Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Vittoria Rubino Pro G2.0 Road Tire

VittoriaRubino Pro G2.0 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(77 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(58)
(12)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(75%)
(16%)
(3%)
(4%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by DaninPA

Reviewed 11/9/2023
by DaninPA
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Training Tires!

Like many roadies, I waver between Conti GP and anything else. I usually start thinking �anything than Continental� whenever I have to mount one. I�ve had good success with the Victoria Rubino line in the past but always drifted back to the stalwart Conti GP.

I ordered a 32 and 28 Rubino Pro G2.0 and have installed them on 50mm CF wheels on my Canyon Ultimate. The first ride was fine, but nothing revelatory. But then I did some research on pressure and realized I was about 10-15 psi too high. So after reducing pressure down into the 60s, rolled out for a 30 mile mid-day ride.

All I can say is � wow. The ride was secure, fast (enough for November), plush, and several washboard sections of pavement (where I typically need to hang on for dear life) were floated over. In fact, I lost track of where I was for a while since that stretch is a typical distance milestone.

The tires look great, installed easily enough, and should function well as off-season training tires.

Highly recommended!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by G money

Reviewed 8/8/2023
by G money
The great cornfields of the Midwest
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best training/ endurance tire

I have used these tires in various iterations over the years, and NEVER had a flat! I ride on fairly flat roads that are blacktop and chip and seal. I usually get 6,000 miles out of them before they have to be retired. They are easy to mount on my Boyd Altamont rims that have a 19.86mm internal width for reference. The 26c width balloons out to 28mm, and the 28c width measures 31mm on my rims. They are not the fastest tires, but I do not race or compete either. Get these tires! Very dependable and bulletproof!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/18/2024
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Olympia, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great performance and value.

Tire is perfect for the casual rider. Superb performance. Good grip. Puncture resistant. No better tire for the money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Richard

Reviewed 1/11/2024
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo NY/ Great Lakes
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great grippy training tire at a good price.

Mid weight, grip the road, sheds rain, long wearing at 225 lbs.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dhenderson

Reviewed 9/25/2023
by dhenderson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good value road tire, delivered quickly

This tire is one of the few quality bike tires available that offers the red sidewall which looks fabulous on my old school red road bike. The road feel is great. I have ridden about 100 miles on them so far and I look forward to many more miles of smooth riding ahead.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/27/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire

These tires are fast, durable and smooth. I like the gum wall sides, it makes my bright yellow pop out on my bike. I will order these tires again for sure.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tedmag

Reviewed 11/14/2022
by tedmag
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific Northwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good all around 25 mm tire

Many of my cycling buddies go with thorn resistant tires (Gator skins) and they're welcome to it. I like these tires for my road bike, they just handle better. road feel, ride quality, ease of install. And I get good mileage out of them. I rarely have flats. Of course, the 'handling and road feel' could just be some kind of front-loaded assumption on my part-- I want to believe it is true, therefore it is true. Anyway, that's my story and I'm sticking with it. What do you think? I'll review my choices for touring tires on another product review.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul M.

Reviewed 7/28/2023
by Paul M.
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding Product

The Vittoria Rubino is the perfect combo of fast training tire, and perfect for the occasional group ride, that you know.... turns into an all out race. Corner's well, smooth AND flat resistant! Great value for the price!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ron

Reviewed 8/22/2022
by Ron
Houston
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great clincher tire for everyday use!

With over 5K miles on these 30�s, I finally had a flat. The rear tire was wearing so I replaced it, original front tire still going strong.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marquis

Reviewed 7/14/2022
by Marquis
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good Value for money, decent performance and durability

The Rubino Pro G2.0 are nice tires for the price. They wear well, look good, go on easy, and their sizing is consistent (a 25 is 26.5mm on a 18mm ID rim).

They roll very well, but they're not as fast as a GP5000. The Rubinos are a little more plush and provide a nice smooth ride. If you're looking for the absolute fastest tire, this isn't it. I use them on my road bike that doesn't race. They're fine for fast cruising or a group ride. I use GP5000s on the race bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tony

Reviewed 7/6/2022
by Tony
Tennessee
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but has issues.

I have been a fan of the Rubino Pro for years. Fantastic tire in nearly every condition that you could throw at it. Both tube or tubeless models have excellent grip, wear is not excessive, although your experience will vary with air pressure, frequency of riding and road conditions. Downside with graphine editions of the tire (my experience.) Cuts can occur at times easily, once the wear has been prolonged, you could ... could experience the rubber on the center tread in spots; peel back to expose the cords. Now this has happened to me with only the tubeless model. All that being said, none of this should be a detraction from purchasing the Rubino Pro. If you are coming from a GP5000 or Vittoria Corsa. You will notice a slight change in ride quality. This can be adjusted with air pressure. I have found the Rubino to have just as good a grip as GP5000 or Corsa. The ride feel is just not quite as smooth. Again this will be determined by air pressures, wheels and frame.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/27/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Stable and quality

New to road bikes, and I was riding older tires. Replaced with these, and it's a whole new experience!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bluesjr

Reviewed 7/10/2021
by bluesjr
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
disappointed in width and ride

I wanted to get the maximum width that my chainstays would accommodate for my casual road bike to soften/improve the ride. The wheels are HED Ardennes with a 21mm internal width. I was running an old set of Michelin Pro2, 700x25, which measured 700x27 on these wide rims. The Vittoria 700x28, measured 700x28, which tells me they would measure less than 28mm on older narrow rims such as my Mavic Ksyrium Elites with their 14mm rim width. This indicates they are undersized. Curious what other people are measuring once mounted.

To give you an example of rim width affecting tire width, I mounted 700x25 Michelin Pro4 Endurance on my new HED Ardennes+ with its 25mm rims. The 25mm tires stretched out to 29.5mm on those rims. This is in line with what HED promotes/claims. I was expecting to get at least 30mm on my new Vittoria tires with my 21mm Ardenne rims.

The last point. Another reviewer compared the Vittorias to Michelin Pro4 Endurance and said they were more compliant/softer or something like that. I run both the Pro4s and the Pro2's. I can definitely say my Michelin Pro2's were more comfortable tires than these Vittoria's that replaced them. So these tires were disappointments in both areas.

Maybe they handle better. On this bike, I'm not pushing that on the local MUP, so it is a minor consideration.

To end on a positive note, I got the two-pack with tubes. Great value and they look great on a vintage bike with the tan sides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CrypticSheet

Reviewed 7/1/2021
by CrypticSheet
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
These tires are really that good...

Before trying these tires I was only using Continental Grand Prix's and Specialized Turbo Cotton's on my Specialized Tarmac and was having issues finding them, so I started looking for something to hold me over and came across these tires. I figured to give them a go till I get a set of tires I am used to, and man was I surprised. I really like how these tires roll and feel on the bike.

At this price point, quality, and feel, I personally am not finding any reason to go back to the other tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RickB

Reviewed 4/1/2021
by RickB
Cycling Enthusiast
Central New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for the money

These tires ride like more expensive offerings from other brands. They are very sensitive to air pressure changes. A middle-of-the-road pressure will give you a very balanced ride with great grip, good rolling resistance, and nice shock absorption. More pressure makes the tire faster and handle quicker, but still offer confidence in corners. A little lower pressures will take the edge off of hits and make long distances easier on your body while still providing solid cornering. I've run through a few patches of broken glass and not had any flats. They're wearing pretty well too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/17/2023
by Anonymous
Bryant Arkansas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fast and Smooth

First time buying this Tire type and I must say I am very impressed! These tires are fast rolling yet provide grip in sketchy corners and even wet conditions. These are my new tires of choice

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RiderJohn

Reviewed 7/6/2020
by RiderJohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Superior Overall Tire

I have ridden 2-3 sets of these in all weather conditions in New Mexico, where the worst of all thorns - the notorious goat heads - and pebbles, rocks, and glass line our roads. I get excellent mileage out of them, rarely flat, and man are they fast. They are easy to mount and remove (one Pedro's tire lever is sufficient). They are more comfortable than most other road racingtraining tires I have used. I used to ride Conti GP 4000S. The Vittoria are less costly and last a lot longer (2-3 times longer in my experience) on our really prickly and rough New Mexico roads. Still, these are not commuter tires as I have read in another review. If you want a commuter tire try the Specialized All-Weather Armadillo. Perhaps the Vittoria Rubino Pro Control would be a solid choice for commuting but I have never ridden it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Yamir

Reviewed 3/14/2020
by Yamir
Casual Cyclist
Hialeah, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
One of the best tires all around.

My bicycle came with a similar tires, but these ones are way superior, very light weight, I ride two times a week for about 20 miles each, I think I rode this tires for about 500 miles and they look brand new not flats. I believe these tire are going to last for a while. Highly Recommended. Best place to buy them BIKETIRESDIRECT.COM

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Reviewed 7/18/2022
by Scott
Michigan
Overall Rating
Replacement for Bontrager

These were replacement on my Trek Madone 4.5. I wanted a whitewall road bike tire and my original Bontragers were no longer available. These ride great and appear more durable. I have about 250 miles so far and I have no complaints. Also look great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PeteH

Reviewed 7/18/2022
by PeteH
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz Mountains
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid tires at reasonable price

I've found the Rubinos to be straightforward to mount and get very few flats. On the downside they seem to wear faster than I'd expect, but the roads I ride on are very rough so perhaps that's just par for the course.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]