Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Park Tool CT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool

Park ToolCT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(27%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Carl G

Reviewed 10/5/2023
by Carl G
Cycling Enthusiast
South Central Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better than the full size chain brake.

The compact size of the mini chain brake makes it easier to cradle the chain brake and position the chain with one hand while turning the crank. The short length of the crank handle reduces the likelihood of bending the chain brake pin when the tool is not properly aligned with the chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wolfsnare

Reviewed 7/22/2023
by Wolfsnare
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quality tool and compact size

I especially like that the pin threads into the body so it can't just fall out. I frequently use this chain tool in my shop and always take another along for rides. I broke a mountain bike chain on a trail once and would have had a long walk without it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DaveMac

Reviewed 10/13/2022
by DaveMac
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great little tool

This tool worked just fine in breaking/sizing a replacement chain for my road bike. Given the small size, it does take more strength than the larger versions, but the cost savings made sense to me.

As I anticipate very occasional usage, this suits my needs just fine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jake

Reviewed 4/4/2019
by Jake
Cycling Enthusiast
Bulverde, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It works!

Simple tool, does the job it was designed for.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Reviewed 4/5/2017
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to use and works great.

I changed out my first chain in years and the Park Tool CT-5 Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool cut the chain with ease. For the cost, it was the right tool for me and should last for years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JNJH

Reviewed 2/22/2021
by JNJH
Cycling Enthusiast
sonoma County Wine Country
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good little tool

Compact size you can take with you but I do prefer The larger Park Tool for shop work. They are both easy to use but with my old hands it is easier to hold onto the larger tool. They both do a great job.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steven

Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Raymond,MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Another Terrific Park Tool!

I needed a beefier chain tool for my seat bag. This mini chain brute is a perfect size and beefy enough for any use I've needed it for. The pin is replaceable should I get ham handed and mushroom it. Used it twice and it is the clear ticket.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Reviewed 2/12/2015
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Real Steel Deal

This tool is up to par, like all Park Tools. Made of real machine tool steel, this chain tool won't give up and crack in half like the cheap Chinese knockoffs sold in big box stores in their bicycle department!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 6/3/2020
Casual Cyclist
Zephyrhills, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Chain Tool

I am a believer in using the right tool for the job. When having to remove the a chain this is the right tool for the job.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/5/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality at a fair price

I am a home mechanic and have worked on and maintained, repaired and upgraded my bikes, my family bikes and my friend's bikes for many years. Although there are lots of good tools on the market, Park can can be counted on for quality and value. This chain tool is a simple, quality tool that does what it is designed to do.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Anonymous
Kansas
Overall Rating
Does the job.

Tool will unscrew itself in your bike bag if it's allowed to hang loose.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/2/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple to use

First time changing a chain. This little helper got me off to a very quick and easy start. It made it possible to take off the old chain and adjust the new to the right length. This is a tool anyone can use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DaveO

Reviewed 3/10/2022
by DaveO
Casual Cyclist
CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Small useful tool

The tool made it very simple to replace the chain on my bike. This is the first time I had done this, but the directions were clear and easy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/23/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Solid, reliable lightweight travel alternative

Have used on the road and the durability was a nice surprise.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/1/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Solid product

Solid product for a home bike fix

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/14/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy enough for a beginner to use

I replaced a chain for the first time in my life and this tool allowed me to do it without a hitch. Used it to remove the old chain and to remove links from the new chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ion82

Reviewed 9/3/2018
by ion82
Chicago
Overall Rating
good quality for occasional use

Good quality components, fit and finish.

Instructions make no sense at all. I tried to read them for giggles, but gave up completely.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by South California rider

Reviewed 5/2/2018
by South California rider
Cycling Enthusiast
South California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Carries a master link.

Tape your master link in the handle space. You never know how difficult it is to reinsert a pin while on the road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cybernurse

Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Cybernurse
York, SC
Overall Rating
Excellent tool

Works great

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/13/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect size reasonably light

Perfect size reasonably light

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]