Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830

GarminEdge 830(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(80 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(47)
(22)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(59%)
(28%)
(5%)
(5%)
(4%)
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Significant Improvement over the 820

Believe it or not, I had still been using my trusty old 500 because I so disliked the 820. It was difficult to read in bright sunlight and it constantly changed pages and settings when I dripped sweat on it no matter how I tried to tweak the settings! A friend implored me to get a new 830, assuring me that it was vastly improved over the old 820. I took his advice and must admit that he was right. Not only is the screen noticeably larger, it is also easier to read in bright sunlight. The touchscreen is way more usable and it boots up three times faster. The sweat-dripping thing is still a problem, however. I'm either going to have to quit working so hard, or reposition the unit so it is more out of the way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Tom
Competitive Racer
Santa Barbara, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Touch screen is so much better

Ordered this as an upgrade so I could track my interval workouts with better data. The touch screen is so nice, it makes using the unit so much more easier. Automatically uploads data to Strava so I can check out how I did verses my last ride on the route.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Touch screen is worth it

I've had a Garmin Edge 530 for a few years but passed that one on to my wife when her Edge 520 stopped holding a charge. I debated whether to go with the 830 but I'm happy with the choice after using it for a few weeks. The touch screen is easier to manage compared to the multiple buttons on the 530, and it has worked reasonably well in rain and during the last part of the winter with full finger gloves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great features - almost too many

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product

Larger screen is great. Functionality and ease of use is also great. Loaded with features. A little on the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Huge upgrade from 820

I have used a Garmin 820 for years and the 830 is a huge upgrade. The screen is much more responsive, the battery life is so much better and the screen is sharper. If you like the 820 you will love the 830.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson and Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Have enjoyed the 830. It was easy t0 set up

I purchased this to replace a garmin 800 that died on me. This has more options than the 800. I appreciate it linking with my phone to show texts and emails. I'm still working to get courses and routs set up, but it gives warnings and turn information that is great. Still lots to learn, but am glad I purchased it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
get one of these

love the touch screen, no issues even in the rain, easy to read even with out my reading glasses, intuitive, great battery life, good for more than a century ride, also lasted thru four days on the Kokapelli... couldn't be more pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2020
by jgg
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Get the 530

I got my 830 coming off an 810. I debated long and hard between it and the 530, as the only difference is touch-screen vs buttons. And, after several months, I can say I made the wrong choice. The touch screen actually makes this less valuable than the 530. It is terrible with gloves, and their software is terrible at dealing with it. I am constantly pulling down something when a want to slide, and so on. It is just annoying. I heard the touch screen was improved, but my 810 did better.

Everything else is fine. I still can't find the compass, the menus are huge disorganized messes, but they are trying to deal with a small space and few controls, I will cut them some slack.

Get the 530. Save $100 AND get a better unit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love my Garmin Edge!

I ride my road bike with the Edge and absolutely love it. Love having routes loaded on it and love it just generally. It's really fantastic. Should have done it years ago.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Jbartlwy
southern Indiana
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
830 over 530

I had first purchased 530 and used for the summer and was happy with it very much. But did not like the pushing buttons so much while riding. So went ahead and upgraded to the touchscreen 830 and have been very happy that I did a big improvement and to me worth the money. Even in cold weather riding with gloves screen was easy to use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great upgrade from 820

My Garmin 820 battery has lost its ability to hold a charge for more than two hours. So I ordered an 830 as a replacement.

I am very pleased so far. I love how it switched from my data screen to the map screen to warn me of an upcoming turn in my course. After the turn the 830 returned to the data screen. That feature is really helpful.

Setup was a little easier than my 820 but still took about an hour to pair my existing sensors and customize the data screens. No where in the manual did it tell me how to change the front and rear gear values but I did finally figured it out. (I have Etap so the 830 will display current gears and battery life).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Paul, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Garmin 830 is worth the upgrade, lots of great new features

I have been a garmin user for a long time. Started with the Edge 305, then the Edge 800 and now upgraded to the Edge 830. I have to say that I am quite impressed with the new features that this unit provides. In addition to the bluetooth functionality, the maps and directions are much better, plus the feature that you get a warning when there is a sharp curve or bend in the road approximately 400 feet prior to reaching it, which is very handy when riding in unfamiliar areas. Turn warnings happen earlier than with the 800 unit, I also like the climbing feature which lets you know how much of the climb remains and gives you a graphic to show the distance and number of feet yet to climb, which can be quite useful in gauging your effort. I frequently stop at coffee shops on my rides, so the bike alarm feature is a nice little addition to alert you if your bike is moved. Lastly, the feature sends out a notification to pre-selected contacts in the event of a crash or emergency is a great safety feature. On the downside it seems that the satellite connection is not as good as the previous models, if you even go under a short, open bridge the satellite connection is lost. I have even encountered this issue on tree lined streets, which is a bit annoying to see your connection lost and your speed drop to about 3 or 4 mph no matter how fast you are riding. If you are really concerned about this I would suggest getting a speed sensor with this unit. I have also had the unit freeze in the middle of a ride. It froze at 17 mph. I did a little investigative work and found that this is an issue encountered by many Garmin Edge 830 owners and seems to be a firmware issue. It is easily resolved if you hold in the power button for 10 seconds and the ride is saved, but if you are in the middle of a ride, it is once again annoying. Overall the the unit is great and I love it. I am glad I got it, but wish all the little annoying bugs had been worked out first.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2019
by keithd
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic upgrade to my 510.

I'm a long time Garmin user (started with the 700) and have not always been thrilled with Garmin software or hardware durability. The software has gotten better of late, so wWhen my 510 died, I looked around, held my nose, and made the expensive upgrade to the 830.

I love this computer! While the form factor is nearly identical, the display is FINALLY super readable in bright sunlight and nearly as responsive as my iphone. The text notifications on the Garmin are slick and unobtrusive. There are many small features that make this feel like a modern cycling computer.

The ONE thing Garmin still need to do is provide phonecomputer setup rather than relying on the clunky setup interface on the device.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2019
by 89Gator
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Garmin Edge 830 - Most disappointing Garmin that Ive owned

The 830 is by far the most disappointing Garmin Edge that I have owned. Ive had the 305, 705, 500, and 810 previously, and while all of them had occasional glitches, I found them to be largely reliable. Not so with the 830. First, pairing it and uploading activities to Garmin Connect is a manual activity. Every. Time. Ive paired and repaired it multiple times. On the iPhone Bluetooth connections page, it always shows 2 830s... one connected and one not. So after every ride, I have to open the Garmin app, hope it wakes up the connection and manually sync. But at least half the time, it requires turning Bluetooth off and on, and turning the Garmin off an on one or more times. In addition, the elevation profiles on the Garmin are totally stairstepped. My other Garmins showed the climbs as relatively smoothaccurate lines, but the elevation profile on the 830 has completely flat sections followed by completely verticals sections. It also always shows me an 18th of a mile farther up the climb than I am. Separately, the climb pro feature sounds good until you use it. Its way too zoomed out so that you cant see what elevation features are coming up. Itll say the average remaining climb is something like 8% as an example, but it doesnt give you any visibility to the 20% kicker coming up. So I dont use it. Finally, it also froze on me mid-ride, although Id give it a pass on that because Ive never had a Garmin that didnt do that. But this was in the first 6 weeks of using it. In summary, I wish Id stuck with my 810.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi there. Seems as though you may have received a defective unit. We are always happy to help facilitate a warranty claim, as are Garmin. They have great customer service and can often help you work through any issues you are having. Don't hesitate to email us at [email protected] to get the ball rolling on this process!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2019
by Vailbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Getting better but still have issues

Got one of the first units when initially released in May, 2019.

Been in contact with Garmin customer support on several occasions. Their support has been excellent starting with a beta software release update which fixed my initial problem. One annoying flaw is that you can not set the odometer in order to carry over mileage from previous computer. There is an IQ odometer app which can be preset and incorporated into display page. Everything else is functionally complete and the touch screen is a vast improvement over menus and buttons on my previous 530.

Garmin is sending me a replacement unit which will hopefully fix my remaining issue - elevation jumps all over giving wildly erroneous readings. They already had other reports of the problem and established that it is a hardware - not software - problem hence the replacement unit. Hopefully the new unit will not have this problem.

Overall I am very satisfied with the unit, especially the route guidance feature which is essential for touring in unexplored areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2019
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
WNC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Significant improvement over the Edge 820

Bought the Edge 830 to replace an Edge 820 that would deplete its battery on a three hour ride. So far, Ive been very satisfied.

Pros

- Good battery life. Ive finished a 7 hour ride using navigation & Bluetooth and still had 75% battery capacity remaining.

- The touch screen works. Very responsive, easy to change screens. Have not tested with winter gloves or in the rain yet.

- Bluetooth connection to my phone has been very stable. So far, my phone & Garmin have a connected every time and stayed connected.

- The new widgets pull down screen on the Garmin is very convenient. You can easily see & adjust your Ant connections, messages, weather, lights, and nav in one place.

- I really like the new Climbpro feature. Very handy & helpful feature here in the western NC mountains.

Cons

- Pricey, but a lot more valve for the money than the Edge 820.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2019
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ultimate experience

First, If you read other reviews here for this device, a lot seem to be for the older 820, esp reviews before spring 2019 when the 830 was first available and the 830 is a different experience.

I upgraded to the 830 from my old garmin 500 red and what a treat it has been. The 830 is very quick to turn on and be ready to ride. The touch screen is responsive, even with full finger gloves yet other contact source, such rain and sweat on the screen dont seem to bother it. Routes are quick to load and maps are fast, with or without a route, even without a route it warns you of sharp turns ahead (ok, sometimes the warning seems silly...but safety first, right). If you have a route loaded that includes hills, the climb pro is cool...automatically shows your climb ahead, grade, distance and elevation to go.

Ive ridden 160 miles over 5 days without recharge and still had 40% left, should get someone at least through a double century or a week of riding before charging. I also love that the device syncs with my phone and automatically uploads a ride when finished...no more plug into a pc usb to update garmin and strava.

If you dont already have an out front computer mount (I did) one is included in the box.

Though the device is not cheap, BTD has greats deals often enough that its well worth taking advantage of one to get the 830. Oh, and I do recommend downloading the owners manual from Garmin to understand some of the settings and features.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle of Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Much better but still needs some work

I've been using my Edge 820 for a few years and have been through the range from the 510 to the 820, now the 830. I was forced into a new unit due to battery anxiety. Almost went with the Wahoo Element, but went with what's familiar. Right away, I am very happy with the much improved screen resolutioncrispness. In direct sun I can finally read the unit which was at times a challenge with the 820....Big plus. Touch screen response is also much improved as well as the speed when tapping between screensfunctions...another Big plus.

Downside It could use a phone interface like the Wahoo units in order to vastly simplify screen set-up. If it had that functionality, I would give it 5 stars. Garmin, you need to catch up to the times even though your base DNA is solid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2019
by mooie
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So much faster than my previous 510!

Overall I'm happy I chose the 810 but the software has some bugs. It froze on me on multiple occasions right before the ride. I hope they figure it out whatever is causing that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 26

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]