Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(971 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(780)
(113)
(23)
(19)
(36)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 3/5/2021
by Michael
Virginia Beach
Overall Rating
Great tires that last

Continental GP5000 tires are the only ones I use. I put 2 on my bike at the beginning of every year. They always last the 8,000 or so miles I put on them. Use standard tube and they almost never flat. They corner well and ride smooth too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2020
by Alvinm
Cycling Enthusiast
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire But Wears Quickly

Compared to the 4000s, these seem to wear quicker. I don't have exact numbers but I think I got less than 1000 miles out of them before they started showing significant signs of wear. I probably could have stretched it out a few extra miles but I started flatting. Other than that, they are a great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Joe P
Elk Grove CA
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires I have ever used

I have previously used Michelin Pro 4 & Gatorskins and these GP 5000 blow them out of the water. I ride typically rough country roads with some road debris and gravel. My other tires used I would end up with small cuts after a few rides that would eventually lead to flats. These GP 5000 have provided an extremely tough exterior while producing a supple ride. They corner well and hold their speed. I have them mounted on a Canyon Aeroad with Reynolds Strike Carbon Wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by C1st2c
Cycling Enthusiast
Roseville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Tire putting their tire expertise to the test with road bike tires

I have been using the Continental Grand Prix 4000 for the past eight years. One of my favorite rides is the Tour of the California Alps (aka Death Ride), a ride in the Sierra Nevada mountains, over five mountain peaks at elevation for 129 miles. The GP 4000 has had excellent traction, and at high descent speeds holds the road well. Importantly, I have gotten fewer flats than I was with prior tires. Now, Continental has come out with the Grand Prix 5000the next generation. Taking their rubber grip technology they call black chili to the next level, so far my experience with the GP 5000 is at least as good as my years of experience with their previous generation. While I dont have the long term experience, my first 200 miles have been without incident and with great traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire - not great

I have bought several of these tires and really like them except for multiple punctures. I hope this can be rectified in future productions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2021
by HS
Cycling Enthusiast
Triangle area, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Smooth and fast...

Got the 28c recently, noticeably smoother and grippier than the 25c at slightly lower psi and based on initial impressions, can't say I feel any slower. Cornering does feel more secure and if the 28's are supposed to perform better in wet conditions than the 25's then even better as the 25's worked fine for me in the rain. Will see how long these last. So far no punctures on my 25's after 2000 miles but perhaps I just jinxed myself...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2020
by AML Pro Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

The Continental Grand Prix 5000 is an excellent road tire.

Comfortable, smooth ride, light weight, wears well.

I am on my second pair, from last year, and I ride a lot. Best tire.

I don't think you can go wrong with this leader in the clincher category !

Buy them !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Terry Rardin
Moreno Valley Ca.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good overall tire. Handles good.

Good tire. A little better than the 4000. Handles good and seems to roll easier. Only complaint, they seem to cut easier than the 4000. Mileage seems about the same. 2 rear tires to 1 front. On my second set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2021
by kaicycle
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A smooth ride

The Continental makes for a smooth comfortable ride. They absorb some of the roughness of the road. I also found them to be puncture resistant. I had only two flats all year. For a tire that grips so well in the corners, they wear very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2020
by SLOSpokes
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Improvement over GP 4000s.

After experiencing poor durablity performance with the prior GP 4000 tire (lots of cuts and too many punctures) I started leaving my GP Four Seasons on all year. I have recently tried the new GP 5000s and so far they are a significant improvement. Rolling resistance and speed are obviously better over the Four Seasons, but durability also seems to be improved. After a couple hundred miles, no cuts or punctures. Cornering grip is stellar and stepping up to the 25mm has improved overall ride comfort. They measure 26.3 at 105 PSI, which just barely fits in my narrow Ridley Noah ISP frame, but the ride quality over 23mm versions of the GP 4000 and Four Seasons is apparent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Lowtac
San Antonio
Overall Rating
Best tires ever

Love these tires. Light, fast, durable and sticky! I've ridden numerous other tires and these are the best....250 mile training week, crit, social ride..... it doesn't matter these tires do it all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Honolulu Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great clinchers

Started using these Conties again and nice and sticky and good flat protection. I train and race on these.

You can't go wrong with these, pricey but when on sale can be a good buy, stock up when on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Scotty
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires at a great price

Road riding lots of road riding, at my age (68) it seems like the right thing to do, and the Grand Prix 5000s are great tires to do lots of miles on, I really have never had a problem with them!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE FLA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Impressive Tire

I've amassed 2600 miles on these Conti GP 5k tires. The rear tire is just now showing the flat wear so time to rotate. No flats (did I jinx myself here?). I've ordered another on sale already. Good value when they are the Deal of the Day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
by Pedro
Cycling Enthusiast
Marblehead, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Only Tire I Ride On!

The Conti 5000s are great. Not only do they roll true to size, but they last for thousands of miles. Put 4000 on a set I installed in June...and now am thinking I finally need to replace them. Only two flats all season...and one was in my driveway! Great value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Michael Barnes
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure yet I like these better than the older GP4000s.

I find two things annoying about these tires compared to the older GP4000s. First, there isn't much rubber there to start with, which helps explain the low rolling resistance. But I wonder how long they will last. Second, the tires are narrower than the older GP4000s. This is to compensate for the wider rims in use today. But I liked the width of the GP4000 700x25s. The new GP5000 700x25s are too narrow, but the 700x28s are two wide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

Got this when it was on sale, otherwise I would rate it 4 stars because they are a pricey tire, but you get what you pay for and this is all around a great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2021
by Charles
Franklin
Overall Rating
Good tire

I've been running these since using up the last of my Condo 4000 tires. Longevity seems about the same. Did lose one 5000 to a sidewall cut but the rock I hit probably would have taken out the 4000 as well. Good ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2021
by Lowtac
San Antonio
Overall Rating
Best tires ever

Love these tires. Light, fast, durable and sticky! I've ridden numerous other tires and these are the best....250 mile training week, crit, social ride..... it doesn't matter these tires do it all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by Robert
St Petersburg, FL
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for my riding

Started using the GP 5000 when the 4000 S II stopped being made. I can't say I really notice a difference to the 4000 S II, but still get great roll with them, and have only had 1 flat in 3.5 years of riding (roughly 8000 miles). Purchased when on sale, and use them exclusively. I am a 205 lb rider using the 23mm version, but like the way they ride and handle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 61

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]