Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Race Road Tube

ContinentalRace Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(237 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(191)
(38)
(2)
(2)
(4)
(81%)
(16%)
(1%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 6/17/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
those removable valve cores are an absolute nightmare

When they say "removable valve core" they mean "core outer gage of the exact same thread and diameter as the valve stem". have not managed to refill them without disconnecting the valve core and causing a decompression (sometimes with the fun side effect of shooting the damn core out) once, either with a threaded pump or even just unscrewing the valve cap. incredibly frustrating to use, regardless of tube quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2021
by MB
Michigan
Overall Rating
Can't go wrong

Continental provides a repeatable good experience with their high quality products. I'm sure there is lighter or cheaper tubes available. I'm also sure I want a good product for a good price. That said, I don't have to think twice about purchasing these tubes. As a "normal guy" rider they'll do everything I need them to do. Biketiresdirect provides quick delivery and great price. I'll continue to use this product and will purchase them from Biketiresdirect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by RHM
LA
Overall Rating
Reliable Tubes

I have been using these tubes for the last few years and seldom had a flat unless the tires were well worn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by The Dude
Austin TX
Overall Rating
Super tubes

High quality, fairly low weight, long lasting, what is not to love about these Conti tubes????

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2022
by lk
Cycling Enthusiast
chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Conti tubes are awesome

Im an avid cyclist and rely on products like this to get me thru my rides day in and out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Road Race tubes are high quality.

The Continental Road Race tubes are a high quality product for road cycling both training and racing. I use them with my Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II tires. One of the best things about the tubes is that they come in a variety of stem lengths. I have two sets of deep rim carbon fiber wheels on my road bikes and being able to get the longer stem is a key feature of this product. The tubes are long lasting and are great when paired with almost any wheel tire combination you have. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by ToadyKay
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product

Really is an inexpensive great product. Not worth saving a few pennies to get anything less quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Silver Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite tube

Waited about 2 months for these to return to stock since I like these tubes. I use these on a Seven tandem with 700x28 tires and find that running a slightly larger tube in the 28mm tire gives excellent performance. I do not like to over over inflate a smaller diameter tube. Of course, I coat the outside of the tube with talcum powder and always powder the inside of the tire. I find that this gives extra slip when inflating the tube and prevents creases or folds that can cause an air leak or a heavy spot on the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2022
by Jim K
Indiana
Overall Rating
Reliable and fairly-priced

Continental road tubes have served me well year after year. Consistent quality at a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2017
by Deuce
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent balance between weight and durability

This is my go-to inner tube. It's not too heavy, a good compromise between strength and performance.

The seams are not raised like some, so it's easier to patch. A note of caution Be sure the removable valve core is properly seated. We were bothered by a slow leak from a slightly loose core. The price from BTD is always good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2021
by Old Peddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, Ok.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nothing Special

I've been using the Continental brand for years...Normally nothing wrong with them... I usually only have problems with innertubes when there's a tire problem..ie puncture, something imbedded in the rubber or a hole in the tire that causes the innertube to protrude and pop. I have to use a 60 mm valve stem so the expense is more but I stock up when I catch them on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2021
by 
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Dependable Tube

The Continental Race Road Tube has been my go to for years. They are a combination of durable and light weight. I guess it could change itself, but given that they last so long, that's not really an issue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tube but you may need to tighten the stem

These are good tubes. I've run them exclusively for the past two years. No blowouts. Precious few flats. When I first started using them I thought roughly 1 in 4 were defective since 25% had a very slow leak. What I figured out is the valve assembly is not always fully tightened into the stem. Check each one before you mount it with a small adjustable wrench. Do not over tighten.. Assuming it's tight, tube is great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/21/2021
by Danielle
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not very reliable.

Not very reliable. I had two pop the stem out while pumping them up. Certainly wasn't over inflated . Not to mention, too thin and easily punctured.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2020
by williemakeit
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento,Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
awesome tire tube

I use these on my road bike with gatorskins tires,have not had bad experience with them. valves are strong don't break . value rating is 3 because everything is too expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2022
by Anonymous
Spokane Wa
Overall Rating
Continue Race Tubes

Always good quality.always reliable!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2014
by TrekRoadDogg
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Holds air better than any other light weight tube I've tried!

I bought a couple of these tubes to use in an old school single walled 27 wheel. I liked the stem size. At 42mm instead of 48mm (too long) or 32mm (too short), these were the goldilocks size, just right.

But what impressed me most is that they held air pressure better than most any other light weight tube I've used. So I tried them in my 26er and had the same results. Before I knew it was was switching my 700C wheels as well.

I know many will say a tube is a tube and only as good as the tire that surrounds it. But for me, the light weight, perfect stem size and proven less air lose makes this my choice for tubes going forward.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2021
by MrChad
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Butyl tube I can find.

It's simply the best butyl tube I can find. The ride quality isn't as good as latex but far better than a standard tube. They hold air much better than latex over time as well. If you cannot or won't run latex tubes I find this to be the very next best option. My 2nd favorite in use daily tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Seattle, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best bike inner tubes I have ever owned.

These are far superior to the ordinary ones I've been buying at REI.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2021
by squirtdad
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My go to tube, high quality, best mix of weight and puncture resistance

I use this with road bikes mostly 28mm tires (conti GP5000 and panaracer GravelKing)and one 1 1/4 tire (panaracer pasela). These tubes are super. Easy to install, great quality and good balance of weight and puncture resistance. Just did the Cino ride with no flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 21

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | sa[email protected]