Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Marathon 26" Tire HS420

SchwalbeMarathon 26" Tire HS420(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(42 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(12%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Manitowoc wis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Ex tire wheres like iron

Little to costly

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth ride

Simply put, this tire offers a smooth ride. I have no complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2018
by td
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire for road rides

I have this on my 1990 mountain bike which I have started using to ride distances. I pump it up to 80psi, and it does great for the 50-60-mile rides I've been doing. Some day I'll graduate to a road bike, but for now this is a decent substitute, and the tires are an important part of making that possible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2020
by Vefer
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
A Great Tandem tire

I have an older tandem with 26" tires. This one can handle the weight and air pressure. The reflective stripe on the sidewall is a nice extra feature.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2017
by Randy
New Jersey
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires

Put 700 miles on them in 3 weeks. and they are still looking good. Roads and gravel paths. Easy to install as well

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by VickiC.
Fresno CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Always good luck with Schwalbes.

This is my first set of Marathons. I have a new Cruzbike T50 with 26 wheels that take a wider tire than I am used to. These perform well, they are high-pressure, and though I know I have run over stickers and glass, I have not yet had a flat in about a thousand miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great cross tire, mostly used on paved trail

Works great for light duty gravel and paved trails.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gunnison CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, reliable tire

2nd Marathon I have owned. Very impressed with quality and durability. Never had a flat in 2000 miles on first one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2013
by hubbird
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

About 800 miles so far, and still no flats. Doesn't hurt that I have tube liners installed, I'm sure. Ride is great. A little difficult to get seated evenly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2012
by jlong414
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
best commute tire yet!

What a great tire! I've had a pair for a few months now for my commute bike. They ride better than I expected - they feel solid and they corner well. They seem to have good traction in the rain.

Today I heard a thwack thwack thwack from the back tire. I stopped and pulled out a 6 penny nail that was bent over and hitting the fender. The tip of the nail was in at least a quarter of an inch (a bit sideways), and no flat!

Do not use that rubber-band type rim tape though. The higher pressure of this tire will blow a hole in the rim tape at a nipple hole and then a hole in your tube. That was the only time I've had a flat with these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2012
by BCBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
East Lansing, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
great tires low rolling resistance.

used it on my custom build MTB works like a charm, can inflate up to 100 psi. some times i can even out run other road bikes!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2012
by Troll
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Working well so far.

This is a sad story - I have been trying to replace the very worn tubless tires all summer but the airfree website would not get back to me like I did not rate a penny. 26 inch, and rimsize tubeless tires don't have many choices. I found the mnfr in UK but they wanted about the same money for shipping as cost of tire. I finally gave up and within a week I have very nice tube tires that feel so much better than those worn wheelchair models. Should have done this sooner!

Good product

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/31/2012
by jman7659
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth,Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best tire I've ever found for sure grip plus flat free riding. Mounts on a 559 with no effort.

I ride mostly urban and paved trails but venture off road to path sometimes. I have a storage shed full of competer tires but prefer the Schwalbe for my lwb RYAN recumbent. I have been car free for over 3 years now and these tires can't be beat for mu urban use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2012
by steveazcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Rock solid mix of performance and durability

We use Marathons for touring and around town errands. Rarely get punctures unless it's a huge thorn or nail. The tread gets good traction on loose stuff and wears very well. We plan to keep using these forever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My first choice for 26 commuting tires.

I use this for many customers needed a puncture resistant commuting tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2012
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
coastal Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Wonderful commuter tire

Reflective sidewalls!! Solid tire for commuting with curbs, bad roads, occasional need to ride through dirt and worse. Comfortable rolling experience and confidence inspiring. Very comforting to know these are under me for rides in bitter cold when the LAST thing I want is a flat when I'm running close on time to get to the office. Can't think of anything bad about them. Mounted easy and confidently. If I EVER HAD to fix a flat, it won't be difficult. Has turned my 26 wheeled bike into my preferred commuter just so I can be on these tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2012
by Gman
Casual Cyclist
Milwaukee, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet ride.

Switched out stock knobbies to these. Tires seem very durable although just tried them. I like the quality for the price, making it a very good value. I like the max psi of 100 for easier rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2021
by Anonymous
India, Kerala
Overall Rating
I am very happy with the product

Though it took some time to get due to the covid restrictions it was worth the wait. I had to pay import duty that was the only downside to it. The tyre is very good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2021
by Excellent fit on difficult rims. Nice looking tire
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
These are difficult tires to find and I was pleased that you carry them. They are excellent tires that fit well and I hope they last.

Excellent fit on difficult rims. Nice looking tires also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by Bike2day
Hudson Valley, New York
Overall Rating
These are the tires you want!

I have these tires on my Surly Long Haul Trucker. I have 3000 miles on them, which includes 900 miles in Iceland. I ride both pavement and dirt with no worries.

No flats, no leaks, no worries.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 16

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]