Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(433 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(383)
(38)
(5)
(2)
(5)
(88%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/15/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great long distance tires

Ive ridden with these for over 11 years. Only had 2 sidewall failures. Typically, I get up to 1000 miles on the rear and up to 4000 miles on the front before I change them out. The foldable tires go on and off of the rims much easier than the wire beads. I use them on all of my bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by THE CAPTAIN

Reviewed 10/1/2018
by THE CAPTAIN
Cycling Enthusiast
ILLINOIS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
THE GOLDIE LOX TRAINING TIRES!!!

I DO A LOT OF BIKE TOURING AND LONG ENDURANCE RIDES AND GATORSKINS GIVE ME THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. THEIR REALLY STRONG YET LIGHT ENOUGH FOR GROUP RIDES WITH MY FRIENDS. I'M A 300 MILE A WEEK RIDER SO RACING TIRES AREN'T AN OPTION BECAUSE OF THE LOW FLAT PROTECTION AND LOW SERVICE LIFE. I RAN GATORSKINS ALL LAST YEAR AND ALL THIS YEAR AND I ONLY GOT ONE FLAT WHICH IN ALL HONESTY I CAN'T BLAME ON THE TIRE. I WAS RIDING DOWN THE HIGHWAY ON THE SHOULDER AND RAN OVER SOME WICKED METAL RE-BAR THING THAT FELL OFF A SEMI. I SAW IT BUT DIDN'T BOTHER GOING AROUND IT. IT PUT A BIG SLICE IN THE TIRE BUT ONLY A PIN-HEAD METAL SPIKE GOT THROUGH. THEY'RE MY GO TO SKINNY TIRE FOR THE FOR SEEABLE FUTURE. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A GATORSKIN 35C IN THE FUTURE THOUGH FOR GRAVEL RIDES.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent

fast delivery, great price, great product

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OldeGuy

Reviewed 9/13/2018
by OldeGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good puncture resistance without too much loss of function

I live in live in goat head country and need protection against flats or I will flat with every ride. Gatorskins offer a decrease in flats without a large loss of feel of the bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Pleased with purchase.

I was getting flats on a weekly basis so I started shopping for tires. Since I got these about 6 weeks ago, I have ridden probably 600 miles without a flat. They handle well enough as far as I can tell, although I live in the desert so I can't comment on how well they handle in the rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by charley Daly

Reviewed 9/28/2023
by charley Daly
Daily Commuter
Contra Costa County, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
No More Flat Tires!

I got these to use on my gravel turned commuter bike as it seemed like everyday I had a flat on my Panaracer slicks. So I got the toughest tire I could think of. Bullet proof to be sure just a bit harsher on the ride but no more flat tires!!! I do commute along an area of road that does not get swept often and they have been awesome!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/29/2023
by Anonymous
Seattle
Overall Rating
Fantastic Tires

I went from a 38 to 28 to get the feeling of a bit for finesse on the road but still able to ride on light trails if I wanted. And these tires did just that. Plus, delivery was super fast with great customer service.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/10/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui, HI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
These are excellent, long-lasting, and flat-resistent!

I live in an area with lots of sharp lava rock, and an unusual amt of road debris. These tires are not flat-PROOF, but are certainly a necessity here! Also, they wear really well (180# rider / smooth road surfaces, other than the debris) and last near 3000mi. They wear better than the Conti 4-Seasons, and WAY better than the Conti GP4000/5000!! I'd tried numerous 4-seasons, which are pretty good flat protection, but they don't wear quite as well as at Gatorskins. Will leave the wt differences up to the techies....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Biomanghs

Reviewed 11/4/2022
by Biomanghs
Rogers, Arkansas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tough long lasting tires

I have tried many types of tires over the years looking for softest ride or lightest and fastest. I always come back to Gatorskins because the lightness or supple ride is always negligible in the other tires and I absolutely HATE changing flat tires during a ride. Especially when it is a hot or cold day to ride. Also with the cost of tires (along with everything else) continually going up, the fact that Gatorskins last almost twice as long as other tires makes them a no brainer for me. Bike Tires Direct consistently has the best customer service and most reasonable prices.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Papa ''Chovy

Reviewed 11/3/2022
by Papa ''Chovy
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best all around performance tire for vintage wheels.

First and foremost, Bike Tires Direct seems to be the only remaining outfit that has the real McCoys from brands you like - I have had about 1/2 dozen complete failures of name brands that had to be some kind of Chinese counterfeits over the past year. I have been on these Conti's this season without incident - even did The Iron Horse & Mountains to Desert races with very good times.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/25/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Continental LOST The Recipe - Now Garbage!

I have been running Gatorskins on my road bike for over two DECADES in the 23 or 25 wire bead variety. Never had a problem with wear, flats, or other defects. I could easily run them down to cord showing with no issues. I would run 4K miles on the front and then rotate to the back and run 4K more before the tire was worn out. BTW, I only weigh 150 lbs.

For the first time I tried 28mm with folding bead. I had two tires bought separately fail with tread separation in 1.5-3K miles, long before the tread was worn out. This could have been catastrophic if I hadn't inspected the tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 9/21/2023
by Brian
S CA
Overall Rating
Only tires I use for road

I have been using Gatorskins for many years mainly because I get very few flats. I have worn through the rubber to the fiber/cored and still no flats. FYI - I�m weigh over 230 pounds and ride 3 to 4 times a week. I basically wear the tire out.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/20/2022
by Anonymous
NJ
Overall Rating
Great tire

Great tire, great price, prompt shipping and delivery, backed by great customer service (if needed). What else there is to say?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay

Reviewed 8/29/2023
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Say goodbye to flats

This is my second set of these tires. Got a good season and a half out of the last set and probably could have squeezed the remaining half season but I never like to push road tires too far for safety reasons. Awesome tires and great cornering as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/27/2023
by Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Overall Rating
Works well

I think the quality of gatorskin tires is very consistent.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LookOutBelow

Reviewed 8/10/2017
by LookOutBelow
Cycling Enthusiast
Cohoes, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Wanted to try these tires and they went on sale so I grabbed them.

I put these tires on my Canondale hybrid. They replaced a pair of Avocet Cross tires that were 700x38. The Gatorskins are 700x35. It is a pleasure to ride these tires because they are less rolling resistance and they grip quite well on pavement and also stand up to dirt and gravel. To be fair, I must state that I also replaced the old rims. New tires, new rims right? They went on quite easily and my favorite part is when I roll my bike out of the garage for a ride, the tires squeak on the cement like a finger against a taught balloon. They also look nice on the bike which is a light blue frame, tan leather seat and black rims. I've only got about a hundred miles on them so far and I know I'll be rolling down the road for several more judging by many other cyclists who use them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Anonymous
Hamilton, MT
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding durability

I have always been extremely satisfied with Continental tires. This particular style (Gatorskin) is such a great tire. I just completed around 1000 miles in two weeks circling my home state, Montana on a solo tour. Many of the roads had a lot of debris. In addition, I found myself on numerous sections of gravel roads. I had absolutely no issues or flats which is saying something considering some of the roads I was on. While these tires wouldn't be my choice for road racing and such, touring, training rides, and durability are where they shine.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gloyboy

Reviewed 6/12/2017
by gloyboy
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Most durable tire on the market - even on a tandem!

We ride a tandem and average 6K miles per year on Gatorskin 28C tires. Besides significantly improving the ride and handling of our tandem, we've had only one flat for the last four pairs of these tires (and that was due to a broken bottle in the middle of the road on a fast downhill). We get about 2k miles per tire, which is incredible for our 290 lb combined rider weight. We will continue to mount these durable and supple tires as long as Continental keeps making them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fatherof3onMI

Reviewed 4/20/2017
by Fatherof3onMI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect Commuter Tire!

My favorite commuter tire is no longer readily available and I needed a replacement. So far so good with these Gators'. My concerns are durability for commuting at a reasonable price and these seemed like a nice option that did not require me to go with a heavier wire bead. People complain that they ride harsh. At over 100psi they were harsh. I am running 32's at about 90-95 psi and they are great! I weigh about 170lbs. and no pinch flat issues or any other flats so far. Price was good and let's see how long they last.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roser

Reviewed 2/27/2017
by Roser
Cycling Enthusiast
Ontario Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Solid and predictable tire!

This tire has become my go-to tire for most of my yearly riding. I might have some GP 4000 II ready for race day, but the Gatorskin's are on for everything else! They do not puncture easily and honestly I cannot remember the last time I had a flat with one on these tires. I have 25's on my road bike and have 28's and 32's for my cross/gravel bike for added comfort and coverage.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]