Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(333 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(297)
(28)
(3)
(1)
(4)
(89%)
(8%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by Sandy A
Competitive Racer
Naples FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great wearing

I have been using gator skins for the past 5 years, very durable, get great milage out of them, would highly recommend them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2020
by QCBCrideleader
Cycling Enthusiast
Bettendorf, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long lasting

I have switched most of my bikes to Gatorskin tires. My first set lasted 10,000 miles. I only had one flat during that time. My only complaint is they are hard to put on and take off. It can take 20 to 30 minutes to change the tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/29/2020
by James Pelletier
Wolcott
Overall Rating
Never again!

I've rode many miles on many different tires. I bought four gatorskin tires recently, three of which had sidewall failures, the other I'm removing right now because I'm fearful of another failure. With the last failure, the tire still had the Nubs. A sad waste of $110. I was fortunate though, just before the failure I was traveling nearly 40 miles an hour on a 10% grade. When you ride, you need to have confidence in your tires and for that reason I'll never buy a gatorskin again. Please note this is no reflection on Bike Tires Direct.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atascadero, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire, somewhat harder ride, not completely puncture proof

I live in an area that has a lot of goatheads and thorns. I tried RhinoDillos but still got a flat, and with all that added extra weight and a very hard ride. So I switched to Gatorskins decent weight and softer, though still pretty hard, ride, due to the belting to make it puncture resistant. I still got another flat, but nothing will completely stop these thorns. I got 5,000 miles out of my Grand Prix 4000's and hope to get similar results from these Gatorskins.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawrence, Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A reliable tire when biking alone.

I'm retired, so I usually bicycle when convenient for me, and not with a group. I've owned Continental Gatorskin tires in the past, and they've been very reliable. Having to repair a tire on the road isn't impossible, but it saves a lot of stress not to worry about flats when I ride. I even had an incident where a piece of wire went through the edge of the tire, but was apparently deflected by the Kevlar from getting to the inner tube. I simply pulled out the wire, and continued on my way. The Gatorskin likely isn't the fastest tire available, but speed isn't my highest priority when riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by drosen32
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best there is

I keep getting the Gatorskins. They're fanstastically durable and best of all they're a smooth riding tire. I'm very happy with them. I've been riding for 30 years and have always used them after trying others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2021
by MC
Portland
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not worth the $$$

I bought these thinking they would be more resistant to flats than the bontrager hardcase lites ive been riding. Holy sh*t was I wrong. Ive already had 3 flats in less than 100 miles. Very disappointed in this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bradenton, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great durable tires

I tried many tires but come back to the Gatorskin all the time. I can easily ride several thousand miles on them without any problems. During the summer the road surface is very hot most of the time in my area, and the tires can handle this without a problem. These tires also seem to be very puncture resistance, even when you use them maybe a little to long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Barb
Cycling Enthusiast
Loveland CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing is worse than getting a flat

When I moved to Colorado in 2007 I would join in on group rides and I was always getting flat! Lots of goat heads out here. I switched out my tires soon after to gator skins and it's 14 years now without a Flat. Don't be that person that's always stopping the ride with a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Burlington, VT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite tire

Where I live the pavement is often bumpy, cracked, and not always well - maintained. Additionally, many of the paved routes I ride include gravel sections. I've used Gatorskin tires for the past few years, and I have never gotten a flat. I feel comfortable tackling the occasional gravel stretch with these tires. They also last a very long time. They may not be the fastest tire around, but I'll take durability over speed for where I live!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2019
by Frado
Michigan
Overall Rating
They're as tough as an alligators skin!

I was fed up of getting blow out after blow out on my road bike, so I had to do something about it before I would wipe out and kill myself!

From the rock salt, to minute pieces of metal shrapnel, it seemed like my road bike tires were more flat than inflated!

I purchased these Gatorskins and my blowouts finally disappeared!

I admit, there's a little bit of rolling resistance, but there's a ton of relief knowing that I'm not going to get a blowout while riding my road bike on the highway where I live! It's bad enough the motorists where I live don't give two hoots to cyclists on the road, let alone worrying if my road bike tire will blow out while driving amongst them!

I recommend these to cyclists that are tired of getting flats on their road bike and I highly recommend them for those cyclists that do long rides and touring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by snyderd
Cycling Enthusiast
Massillon, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love these tires. They last a long time and are a great value.

I use these on my road bike. I have been very lucky using them. I think they hold up to what they are about, few if any flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/15/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Highland, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire at a Great Price

I use the tires on my 2019 Trek Domane SLR. Used them on both my previous Madone and Domanes. Not much I dont like about them. Wear well but still pretty grippy. I have very few flats and have pulled out goat head stickers without going flat. I gone over small fragments of glass without significant cuts. I use them for training purposes on asphalt and concrete road surfaces. I typically put at least 1000 -1500 miles on the rear tire before looking at changing it out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2019
by A.C.
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Go-to flat-resistant winter trainingcommuting tire

Continental Gatorskins have been my go-to winter tire for years now. I still consider these the gold standard in flat protection. I'm always glad to be running these on miserable, cold winter training rides where stopping for flat repairs would be a miserable, hypothermic experience.

Pro

Flat protection while riding unswept winter roadsshoulders in foul weather. The FEW punctures I've had with these were always wire pieces, not glass or sharp gravel.

Cons

Wet pavement grip lacking. Not terrible, but I'll spin the rear occasionally on a steep, wet hill if riding out of the saddle. I've had the rear slip out a bit going through roundabouts, although nothing that caused a spill. If I'm on a group ride I'll occasionally run a Conti 4-Season on the front for slightly better grip. Solo, I run Gatorskins FR.

Can be tough to mount, but that depends on the wheelset.

Slightly heavy, but that's the nature of this type of tire. Worth the trade off.

Overall, my favorite off-season training tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by ErinRides
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent, durable tires. Love them!

These tires are solid! They were a bit challenging to get on my bike, but thanks to an expert friend, we got the job done. They work beautifully and have provided me hundreds of happy miles and hundreds more to come.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Smithaca
Cycling Enthusiast
beautiful finger lakes NYS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, great value

Former Maxxis devotee. Maxxis makes great road training tires but these Gatorskins wear even longer than the Maxxis. The wear guides in the tires are a great plus to a great tire. 4 years of riding this brand at 2500-3000 miles a year with only one flat, caused by an industrial size and strength staple. With Maxxis I'd get 1-2 flats a season.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good training tire

I value puncture resistance over performance and the Gatorskin does a solid job in both categories. Not too heavy, yet does a good job of avoiding punctures. Not bullet proof, but it takes a significant object on the road to cause a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Highland, Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for training!

I have been using these tires for a few years now for training and century rides. I have very few flats now. In fact, I wore out the rear tire without getting a flat and I do quite a bit of riding where radial tire wires and goat heads can be a problem. I always keep one or two of these tires on hand to replace those that I have worn out. Last at least 2000 to 2500 miles for me,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Bort Samson
Daily Commuter
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Worth the money!

These tires are commuter workhorses. I get less flats with them, you can install them with maybe one tire lever - no pliers or injured hands! They last and last. Great value in the long run.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Perfect winter tires

Ordered these for my winter/city bike for the added puncture protection. These are perfect for filling that need.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 39

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]