Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Schwalbe Aerothan 700c Tube

SchwalbeAerothan 700c Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(7)
(6)
(2)
(6)
(56%)
(15%)
(13%)
(4%)
(13%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 10/11/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I love these tubes

I have purchased several of these tubes in the past. I and my wife each had gotten a flat using these and I am waiting to purchase the repair kit. They are light and seem to roll better that butyl tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far this has worked fabulous.

I put these on my wife's Ruby, because she hates to get flats. So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Kangaroo62
Mid-Atlantic
Overall Rating
Not worth the extra money

I bought 3 of these expensive inner tubes due to their claimed puncture resistance. One still suffered a puncture. One had an air leak at the valve not fixable by tightening. The third has lasted a few weeks ok. No way are they worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very light and good quality tube.

I can carry two of these at about the same weight as one regular tube. I have had to install one of these on the side of the road and use a stem extension. Worked great. The valve is removable. The ride isn't bad. The tube is pricey but not that bad compared to other weight saving options.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2021
by Tee
Cycling Enthusiast
SG
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Definitely feel a difference (mentally?)!

Not sure these should cost so much but the ride quality feels better from the regular tubes. Hard to describe. How do you tell if its faster? But 1500km on the road with them and no issues so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight, low rolling resistance and very puncture resistant. Ideal!

I use these with training wheels/tires for winter riding because I do not want to flat (they are very puncture resistant). I use them with lightweight climbing wheels because they are so light. And I use them with medium depth aero wheels because I want to go fast and these are low rolling resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far I like these tubes. No flats and they are much lighter than butyl tubes.

I have not had any flats with these tubes thus far. They seem to roll a bit faster than regular butyl tubes but it is hard to compare. They are lighter. They also seem to hold air longer than other tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2021
by DavidF
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco peninsula
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You can still get a flat, but at least these Aerothans are expensive and currently irrepairable

I blew out an Aerothan on a steep decent when I hit a rock. It just popped and deflated instantly. No tire damage (Conti Grand Prix 5Ks). Aerothans may be puncture resistant, but they are definitely not impact resistant. Don't know when I can repair it since the required Schwalbe patch kit is currently unavailable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2021
by dtsloan
Fresno
Overall Rating
good, but...

The tubes are very light, install easily, and provide a great ride.

However, two of six I bought failed right out of the box, just don't hold air. Another had the valve easily damaged when removing a pump head.

I think they need further development.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So far I like these tubes. No flats and they are much lighter than butyl tubes.

I have installed two of these tubes on two different bikes and they seem to roll a bit faster, are lighter and, I have had no flats thus far. I just ordered another tube to put on the rear of my Wife's bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2021
by Al Abbott
Pasadena, CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Aerothan experience

I replaced a latex tube with an aerothan tube on my road bike that has continental 5000 25 tires. Aerothan is easy to mount and I can not detect any difference in ride quality. The only difference I detect is the aerothan holds air longer like a butyl tube. No flats in 300 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/29/2021
by mjg1231
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light Strong Tube for Emergency Use

I run tubeless so keep this tube in my saddle bag, protected from other items. I have had regular tubes develop leaks when stored similarly. I have many ways to fix a flat (glue patch, sealant, 'dart', 'boot', tube). This tube is much smaller, lighter and more rugged. I've been stuck before so no more chances. Pricey but worth the peace of mind.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Doug
Fresno, Ca
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
nice ride

Sure, they are expensive, and you can't patch them. Can't use sealant, either.

But, they significantly improve ride quality - I've never seen anything make such a difference.

They are very small and light to pack for spares.

Easy to install, keep their shape with slight inflation, and less likely to pinch.

I haven't seen that they retain air better.

I think this may be the future of inner tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2021
by dan in denver
Cycling Enthusiast
denver Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
light tube but lousy valves

installed in my conti 5000's . after inflating 7 times -screwing pump head and off-leaking out of the plastic valve stem. stripped internal threads . valve stems are typically steel or brass for a reason- they can take multiple

inflations with out concern. thats unfortunate because they ride beautiful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very light

installed in a 42c gravel tire, one tube is holding air fine, the other leaks from the stem and is flat in 4 days. Very light, seems to allow the tire to squish and move on terrain in a comfortable mannerthat is slightly more noticeable compared to butyl tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2021
by xzarterius
Competitive Racer
Sparks, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice but the price is a bit too much

Overall I give it a 4 start rating. They don't leak air any worse than a butyl tube and are much easier to mount even on tubeless rims than any other tubes I've tried. A noticeable difference in weight when riding and out of around 1000 miles of usage I did have one flat with a small wire going through my Conti- Gator hardshell and through this tube which surprised me. My biggest gripe are the short valve lengths which limit your rim depth to around 32mm's. They are also made of plastic and seem a bit weak for such pricey tubes. That brings me to my next biggest gripe- the cost. If these were $15 I wouldn't complain at all by $30 is a bit much for these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2021
by MPH
Competitive Racer
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Alternative to Latex

Offers great rolling resistance similar to latex, but can be used on rim brakes without worrying about the amount of heat build up. No problems except for availability!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I will not buy again

Did a Century ride and got two rear tire flats. Purchased 3 tubes so that I would have a spare. The stem is plastic and can cross thread very easy, even just using your fingers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Looks Nice

I haven't had to use this tube yet as it is a spare for my tubeless wheel but it looks nice and I am hopeful it will be a lightweight option that works well when needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive, but light.

Really light tubes, however they don't hold air as well as butyl tubes. Better than latex though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 96

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]