Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Race Light Road Tube

ContinentalRace Light Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(147 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(93)
(32)
(9)
(6)
(7)
(63%)
(22%)
(6%)
(4%)
(5%)
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and Compact

Perfect for when you dont want to carry heavy tubes in your jersey pockets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2021
by GSpear
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tube failed quickly. I know I didn't pinch it on installation, because it went on entirely without tools, using just the heel of my hands, AND it was slightly inflated and I was really careful. Plus, when it went flat in a few days, the problem turned out to be a pinhole on a flashing line with no sign of a crease. I think that's close to 100% chance that it was a manufacturing defect.

I've also noticed that both tires are losing air slowly (bad tube replaced), and they're only a few weeks old.

These tubes went on with brand-new Michelin racing tires, by the way, and rims and spoke tape were checked carefully before installation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2021
by SixSeven
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One day I'll go tubeless...

...but until I do, Continental tubes seem to have an edge on the rest of the competition. These are noticeably lighter and matched with my Conti 5000s, my puncture rate is noticeably lower than riding with other tires / tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2022
by ParkerJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far so good

Bought these to mount with new Continental 5000 tires, and they fit the spec and mounted easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2022
by ParkerJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far so good

Bought these to mount with new Continental 5000 tires, and they fit the spec and mounted easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2021
by Danny
Tecumseh
Overall Rating
Great tubes

Great tubes at a good price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2021
by DW in FL
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Satisfied

Have bought four, used or still using three, one still on reserve, over the last year. These tubes have worked just fine, lasted well, failures have been reasonable when a thorn or wire or glass shard has penetrated. I've patched and re-used without issue. They are nice and light-weight, yet strong enough. No complaints. Satisfied. Intend to keep buying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Art W
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable lightweight Road Tubes

Continental Race Light tubes are very light (78 grams on my scale) and durable. Comes folded to easily fit in a jersey pocket or a small saddle bag. I have been using them for many years and I consider them to be the best dollar for dollar road tube on the market

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by MoBetter
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works well as a good training level tire.

I had no problems installing these tubes, and so far about 1500 trouble free miles on them. To insure no twists or pinches or other seating problems, after installation I always pump my tires up to 20-40 psi initially, then deflate them all the way to let the tubes resettle naturally on the rim and within the tire casing. I then pump them up to full pressure. This seems to work for me as a standard practice. For backstory, I have new 700x23 continental 5000 tires on a Giant TCR with with Easton aluminum rims with 20K miles (on the bike and rims), and I'm about 160lb rider (on a good day). Between rides (every day or two) these tubes may lose a couple of psi, but certainly not much. Before every ride I inflate the rears to 120psi and the fronts to 115psi. I know this is high by most peoples standards, but I have ridden thousands of miles, hitting occasional potholes and road debris, with essentially zero flats, no broken spokes, by following these simple procedures. I honestly can't remember the last time I got a flat, and so far (1500 miles) these tubes don't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2009
by Andrew S. (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
69 of 72 customers found this review helpful.
A good quailty light race tube.

Use these tubes in a racing or training application. They have a great feel, and conti makes their tubes without seams which makes patching a breeze.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Only tube that works

I have Zipp 404 NSW wheels. These are the only tubes that fit without valve extenders. I ordered the the 80mm length and they work great with my 58mm rims.

I had been an exclusive Michelin tube person but their longest tube is 60 mm and it doesnt work with my 404s.

It is really nice not to have to bother with valve extenders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2019
by mootsrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Campbell. CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Weight Savings not worth the Risk you are taking using them!

Have been using these tubes for few years and now have had 3 of them just blow when riding which blows the tire off the rim when this happens. Two days ago I had just put new tires on my bike and 8 miles into the ride on a steep hill descending the front tube blew instantly. Bang it went at 20 mph I was on the ground in a flash on my left side. After a visit to ER room and multiple stitches in left knee and right hand I took a look at the bike to see if I could tell what happened. Tire bead was good and no damage on it. Rim OK no damage. Tube had 6 inch slit in a straight line were it blew. It was not twisted when installed. So my advice is the weight savings is not worth the risk of these blowing and causing a crash. I now have a lot of damage to my 10,000 bike to repair besides months off the bike recovering. I see other riders had the tubes blow also on a ride. I would not trust this product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2021
by Anonymous
Woodbury, MN
Overall Rating
Tube

Light and fast!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2019
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My favorite tubes, and best value upgrade

Compared to standard tubes (e.g., Conti Race) the Lights save 30g and about 1 watt per wheel (per bicyclerollingresistance.com). All for a couple of bucks extra. That's amazing value for money. I am using Conti Lights on both my road bikes, paired with 25mm GP4000 SII and GP5000 tires. I find the Lights to be very reliable, and not noticeably more prone to flats than standard weight tubes. I do always check to make sure the core is securely installed - I have had a couple of flats, with other tubes, caused by removable cores that weren't tight and leaked.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Solid tubes with good performance.

Solid performance, dependable tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Timmy
illinois
Overall Rating
Works as it should

Bought these for use on new wheels, they only loose a few pounds between rides and some of that is filling the air hose to the gauge. No problems with flats yet but that's more a function of the tires. They seem to me a good tube

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2018
by Crypto Que
Daily Commuter
Fairfield County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the best tubes

After ordering these tubes I did lots of reading about how lightweight race tubes are horribly unreliable & require daily inflation. Nothing could be more untrue about these contis I got them as a set with Ultra Sport II Folding tires & I ride every day. The rim has bottoms out sometimes twice a day, and I dread a pinch flat each time it happens, but so far the tubes have held up lovely. I've begun stocking up on tubes & conti tires bc I think they have the best product & reputation in the sector.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very light and great product, you can feel the difference in speed

Faster tires because of these tubes, no flats so far

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Anonymous
camas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Conti race light tube

Love these tubes. I don't worry about flat based on the tubes I use, tires should be the line of defense for flats. I love how light they are and hold pressure well. I usually have to top off the pressure every third ride or so. I usually wait until they go on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2018
by Yellow softride
Casual Cyclist
WisconsinFlorida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tube for the money, no issues with it.

I use this tube on an old Softride Firestorm converted to a trailroad bike on Spinergy rims. Lots of gravel and road debri. No issues so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 54

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]