Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Zipp Rim Tape

ZippRim Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(16%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jon

Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Jon
Daily Commuter
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Zipp rim tape is thin and light

I swore by cloth rim tape for years. However, I've found that my newer carbon rims are wider with a less deep channel in the center. What's that got to do with anything? Well, it has to do with mounting tight fitting tires and preventing pinch flats. This rim tape is just that much thinner than cloth rim tape that mounting tight tires to new carbon rims is a bit easier. I am relieved that in the process of mounting tight tires I won't accidentally scoot the cloth tape over so that a tiny sliver of spoke hole is exposed. This will lead to a flat (hopefully before you set out on ride). Also, when it is so difficult to mount a tire that you end up using a tire lever to pop that last four inches of bead over the rim, you increase the risk of pinching your tube - or worse yet, damaging your rim.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jimmy Dee

Reviewed 6/16/2020
by Jimmy Dee
Cycling Enthusiast
Farmington, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great protection

This is the only product that fit my 1996 Mavic Heliums and I found them superior to the OEM strips. They installed easily and fit perfectly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like these much better than rubber rim tape

The fabric is very stiff and takes a little muscle to get on the rim but I do like the peace of mind I get from knowing this tape feels so durable. My new tubes are holding air and I can't complain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PVBiker

Reviewed 1/13/2023
by PVBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works well

Tough rim tape. Works well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andrew

Reviewed 3/4/2021
by Andrew
Competitive Racer
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light & great fit for narrower rims

I was looking for rim tape for a restoration project of wheelset built with RR1.1 rims (15mm wide). The Zipp Rim Tape stretches just enough for installation and creates a great fit in the tire bed of these older style rims.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BikeLA

Reviewed 1/19/2015
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for wider rims

I needed tape for a couple of wheelsets that I built using Velocity A23 rims - these 23mm rims need 21mm tape. I am not running tubeless, so do not need the time-consuming adhesive tapes. The Zipp tape was very easy to install and is, as it says, ultra thin which makes tire installation easy. So far, no issues with durability.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RoadBikeMan

Reviewed 1/14/2015
by RoadBikeMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Albion, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I'm glad it fits on my 27 Wheels!

When I received these in the mail, I was somewhat skeptical if the 700x18mm rim strips were going to fit on the wheels of my 1980's Takara Sport 10 touring bike. But, with some effort, they fit like a glove. I bought these so that I could replace the 30 year old rubber rim strips, because I have bought two 27x1-18 Continental SuperSport road tires from this website that have to be aired up to 102 psi since I am a heavy rider. But I'll have to wait until it's springtimesummertime.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/26/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Zipp wheels. Zipp tape. Perfect fit. Simple decision.

I am not yet convinced that I want to deal with tubeless...so for my latex tubes, I needed this. It works perfectly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by williemakeit

Reviewed 2/9/2021
by williemakeit
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento,Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Zipped them right around the rim

fit perfectly in the rim,conformed real nice haven't had a flat from a sharp edge or crease rubbing on tube.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GJ

Reviewed 8/21/2017
by GJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install, no adhesive mess

What's to say? Its thin, designed for higher pressures and doesn't use an adhesive.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 8/21/2017
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
thoughts you might not want

it is advertised as 16mm when in fact 18mm same as the other 6 I have of 18 which i wanted 16

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/11/2017
by Anonymous
Illinois
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Fit perfectly on my 23mm rims, much cleaner than the usual rim tabe and less expensive.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/4/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Just what I needed

This is not just any rim tape. Its a must, I disnt Get too far with just any old rim tape.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alex

Reviewed 8/29/2013
by Alex
Casual Cyclist
Sherman Oaks, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Fits like a glove around a 27 wheel

Replaced my ancient rim tape that was falling apart and causing rips in the tube. This one protects much better. Definitely Recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bike rider Jim

Reviewed 8/29/2013
by Bike rider Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse,In.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good product.

Good product,but I was not sure 16mm was wide enough for my wheels. I wound up ordering 20mm so it would be wide enough for sure!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/31/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect!

Just what I needed. For high pressure tires (120 thin road racing tires) and very easy to apply. Great price too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/7/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
PNW
Overall Rating
Cheap and easy

I've used these on several rims and they work great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ememso

Reviewed 6/15/2014
by ememso
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Il
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
works great - terrific value

700x20 fit my velocity a23 rims like a glove. Easy installation. Gets the job done.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/2/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arizona
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great products. Easy to install.

I used the tapes for my 404 zipp wheels.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]