Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(221 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(185)
(33)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(84%)
(15%)
(0%)
(0%)
(1%)
Reviewed 4/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wenatchee, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long lasting and provides enhanced puncture protection

Pros- Long lasting, easily get 4000 plus miles on the tire. I've used the Gator Hardshell for past 7 years as they have provided me with best puncture protection especially since I ride in a rural area with goatheads along trails and roads.

Cons - More difficult to mount tire onto rim. Seems to work best to lay it in sun and let it warm up and soften some. Make sure you have tire levers and / or tire bead jack and that will save your fingers or thumbs.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2021
by blaircerny
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough, fast, affordable

Best City-riding tire I've used yet. I've pulled small bits of glass and other detritus out of my tire which have been unable to go all the way through to the tube, and when used on one of my brakeless track bikes in the City, its skidding lifespan is far, FAR outside any others (including the Vittoria Randonneur). I've also ridden this tire outside the City and it has avoided pinch flats in potholes as well as errant thorns and otherwise. And on top of all this, the rolling resistance is super low, which means you're going faster than a lot of other puncture-resistant offerings. Honestly for the price this is a no-brainer for commute bikes, courier bikes, errand bikes, and fun bikes. I wouldn't put it on anything that's going off-road (though I have foolishly ridden it off-road hahaha), but otherwise it's what I recommend to ANYONE who will listen.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Unbeatable tire

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
34 of 34 customers found this review helpful.
Dare I say... no flats?

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2017
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best flat protection I've found

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Silicon Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Commute Tire

After two flats in two consecutive rides on a 12 mile urban commute, decided to give the Gators a try. So far, so good; zero further flats. Will buy again and recommend if you're experiencing trouble with punctures.

It's true that it is a stiff tire:

1). Contrary to other reviews, I did not experience any difficulty mounting the tires. They went on totally by hand, the only tool used was a pump to inflate.

2). Inflated to 90 PSI, the ride is harsher than the Vittoria Zaffiros used before. The ride has mellowed somewhat with mileage, could be due to a variety of factors.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2022
by Hi Rise courier
Portland Oregon
Overall Rating
These are very durable tires

I am a veteran Bike courier in downtown Portland and I absolutely love these Gator Hardshells, i have been exclusively using these tires for over a year now, and have only gotten 3 flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by iHeart Bobby
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
You need to finesse these onto your rims

I've been using these for years and swear by them. The roads I ride are littered with junk that'll puncture most tires, except these. I've never had an issue changing out a flat on a ride, since the tires are warm enough to re-seat.

For those who complain that they're too hard to install properly, here are a few tricks I've picked up over the years.

1. heat the tires to make them more pliable before attempting - lay them in the sun for 20 minutes, or a warm oven. Seriously!

2. don't let the bead get seated until you fit both sides of the tire over the rim. you'll need that little bit of extra room.

3. all else fails, try a little baby powder OR dish soap to get them seated. soapy water is what mechanics use on car tires for the same issue.

4. don't try to muscle them onto the rim - you'll damage the bead. try the steps above first.

5 still having problems? take them to a bike mechanic & have them show you how to do it right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2021
by Glen
Vancouver, WA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gator Hardshell, a great road tire

The Gator Hardshell is my tire of choice for my road bike. I ride 60-90 miles a week around the Vancouver/Portland area, and I've found the Hardshell to be a very durable tire. I haven't had a flat due to puncture in a very long time, even though I frequently ride by "homeless" camps and the piles of trash that litter the road or bike path. These tires are dependable, wear well and resist punctures. What more does a bike rider need?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Dave Lieder
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Toughest tire on the market

With out a doubt the best tire for the rider who wants the best protection from rock, glass, thorns and wire from car tires. I tried many brands, the gator skin hard shell may be difficult to get on but it's worth the time it takes to mount them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great tires made so well

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire!

I use Continental Gator Hardshell on our tandom and will use nothing else. Tha're a great tire and hold up very well with over 300 pounds riding on them. We are running custom Zipp carbon wheels and the tires mount up with no problems what-so-ever.

If you want a great heavy duty tire and are more concerned with durability, safety than weight, the Hardshell is the tire for you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Anonymous
scottsdale
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tires

These are the best tires.

3000+ Miles 0 Flats!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by guam38
Daily Commuter
Northwestern PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Steer clear of these - Continental Gator Hardshell 700C Road Tire (Wire Bead)

I should have taken heed of previous reviews emphasizing that these hardshells are impossible to mount. I assumed that the reviewers simply didn't have enough experience in changing hardshell cases...wrong assumption. I have been an avid road cyclist for 20+ years and have changed hundreds of tire tubes, and these Continental Gator Hardshell 700c road tires are the worst I have ever encountered. I broke 4 tire levers and ruined 3 tubes trying to mount these; they clearly were not worth the discounted price that I paid for them. And no, I am not riding on them...they went in the trash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tough but nimble.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tires so far

Tires are working good. No flats yet after about 500 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Bullet proof

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The new tires allowed a fast ride

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2016
by Emac
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country, PWN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuterwinter tire

Not the lightest tire out there which is why I took a star off (picky, yes).

Now, for the good part I've ridden these tires for 3 winters, probably 9K miles, over gravel rough roads, dirt, mud, snow, dirty post-snow roads, etc. Unlike my summer tires which I take care of, I ignore these all winter and clean them once in the spring when I put them away for the summer - in other words, they get totally abused and no love. I run them at 70 psi (I'm 180 pounds) and have had 1 flat in three years. These are great tires, they're sticky in the rain but roll just fine when it's dry. I'm a bit surprised that people in the other reviews run them at such high pressure, for I find that they actually perform a lot better at lower pressures (like in their rating range). I'll definitely replace these with another set of Hardshells.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 84

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]