Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Giro HRC Merino Wool Sock

GiroHRC Merino Wool Sock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(4)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(14%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Dave C.

Reviewed 11/27/2023
by Dave C.
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They feel as good as they look!

These are comfortable socks and look great on you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cfi

Reviewed 11/17/2022
by Cfi
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain West
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Ideal lightweight wool

Giro got the perfect combination of fabrics going here. Like all the other users have stated there's a nice feel to the compression without squeezing the blood out of your feet, and the wool breathes through every temperature range; which is important because you're going to wear them in all temperatures where they're so comfortable.

The XL is really long. I wear a 46 and 46.5 shoe and these socks have 1.5 cm extra room lengthwise. These did not shrink in an electric dryer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/27/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
eastern Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Giro merino socks (yellow) provide excellent comfort

Merino wool/blend provides a nice feel on the skin, wicks well, and doesn't stink. This sock does an excellent job of providing specially-woven areas for "custom-like fit", some slight cushion under ball of foot, even pressure/tension over entire foot and ankle, and a slightly softer finish to inside fabric on top and front of sock. But the most excellent feature is the lack of any heavy/thick or hard seams around the toes! No pressure points/hot spots on tender toes! That alone makes these socks worth the price in my opinion! I selected the lime yellow color for added visibility. The color doesn't have the same florescent "pop" that nylon fabrics can provide, but does provide a "brighter than most" color.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F

Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Steve F
Saugus
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wool is king.

These socks are a bit thinner than I was expecting but they feel good and keep my feet warm enough. I would rather use heavier shoe covers and lighter socks to keep circulation going to my feet anyway so I'm enjoying them. I wouldn't really recommend using these below 35 degrees but they're excellent for the 40-50 range with the right shoe covers for sure, and of course Merino wool is IMO the best material for socks (and base layers, and headwear, etc.).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob Mac

Reviewed 5/30/2023
by Bob Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Have worn for about a dozen long rides and they have performed very well.

It is a comfortable sock that has held up well so far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SixSeven

Reviewed 1/7/2022
by SixSeven
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Toasty Feet

These come in handy when I don't quite need an oversock or bootie. Warm, comfortable and my feet stay dry. As an experiment, I'll try them out when the weather warms up to see how merino behaves in heat. Well constructed and true to size.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by onegearsneer

Reviewed 9/20/2018
by onegearsneer
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Go to sock for all types of riding

Long time fan of merino wool products but some wool socks can be too thickwarm. These socks are prefect for all types of weather even hot days and have worn them for road, cyclocross and even a DH run. They're well built, fit snugly but not too tight and seem to be wearing well. Only minor complaint is the vibrant color it difficult to get clean after getting muddy so get a black pair for those days.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Reviewed 12/17/2021
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lightweight wool socks.

Lightweight wool socks that are warm even into the high 40's for temp (I use them at those temps without toe warmers).

Fit is great with good cushioning in the sole.

Also like the neon green color for visibility.

Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 7/30/2017
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and all daycomfort

These socks are made of lightweight merino wool, which insulates well in all conditions and won't crowd out space in tight fitting shoes. I've worn these on several hot long rides, and my feet never felt clammy. The high cuff provides good heel support-snug but not too tight. For reference, I wear size 42.5-43 shoes and the medium size socks fit perfectly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BikingBill20

Reviewed 12/21/2020
by BikingBill20
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
See Me, I'm Yellow

I bought these socks because they're yellow and make more visible to drivers, I hope. Also because they're wool and warm. I layer them with wool no show socks below which seems to be good for me to about 40 degrees.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nullPtr

Reviewed 7/17/2020
by nullPtr
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing Socks

Soft and comfy, not too hot on hot days, warm enough on colder days. Immediately in my rotation of favorite socks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cervelo R5D

Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Cervelo R5D
French Camp, Ca
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So so

I ride all rear around, these are just ok for Cold weather, even wearing booties over your shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ericf

Reviewed 8/31/2018
by ericf
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good socks

I can only really judge socks by whether I want to put them on when Im going out out for a ride, and for these, I do.

They are medium thickness but still good in warm weather.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
Plattsburgh NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and remain in place

These socks are comfortable and remain in place while riding. I'll continue to purchase more of these.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/12/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
indio, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This sock can be used for multiple recreational activities.

I bought for cycling but works well in downhill ski boot.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 10/30/2017
by Brian
Portlandia
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
More like 5!!!

These have quickly become my go-to socks. So comfortable in all kinds of weather, not bulky at all. Not itchy, either. I have size 11 feet, and these guys fit a bit small, just perfect for me. Nice compression without pinching at the top.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TT

Reviewed 10/26/2017
by TT
Cycling Enthusiast
VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Socks -

Comfortable and Good quality - right up there with Swiftwick minus the compression fit

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/9/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Socks -

comfort, quality and good looking

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lotek7

Reviewed 12/2/2023
by Lotek7
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware
Overall Rating
Marino wool cannot be beat for keeping the heat on your feet.

These are excellent socks for cold weather riding! Even if you do work to the point of sweating the wicking properties of wool keep you warm. I don't know what a Marino is but they must have toasty warm feet all Winter long. If you buy these sock I'm confident you will too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Harv

Reviewed 7/16/2023
by Harv
New York
Overall Rating
Great socks, perfect for cool or wet conditions

I�ve been caught in a rain storm with these socks, and they kept my feet comfortably warm.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]