Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
PRO Race Comfort Handlebar Tape

PRORace Comfort Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(60%)
(25%)
(10%)
(0%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by EdT

Reviewed 3/17/2023
by EdT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Better Than Anticipated

There are sooo many choices for bar tape available and I haven't yet developed a preference. My focus was choosing tape that would be comfortable and of good quality, something that would work well for longer durations rides. I didn't want anything that was going to be too thick and decided to try tape that was around 2-2.5mm. The PRO Race Comfort tape seemed to fit the bill and seeing how it's a Shimano product, I was confident this would be a good choice. So far, my longest ride has been 6+ hours and I can confidently say, the PRO RC tape does the trick, very pleased so far. As far as durability is concerned, we'll wait and see as it's been only one month. FWIW, the tape roll was long enough to wrap my 42cm wide ergo (not round) bars. Price was very reasonable and shipping was typically fast. So far, so good. Plenty happy with my choice.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jonny

Reviewed 9/21/2023
by Jonny
petaluma /CA
Overall Rating
Review

A little hard to install when it�s hot out.But the comfort and price is really great.??

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carfreeguy

Reviewed 8/31/2020
by Carfreeguy
Cycling Enthusiast
No Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Easy installation with great performance

I redid my bars for the C&O Canal and Great Allegheny Passage trails. 334 miles of rain, mud and bumps. I kept my grip in the nastiest of rain storms. I'm so glad I redid my bars for this ride. Really easy to install too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/5/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
High quality product at a decent price.

High quality bar tape at a decent price. Black, thick and tacky. Just what I need. Thanks!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 9/3/2018
by Mike
Syracuse
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
The best tape bar for long rides

Being comfortable in long rides is crucial, this tape helped me to eliminate sore wrists after long rides. A good grip and comfort will reduce you attempts to reposition hands and reduce fatigue. This ones are thick and not that stretchy, but they are long enough for any bar. Another important thing is adhesive, this is high quality and won't mess your bar, while tapping I made a mistake under the shifter, and I even I realized a day after, I was able to remove the tape and do it again without adhesive residues or problems.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CraigWØLV

Reviewed 7/14/2017
by CraigWØLV
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice cushy bar tape

NIce Cushy bar tape and sticky too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/29/2020
by Anonymous
Vermont
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good product

A purchase with no regrets.

If your looking for bar tape with a little comfort and a really pro look then this is the bar tape for you.

Provides stable comfort for long rides.

Maximum grip in any position.

Wrapping is a bit tricky as the tape needs a firm and consistent stretch to be maintained throughout installation.

10/10

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon Tate

Reviewed 7/6/2020
by Jon Tate
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
PRO Race Comfort bar tape

I picked this out for the price point and for my previous experience with PRO bar tape. I am not disappointed. I put it on a bike build that I intend to use for gravelcommuting. Great feel! Easy to work with. I am a big fan of the silicone backing. I think it adds a certain feel to the steering that I like.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bee

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Bee
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
It works, but...I bumped up to the next level

Tape, I can wrap a mean set of bars...

Suggest a very tight wrap when applying the tape.

Other tapes lay better, when transitioning around the shifters.

Dress white is best between Memorial Day to Labor day, or 3-Rolls of tape ,-)

Otherwise, add some color!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan

Reviewed 5/28/2020
by Dan
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Feel

I gave this a 4 because Im not a fan of thicker bar tape but thats my preference. That said, the tape is quality, has a nice feel, and is the right amount of tacky on the back. If it were a little thinner Id have given it a 5.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bill

Reviewed 3/5/2020
by bill
Fair Play
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality

Wasn't that bad to put on considering it was only the 2nd time ive done it

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/3/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The best!

This is the best handlebar wrap Ive ever purchased.

Grippy but not sticky. Holds firm, feels great...and great for climbs.

I normally dont write reviews, but this is worth everyone knowing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Link

Reviewed 1/4/2019
by Link
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Durable tape, but a bit stiff

Tape is a bit stiff for my tastes. Was able to stretch it enough for a decent wrap on the bars, but it took some real effort. Cushioning is about right, but the surface is not quite tacky enough, and the stiffness is noticeable. Ok deal for the price, but I'd prefer something else.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dm

Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Dm
Los Angeles
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tape!

Very durable and comfortable handlebar tape! I used this tape for a cross country bicycle tour and it held up remarkably well. Highly recommend!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by vrmeod

Reviewed 4/27/2023
by vrmeod
Cycling Enthusiast
Norfolk, VA
Overall Rating
Comfortable & Durable

Love this tape and use their Gravel tape product on my Gravel bike, that is like the road. Feels great and easy to install. Great Pro products.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/10/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great bar tape

It installs easily, and is really durable!!! I ride a lot and it lasted 3500 miles .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/24/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PDX
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
If you want thickly padded bars, this is your tape

This tape has great texture and padding. Has a bit of adhesive to help with application. It looks and feels really good, and definitely helps damp road vibration. Like all PRO products, this tape has a high-quality finish, and is nicely produced and packaged.

But thick Yes, it's very thick, does not stretch much, and is a bit stiff when new - - making it comparatively difficult to wrap on one's bars. In retrospect, I wonder if heating it a bit before install would help.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gduds

Reviewed 5/17/2018
by gduds
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best grip and comfort for the price

discovered this tape last year and I am hooked. Grippy, durable, and around 20.00 cant beat it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/25/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Just enough padding, easy to install

Easy on the hands, just enough padding. Just tacky enough that your hands remain in place.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Wears Quickly

This bar tape has a great grip and padding but it wore through the grip to the backing in about 4 rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]