Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Brooks C17 Cambium Carved All Weather Saddle

BrooksC17 Cambium Carved All Weather Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(21%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 5/22/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A Five-Star saddle yo'll enjoy for years

Own both the C19 (carved) and C17 (carved) and enjoy them both equally. No break-in required, saddle holds its shape for years. Yes, saddle is "heavier" (air quotes) than many, but its the comfort that keeps me in the saddle for miles and miles. I'm a 200 lbs., 6', 68 year old rider that rides 140 miles/week.

No need to worry about the saddle when caught in inclement weather. BTD's prices are very fair and shipment is quick. Don't hesitate on purchasing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2021
by Will Murphy
Competitive Racer
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Jury still out but so far not as comfortable as I hoped

I am an adventure racer so I sometimes do long rides, including on rough gravel. A comfortable saddle is key. Brooks has a great reputation and this saddle was offered at a very good price. So far I have not found it to be the perfect fit for me. That said, I have had some medical issues that kept me from riding for a while. I will see if my butt and this saddle can learn to live in harmony now that I am riding more. The surface is very grippy which takes a little getting used to. If you want to shift your position you need to lift, you can't just slight with your weight on the saddle. On the plus side the saddle is zero maintenance. Waterproof and durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by BikingBill
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable right out of the box.

The nose rail on my beloved leather Brooks B17 broke which I took to be a positive omen to try the (relatively) new C17 that I'd been considering anyway. On my first ride I paid attention to the saddle and how it felt. But...after a short while I realized I wasn't paying attention,everything was just fine for me right out of the box. Saddles are very personal, it might be different for you. I like not having to carry a rain cover and I like the look of the saddle on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Brooks C17 exceeds expectations

saddle. I have been searching for a new saddle for years. My current saddle is a Terry Ti Race saddle that is over 15 years old' I bought two and they are now both quite worn.

My sit bones measure 127mm and I purchased a few saddles with those dimensions in mind but none have been comfortable. Besides seated comfort I also wanted a saddle to provided support when sliding back to climb. My Terry Ti Race has a slight ramp at the back that seemed keep me from sliding too far back when climbing.

The Brooks C17 Cambium Carved is absolutely a big surprise comfort wise, and the a bonus of the Cambium surface is that I do not slide off the saddle when I slide back to climb even though the saddle is flat. I honestly believe my multi-year search for the perfect saddle ends with the Brooks C17 Cambium Carved. I plan to buy another one to ensure I am set for years into the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great saddle and vegan friendly

I needed a new saddle for my bike as my old one was worn out. I had always read reviews on brooks saddles and saw they made a vegan friendly one.

I gave it a go and liked how it feels when dialed in.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2020
by Ed
New York
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfort right out of the box

Amazing saddle for all day comfort. Unlike other brooks saddles the C17 Cambium has no break-In

Period and won't get ruined in the rain.

It is not the lightest saddle in the world but not everyone is that concerned about weight.

Bonus points for being really nice looking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by Anonymous
Michigan
Overall Rating
Great saddle

I liked it so much I bought another.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2019
by Tim B
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice but not for me.

A saddle is a personal choice so take what I say with a grain of salt. I wanted to like this saddle but I just could not make it work for me. I tried the regular C-17 as well as the carved. I found the carved version to be only slightly better. As much as I wanted it to be true these are not the same as a Brooks B-17. The difference is the shape. A well broken in B-17 develops more of a scoop shape (thing equestrian saddle) over time. The shape, in my opinion is what makes these saddle so comfortable. The C-17 is not that. The shape is more round. They try to replicate the scoop with the hammock effect of the rubber but unfortunately it falls short. I finally gave up on these after trying a C-17, 15, and 19 all in the carved version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Canyon Country, CA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This size fits me just right

When I took it out of the box and felt how stiff it was I thought I was going to send it back, but I tried it out and it felt great, I'm happy with the size being wider. It's a little heaver than my last saddle , but the butt likes it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Keeps my butt happy

Comfortable. Cannot go wrong with Brooks. All season so you dont have to worry about polishing or taking care of the saddle like the leather versions. Overall love it. This is my second C17.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2019
by Bikegirl
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Saddle

This saddle is comfortable for long rides. I have two, one on a road bike and one on a gravel bike. I was having problems with saddle sores and switched to the Brooks saddle. I have had no problems with discomfort since. I love that it is rubber. I ride everyday rain or shine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2019
by j p
Cycling Enthusiast
north idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
an extreamly cush feel with no break in

I use this saddle on my road bike. I like it so much I put one on my gravel bike. I ride anywhere from thirty to a hundred miles.it would be nice if the openings on the rear of saddle were a bit larger so I could have more options on what I mount on my saddle.my gravel rides are pretty constantly rough and I have no issues at all with my sit bones. very comfortable after four or five hours on either bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2019
by markpea
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond,IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Brilliant saddle

Back in the day I had a Brooks saddle which I brought with me to the States attached to my Raleigh Record Ace. But after years of neglect I had to replace it. Now, many moons and many different saddles later, I've found the ultimate replacement - another Brooks. I agonised between the C15 & C17 eventually plumping for the latter as having more 'tail room' and indeed it provides the support my bony buttocks need. For me it required no running-in, so to speak, but it does seem to get more comfortable on every ride. Absolutely brilliant & well worth purchase price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2019
by frosty
Daily Commuter
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
First Brooks saddle

Put this saddle on my daily commuter and already enjoying the difference. Although it is a hard saddle, the fit is excellent and the groovechannel makes it very comfortable. It flexes nicely and, although much stiffer in the cold, winter temperatures, it is still comfortable. I'm looking forward to the warmer weather to see how it feels when it has even more flexibility. As an added bonus, it looks absolutely fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2018
by Rocket
Virginia
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Good but long break in.

Got this seat for my mountain bike. Must have 200 miles on it and it is finally feeling like it is breaking in. First few rides were pretty painful. Requires some patience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2018
by Beachbiker 52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Saddle

The Brooks Cambium Carved works great on my gravel bike. It's a bit stiffer than my Brooks Swift saddle, but I can tell the difference the cut-out makes on long rides. Once I became accustomed to the stiffer seat, I like it almost as well as the Swift. Much better saddle for riding trails and crossing water than the leather Brooks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2019
by Trailwalker
northwest Ohio
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great saddle and comfortable

Ive got a couple hundred miles on this saddle and love it right out of the box. I have it on my Lynskey gravle bike and thinking of getting one for my mountain bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2018
by TD
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfort right out of the box.

Bikepacking

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2021
by RocketJohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Winnebago, MO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Looks to be a great saddle, may be 5 stars once I can get a few hundred miles on it.

Slapped this on my classic Lemond road bike, looks great and feels great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynnwood, WA
Overall Rating
Solid, comfortable

My first Brooks saddle. For not having any padding I find it just as comfortable as my old padded saddle. Haven't done any longish rides on it, but for my commuting distances it's great. Chose it over a leather version since it's water proof.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 07

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]