Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Terra Speed Gravel 700c Tire

ContinentalTerra Speed Gravel 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(50%)
(40%)
(0%)
(10%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/17/2020
by JoDe
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I absosutely loves these tires! Fast Fast Fast!!!

I use the Terra tires on gravel 1 & 2 levees and dirt roads as well as road group rides.

Best gravel tires I have ever ridden!! Great grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2019
by mroger82
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not Disappointed, Excellent Gravel Tire

I ordered a set of these and a set of the Terra Trail because I wasn't sure which I wanted and I wanted a better look at them than what the pictures provided. I kept the Speeds and sent the Trails back opting for better speed on the hard pack and gravel that I ride most often. The Trails would be good if you're riding a lot of chunky, loose gravel, but overkill for most everyday gravel riding IMO. The Speeds were easy to mount on my DT Swiss XR1501 wheel set. I was able to seat them tubeless with just a floor pump, but on my wife's DT swiss X1900 wheel set, I had to use a compressor in order to get the bead to seat onto the rim. First ride was on hard pack for 25 miles. Easily handled and fast, no problems at all. Second ride was a gravel race and a good test for the Speeds. It had stormed the night before the race and the roads were a good mix of mud, gravel, sand, etc. The Speeds performed flawlessly. I was able to descend and take corners without worry. There was just enough grip to get me through the wettest parts of the course and the mud did not stick into the treads. They also roll fast on the parts of the course that were pavement in order to get from one gravel road to another and I did not feel like I was losing any time compared to the semi-slicks I had on my bike before. No punctures for either myself or my wife. We are both very pleased with the Speeds and I do definitely recommend them. I see no drawbacks to having these. They are indeed another high quality product put out by Continental.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review with real insight.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/15/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent gravel tires

I've been riding these for the past 3-4 months so far on a combination of dirt roads, single-track, and paved road. The tires mounted easily on my G23 wheels and have held air pressure well using Stan's No Tubes sealant. I have had zero punctures so far which is fantastic given the relatively light weight of these tires. Traction on dry dirt is very good. These tires roll very well on pavement and on smooth gravel. The price is good given the high quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2020
by RexyBaby
Competitive Racer
Santa Fe NM usa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, yes, poor mileage, pin hole leaks in case, not good

Tire is fast, good traction but high wear rate. Developed a slow leak, put in the bathtub to check. Had a about a dozen pinhole leaks in an area of two inches. Had plenty of sealant in the tire, but wouldn't stop these tiny leaks. No cuts or holes on the outside of tire in area of these pinhole leaks, weird. Can't recommend it!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2020
by nwAR
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good rolling on tarmac, decent grip on firm mud

Fitted these to a pair of ENVE G23 rims. They slipped on without tools or swearing, but I was surprised that they inflated to 38mm on these rims most tires end up wider than specified - not narrower. Still running them with inner tubes, so can't comment on tubeless setup issues.

I've been riding on this setup on muddy but reasonably firm gravel. Despite the shallower tread (to get that extra speed), the grip has been surprisingly good, even up the steep slopes of one of our local cyclocross courses.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2020
by Dave
michigan
Overall Rating
Great on the road

A good balance between road and gravel, these tires roll well on asphalt, but a bit noisy. Dont expect long mileage, these tires wear pretty quickly. I run these tubeless with slime. On gravel they ride smooth with fair traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2020
by Gbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
DC area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast, supple, and secure

Ive been running the 40 mm with latex tubes inflated at 33 psi front, 35 psi rear on a mix of gravel and pavement (I weigh 160 pounds). They measure 40 mm wide mounted on HED Ardennes Plus rims. Theyre supple and about as fast on pavement as the Challenge Gravel Grinder Race 38s, but have much better grip and balance on loose gravel. They also feel fast on gravel, and are almost as secure on rough and rutted sections as the Panaracer Gravel King 43s running at about the same pressures. Compared to the Gravel Kings, they have a much lighter feel, partly because theyre each about 100 g lighter. I havent yet tested the Terra Speeds on a loose sandy surfaces or significant mud, so cant comment on performance in those conditions. I like the Terras enough that Ive just ordered a third to keep around as a spare.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2020
by Duck
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel and dirt road climber

Have these on my Boone on an Aeolus Pro 3 TLR wheelset. Mounting was pretty straightforward, I used Orange Endurance sealant. I had a slow leak in my front tire, but after a few rides the leak stopped. Ridden at 50psi, these are great on a well traveled dirt road, an old dirt and gravel road without smooth tracks or on pavement. I rode up a local mountain (in the Berkshires) after a rainstorm, so the dirt turned to mud but I didn't experience wheel slip or get stuck. I got the 35mm version, and thought initially I should have gone with the 40, but these have been fast, grippy, and great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Jose
LA
Overall Rating
Theyre fast

Not a ton of grip on loose stuff but they sure do roll fast. They also wear quick.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by SJGravelRider
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Overall Rating
Grip on loose gravel and dirt, and roll well on asphalt

I have taken these tires off road and have been very impressed with traction. On road performance is pretty good too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24