Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(201 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(170)
(30)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Unbeatable tire

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
34 of 34 customers found this review helpful.
Dare I say... no flats?

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best flat protection I've found

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great tires made so well

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2019
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
New York City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The best city commuter tires

IMHO the best commuter tires for city riding. Fast, great rolling, wonderful puncture resistance for the weight. 85 miles a week in Brooklyn and Manhattan on these and they're dynomite.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough but nimble.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Robert
Nebraska
Overall Rating
Hardshell

The best tires high mileage great ride I run them on a wide rim 20mm Id 32c third set

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bullet proof

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The new tires allowed a fast ride

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2019
by Daniel
Capitol Hill
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Gator skins

I always happy to buy these tires. Theyd seem to last me 4000 miles or moe

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2018
by dblrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Rocklin, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This is my go to tire.

I ride double centuries and feel these give the best blend of speed, performance and puncture resistance. Other tires may be lighter but over longer distances when you don't want to stop to repair a flat these are by far the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
West Hartford,Ct
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great reliable tires

I have been using gator hardshell since they were introduced to the market.

I am a large rider riding on the road and trails . I always had issues with flats once I switched to these

tires my problems with flats have been reduced.

my average annual mileage is 3000 I usually get seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2016
by Emac
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country, PWN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuterwinter tire

Not the lightest tire out there which is why I took a star off (picky, yes).

Now, for the good part I've ridden these tires for 3 winters, probably 9K miles, over gravel rough roads, dirt, mud, snow, dirty post-snow roads, etc. Unlike my summer tires which I take care of, I ignore these all winter and clean them once in the spring when I put them away for the summer - in other words, they get totally abused and no love. I run them at 70 psi (I'm 180 pounds) and have had 1 flat in three years. These are great tires, they're sticky in the rain but roll just fine when it's dry. I'm a bit surprised that people in the other reviews run them at such high pressure, for I find that they actually perform a lot better at lower pressures (like in their rating range). I'll definitely replace these with another set of Hardshells.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2018
by GP in Scipo, IN
Scipio, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I'm a happy camper

I was getting flats a lot with Conti Ultra-Sports II, then I went to the 4000 with the Vectran. A little better performance but still had what I considered too many flats. Sometimes every 3-4 rides! Switched to these and it took 42 rides and 1108 miles before I finally got a flat yesterday. Much better performance. I ride at pretty much max(120) in the rear, a little softer (110) in the front. Like the traction and wear so far. Must have happened at the end of the ride as I made it home and found the flat the next day. Lucky! ( sorta!!)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Ripley Ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Tire

I have used Continental tires for four years now. This is the first time I purchased a hard shell. The quality seems really good on this product. I have 100 miles on it already, and it is great. I think from now on I will use hard shell. Great product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2015
by 808Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Tire! I'm a believer!

I'm a 20 mile round trip commuter and I ride these tires at 110 psi. They are a stiff ride and super hard at first, but once you break them in (roughly 200 miles for me) they are smooth and stick to the ground. A bit on the heavy side but no flats so far, so I can live with the weight! I can ride it through anything without worry. There is evidence of cuts and punctures on both front and rear tires, but no flats to date! I'd buy these again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/26/2015
by Anonymous
Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for training

Just bought 2nd set of Gator Skins, friend recommended the first set as I was changing my second flat on a ride 3 years ago. Big guys these are great tires for us, I am 210 and ride hard on country roads, first set of gators kind lasted 3 years w no flat!! A little more money but a lot for confident w my Gators!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2015
by Craig Van Valkenburg
Auburn Alabama and in Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best training and robaix tire made

I used these tires in the Rouge Robaix in south Louisiana for 106 miles, partly off road, and then road 5000 miles of training. Best tire made. I had one flat the whole time. A large piece of glass made its way in. Craig Van Valkenburg

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2015
by zephyr451
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long Lived durable tire.

It's not a light tire by any stretch of the imagination, but for me it has been very flat resistant. I use it for winter training rides and commuting..used are ones where I really don't want to flat. The performance of the tire wt conditions is as good as the 4000 s.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 89