Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(428 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(380)
(36)
(5)
(2)
(5)
(89%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by FFA rider

Reviewed 1/4/2024
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Your best flat protection !

As I am living in a big city and do most of my rides in the city. I am always finding broken glass on my bike paths. And not always possible to avoid all this glass. I have learned over many years that this tire is my best flat protection !

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roy Halberg

Reviewed 1/6/2024
by Roy Halberg
southern California
Overall Rating
Love my gatorskins

Love my gatorskins. Often go months without a flat. I often hear how hard they are to get on and off. I too struggled til I learned the lessons to doing it more easily and quickly.

A quality tire that rolls well and resists puncture

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roy Halberg

Reviewed 1/4/2024
by Roy Halberg
southern California
Overall Rating
Love my gatorskins

Love my gatorskins. Often go months without a flat. I often hear how hard they are to get on and off. I too struggled til I learned the lessons to doing it more easily and quickly.

A quality tire that rolls well and resists puncture

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gilbertd1

Reviewed 12/25/2023
by gilbertd1
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
THE ONLY BIKE TIRE TO BUY!

I'VE BEEN RIDING ROAD BIKES FOR OVER 15 YEARS, AND HAVE DISCOVERED THAT GATORSKIN TIRES ARE THE BEST AND ONLY BIKE TIRE TO BUY, FOR RELIABILITY AND DURABILITY. I RIDE ABOUT 125 MILES A WEEK, ON CITY ROADS AND BIKE PATHS OF VARIOUS GRADES AND QUALITY OF ROAD CONDITIONS. ALL THE GUYS WITH WHOM I RIDE ALSO SWARE BY THE RELIABILITY OF THIS TIRE. I DON'T THINK I WILL EVER CHANGE UNLESS SOMETHING BETTER COMES ALONG!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mogg Tsur

Reviewed 9/7/2023
by Mogg Tsur
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskin Folding vs. Wire Bead

Gatorskins are my go-to tire for training rides. After 50 years of biking I've been through a lot of tires and have learned that cheap is not better. Gatorskins wear well, give very good flat protection, are good in all weather conditions. They handle very well and give the rider one less thing to worry about. Comparing the folding Gatorskin to the wire bead model doesn't leave much to say. The weight difference is no issue and road performance is the same for both. Mounting the folding vs. the wire bead is another non-issue. So, the only thing I see in difference is the ability to fold one Gatorskin smaller than you can fold the other which means if you ever need a spare TIRE for a long ride the folding has an advantage.

I would recommend either Gatorskin to any rider from the Casual Cyclist to the Racer. It's intended use and best application is every ride except where your level of competition demands ultra-lightweight gear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pat

Reviewed 9/22/2023
by Pat
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable tire for training in the desert

I live in New Mexico - so tumbleweeds / thorns / goat heads are everywhere I ride. The Continental Gatorskins have made significant difference. With regular tires I was constantly getting leaks, hoping the sealant would plug it up and get me home. The thicker, tougher Gatorskin tires have made a difference - I have over 700 miles since purchasing (so far), no punctures or leaks.

I am very happy with the price and speed of service from Bike Tires Direct... I've made several purchases from them and every one has been great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/21/2023
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Blew Out Right Away � Partly My Fault?

Mounted a 27 x 1 1/4 on an old, but in good condition steel wheel. Inflated it to about 90 or so. I guess the capacity is 85 or so? Blammo as I rode like my first or second ride. The ex;plosion hurt my ears! I'll put the review at 3 stars because the Gatorskin enjoys such a good reputation and the other tire is working fine. I don't run a tire liner with it like I do all the rest of my tires. No flats yet. Also not reviewed higher because the tire is so big! It's kind of balloon like despite being labeled the size I ordered.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/3/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Deigo, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great overall bike tire

I use the tire on a Easy Racer Goldrush. It rides great with lots of grip even on wet streets, but also lasts a long time, about 6000 miles. I am very happy that it nearly never gets a flat and areas I ride can have all kinds of road hazards like glass, thorns etc.

I received the tires in only a few days with free shipping. Bike tires direct is a good company, I did receive 1 tire that was defective, sent a picture as requested and a new replacement was received 2 days later! Can't ask for better then that.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim K

Reviewed 11/10/2023
by Jim K
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It�s the only tire I buy

I use Gatorskins on my road bike on paved trails, city streets and sometimes rural roads. I can reliably get 3000+ miles on the rear and 4000+ on the front. I�ve had an occasional flat tube (generally when I hit a terrible object) but I have never had the tire itself fail. I ride about 3000 miles per year and I�ve used these tires exclusively for about 6 years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CommuterCurt

Reviewed 6/1/2023
by CommuterCurt
Daily Commuter
Morgan Hill, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice handling and Thorn resistant

I would categorize these tires as training tires. They don't roll as nicely as a race tire, but they provide better than average protection from flats. I've been using this model tire for over 10 years and they have a pretty good track record for resisting flats. If you are reading this and think like I do and want pretty good protection, I recommend buying these tires. I do keep a built up carbon fiber wheel set with Pirelli tires for going fast and I put Continental Gaterskins on the aluminum wheelset for my training and long distance rides

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/27/2023
by Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Overall Rating
Works well

I think the quality of gatorskin tires is very consistent.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Hornbeam

Reviewed 4/14/2023
by Hornbeam
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pair with latex tubes!

I purchased these on sale in the 32mm size. I use them on a Space Horse with gravel rims that have an ID of 21mm.

I have used Gatorskins for years and there isn't really anything I can add to the already glowing reviews. They are very flat resistant, the ride is not too hard of a ride, and while not the fastest tires they don't feel like I have bricks for wheels.

Why, though, have I never thought to use them with latex tubes??? The ride is simply extraordinary! Yes I know that ride quality is not measurable, but that doesn't mean it doesn't exist. These tires are fantastic with latex tubes.

I have a 2nd set of wheels for the Space Horse with Schwalbe 40mm gravel tires set up tubeless. The Gatorskins with latex compare favorably to the ride quality of those.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by charley Daly

Reviewed 9/28/2023
by charley Daly
Daily Commuter
Contra Costa County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
No More Flat Tires!

I got these to use on my gravel turned commuter bike as it seemed like everyday I had a flat on my Panaracer slicks. So I got the toughest tire I could think of. Bullet proof to be sure just a bit harsher on the ride but no more flat tires!!! I do commute along an area of road that does not get swept often and they have been awesome!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/29/2023
by Anonymous
Seattle
Overall Rating
Fantastic Tires

I went from a 38 to 28 to get the feeling of a bit for finesse on the road but still able to ride on light trails if I wanted. And these tires did just that. Plus, delivery was super fast with great customer service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David in Gilbert, AZ

Reviewed 1/21/2023
by David in Gilbert, AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Gilbert, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Very durable and puncture resistant

I ride 7500-8000 miles per year and very rarely get flats. For my road bike, this is the tire I've been using for about 12 years now, and I'm not about to switch. I just watch for sale prices at Bike Tires Direct and get them for a nice price, and put them in the closet until I'm ready for a new one. For me, the rear tire will last about 2200-2500 miles or so, and the front will last much longer. My current front tire has 6000+ miles on it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Perfect balance

Reviewed 1/19/2023
by Perfect balance
Cycling Enthusiast
Conestoga, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
My go to tire

This is all I run now on my main use bike. I have tried several different brands and these are noticeably more durable than the others. I usually swap them at 2,500 and sell them for a couple bucks since they still have life in them. Might have to keep them longer with prices rising. I run Vittorias on my "race bike" (I don't really race) and they seem to roll better but for everyday riding I'll stick with the Gators. Have used 23, 25, and 28mm versions. All good for the money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 9/21/2023
by Brian
S CA
Overall Rating
Only tires I use for road

I have been using Gatorskins for many years mainly because I get very few flats. I have worn through the rubber to the fiber/cored and still no flats. FYI - I�m weigh over 230 pounds and ride 3 to 4 times a week. I basically wear the tire out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Giantfan74

Reviewed 2/19/2019
by Giantfan74
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
These ar the best tires I have ever bought.

When using other tire brands I was constantly having flat tires. These Gatorskins have sharply reduced the flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay

Reviewed 8/29/2023
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Say goodbye to flats

This is my second set of these tires. Got a good season and a half out of the last set and probably could have squeezed the remaining half season but I never like to push road tires too far for safety reasons. Awesome tires and great cornering as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marsha

Reviewed 12/31/2018
by Marsha
Indianapolis
Overall Rating
7 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

Folds to compact size, easy to take on road trips. Long lasting.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]