Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Race Light Road Tube

ContinentalRace Light Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(162 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(106)
(33)
(9)
(7)
(7)
(65%)
(20%)
(6%)
(4%)
(4%)
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Rob
ny
Overall Rating
Nice tubes

I like these lightweight tubes, they hold air really well and are not prone to punctures like many lightweight tubes out there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2022
by Paulo
NJ/NY
Overall Rating
50% less space!

Great option to be your second tube, it takes up 50% less space than the regular tube, perfect for the jersey pocket!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Used to love these, latest batch has major issues

I've been riding Conti Race Lights since I started back riding in mid-2021. The first few sets of these have been great. They're thinner than std. road tubes, so I don't expect puncture resistance, but I do expect them to survive for more than an hour or two inside of a brand new tire.

This latest batch from BTD has major issues. 2/3 (and the only two I've installed so far) blew out at the seam less than 10-15 minutes after installation. Bang! They weren't pinched, they just are too thin in places. 90 psi. I think the mfg. quality of these has become very inconsistent. I'm switching to a new tube. These are expensive (for what they are) wastes of time and money now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2021
by GSpear
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tube failed quickly. I know I didn't pinch it on installation, because it went on entirely without tools, using just the heel of my hands, AND it was slightly inflated and I was really careful. Plus, when it went flat in a few days, the problem turned out to be a pinhole on a flashing line with no sign of a crease. I think that's close to 100% chance that it was a manufacturing defect.

I've also noticed that both tires are losing air slowly (bad tube replaced), and they're only a few weeks old.

These tubes went on with brand-new Michelin racing tires, by the way, and rims and spoke tape were checked carefully before installation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2009
by Andrew S. (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
70 of 73 customers found this review helpful.
A good quailty light race tube.

Use these tubes in a racing or training application. They have a great feel, and conti makes their tubes without seams which makes patching a breeze.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good lite tubes

Good lite tubes

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by MoBetter
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works well as a good training level tire.

I had no problems installing these tubes, and so far about 1500 trouble free miles on them. To insure no twists or pinches or other seating problems, after installation I always pump my tires up to 20-40 psi initially, then deflate them all the way to let the tubes resettle naturally on the rim and within the tire casing. I then pump them up to full pressure. This seems to work for me as a standard practice. For backstory, I have new 700x23 continental 5000 tires on a Giant TCR with with Easton aluminum rims with 20K miles (on the bike and rims), and I'm about 160lb rider (on a good day). Between rides (every day or two) these tubes may lose a couple of psi, but certainly not much. Before every ride I inflate the rears to 120psi and the fronts to 115psi. I know this is high by most peoples standards, but I have ridden thousands of miles, hitting occasional potholes and road debris, with essentially zero flats, no broken spokes, by following these simple procedures. I honestly can't remember the last time I got a flat, and so far (1500 miles) these tubes don't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2021
by SixSeven
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One day I'll go tubeless...

...but until I do, Continental tubes seem to have an edge on the rest of the competition. These are noticeably lighter and matched with my Conti 5000s, my puncture rate is noticeably lower than riding with other tires / tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great

Been riding for more than 20 years. I've used all the brands. These are the best in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2022
by Scooby
Bartlett, TN
Overall Rating
No flats yet

I love new tires and tubes! Bike feels and handles better. I'll get over 1500 good, hard miles over smooth and some substantially rough surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2020
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Only tube that works

I have Zipp 404 NSW wheels. These are the only tubes that fit without valve extenders. I ordered the the 80mm length and they work great with my 58mm rims.

I had been an exclusive Michelin tube person but their longest tube is 60 mm and it doesnt work with my 404s.

It is really nice not to have to bother with valve extenders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2021
by DW in FL
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Satisfied

Have bought four, used or still using three, one still on reserve, over the last year. These tubes have worked just fine, lasted well, failures have been reasonable when a thorn or wire or glass shard has penetrated. I've patched and re-used without issue. They are nice and light-weight, yet strong enough. No complaints. Satisfied. Intend to keep buying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2021
by Art W
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Durable lightweight Road Tubes

Continental Race Light tubes are very light (78 grams on my scale) and durable. Comes folded to easily fit in a jersey pocket or a small saddle bag. I have been using them for many years and I consider them to be the best dollar for dollar road tube on the market

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2019
by mootsrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Campbell. CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Weight Savings not worth the Risk you are taking using them!

Have been using these tubes for few years and now have had 3 of them just blow when riding which blows the tire off the rim when this happens. Two days ago I had just put new tires on my bike and 8 miles into the ride on a steep hill descending the front tube blew instantly. Bang it went at 20 mph I was on the ground in a flash on my left side. After a visit to ER room and multiple stitches in left knee and right hand I took a look at the bike to see if I could tell what happened. Tire bead was good and no damage on it. Rim OK no damage. Tube had 6 inch slit in a straight line were it blew. It was not twisted when installed. So my advice is the weight savings is not worth the risk of these blowing and causing a crash. I now have a lot of damage to my 10,000 bike to repair besides months off the bike recovering. I see other riders had the tubes blow also on a ride. I would not trust this product!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Reliable tubes

A tube that I can count on to be reliable over time

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2019
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My favorite tubes, and best value upgrade

Compared to standard tubes (e.g., Conti Race) the Lights save 30g and about 1 watt per wheel (per bicyclerollingresistance.com). All for a couple of bucks extra. That's amazing value for money. I am using Conti Lights on both my road bikes, paired with 25mm GP4000 SII and GP5000 tires. I find the Lights to be very reliable, and not noticeably more prone to flats than standard weight tubes. I do always check to make sure the core is securely installed - I have had a couple of flats, with other tubes, caused by removable cores that weren't tight and leaked.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2022
by JO
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight tube

Great tube. The one to go with until you go tubeless

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2022
by LeeAnn
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Stock up on this great tube choice at a great price

I carry 2 because I have 2 tires and I ride some rough roads. But I have found that I given as many away to riders using crappy cheap tube as I've used myself.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great product

Really like Conti tubes. Never had any problems with them. Hold air well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2018
by Crypto Que
Daily Commuter
Fairfield County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the best tubes

After ordering these tubes I did lots of reading about how lightweight race tubes are horribly unreliable & require daily inflation. Nothing could be more untrue about these contis I got them as a set with Ultra Sport II Folding tires & I ride every day. The rim has bottoms out sometimes twice a day, and I dread a pinch flat each time it happens, but so far the tubes have held up lovely. I've begun stocking up on tubes & conti tires bc I think they have the best product & reputation in the sector.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 61

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]