Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(552 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(459)
(73)
(5)
(9)
(6)
(83%)
(13%)
(1%)
(2%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by GLRowe

Reviewed 9/28/2023
by GLRowe
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These are the best tires around

Grand Prix 4-Season are highly resistant to flats, which is important to me because it is extremely difficult to remove tires from the Rolf wheels on our new tandem bike. Getting fewer flats is the best way to avoid that problem. The Grand Prix 4-Season may weigh a bit more than other tires, but the security of avoiding flats is the payoff.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/5/2024
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Shocked

Bought these in 2021. Only put about 2500 miles on this bike. My rear tire is split down the middle for about 10 inches. Guy at the bike shop said he never saw anything like this. The front tire is fine. Wasted a lot of money now time because now I have to buy another tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larry in Austin Tx

Reviewed 10/29/2021
by Larry in Austin Tx
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
39 of 43 customers found this review helpful.
Get the Best,

I am 83 and have been riding since the Truman administration. Now I ride 30 miles three times per week at speeds from 13 to 15 mph on a decent road bike. I am no expert on anything but I believe in trying to get the best when it comes to tires for obvious reasons. I have used this and other high end Continental tires for at least 15 years and never had a problem of any kind with the tires. This GP 4 Season sounded like it had the very best features for my particular riding style, safety over speed. In years past I have tried racing tires with no problem but did not notice any significant advantage and they don't last as long and do not give me the feeling of safety that I need. My opinion is if less weight is desired there are better ways to reduce weight than shaving a little weight off of the tires. I do care about speed but you can go a faster when you are not thinking about a fragile tire blowing out on you. I did have a blow out flat one time and it was coming down a steep hill and was able to bring it to a stop without spilling over. Just keeping calm and steady; I was never a really strong rider. I think my fastest ever long distance closed loop road ride was 18.5 mph average, but I can't even do 15 mph these days. Seriously, don't skimp on your tires and enjoy some serious riding at your own level. I am not against racing tires...they are just not for someone like me. One last thing, I take 18 seconds and check both tires before every ride. Although it is rare to find anything, I remove any little rock that is sticking to the tire. I am not an expert on tire technology; I just think the All Season sounded like the best for me, the safest most trouble free, a serious tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DF

Reviewed 3/7/2024
by DF
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great!

I exchanged gator skins for these babies. The exchange process was outstanding due to great customer service!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by spinthosecranks

Reviewed 12/22/2023
by spinthosecranks
Denver, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
these tires are perfect for my daily rides here in Denver; durable with great grip and traction; easty to install.

I'm 68, I ride daily 10-20 miles per day 365 days per year; performance road bike cyclist, city and foothills tours; occasional mountain tours and mtn. pass ascents. These are my fav. tires currently. Great value when they are available on discount. SPINTHOSECRANKS!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
25 of 26 customers found this review helpful.
For me, its the Goldilocks tire

Im a 61 year old recreational cyclist. I ride about 20 miles a day during the week and enjoy rides of up to 60 miles on the weekend. Im not fast, I dont own a heart monitor and I dont use a power meter. I ride simply for the joy of it, so I choose my equipment to maximize that joy. I ride an endurance bike and I prefer tires that are quiet, comfortable and durable rather than fast and delicate. For what do, these tires are perfect. They slot in I rly between the GP5000 (faster, but not as durable) and the Gatorskin (more durable, but less comfortable and slower). I currently have these tires on two road bikes and will shortly put them on two hybrids (range of available sizes is another plus). The only two cautionary notes I have are 1) Conti tires all seem to run at last 1mm large - if your frame clearance is tight, beware of this - and 2) There is a black version of this tire and, while it may be my imagination, I think the black sidewall is stiffer than the natural one. Other than that, great tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 2/6/2024
by John
San Antonio and Houston Texas
Overall Rating
Great durable all weather tires

Very durable all weather tires. Best tires I�ve owned, had Continental 4000, Gatorskins and many more.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wally

Reviewed 3/25/2023
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
goes the distance on the rear

I'm 76, ride for distance, solo, 5000 miles per yr, lots of centuries.

I used many, many different tires and have come to rely on the 4-Season as my go to REAR tire.

I know this can be very subjective, but in my experience is this is the most reliable rear tire to get me home w/o flatting. Or worse, cutting/blowout. There are a lot of bad roads and debris out there.

You will notice I specify rear. I have found different behavior/types of flats between front and rear, and use different tires on the front..

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Josh C

Reviewed 11/25/2023
by Josh C
Middlesex, NJ
Overall Rating
Really Dependable & Safe

I never have to worry about flats with this tire on what can often be unforgiving and urban roads here in NJ. You will sacrifice some speed relative to other options, but that�s not my focus for a northeast winter.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 2/2/2024
by John
San Antonio and Houston Texas
Overall Rating
Great durable all weather tires

Very durable all weather tires. Best tires I�ve owned, had Continental 4000, Gatorskins and many more.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by T Sedillo

Reviewed 8/22/2019
by T Sedillo
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires

Balanced and Tough Spin without any wobble adjustment needed. I run 100 - 110 psi - hit potholes and rolled over gravel roads without any cuts or punctures.

Stiff and Grip My average weight is 175lb - have never ran them at the 120 psi max. Feel rock hard at 110 and 100 perfect for commuting and night rides for those sneaky bumps and cracks in the road. The grip to the road is superior, instilling confidence to take turns as fast as you can handle.

Highly recommend these tires and this company - Shipping was fast, (once order was processed) price matching was fast and easy, and the selection, reviews, testing, specs, videos, etc. allow you to research a deep a rabbit hole as you want. Will definitely order from y'all again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JapaRider

Reviewed 1/26/2023
by JapaRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Westchester/Putnam NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Rarely flats

I've been using Gator Skins for years. The name changes a bit sometimes, but these are basically Gator Skins with a little more flatting protection. That's why I use them! No one wants to get a flat, even if you're a Pro. I usually go for about 3000 miles before changing them and sometimes without getting even one flat! I just check to see if they look like they could use changing or 3000 miles, whichever comes first. They're not the lightest tires on the market but I'm not racing with them either. So all good!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/3/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Maybe I just have bad luck

I've been running Continental tires back to the Grand Prix 4000 days and always had good luck with them. Fast, grippy and very few punctures. I tried a set of 4-Seasons for winter riding and had several flats over the first month of using them. I switched back to the GP 5000s and am no longer having flat issues. Maybe I have bad luck or I ended up with a bad batch, but these tires just didn't work for me. It's my fault for straying from the GP 5000, which I think is the best tire out there. YMMV of course.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/9/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These Conti tires are outstanding

I've used Continental road tires for years. I bought these to use on my gravel bike on a rails-to-trails path, which was a mix of crushed limestone and packed dirt. They were excellent. Plenty wide enough, but lightweight and easy rolling. And the puncture resistance proved effective, as I did not have any flats during the course of the 66-mile journey. And I'm still using them on recreational paths, both paved and gravel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Irish in CA

Reviewed 12/5/2018
by Irish in CA
Competitive Racer
Santa Clarita, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Great training tire for the off season

I race on the GP4000SII5000 tires and enjoy the performance to weight ratio of those tires. They hold really well in corners and then during club rides they are super fun to descend on and fare really well against flats when compared to the performance provided. When the race season ended this last season I slapped a pair of these 4 Season 28's on the bike and have really enjoyed them. They can handle gravel and sand, they are almost bomb proof riding on roads with highway bits and pieces of metal, and they can be run at lower pressures to make those long training days a bit easier on the body. Rockysemi-paved trails that will occasionally cut the sidewalls of my GP4000SII's are easily handled with these tires.

The one thing I do have to watch for, however, is the grip when descending. I've come loose in a couple of corners and drifted the back wheel at high speed riding them like the GP4000SII's, which is not the best feeling in the world. Totally my fault for pushing the tires beyond what they were designed to really handle, but I throw that out there as a word of caution to just take it a bit easier when on these tires and pointing the bike through some tight corners at high speed. There is necessarily a small drop off in handling when you are getting the durability built in to these wonderful, purpose built tires. I will definitely buy another pair when my current pair finally give up the ghost.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joel

Reviewed 9/29/2023
by Joel
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a terrific all round tire

Been using the 4-Season for many years. They are durable, light, supple, and overall comfortable. Very puncture resistant. With the new 700 x 32 size I was able to bump up one of my bikes to be more "gravel friendly". Highly recommend the 4-Season.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tony

Reviewed 9/29/2023
by Tony
Flagstaff
Overall Rating
Conti Grand Prix 4-Season

Long wearing endurance tire used to ride 4K miles across USA (only 1 flat repair�after > 125 miles on crushed rock gravel and washboard).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ohio biker

Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Ohio biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
The best tire I have for on rough and chip seal roads. one three sets of wheels.

Quiet, fast and handles assuredly on rough country roads. Works ok on dirt paths also. I have it on road bike, and hybrids.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sisophous

Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Best Road Bike Tire

I've yet to get a failure with this tire and I am on my second set. I change my tires roughly every 3,200 miles to be safe but could get substantially more had I wanted to. The 4000s kept getting sidewall failures so I gave up on them. The 4-Season is much more durable and gives an equivalent ride to the 4000s. I was told if durability is your main priority then go with the Gator Skins but if you want solid tires that delivers performance then the 4-Season is the best option. For added protection, I also suggest adding Stans sealant to your tubes and make sure they have removable cores. Careful not to remove the valve cores when taking off the pump nozzle like I did and got 2 ounces of sealant in my face. (Pumps with pressure release buttons will avoid this. )No flats since doing this in over a year and I now ride with peace of mind.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/5/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good product

Like the 28 more comfortable ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]