Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Elite Custom Race Water Bottle Cage

EliteCustom Race Water Bottle Cage(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(10)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(65%)
(27%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Paul

Reviewed 9/28/2023
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
new cages

GRIP???? Holy cow do these grip the water bottles and doesn't allow for slippage. Buy it you will not be sorry

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/18/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tried many and these are the best.

I have tried multiple brands and models of water bottle cages, and I have settled on these for 2 reasons:

1. They hold your bottle secure, especially important on my mountain bike and gravel bike.

2. The design allows for easy-in. I'm able to pull the bottle out without much fuss, but most importantly I'm able to insert the bottle back into the cage without looking down. The cage arms on the sides allow for an easy re-entry without getting hung-up, and I can feel when the bottle is completely in place.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AZ cyclist

Reviewed 7/31/2023
by AZ cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tight pros and cons

Put 2 on my road bike, the insulated bottles I use are tight inside the cages which is perfect for me on bumpy roads. I can see where some people during a race might not want to make the extra 1% effort to get bottle out of tight cage, but it works for me. I am commuter/ recreation rider/ fondo and occasional raer. I like that the cage does not blacken my bottles like the aluminum cage. However, it is heavier than my old aluminum cage, but that's ok.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PJW

Reviewed 3/22/2021
by PJW
SC
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Warning from an idiot!!

I have built and maintained my bikes fkr the last forty years. So I installed these cages and had terrible problems getting my water bottles in. They also seemed too close to each other so as I was in a rush I just took one bottle. Anyway I cursed the cage everytime I took a drink. It was not easy to use. Then I got home and decided to take them off and return them - at that point I realised I�d fitted them the wrong way up!! Once installed correctly they are fine, they firmly hold the bottle and do their job. I have been laughing about my stupidity since. So in brief install them correctly and they are great do it wrong and they are not so great!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/9/2020
by Anonymous
SF,CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and Secure

These cages are some of the best at their price point. This is my second set in 4 years. They hold my bottles on some of the roughest roads in NorCal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Norcal rider

Reviewed 10/11/2019
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice snug fit, will loosen after a period of time

Not much to dislike about these cages. They work well with Camelbak or Polar insulated bottles. they seem a tad too snug at first, but they will loosen up after about a month. They are cheap, compared to the pricey carbon cages. I've always had a problem with my seat tube mounted water bottle hitting the top tube when I removed it. You can lower these to avoid that problem because of the location of the holesslots (they have both) The price is hard to beat for a cage that actually works and is at a very reasonable price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Reviewed 9/20/2019
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Just too tight for road riding

I picked up a pair of these after reading the reviews, and deciding that I was both tired of my water bottles turning black with aluminum oxide, and that shelling out for a carbon bottle cage seemed silly. The cages look great, and are light and easy to install, as you'd expect. They also grip the bottles very tightly, which for me was a problem. I have to wrestle the bottle in and out every time, and they aren't easing up in the slightest after several rides. While I'm glad I'll never lose a bottle popping out on the road, I'd trade a popped bottle every couple of thousand miles for not having to spend so much effort and focus every time I need a drink!

Perhaps these are better suited to mountain than road, as the level of grip is way too high for road, at least in my experience. And I've tried several different types of bottle, all with the same result.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kelly S

Reviewed 4/1/2019
by Kelly S
Midwest
Overall Rating
Bottle won't budge!

Bought these to put on my gravel bike because I read they were sturdy and had good bottle grip.

Worked like a charm and look great...I was in a gravel race and bottles were popping off people's bikes left and right...these didn't let the bottles budge once. Very tight fitting.

On the flip side, it takes a little extra pull to get the bottle out as well. Would highly recommend if you've had issues with bottles falling out especially doing gravel, cross, or mtb racing. All around great cage for the price!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/11/2019
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No more lost bottles

These Elite bottle cages are great. I have lost too many water bottles out on the trail with the standard steel cages. Even when bent in for maximum grippage, bottles still seemed to weasel out on a bumpy descent. The Elites hold onto my 25oz Podium Big chills and dont let go. Perhaps not the best value on cages made of plastic and rubber, but if you can find them on sale, these are worth consideration.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PDXflight

Reviewed 9/13/2021
by PDXflight
Lake Oswego
Overall Rating
Perfect bottle cage

Fit and finish is great. A soft, matte touch seems durable. Tried with a number of bottles and they all fit snug but are still able to be removed easily enough. Bought these to replace some cheap Amazon carbon cages.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cyclehaven9w

Reviewed 8/24/2017
by Cyclehaven9w
Overall Rating
Lightweight, durable, sleek

Love these water bottle cages. They look sleek. And hold my camelbak chill podium bottles (24 oz) without a problem.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/12/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Grips firmly, quite a bit of effort to place bottle.

Using this on my new adventure bike, so the firm grip on the water bottle is probably a good thing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/25/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Nice cage

A little tight with specialized bottles. But that may be good for my new gravel bike. Would buy again. Looks great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/19/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good cage

Sturdy with decent balance of flex and stiffness. Only took a couple of rides for for 25 ml bottles to easily slide in and out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/31/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fits multiple style bottles

Old aluminum bottle holders were loose on my road bike. These fit snugly. no issues with inserting or withdrawing multiple type bottles. Works good, look great. As always BTD ordering and delivery was excellent.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Reviewed 12/20/2019
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Too tight at first, but eases up

I went for the plastic over carbon based on cost - the price premium for the latter seeming too high to justify. At first, these bottle cages were so stiff that I found them almost unusable on my road bike, but with a couple of months' use, they have loosened to close to 'just right'. The are light weight, low cost, look ok, certainly do a good job of firmly gripping, and seem durable. The fit with my insulated bottles (podium) is imperfect, but not terrible. Fits ordinary bottles just fine.

FWIW, the apparent loosening is real, not just perception. The 2d bottle cage, which holds my seldom used backup water bottle, is as stiff as ever, while the primary one has eased up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by da

Reviewed 7/15/2019
by da
Daily Commuter
iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
works best when installed right side up

nice light weight and look good on the mountain bike, large insulated bottles sometimes fall out of inferior cages while hitting roots and rocks, So far it has done great, once i turned it right side up. actually worked for a ride upside down, thought I broke it when bottle didn't fit quite right. da

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/12/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Option for non-metal cage

I have these on two bikes and they have provided years of service. Securely holds camelback bottles on rough roads.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by IslandRider

Reviewed 4/3/2018
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very snug fit and seems durable

These are simple plastic cages. They are reasonably lightweight and look good. They grab the bottle snugly and that's good if you're using these for MTB, riding gravel or on bumpy roads. You can spend a lot more on a bottle cage but you won't get any better functionality than these provide. The snug fit could be an issue if you are challenged at quick bottle removal and replacement but it's not a big deal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BAM

Reviewed 4/8/2021
by BAM
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Value and Holds Bottles Secure

Holds the 25 oz bottles secure on on of my road bikes and they look pretty good doing it. Light weight and the money was "right"

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]