FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(201 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(170)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best city commuter tires

IMHO the best commuter tires for city riding. Fast, great rolling, wonderful puncture resistance for the weight. 85 miles a week in Brooklyn and Manhattan on these and they're dynomite.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Unbeatable tire

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tires made so well

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Robert
Nebraska
Overall Rating
Hardshell

The best tires high mileage great ride I run them on a wide rim 20mm Id 32c third set

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best flat protection I've found

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
32 of 32 customers found this review helpful.
Dare I say... no flats?

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2019
by Daniel
Capitol Hill
Overall Rating
Gator skins

I always happy to buy these tires. Theyd seem to last me 4000 miles or moe

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2018
by dblrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is my go to tire.

I ride double centuries and feel these give the best blend of speed, performance and puncture resistance. Other tires may be lighter but over longer distances when you don't want to stop to repair a flat these are by far the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Hartford,Ct
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great reliable tires

I have been using gator hardshell since they were introduced to the market.

I am a large rider riding on the road and trails . I always had issues with flats once I switched to these

tires my problems with flats have been reduced.

my average annual mileage is 3000 I usually get seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Ripley Ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Tire

I have used Continental tires for four years now. This is the first time I purchased a hard shell. The quality seems really good on this product. I have 100 miles on it already, and it is great. I think from now on I will use hard shell. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2018
by GP in Scipo, IN
Scipio, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I'm a happy camper

I was getting flats a lot with Conti Ultra-Sports II, then I went to the 4000 with the Vectran. A little better performance but still had what I considered too many flats. Sometimes every 3-4 rides! Switched to these and it took 42 rides and 1108 miles before I finally got a flat yesterday. Much better performance. I ride at pretty much max(120) in the rear, a little softer (110) in the front. Like the traction and wear so far. Must have happened at the end of the ride as I made it home and found the flat the next day. Lucky! ( sorta!!)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough but nimble.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bullet proof

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
Overall Rating
The new tires allowed a fast ride

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/18/2018
by bluesky
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Most durable, flat-resistant tire I have found .

We ride our tandem about 7000 miles a year mostly on road but about 20% on bike trails. Until I switched to this tire we probably averaged a puncture flat every 250 miles. In the past 3 years we have had two puncture flats. (There was a snake-bite caused by hitting a rather large stone at high speed but I don't fault the tire for that.)

Mileage has been good as well - on the order of 3000milestire.

We run 700x28 and the foldable tires can be difficult for these old hands to mount, so I try to stick to the wire beads.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by THE BIKE MAN
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best flat resistant tire on the market.

This is the tire I use during my daily 38 mile ride, on my favorite road bike. You can depend on these Continentals. I've been using these tires since 2010. This is the same tire I installed on my TREK 1.1. in 2010, which was the same day I bought the bike. You can't loose with the stuff they use !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by Stacy
Yakima, WA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires!

This is my 2nd pair of these tires and I love them. My bike mechanic highly recommended them and Im so happy to have listened to him. Durable and long lasting. Very well-made tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best city commuter tires

Bike from Brooklyn to Manhattan and back five days a week and these tires are a must for city commuting. Used them previously in Chicago and they have speed, durability, and puncture resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/8/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It does what I needed it to do

I commute by bicycle 40 miles a week over often rough and uneven pavement. Despite keeping my tires properly inflated, I was plagued with flats. After switching to this tire I no longer have a problem with flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.