Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Race Road Tube

ContinentalRace Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(269 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(219)
(40)
(3)
(2)
(5)
(81%)
(15%)
(1%)
(1%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Spanky

Reviewed 2/26/2024
by Spanky
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
New tires, new tubes

When I purchase a new set of tires (from bike tires direct) I ALWAYS buy a new set of tubes. I have had great success riding Continental bike tire products for years. I have never had a product failure with either their tires or tubes. I keep last years tubes for the frugal cyclists stopped on the side of the road in need. Fresh tires= fresh tubes= good ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rich L.

Reviewed 2/29/2024
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Keeps me rolling

I have been a loyal Conti user for thousands of miles. Both tires and tubes have always served well. Although I have used other tubes if needed, I feel Conti tubes are very reliable. I prefer them when a good deal is offered.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim R

Reviewed 12/18/2023
by Jim R
Daytona Beach
Overall Rating
Continental race road tubes

These are my go-to inner tubes for several years because they�re lightweight and keep air pressure without having to increase any for weeks. The valve stems are high quality and not inferior like many of the competitors tubes and valve stems.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LwayneBuinis

Reviewed 12/16/2023
by LwayneBuinis
Cycling Enthusiast
Paramus, New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bargain Bang for the Buck

I commute to my weekly medical appointments both through a 6-mile system of paths through four parks and on the road. These tires make my lightweight Trek soar on both on the slightly bumpy park pathway and on the smoother busy roadways. I'm most impressed with their price in comparison with fancier tires of the same specifications. These are durable and do the job spectacularly well!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Road Race tubes are high quality.

The Continental Road Race tubes are a high quality product for road cycling both training and racing. I use them with my Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II tires. One of the best things about the tubes is that they come in a variety of stem lengths. I have two sets of deep rim carbon fiber wheels on my road bikes and being able to get the longer stem is a key feature of this product. The tubes are long lasting and are great when paired with almost any wheel tire combination you have. Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Randyc37

Reviewed 7/17/2023
by Randyc37
Birmingham
Overall Rating
Continental Race Road Bike Tube

These are good tubes that I use for my bike adventures. I have had fewer flats with these tubes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Deuce

Reviewed 1/30/2017
by Deuce
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent balance between weight and durability

This is my go-to inner tube. It's not too heavy, a good compromise between strength and performance.

The seams are not raised like some, so it's easier to patch. A note of caution Be sure the removable valve core is properly seated. We were bothered by a slow leak from a slightly loose core. The price from BTD is always good.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MB

Reviewed 12/10/2021
by MB
Michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Can't go wrong

Continental provides a repeatable good experience with their high quality products. I'm sure there is lighter or cheaper tubes available. I'm also sure I want a good product for a good price. That said, I don't have to think twice about purchasing these tubes. As a "normal guy" rider they'll do everything I need them to do. Biketiresdirect provides quick delivery and great price. I'll continue to use this product and will purchase them from Biketiresdirect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CT cyclist

Reviewed 4/13/2023
by CT cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Tube

A tube is a tube is a tube. Having said that, I always buy Conti tubes, even if I don't buy Conti tires. I just like them. The only issue I've ever had with them is a loose core that led me to believe I had a slow leak in the tube. I've learned to occasionally check that the cores are tight and have had no further problems.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matthew

Reviewed 3/27/2023
by Matthew
Southern California
Overall Rating
Excellent Quality & Durability

My go-to inner tube brand for my road bike and mountain bike. I use these Race 28s in my GP5000s and I have a feeling of confidence when I ride. Just compare the quality of these to the thin crapola that is put on new bikes to save a few cents. The thickness of the rubber, and the quality of even the Presta valve is impressive.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TrekRoadDogg

Reviewed 8/22/2014
by TrekRoadDogg
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Holds air better than any other light weight tube I've tried!

I bought a couple of these tubes to use in an old school single walled 27 wheel. I liked the stem size. At 42mm instead of 48mm (too long) or 32mm (too short), these were the goldilocks size, just right.

But what impressed me most is that they held air pressure better than most any other light weight tube I've used. So I tried them in my 26er and had the same results. Before I knew it was was switching my 700C wheels as well.

I know many will say a tube is a tube and only as good as the tire that surrounds it. But for me, the light weight, perfect stem size and proven less air lose makes this my choice for tubes going forward.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Left Coast Randonneur

Reviewed 10/17/2013
by Left Coast Randonneur
Cycling Enthusiast
Carpinteria, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 19 customers found this review helpful.
Tubular, dude.

Sure, it is just a tube. But have you ever really considered the gravity of your decision when selecting a tube for your bike? Some tubes are made from crappy parts or fall apart. I cannot count the number of times that Kenda-made tubes have had valve stems which bend/break or generally deform. Continental tubes cost a bit extra money because they are quality parts. These are not high end frou frou race tubes which need to be treated with extreme care and cuddled throughout your ride. These tubes are for when you want your tire to stay round, not break valve stems, and generally be the last thing you worry about. This is not to say that there are not downsides to this tube. If you run over a thorn, some improperly disposed glass beer bottles, or if a youth decides to slash your tire with a butterfly knife, then it is likely that your wheel may go flat. This is after all just a bicycle tube, not an indestructible ring of fury and speed. But, I am confident that this is the tube for me, possibly for you. When in stock, it is the first place I go.

TL,DR - Quality tube at decent price, won't fall apart.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RDHalberg

Reviewed 2/16/2023
by RDHalberg
So California
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good quality

These tubes are great. Good quality. I�m not a fan of the removable valve cores because I�ve discovered that they easily are loosened while inflating. I�ve had a couple of flats where I went crazy trying to find the cause only to discover that the core was loose and very slowly leaking air. Now I know to check the tightness after inflating

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steven

Reviewed 2/17/2023
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Raymond,MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Terrific value for the price!

I've run pretty much all brands of innertubes. The Continental's are right up there with high dollar tubes. I couldn't pass up BTD lowering the price by almost half I had to give them a try again. For rubber as to silicone inner tubes I'll sure try the Conti's again for BTD reduced price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Thomas Z

Reviewed 8/24/2023
by Thomas Z
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Trusted brand

What more can I say. I have trusted Continental tires and tubes for decades That's why I continue to ride Continental.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ToadyKay

Reviewed 6/28/2021
by ToadyKay
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Really is an inexpensive great product. Not worth saving a few pennies to get anything less quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by machnart

Reviewed 2/2/2023
by machnart
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you go Continental tires - go with these tubes.

In my experience of > 35 years cycling - and especially if you run Continental GP 5000 tires - there is no other choice in tubes... Perfect match to GP 5000s, providing light weight, high quality, long lifetime, and more resistance to punctures and flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Silver Fox

Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Silver Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite tube

Waited about 2 months for these to return to stock since I like these tubes. I use these on a Seven tandem with 700x28 tires and find that running a slightly larger tube in the 28mm tire gives excellent performance. I do not like to over over inflate a smaller diameter tube. Of course, I coat the outside of the tube with talcum powder and always powder the inside of the tire. I find that this gives extra slip when inflating the tube and prevents creases or folds that can cause an air leak or a heavy spot on the tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 7/27/2023
by John
NC
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Still in box

Haven't had the need to use them as of this date.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tube

Performed better than expected.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]