Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

GarminEdge 830 GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(108 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(27)
(4)
(4)
(3)
(65%)
(25%)
(4%)
(4%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/10/2019
by 89Gator
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Garmin Edge 830 - Most disappointing Garmin that Ive owned

The 830 is by far the most disappointing Garmin Edge that I have owned. Ive had the 305, 705, 500, and 810 previously, and while all of them had occasional glitches, I found them to be largely reliable. Not so with the 830. First, pairing it and uploading activities to Garmin Connect is a manual activity. Every. Time. Ive paired and repaired it multiple times. On the iPhone Bluetooth connections page, it always shows 2 830s... one connected and one not. So after every ride, I have to open the Garmin app, hope it wakes up the connection and manually sync. But at least half the time, it requires turning Bluetooth off and on, and turning the Garmin off an on one or more times. In addition, the elevation profiles on the Garmin are totally stairstepped. My other Garmins showed the climbs as relatively smoothaccurate lines, but the elevation profile on the 830 has completely flat sections followed by completely verticals sections. It also always shows me an 18th of a mile farther up the climb than I am. Separately, the climb pro feature sounds good until you use it. Its way too zoomed out so that you cant see what elevation features are coming up. Itll say the average remaining climb is something like 8% as an example, but it doesnt give you any visibility to the 20% kicker coming up. So I dont use it. Finally, it also froze on me mid-ride, although Id give it a pass on that because Ive never had a Garmin that didnt do that. But this was in the first 6 weeks of using it. In summary, I wish Id stuck with my 810.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi there. Seems as though you may have received a defective unit. We are always happy to help facilitate a warranty claim, as are Garmin. They have great customer service and can often help you work through any issues you are having. Don't hesitate to email us at [email protected] to get the ball rolling on this process!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/29/2019
by Vailbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Getting better but still have issues

Got one of the first units when initially released in May, 2019.

Been in contact with Garmin customer support on several occasions. Their support has been excellent starting with a beta software release update which fixed my initial problem. One annoying flaw is that you can not set the odometer in order to carry over mileage from previous computer. There is an IQ odometer app which can be preset and incorporated into display page. Everything else is functionally complete and the touch screen is a vast improvement over menus and buttons on my previous 530.

Garmin is sending me a replacement unit which will hopefully fix my remaining issue - elevation jumps all over giving wildly erroneous readings. They already had other reports of the problem and established that it is a hardware - not software - problem hence the replacement unit. Hopefully the new unit will not have this problem.

Overall I am very satisfied with the unit, especially the route guidance feature which is essential for touring in unexplored areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/8/2019
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
WNC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Significant improvement over the Edge 820

Bought the Edge 830 to replace an Edge 820 that would deplete its battery on a three hour ride. So far, Ive been very satisfied.

Pros

- Good battery life. Ive finished a 7 hour ride using navigation & Bluetooth and still had 75% battery capacity remaining.

- The touch screen works. Very responsive, easy to change screens. Have not tested with winter gloves or in the rain yet.

- Bluetooth connection to my phone has been very stable. So far, my phone & Garmin have a connected every time and stayed connected.

- The new widgets pull down screen on the Garmin is very convenient. You can easily see & adjust your Ant connections, messages, weather, lights, and nav in one place.

- I really like the new Climbpro feature. Very handy & helpful feature here in the western NC mountains.

Cons

- Pricey, but a lot more valve for the money than the Edge 820.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2019
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ultimate experience

First, If you read other reviews here for this device, a lot seem to be for the older 820, esp reviews before spring 2019 when the 830 was first available and the 830 is a different experience.

I upgraded to the 830 from my old garmin 500 red and what a treat it has been. The 830 is very quick to turn on and be ready to ride. The touch screen is responsive, even with full finger gloves yet other contact source, such rain and sweat on the screen dont seem to bother it. Routes are quick to load and maps are fast, with or without a route, even without a route it warns you of sharp turns ahead (ok, sometimes the warning seems silly...but safety first, right). If you have a route loaded that includes hills, the climb pro is cool...automatically shows your climb ahead, grade, distance and elevation to go.

Ive ridden 160 miles over 5 days without recharge and still had 40% left, should get someone at least through a double century or a week of riding before charging. I also love that the device syncs with my phone and automatically uploads a ride when finished...no more plug into a pc usb to update garmin and strava.

If you dont already have an out front computer mount (I did) one is included in the box.

Though the device is not cheap, BTD has greats deals often enough that its well worth taking advantage of one to get the 830. Oh, and I do recommend downloading the owners manual from Garmin to understand some of the settings and features.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle of Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Much better but still needs some work

I've been using my Edge 820 for a few years and have been through the range from the 510 to the 820, now the 830. I was forced into a new unit due to battery anxiety. Almost went with the Wahoo Element, but went with what's familiar. Right away, I am very happy with the much improved screen resolutioncrispness. In direct sun I can finally read the unit which was at times a challenge with the 820....Big plus. Touch screen response is also much improved as well as the speed when tapping between screensfunctions...another Big plus.

Downside It could use a phone interface like the Wahoo units in order to vastly simplify screen set-up. If it had that functionality, I would give it 5 stars. Garmin, you need to catch up to the times even though your base DNA is solid.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Tom
Competitive Racer
Santa Barbara, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Touch screen is so much better

Ordered this as an upgrade so I could track my interval workouts with better data. The touch screen is so nice, it makes using the unit so much more easier. Automatically uploads data to Strava so I can check out how I did verses my last ride on the route.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Alan
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Touch screen is worth it

I've had a Garmin Edge 530 for a few years but passed that one on to my wife when her Edge 520 stopped holding a charge. I debated whether to go with the 830 but I'm happy with the choice after using it for a few weeks. The touch screen is easier to manage compared to the multiple buttons on the 530, and it has worked reasonably well in rain and during the last part of the winter with full finger gloves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson and Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Have enjoyed the 830. It was easy t0 set up

I purchased this to replace a garmin 800 that died on me. This has more options than the 800. I appreciate it linking with my phone to show texts and emails. I'm still working to get courses and routs set up, but it gives warnings and turn information that is great. Still lots to learn, but am glad I purchased it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
get one of these

love the touch screen, no issues even in the rain, easy to read even with out my reading glasses, intuitive, great battery life, good for more than a century ride, also lasted thru four days on the Kokapelli... couldn't be more pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It just works.

The battery life is great and I like the touch screen. I don't have any complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2021
by Anonymous
Knoxville TN
Overall Rating
Great item.

The Edge 830 does everything that I was after in a bike computer. Simple to use and provides great feedback.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/17/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Intuitive and simple to use

Touch screen is clear and easy yo use. Setting the display to personalized settings was simple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
awesome device!

great stats and trailforks maps....what else do you need?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Gary Sandel
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is my first cycling computer and I really like it!

I use it every time I ride my bike either on the road or my trainer. And now I am planning to use it on my runs too. So far, I have not seen any flaws yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product

Larger screen is great. Functionality and ease of use is also great. Loaded with features. A little on the pricey side.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2019
by mooie
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So much faster than my previous 510!

Overall I'm happy I chose the 810 but the software has some bugs. It froze on me on multiple occasions right before the ride. I hope they figure it out whatever is causing that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent in every aspect.

As in every new product there are always kinks to work out. There were several bugs in the software which were fixed in a beta release that tech support provided. A newer release was issued which I am sure corrected other problems and did not reintroduce my previous issues.

There are so many features and menu pages that requires a fairly steep learning curve. My primary interest is in downloading routes that I create in RideWithGPS which works very smoothly. Only missing feature is the ability to set the Odometer to a specific value but can be done with a ConnectIQ app that allows you to add a new field and supply a starting value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PHL, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Finally a touch screen that works well!

After having used my 510 for the past 5 years and the etrex touch for the past 3, Garmin has finally figured out how to combine the best of both worlds!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 9/21/2018
by Jesterrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Meets and exceeds expectations

I have been using my Garmin Edge 820 for about six weeks, including a trip in the Canadian Rockies. I have found the Edge 820 to be very accurate in the data that it provides (speed, distance, heart rate, elapse time, course, altitude), and very reliable. The battery life is better than my Edge 800. I do not usually answer my phone or respond to messages while I am riding, but the blue tooth connection to my smart phone is very convenient in telling me who is messaging or calling me, thus allowing me to answer or respond if I need to.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 820
Reviewed 2/18/2020
by Kurt Arehart
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Dependable, accurate navigation tool.

I use the Edge 820 mostly for pure navigation, with little concern for training metrics.

After a rough start, I learned from fellow 820 users that when using a course developed in RideWithGPS, best to download as a TCX file, and never accept the Navigate To Start? prompt. Following these two tips, I have enjoyed a series of flawless navigation performances, including course types that used to trip up my Edge Touring, like heavy greenway content, out-n-backs and lollypop loops.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 43

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]