Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(961 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(772)
(112)
(23)
(19)
(35)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by RideUltra
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy, fast, durable Conti 5000

Every day cycling enthusiast, riding roughly 200 miles per week. I've always ridden Conti 4000s, then these came out and gave them a try. They're expensive at my LBS, which is why I got them on this site. The GP5000s are just as fast as their predecessors and more durable than before. The 4000s tended to get weaker over time , before they were fully worn , especially in the sidewall. The 5000 have lasted for months without issues or punctures (that may be luck) of every day use in southern California. They are long-lasting, grippy, inspire confidence on the descents, and are fast rolling. I'll not buy anything else.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by Alexis
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire but very soft!

I've used other GP4000 / GP4000S tires in the past and was not impressed with them. They didn't offer the rolling resistance or cornering grip I liked.

The GP5000 tires (in 28mm) changed that. I find these tires are great for all around riding, cornering grip and rolling resistance.

Unfortunately, you can't get everything. These tires are soft and can be punctured pretty easily. I would avoid running over any glass or thorns. I've gone through many tires already, but I accept that fact for having nearly "race-tire"-like performance on a daily basis.

Buy these tires if you want grip, but accept that they can and will be punctured. I hope you have extra tubes and co2 cartridges while riding! I had both tires go flat from riding through an area of thorns. Not fun.

These tires are also quite expensive, but if you can find them on sale, buy them! When they were half off, I bought three pairs of them. I just love these tires but accept they're fragile.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by QAmic
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Formidable but Flawed

Purchased three 700X28c GP5K's. Anticipating my standard rotation of two rear tyres (expecting 3K miles ea.) / one front. Say four to six months of riding. TOTAL usage from these three was <250 miles. Three mystery (non sidewall) cuts, from mystery debris that shredded the tyre even thru the liner and created emphatic tubular flats. My first ride, 30 miles rolled, following the group and Bam, one rear tire gone. We scouted for what could have caused this and nothing was found. Called up the 2nd tyre and new Schwalbe tube and had a fine ride. GP5K provided comfort at speed, confidence in cornering, was agile and quick. Then two days later another Bam moment. Put the front GP5K on rear; placed a used Vittoria Corsa Control on front and enjoyed a twin bammer day in less than 100Km. Theory, desert southwest summer asphalt temp.'s, speeds all near 25 mph, and a design flaw where what should be a tiny debris cut cascades into a major tyre/tube destroying tear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2021
by Oregon rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires!

I've been using Continental tires for years....first the GP 4000, the GP 4000 - II, the 4 Seasons, the Gatorskins.....and now the GP 5000!

All great tires that are durable and reliable! I use the GP 5000's on both my Tarmac and Roubaix with excellent results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Erik T
Gerrardstown, WV
Overall Rating
So far so good

If you have worn out tires just about any tire is an upgrade. These are certainly worth snagging when in the market. I've had no issues seating them on the wheel, they handle decent, and so far no flats. After a few rides I am a bit dubious of their life, but you can't have everything. I would consider these again if I get some miles out of these. If they wear quickly (as I fear) I'd probably go another direction for the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire - not great

I have bought several of these tires and really like them except for multiple punctures. I hope this can be rectified in future productions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Ricky
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They roll great but...

I bought a pair of 5000's this spring for the summer season. I've ridden Gatorskins and Four Seasons exclusively for the past few years. I was looking forward to the new rubber after reading the early reviews. As advertised, I found the roll was impressively better. Unfortunately, as my miles increased so did the problems. I weigh about 205 pounds, bigger than the "classic" cyclist to be sure. My riding is road both in the city and on less traveled rural roads. Still, after about 1000 miles or so the rear tire was missing a few chunks of rubber and was decidedly worn. I replaced it hoping for better luck. Bottom line, flats have increased on both the newer rear tire and now the front. This is my experience only but I hope the next series of 5000's wear better and are more flat resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great all-rounder!

This is my first season trying the new GP 5000s as a summer tire and I'm very happy with the upgrade. The 25mm size measures around 25.6 at pressure which is great for fitting into a tight frame, and I got a little over 1,100 miles before a sidewall cut required a change. Other than that, these are great performers with improved puncture resistance over the GP 4000s -- no flats despite hitting a few unexpected glass patches in the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2020
by Rich C.
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisville, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible tire. Please bring back the 4000 series.

An earlier reviewer wrote: "Honestly, they need to bring back the 4000s. A group of three of us, ranging from 165 lbs to 190 lbs to 240 lbs have all ridden the 25s and the 28s. They wear out extremely fast, with pieces seemingly falling off some of them. They puncture more than any tires we've ever used. I'm a big Continental fan, I love the 4 Seasons tires and the 4000s were great. These, to me, are a pure, one day race tire. For average riding or training, they are terrible. One tire lasted about 200 miles before blowing out a sidewall - with no impact. Another hit its wear indicator at around 5 or 600 miles. "

I concur. I had really good luck with the 4000 series tires, but these tires are too fragile with chunks of rubber falling out. These tires are no good for training as they are too fragile. I would never trust these tires for racing with the chunks of rubber falling out. ( I used to train and race on the 4000s'.)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2021
by Michael
Virginia Beach
Overall Rating
Great tires that last

Continental GP5000 tires are the only ones I use. I put 2 on my bike at the beginning of every year. They always last the 8,000 or so miles I put on them. Use standard tube and they almost never flat. They corner well and ride smooth too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2020
by go dog go
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
HYPE

There is a lot of positive hype about this tire and tubeless overall. it does feel pretty fast but

it is tooo soft . Twice i have had gravel shards drive through a 5000 like no other tire I ve used.

The struggles with this tire cost me several rides this summer . They don t seem any faster than super sonics, turbo cottons, or vitorias to me and I ve had more trouble with them. Appropriate for race wheels

perhaps but sneaking away from work to get a flat 5000 3 times just stinks. I expect a new conti

train fast tire to come after they lose some business.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by mikeyl
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Ride but weak flat prevention

First let me say this tire rides real well, good grip, very stable in the corners. It looked narrower than the 28mm it claims and it is by a 1.5 mm, which is odd because the 25mm version my second bike is wider by ~1mm. Go figure. I have had 2 flats , one about 25 feet from my garage where I picked up was was likely a piece of steel belt wire that sheds off off cars that have let their tires go too long. No idea what the second one was but it cut through the tire about 3/8 inch gash. The tire rides well enough that I bought the same as a replacement but my Conti 4000's provided me with much better flat protection. I'm running the 5000's on two of my bikes and the 4000's still on the third bike. Nice performing tire but always a bit worrisome for me if the road looks trashy.

Just want to also say the BikeTiresDirect is my go to place to buy tires, tubes and occasionally tools. Great company!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/24/2020
by PDXBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible tire, tried multiple over the last year

Honestly, they need to bring back the 4000s. A group of three of us, ranging from 165 lbs to 190 lbs to 240 lbs have all ridden the 25s and the 28s. They wear out extremely fast, with pieces seemingly falling off some of them. They puncture more than any tires we've ever used. I'm a big Continental fan, I love the 4 Seasons tires and the 4000s were great. These, to me, are a pure, one day race tire. For average riding or training, they are terrible. One tire lasted about 200 miles before blowing out a sidewall - with no impact. Another hit its wear indicator at around 5 or 600 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2021
by HS
Cycling Enthusiast
Triangle area, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Smooth and fast...

Got the 28c recently, noticeably smoother and grippier than the 25c at slightly lower psi and based on initial impressions, can't say I feel any slower. Cornering does feel more secure and if the 28's are supposed to perform better in wet conditions than the 25's then even better as the 25's worked fine for me in the rain. Will see how long these last. So far no punctures on my 25's after 2000 miles but perhaps I just jinxed myself...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2020
by Topcat
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, Nebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all-round tire

Light, supple, grippy, surprisingly durable, easy to mount. Replaced the stock tires with these and increased my average speed by a bit more than 1 MPH. Expected these to be a bit tight, but they mounted easily without tools, and the bead seats firm. I had my first flat after 3,000 miles. On-the-road repair was fastest ever. Single lever was all I needed. Tread-wear indicator is a nice feature. Ordered another set on sale to have in reserve. Good-looking, too! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2020
by E-wreak
Santa Barbra County
Overall Rating
Ride with confidence!

Just a well made tire that holds up well. Switch brands when I went to 25mm greatest decision I made. I feel very confident when taking high speed turns and they hold up great again road hazards. If you want puncture resistance get a MTB tires if not these hold up great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by Kagielu
Competitive Racer
Clearwater, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires

Bought a bunch of these to replace my current tires and they are always great. Very light, grippy and good on these horrible florida roads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Newport Beach CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent rolling resistance and grip.

Road rides for 100 to 150 miles a week.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2020
by Alvinm
Cycling Enthusiast
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire But Wears Quickly

Compared to the 4000s, these seem to wear quicker. I don't have exact numbers but I think I got less than 1000 miles out of them before they started showing significant signs of wear. I probably could have stretched it out a few extra miles but I started flatting. Other than that, they are a great tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Joe P
Elk Grove CA
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best tires I have ever used

I have previously used Michelin Pro 4 & Gatorskins and these GP 5000 blow them out of the water. I ride typically rough country roads with some road debris and gravel. My other tires used I would end up with small cuts after a few rides that would eventually lead to flats. These GP 5000 have provided an extremely tough exterior while producing a supple ride. They corner well and hold their speed. I have them mounted on a Canyon Aeroad with Reynolds Strike Carbon Wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 85

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]