, and they work well on dirt trails. They would not make the best mountain bike tire, and I don't know if I'd use them for all-dirt or gravel rides, but they are pretty decent at a lot of different types of road - and the best part is they keep me from having to change tubes on the side of the road.

Even though this is not Schwalbe's most puncture proof tire, they seem to do very well through glass, nails, goat heads, and other road debris, so unless I were doing long distance tours, I can't imagine I'd need anything better than these. They may not be the speediest tires, but they do pretty well given their durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Over 5000 miles, no flats

I got these tires to outfit my mountain bike for a trip down the west coast of the US last spring. They lasted through about a thousand miles of training, plus the trip itself which was another thousand miles, followed by on-and-off training for the rest of the year, and finally I've been using them to prep for another trip this summer - total of over 5,000 miles across 15 months with no problems at all. One of them has finally worn down and I'm back to get another pair. Fantastic tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2014
by Ironmikey72
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Heavy Tires, so they should wear well

I am installing these to replace the Schwalbe Marathon Racers that came on my Catrike. I have 3200 miles on the Racers and the 20 tires are worn, while the 26 tire shows little wear. These are considerably heavier and thicker on the tread, so they should wear well. My only complaint with Schwalbe are the inner tubes that came installed on the 20 tires. Both failed within the first 1500 miles. They split internally at a seam. No punctures thru the tires were found. I would not recommend Schwalbe Tubes for this reason.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2019
by TD
Casual Cyclist
Chicago,Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire firm, grips pavement, smooth comfortable rider.

Use this tire on my mountain bike for paved roads and city streets, short rides, 40 miles or less. Overall very happy with the tire no negatives. Good on wet pavement. Feel secure on the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Craig
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia Beach
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Bulletproof Tire

These tires were on our Catrike 5.5.9 trikes when we took delivery eight months ago. Since then, we have ridden a bit over a thousand miles on all kinds of surfaces including gravel rail trails and tough urban (read broken glass) environs. Not a single problem. I bought a spare from biketiresdirect for our trip on the Ohio to Erie Trail just to be on the safe side but I suspect this spare will be waiting a long time for the call.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Smooth quite ride on pavement with excellent traction on pavement and tar chip roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth ride

Simply put, this tire offers a smooth ride. I have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 81

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]