Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(229 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(192)
(33)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(84%)
(14%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by David B

Reviewed 4/2/2024
by David B
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tought as nails and yes works well in wet conditions.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Wire Bead) 700 x 25 is tough and I am 6'3" #275 and am careful when riding, looking for hazards. No flats and they are great with probably 1000 miles on them. I live in wet Eugene Oregon and never had any traction issues.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Stacia

Reviewed 8/16/2013
by Stacia (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
35 of 35 customers found this review helpful.
Dare I say... no flats?

These are durable, tougher-than-tough tires! I commute pretty carelessly over some really sketchy surfaces strewn with broken glass, gravel, bits of metal, the whole nine yards... and I have yet to get a flat with these tires after many months. That said, I hate these tires in the rain! They feel slippery and I don't have much confidence through the corners when the roads are wet. I plan to take them off and replace them with something grippier when it starts raining in the fall... but you can bet the Gator Hardshells will be back on my bike come spring.

Summer 2014 edit: I never got around to taking these tires off last winter. I got used to taking the corners a bit more carefully and the tires didn't give me too much trouble even in heavy rain. Still going strong now! I recommend these tires all the time to anyone who's sick of flats. Awesome.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BLT

Reviewed 9/10/2018
by BLT
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Unbeatable tire

About as puncture-proof as a Schwalbe Marathon at about 2/3 the weight. IMO the Conti Hardshell is the standard for flat resistance and durability. I recently replaced a Hardshell on my rear wheel. I weigh 205 and the tire lasted over 4000 miles until the wear dimples were gone. That's a rear wheel. Amazing. Flats were few and far between. The Hardshell sidewalls are far more durable than the GP 4000 with only a slight weight penalty.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TDip

Reviewed 1/8/2017
by TDip
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best flat protection I've found

A great all round training or touring tire. I've got 28's on my touring bike & no flats in 18 months...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Biker395

Reviewed 7/1/2022
by Biker395
SoCal
Overall Rating
Very Flat Resistant, but Terrible Grip in the Wet

I was on a ride with several other riders on a road that had been closed for some time. There were goat heads galore, and all but one of us got at least 2 flats.

The one person that did not flat had Hardshells, so I figured I'd give them a try on my commute bike.

I only used them for a week or so. The grip was terrible in anything but bone dry conditions, a few close calls were enough for me.

I guess that's the trade off with the hard rubber. Pity.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/4/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wenatchee, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Long lasting and provides enhanced puncture protection

Pros- Long lasting, easily get 4000 plus miles on the tire. I've used the Gator Hardshell for past 7 years as they have provided me with best puncture protection especially since I ride in a rural area with goatheads along trails and roads.

Cons - More difficult to mount tire onto rim. Seems to work best to lay it in sun and let it warm up and soften some. Make sure you have tire levers and / or tire bead jack and that will save your fingers or thumbs.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by blaircerny

Reviewed 10/22/2021
by blaircerny
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tough, fast, affordable

Best City-riding tire I've used yet. I've pulled small bits of glass and other detritus out of my tire which have been unable to go all the way through to the tube, and when used on one of my brakeless track bikes in the City, its skidding lifespan is far, FAR outside any others (including the Vittoria Randonneur). I've also ridden this tire outside the City and it has avoided pinch flats in potholes as well as errant thorns and otherwise. And on top of all this, the rolling resistance is super low, which means you're going faster than a lot of other puncture-resistant offerings. Honestly for the price this is a no-brainer for commute bikes, courier bikes, errand bikes, and fun bikes. I wouldn't put it on anything that's going off-road (though I have foolishly ridden it off-road hahaha), but otherwise it's what I recommend to ANYONE who will listen.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Silicon Valley
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Commute Tire

After two flats in two consecutive rides on a 12 mile urban commute, decided to give the Gators a try. So far, so good; zero further flats. Will buy again and recommend if you're experiencing trouble with punctures.

It's true that it is a stiff tire:

1). Contrary to other reviews, I did not experience any difficulty mounting the tires. They went on totally by hand, the only tool used was a pump to inflate.

2). Inflated to 90 PSI, the ride is harsher than the Vittoria Zaffiros used before. The ride has mellowed somewhat with mileage, could be due to a variety of factors.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by iHeart Bobby

Reviewed 10/1/2020
by iHeart Bobby
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
You need to finesse these onto your rims

I've been using these for years and swear by them. The roads I ride are littered with junk that'll puncture most tires, except these. I've never had an issue changing out a flat on a ride, since the tires are warm enough to re-seat.

For those who complain that they're too hard to install properly, here are a few tricks I've picked up over the years.

1. heat the tires to make them more pliable before attempting - lay them in the sun for 20 minutes, or a warm oven. Seriously!

2. don't let the bead get seated until you fit both sides of the tire over the rim. you'll need that little bit of extra room.

3. all else fails, try a little baby powder OR dish soap to get them seated. soapy water is what mechanics use on car tires for the same issue.

4. don't try to muscle them onto the rim - you'll damage the bead. try the steps above first.

5 still having problems? take them to a bike mechanic & have them show you how to do it right.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JTB

Reviewed 9/15/2022
by JTB
Cycling Enthusiast
Saint Paul
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tire

I've been using this tire for a couple months now, and they've been such a relief. I was getting paranoid with the number of flats I was getting with my Michelin Pro4s. Those didn't last long. These Hardshells feel like they're built for the real world.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/12/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange City, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great tires made so well

I ride 40-50 miles everyday. These tires last, resist all the crap in the road and give me the confidence I want so I can go ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Reviewed 7/7/2017
by Rick
Daily Commuter
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tough but nimble.

These tires work for me, daily to work and back, on the streets of San Francisco. They have a good feel and aren't as fragile as other road tires I've used. Punctures are almost a thing of the past.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/6/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Bullet proof

If you don't like fixing flats, this tire is for you - and me!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/9/2017
by Anonymous
Keizer, Oregon
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The new tires allowed a fast ride

Tires had good support and little road friction.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Glen

Reviewed 6/25/2021
by Glen
Vancouver, WA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Gator Hardshell, a great road tire

The Gator Hardshell is my tire of choice for my road bike. I ride 60-90 miles a week around the Vancouver/Portland area, and I've found the Hardshell to be a very durable tire. I haven't had a flat due to puncture in a very long time, even though I frequently ride by "homeless" camps and the piles of trash that litter the road or bike path. These tires are dependable, wear well and resist punctures. What more does a bike rider need?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PCH Rider

Reviewed 12/30/2016
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Everyday great tire that will bring you home and feel good.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave Lieder

Reviewed 5/31/2021
by Dave Lieder
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Toughest tire on the market

With out a doubt the best tire for the rider who wants the best protection from rock, glass, thorns and wire from car tires. I tried many brands, the gator skin hard shell may be difficult to get on but it's worth the time it takes to mount them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Emac

Reviewed 3/14/2016
by Emac
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Country, PWN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great commuterwinter tire

Not the lightest tire out there which is why I took a star off (picky, yes).

Now, for the good part I've ridden these tires for 3 winters, probably 9K miles, over gravel rough roads, dirt, mud, snow, dirty post-snow roads, etc. Unlike my summer tires which I take care of, I ignore these all winter and clean them once in the spring when I put them away for the summer - in other words, they get totally abused and no love. I run them at 70 psi (I'm 180 pounds) and have had 1 flat in three years. These are great tires, they're sticky in the rain but roll just fine when it's dry. I'm a bit surprised that people in the other reviews run them at such high pressure, for I find that they actually perform a lot better at lower pressures (like in their rating range). I'll definitely replace these with another set of Hardshells.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Frank Gale

Reviewed 10/21/2022
by Frank Gale
AZ
Overall Rating
Great tire

I have used this tire on multiple bikes. I always feel confident on long rides that they will perform well without issue.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 808Biker

Reviewed 8/12/2015
by 808Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Tire! I'm a believer!

I'm a 20 mile round trip commuter and I ride these tires at 110 psi. They are a stiff ride and super hard at first, but once you break them in (roughly 200 miles for me) they are smooth and stick to the ground. A bit on the heavy side but no flats so far, so I can live with the weight! I can ride it through anything without worry. There is evidence of cuts and punctures on both front and rear tires, but no flats to date! I'd buy these again!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]