Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(550 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(458)
(73)
(5)
(8)
(6)
(83%)
(13%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by berow001

Reviewed 7/6/2023
by berow001
Saint Paul, MN
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Confidence in the tire

I've ridden Gand Prix 4-season tires for years. When you are cruising down Berthoud Pass in CO at 40+ mph why would you want to trust your life to anything less. Worth every penny. Happy riding if you choose to use them on your next trip across town or down a mountain pass.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CATHY

Reviewed 6/30/2022
by CATHY
Competitive Racer
Fullerton
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
4-Season tires are perfect for both training and racing!

The Grand Prix 4-Season tire was recommended to me by another triathlete competitor, so I thought I would give them a try. I had previously used the Continental Gator Hard Shell which is great for being puncture-proof, but a little heavy. Now, I absolutely love the 4-Season tires! I ride about 150 miles a week through town and on the bike trails. Some roads can be a little rough, but I have yet to get a flat. They seem lighter and faster too. I have raced 2 Half-Ironman competitions with these tires and am very happy! I would highly recommend these Grand Prix 4-Season tires for both training and racing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great flat resistant tire

I have used this tire on my rear wheel for maybe about 3000 miles, and it still has some life left in the treads. I haven't seen a flat on this bike for over 6 months over 3000 miles, and I often ride on sketchy roads with lots of debris, cracks, and potholes. It's also pretty light and handles well as far as I can tell. I would keep on buying this tire. That said, the weak point of this tire is the sidewall. The sidewall still is strong, but not as strong as the tread. I used to have this tire on the front wheel as well, but retired it after a sidewall slit from hitting a rock; the rest of the tire is so strong that I didn't get a flat (though the tube bulged out) and safely made it home after 50 miles. Recently, I retired the rear one after 3000 miles again because of a sidewall puncture; I FINALLY got a flat after hitting a super gnarly pothole with sharp edges. The tread held up, and upon inspection, I can see many scratches and dents that would have resulted into flats in other tires. The sidewall was damaged, and a slit formed near the beads probably after I rode on the flat tire for 3 miles on sketchy road to the train station. In the end I'm not sure whether it was caused by the pothole or riding on the flat tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CD

Reviewed 5/23/2017
by CD
Competitive Racer
chicago, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Robust tire with good handling quality.

I really enjoy riding on Continental tires. Typically in nice conditions I'll be on Conti GP4000IIs tires but, when I know conditions will be poor and the road may not be very nice, I like to slip on these Conti GP4-Seasons.

I've used these tires for when I'm going to do a long ride in the rain or when I'm going to be going over more difficult roads. I feel quite confident taking these tires through a slightly rough gravel trail section without having to worry about a puncture.

I also used these for a criterium which took place in the rain. A few guys fell in a set of technical corners but I was able to get through with confidence with these tires.

All in all, I would recommend having a set of these 4-seasons on hand in case you are going to be riding in off weather. Or if you expect to be riding on mixed roads, they are quite robust in terms of puncture resistance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don Spencer

Reviewed 3/24/2017
by Don Spencer
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
38 of 39 customers found this review helpful.
Very best toughy tires for longevity, puncture resistance, grip, plus simple artistic tread design.

As a 71 year old retiree I have the privilege of riding a titanium Habanero crosstour bike with disk brakes for 150 to 250 miles each week. Plus the Continental tired Habanero takes me on 2 or 3 tours of 300 to 400 miles each summer. I pack light (- 40 lbs) and the 4 Season 28 mm tires carry that total 225 lbs over country roads and hard packed gravel with ease. I buy a new set for the summer tours then ride them out in the wet falls and winters of the Willamette Valley. They flat seldom. Unavoidable road debris cuts the tread but the tough core protects the tube. The slight increase in tire weight provides a security tread for all conditions increasing my confidence in cornering at high speeds. Yes, 71 year olds can attain high speeds and corner without causing heart attacks or strokes. I trust this tire more than any (and I have bought and replaced many tires). I could but wont' name a few duds that cost about the same.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/16/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
15 months of riding, no flats

15 months of riding, 4,000-plus miles, 700 x 28 tires, no flats.

I do wish Conti would again offer the all-black option.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PacificNW Rider

Reviewed 4/17/2017
by PacificNW Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Tough, wide, sticky and comfortable

I've been riding the 28mm version of these tires in the beating down rain, crud, gravel, branches, rocks and muck on the side of the road in Pacific NW springtime. No flats, traction is very reassuring and the tires feel great. I ride them at low pressures (65-70 PSI) on wide-ish rims. Did I mention the ride feel is great? Comfortable, not harsh. I've ridden other 28mm tires at the same pressure and those others are not as comfortable. Can't speak to long-term durability but so far they are holding up great with a few hundred miles on them.

Note these are muck and grunge training or commuting tires, not racing tires. That's what I rated them as. If you want lightweight racing tires with low rolling resistance, these ain't those. But as winterspring training tires, these are the best tires I've run in years. Very satisfied.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe Rider

Reviewed 4/27/2017
by Joe Rider
Competitive Racer
Bucks County, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and tough all around performer

I picked up a pair of these while on sale at a great price. I use them for general road riding/training and for a few gravel-grinder organized rides (Hell of Hunterdon, Fool's Classic). After using several brands/models of tires, these have held up the best for the gravel roads. MUCH better than GatorSkins which I have had terrible luck with tearing the sidewalls on several. This is a much better tire IMO and a better price. Supple enough to use as a daily road tire as well.

I'm 140lb and the 25mm work well for me - I don't like the ride/feel of wider tires. Zero punctures, flats, or tears after many miles of rough gravel.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great winter tire

Have always had good luck with Continental tires, and I especially like the GP 4-Seasons for my winter bike due to its nice ride quality, excellent grip on wet pavement, and decent flat resistance. The tread compound does seem fairly soft, which is undoubtedly why they grip so well, so they may not last as long as tires with a harder compound - but for me that's a worthwhile trade-off. I'm happy to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles on a set of tires and the GP 4-Seasons will do that easily.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

Reviewed 4/1/2009
by Mark (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
126 of 129 customers found this review helpful.
The luxury model.

It's packed with features! The Vectran is tops for preventing flats without ruining your road feel. The Duraskin helps prevent sidewall cuts. The extra soft rubber compound makes the tire grip exceptionally in bad weather. ...and all this without weighing a ton or feeling like a training tire. It's great! But somebody's got to pick up the tab, and it's a bit pricey for a training tire. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/6/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works great in rain and snow

I got them at a huge discount, for rides in snowy roads on Mt Wilson and Mt Baldy (snow is mostly by the side of the road and it's easy to dodge the bits of snow on the road) and in the rain. These tires served me well in those weather conditions, though I'm not sure how much better than regular road slicks. I haven't got a flat yet, but I haven't used them for long enough to see how flat resistant they really are. I hope that they live up to their incredibly flat resistant reputation.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Reviewed 4/27/2015
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
My personal favorite road tire

I have tried a variety of tires over the years - Michelin, Vredestein, Vittoria, and several other Conti tires too, but these Grand Prix 4 Season strike the perfect balance between grippiness and durability. I do about 3 rides a week, 20-40 miles., usually in mild dry weather, but often on wet roads. There is often debris ranging from rocks to glass, and these tires are the most resistant to flats of any tire I have ever ridden.

As for mileage, I have squeezed over 3000 miles from them, but that wasn't a good idea. After 2000 -2500 they do start to feel less grippy to the point that even with some decent tread left, it makes more sense to change them. Not unsafe, just less grippy than you'd want.

They are expensive, but if you buy on sale and hold them until you need them, they are not unreasonable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WabiFGSS

Reviewed 11/27/2014
by WabiFGSS
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Durable

Have been riding, training and racing on tubular road tires for the past few decades. 1st set of road clinchers since the early 80's. Picked up a set of 25mm for the FGSS bike. Running relatively low psi (85-90psi for my 58kg mass) for the last 2000km over gravel to smooth roads. Tires after 4000km are fine. A bit square and tread worn. Not the high level of performance (cornering, rolling resistance, supple ride, mass) of a high quality tubular. But for my specific use the tire is more than adequate. Liked them enough to purchase a set of 28mm. Sort of enjoy gravel grinding&128539,.

Recommend these tires if in need of a durable, decent performing, easy to mount training or general use tire. Bit pricey off the shelf. A good value considering wear after the number and type of km. put on these tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MB

Reviewed 10/10/2021
by MB
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My new favorite tire!

73 year old 168lb daily rider (20-25 miles). I ride hard...for me anyway and I like hills, curves and going fast. I have used sew ups for about 3 decades and loved them despite the frequent flats and expense, the last straw however was losing a very expensive tire the day I mounted it. I talked to a few riders who suggested Continintal's GP 4 season with Vectran foldable bead. I ordered 2 tires plus 2 Continental Race tubes from BTD in 25mm width which was new for me also, they fit with room to spare on my Trek carbon fiber frame. I played with the psi from 90- 110 lbs and at about 50 miles I settled on 100 front and 110 rear. I don't know if the tires actually need break in or if it was just me getting used to them and not playing with the PSI anymore but at around 50 miles I thought they felt and handled better. At first I rode them like sew ups, watching for every little pebble, stick or debris in the road but after a couple of hundred miles with no issues I started to ignore them. Today I have just over 1200 miles...with ZERO flats. They may not be the best in every way but they are fast, they corner very well, are comfortable and survived the goat head thorns this fall. I love these tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WKellerM

Reviewed 9/4/2014
by WKellerM
Cycling Enthusiast
Manhattan, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Phenomenal, Reliable Tire

I bought the GP 4-Seasons (28mm) to use on my '92 De Rosa for general riding, which includes solo training rides, club rides and medium touring (rear rack & panniers). I've put 1,000 miles on them since June, with zero flats. Hit a few rain pockets and traction was excellent. Loved them so much, I bought the same set for my Moots, which I just built-up at the end of July. I have 600 miles, with same type of riding (training & touring), and they've been nothing short of perfect.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/28/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Nature Coast, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
First Rate, I ride on Conti (s). or I don't ride...

Quality, Quality, Quality...ride could be softer, but ? After a 20- 40 mile ride in Florida 95 degree heat, I rely on Conti durability to get me home to several Kool Ones...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Reviewed 1/26/2023
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great road feel, no flats

I've ridden the 4-Season about 15000 miles over the past decade. This tire has good grip and a terrific feel for the road. No tire is flat proof, but this is very flat resistant. Easy to change due to kevlar beads. Average wear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sunny

Reviewed 5/10/2021
by Sunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Meridian, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
So far so good

I have used the Vittoria Corsa G2.0 tire in my long ride for a long time.

However the recent ride, I had several experiences with the flat tire in my recent ride.

When I checked the tire after riding, I could see many stone and glass chips nailed to the tire surface, and removing them was a sort of headache and I was worried about the flat again.

Finally, I purchased the Grand Prix 4-season clincher and it was quite impressive because I haven'

t had a flat tire during my 200km and 300km ride even I rarely saw chips on the tire.

I am not sure about grip on wet surfaces, but I am pretty confident on the dry pavement.

If you are worried about a flat during the long ride, I strongly recommend this tire for you.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Beeban

Reviewed 12/23/2022
by Beeban
SE usa
Overall Rating
2 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
VERY heavy

I weighed these on my digital scale. I weighed several, I think I had 4. Then weighed Conti 5,000�s AND my Gator skins.

These tires weighed more than my gator skins.

About 340 grams on average. About 100 grams more than my Conti 5000s.

So VERY HEAVY. NOT. A racing or light weight tire as I expected.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JBeeban

Reviewed 12/14/2022
by JBeeban
amabama
Overall Rating
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire. But HEAVY.

I bought 3 of these. They weight much more than advertised. The ones I got, I weighted on my digital scale, They weigh more than my gator skins.

For A 28 tire, about 330 grams. VERY heavy.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 17

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]