Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(332 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(296)
(28)
(3)
(1)
(4)
(89%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 4/22/2021
by Jeppymon
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you don't like flats, you'll love this tire

I've tried many tires and this is the best. Have been using Gator skins for years and have had great experiences. In last six or seven years only had one flat and it was my fault. Ran them all year , once even to the cores. Get great wear out of them. Wish they made them tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
So, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Finally good flat protection

This is my first experience with the Gatorskins. I ride in an area (like most everybody) where there's always debris on the shoulders, thorns, broken glass, etc. I was fed up with constantly getting flats and replacing inner tubes. So far, I've put just short of 1200 miles on the set and so far so good, not a single flat. The only downside of this tire is that it seems to be stiffer, less compliant and thus gives a little bumpier ride compared to the softer road tires with which I'm familiar. But the advantage of flat protection far outweighs the slightly awkward ride. I'll definitely be sticking with this tire for the foreseeable future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/19/2019
by Giantfan74
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
These ar the best tires I have ever bought.

When using other tire brands I was constantly having flat tires. These Gatorskins have sharply reduced the flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2018
by Marsha
Indianapolis
Overall Rating
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

Folds to compact size, easy to take on road trips. Long lasting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2018
by Anonymous
Ft.myers Fl
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Very Durable

Ive used Gatorskins on my road bike for the past 3 years. Besides mounting them on the rims because they are a tough tire is worth it. I ride roads and paved trails that are seldom cleaned and they take pretty much everything. Only a direct hit of a nail or screw can get through these things and they last a long time. About 2k on my last one. Highly recommend for commuters that need security in a tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2018
by THE CAPTAIN
Cycling Enthusiast
ILLINOIS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
THE GOLDIE LOX TRAINING TIRES!!!

I DO A LOT OF BIKE TOURING AND LONG ENDURANCE RIDES AND GATORSKINS GIVE ME THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. THEIR REALLY STRONG YET LIGHT ENOUGH FOR GROUP RIDES WITH MY FRIENDS. I'M A 300 MILE A WEEK RIDER SO RACING TIRES AREN'T AN OPTION BECAUSE OF THE LOW FLAT PROTECTION AND LOW SERVICE LIFE. I RAN GATORSKINS ALL LAST YEAR AND ALL THIS YEAR AND I ONLY GOT ONE FLAT WHICH IN ALL HONESTY I CAN'T BLAME ON THE TIRE. I WAS RIDING DOWN THE HIGHWAY ON THE SHOULDER AND RAN OVER SOME WICKED METAL RE-BAR THING THAT FELL OFF A SEMI. I SAW IT BUT DIDN'T BOTHER GOING AROUND IT. IT PUT A BIG SLICE IN THE TIRE BUT ONLY A PIN-HEAD METAL SPIKE GOT THROUGH. THEY'RE MY GO TO SKINNY TIRE FOR THE FOR SEEABLE FUTURE. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A GATORSKIN 35C IN THE FUTURE THOUGH FOR GRAVEL RIDES.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great long distance tires

Ive ridden with these for over 11 years. Only had 2 sidewall failures. Typically, I get up to 1000 miles on the rear and up to 4000 miles on the front before I change them out. The foldable tires go on and off of the rims much easier than the wire beads. I use them on all of my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

fast delivery, great price, great product

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2018
by OldeGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good puncture resistance without too much loss of function

I live in live in goat head country and need protection against flats or I will flat with every ride. Gatorskins offer a decrease in flats without a large loss of feel of the bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Pleased with purchase.

I was getting flats on a weekly basis so I started shopping for tires. Since I got these about 6 weeks ago, I have ridden probably 600 miles without a flat. They handle well enough as far as I can tell, although I live in the desert so I can't comment on how well they handle in the rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Old Roadie
Bakersfield, California
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best All Around road tire on the market

This is the smoothest rolling, most puncture resistant tire you can buy, period. It can be a bit difficult to slip on the wheel, but it stays on the rim even when flat � something that could save your life on a descent. I�m a 8000 mile a year roadie and I normally get 3000 miles on the rear tire and up to 5000 miles on the front. I�m on my 20th set.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Pat S
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great sturdy tires!

I was looking for alternate tires for my gravel bike since I haven't been riding on gravel much this year. I was looking for something that worked great on paved surfaces as well as local trails with crushed limestone, grass, etc. So far I've ridden a well over five hundred miles and have been very happy with them. They have much less resistance than my gravel tires and because I went with a little wider (32c) tire, they work great on most surfaces. (I'm not a racer...) These tires are extremely difficult to puncture, which is nice. Glad I found the right tires for me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2020
by Irish Antagonyst
Daily Commuter
Park Ridge, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Way Better Than Advertised

These have been so much better than I anticipated or expected. I had heard high praise from friends and fellow cyclists years ago and finally joined the cult a few months ago. I ride to and from my office 4x a week along Chicago streets, which are notoriously littered with debris. Broken glass from lazy sanitation workers to ripped up pavement from constant temperature swings to downed tree branches from spring and summer storms you are bound to run over something. And during this Covid-19 pandemic, you are lucky if street sweepers run down a block once a month. These have taken some lumps and still no punctures nor popped tubes. I cannot be happier with my purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Gerry
Chicago
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable training tires

These have been my go to training tires for years. I recently invested in a set of deep section aero rims (Flo) and went through 6 tire irons and 7 tubes (pinched) before getting feedback from others that Gatorskin is not a good choice for aero wheels. Really tough to get over the rim. I live in Chicago and unfortunately we are resigned to a wide range of rolling surfaces, hence the tendency toward a tough tire. I just purchased a set of Continental 5000s and they are much softer but may require replacement more often. Still loyal to the Gatorskin for my cyclecross bike. Stay tuned ...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by drosen32
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best there is

I keep getting the Gatorskins. They're fanstastically durable and best of all they're a smooth riding tire. I'm very happy with them. I've been riding for 30 years and have always used them after trying others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2017
by LookOutBelow
Cycling Enthusiast
Cohoes, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Wanted to try these tires and they went on sale so I grabbed them.

I put these tires on my Canondale hybrid. They replaced a pair of Avocet Cross tires that were 700x38. The Gatorskins are 700x35. It is a pleasure to ride these tires because they are less rolling resistance and they grip quite well on pavement and also stand up to dirt and gravel. To be fair, I must state that I also replaced the old rims. New tires, new rims right? They went on quite easily and my favorite part is when I roll my bike out of the garage for a ride, the tires squeak on the cement like a finger against a taught balloon. They also look nice on the bike which is a light blue frame, tan leather seat and black rims. I've only got about a hundred miles on them so far and I know I'll be rolling down the road for several more judging by many other cyclists who use them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Anonymous
Hamilton, MT
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding durability

I have always been extremely satisfied with Continental tires. This particular style (Gatorskin) is such a great tire. I just completed around 1000 miles in two weeks circling my home state, Montana on a solo tour. Many of the roads had a lot of debris. In addition, I found myself on numerous sections of gravel roads. I had absolutely no issues or flats which is saying something considering some of the roads I was on. While these tires wouldn't be my choice for road racing and such, touring, training rides, and durability are where they shine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by Sandy A
Competitive Racer
Naples FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great wearing

I have been using gator skins for the past 5 years, very durable, get great milage out of them, would highly recommend them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2017
by gloyboy
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Most durable tire on the market - even on a tandem!

We ride a tandem and average 6K miles per year on Gatorskin 28C tires. Besides significantly improving the ride and handling of our tandem, we've had only one flat for the last four pairs of these tires (and that was due to a broken bottle in the middle of the road on a fast downhill). We get about 2k miles per tire, which is incredible for our 290 lb combined rider weight. We will continue to mount these durable and supple tires as long as Continental keeps making them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2021
by MC
Portland
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not worth the $$$

I bought these thinking they would be more resistant to flats than the bontrager hardcase lites ive been riding. Holy sh*t was I wrong. Ive already had 3 flats in less than 100 miles. Very disappointed in this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 07

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]