Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(1182 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(964)
(126)
(33)
(20)
(39)
(82%)
(11%)
(3%)
(2%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 1/19/2023
by Oregon Duck
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My Go To Road Tire

Although this tire is expensive, I got it on sale and I stocked up. It's a great road tire....good road feel and very durable. I highly recommend this tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2022
by Steve
San Diego, California
Overall Rating
A great all around tire.

The Continental Grand Prix 5000 is a great all around tire. It offers nice grip on corners, a smooth ride and long mileage. I have ridden on these tires for 5,000 kilometers (~3,000 miles) and they are still rideable. I have ridden them on the road and gravel in Italy, Australia and the United States and have never been disappointed by the way they perform.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2022
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My current choice of tire for road riding.

I use these tires on my #1 bike. Previously used Grand Prix 4 Seasons.

That's where I learned the Vectran belt worked at preventing flats.

When the Continental Grand Prix 5000 got the Vectran belt I switched to them,

They work well for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2022
by zRyder007
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Altos, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fair value proposition when on sale

For a road tire the conti 5000 is in the top tier. Low rolling resistance, comfort, durability and puncture resistant. The only drawback is the price. Bottom line: grab them when they're on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2022
by Slopeside
Vermont
Overall Rating
Great tire

Expected the tires to be OK, but instead I'm very pleased with them. They provide a smooth ride and much less resistance than my previous 5000. Plus I know I have the puncture protection of this well designed tire.

They were well worth the price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2022
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
895 Mile Review

I just finished two months and 895 miles on my new Conti GP5000s. I run the 700x23 clinchers at appprox 108/110 psi, using the Silca weight/size calculator. I really like these tires on my Pinarello, and I used to swear I would never change from my Vredestein Fortezza Tri-Comps - until they stopped making them. The Conti GP5000 is a great tire. I have not encountered a single problem, nor had a flat over the last 895 miles, and I will most certainly stick with these tires until something better is created.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
33 of 39 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, grippy, not robust

I am a Conti fan, having settled in on the Grand Prix 4 Season tire as my go for many years, after trying several different brands. I got a new road bike a year ago, and thought I wold give the 5000's a try when the OEM tires gave way. Those were Specialized Turbo Pro's, and based on my previous experience with Specs, I thought they would be shot after 500 miles. In fact, I got 3150 out of the rear, and 4000 on the front!

Once I was fully on the 5000's I noticed 2 things right away - they are indeed smooth, fast, and grippy, but the sizing is a little questionable. I moved from being a 700x23 @120psi diehard, to 25's, and with the new bike, 28's running 75 psi F, 85 psi R. (I am 6'2", 180 lbs). If you're an old diehard skinny tire rider, do yourself a favor and try something different - easily just as fast, and waaaay more comfortable. When I mounted the 5000's it was immediately clear that although labelled 28's they were no bigger than 25's. So if you're looking for bigger tires, I would suggest going all the way to 32's - that's what I plan to do if these last long enough to be worth repeating.

The rear tire has 900+ miles on it now, and is showing considerable wear. Lots of cuts and nicks, with one fairly small cut having nicked a cord of the casing. By contrast, the Spec's had many more and deeper cuts, without a single injury to the casing. In fact on removal I saw that the sidewall had been cut along the radial line about 1" all the way to the casing, yet the tire performed flawlessly!

A word about rubber- these 5000's new out of box had noticeably less rubber on the wear surface than my 4000 mile worn Spec did!

If I can get 2000 miles flat free, I will consider another pair. The Specs went their entire life flat free, which is amazing. Plus they were a dream to ride.

Some reviewers commented on sidewall weakness. So far, no problems. Also, others say tires difficult to mount, but mine went on pretty easily, FYI. Lastly, I believe these are an improvement over the 4000's, as my experience with those was that they flatted like crazy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/9/2023
by Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Overall Rating
Great service

Good price really good service

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2023
by Nelson
Overall Rating
Continental Grand Prix 5000 Road Tire

Great all around tire

High mileage

Smooth ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible

This tire is the worst bicycle part I have ever purchased. Not the worst tire, the worst product. I have never purchased another bicycle part that failed so miserably in it's intended role. I have been riding mountain and road bikes since I was 10 years old in SoCal, I have been through every manufacturer of tire out there, and let me tell you, don't buy the hype when it comes to these tires.

The first tire failed when I ran over a small piece of plastic within 20 miles of installation, the kind of thing that I saw on the road but never even considered steering around based on thousands of miles of experience with other tires. Since that moment, when the tire was completely destroyed in an instant, the tires have gone through an endless cycle of flats and failures, the failures always seem to occur on the other tire, the one that I had not just replaced, so it has been hard to throw out the set for a better option when I had just paid to replace the twin. Let me tell you, I should have thrown them both out at that first failure, the tires have left me on the side of the road with flats based on items I pulled out and crushed between my fingers countless times.

At least 10 times the number of flats and failures with these tires vs. any other tire I have used in the past. To make matters worse, they are extremely tight on the rim and horrible to remove and install, at least on Mavic Ksyriums. When I first installed these I was surprised at how soft the durometer of the rubber felt compared to the tire I had just removed, I think that may be a part of why they attract flats and destroy themselves on small objects so often. You may be wondering if this is real because it doesn't say verified purchase. I bought these at a major bike retailer with tires in the name and am so fed up with the performance of this product that I am posting my review of it anywhere I can. I have never been inspired to do something like that before. Continental should be ashamed of themselves for selling this product.

I made this mistake and wrote this so you don't have to. Don't do it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2022
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
San Anselmo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good grip and excellent for rough roads

I bought these 28mm tires for the rough roads in Marin County, CA. Excellent grip and forgiving over cracks, ruts and potholes, and better than my previous 23 mm Contis for the roads here. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2022
by T Craig
Memphis, TN
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good tires

I installed these tires (28c) on my 2018 Diamondback Century 1 in early July. This set is my third set of Continental brand tires. I buy these tires due to durability. I ride on some very rough streets here in Memphis and no flats. As with all new tires, it takes a few rides for them to speed up. You will have to air these tires up every few days after first installing them due to expansion. In typical Continental fashion, the last 6 inches is the most difficult to get on the rim. Have a good tire lever or that bike seating tool. The gum wall looks good, too, but not too much on my bike. Overall, I am pleased with these tires and the Continental brand as a whole. Continental is the brand I have had the most durability with.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2022
by Roger Weston
Upstate NY, NC.,VT.,FL.
Overall Rating
Best all around tire

Only tire used for my 6,000-7,000 miles/yr.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2022
by Craigjok
Cycling Enthusiast
Broken Arrow, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Grand Prix 5000 Rolls across Race Across The West

I installed a pair of the Grand Prix 5000's for my four man team's (https://www.teamsuicideprevention.com) 930 mile Race Across The West event. This is a team time trial type event with at least one rider on the road from Oceanside, California to Durango Colorado riding day and night across the deserts and mountains on the route. Crap happens. About 200 miles into the race during one of my pulls, I ran over a strip of a wood pallet on a desert section and a 1" long staple went clear through the tire. The amazing thing about the Grand Prix is that in my haste to keep moving, I quickly put a new tube in and aired up the tire and went on to finish my pull. I went on to ride to the finish with that same tire. I think that is incredible. I did have a spare Grand Prix tire but didn't have to use even after that significant "flatting" event. We finished the race in 2d 14h 46m. I'm sticking with my Grand Prix 5000's

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2022
by bloaker
Zushi/Hayama
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
The tires work as one would expect them to work...

I run both the TR and non TR versions on different wheelsets.

After years of running GP4000s and thousands and thousands of miles with only 2 flats, I opted to move to the 5000s this year and forego gatorskins (also a nice tire). I am running 28mm on both the tubeless and tubed tires and they stick amazing in corners, brake better than the 4000s and have very little road noise. They met my expectations and I can happily say they feel a bit better than the 4000s they replaced.

I have also run the Enve SES tire in a 27mm. For comparisons, they SES is more 'V' shaped and falls into corners. The 5000s are more round and allow you to incrementally drop the bike into a corner more consistently. The SES is also a great tire, but the 5000s are my choice moving forward.

I think the regular 5000s are a great value. The TRs are a bit pricey for a tire, but if you need tubeless, you are stuck.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2020
by mrpelco
Cycling Enthusiast
West Point NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
Puncture resistance is improved and I put that to the test.

Before taking the new road bike tire for a spin, I reviewed the technology first. The Grand Prix 5000 has a 12% lower rolling resistance, a 20% better puncture resistance and 10 grams less weight according to Continental. The tires puncture resistance was improved and I put that to the test. While out for a ride we encountered a large patch of glass. My buddies all got flats. I pulled some glass shards out of the tire. No damage and No Flats... The tire smoothly glides over asphalt and my bike has no problem accelerating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2022
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Springfield, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product and value

This is my third set of these tires. They wear very well, do not flat easily, and look great. I will continue to use them on my bike that does not have tubeless tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tires for Cycling Enthusiasts

Love these tires! They corner well, roll smooth and I get less puncture. When not on sale, I think they're kind of pricey. But when they are on sale, I always get a pair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2022
by enolasco
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great set of tires

These tires are great that i saw it on sale and need it to buy another pair. I love the built and smooth ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Rob
ny
Overall Rating
Best road tire made

This is a grippy, light and puncture resistant tire

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 80

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]