Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Vittoria Pit Stop Inflating Sealant

VittoriaPit Stop Inflating Sealant(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(3)
(0)
(3)
(1)
(63%)
(16%)
(0%)
(16%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mike in Richland

Reviewed 11/30/2020
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
This is what you need to carry.

I run tubeless tires, so I always carry a pressurized sealant cartridge. I used to carry the Hutchinson sealant (Fast'Air). However, I was in Kalispell MT, and needed a cartridge, as I did not have any Hutchinson. I went to a local bike shop, and asked for the Hutchinson product, but they did not have it. However, they said, "try this", showing me the Vittoria. So, I bought 2, and have not been disappointed. The main thing I like is ease of use - compared to the Hutchison sealant cartridge, the Vittoria is much easier to use, as the nozzle fits directly on the Presta valve, unlike the Rude Goldberg (sorry I am dating myself) setup of the Hutchison cartridge. BTD carries both, but I would suggest going w/ the Vittoria.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/14/2015
by Anonymous
Bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent results

The product works very well , the only issue I have had is the top pops off as you are filling the tire.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ss

Reviewed 3/4/2014
by ss
Cycling Enthusiast
SF, East bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Here is my verdit. Deponds on the size may or may not work. Read to find out

Good product for punctures and cuts less than 1 mm (As it claims?). Works better on round punctures compare to cuts.

Borderline between 1-2 mm.

Cuts 2mm or more than 2 mm there is less chance. It will seal 2 mm cut first but when you pump the tire the clot can't hold up after 60-70 PSI on road tire. The clot will pop out followed by squirting whatever you injected in.

It is designed for 2 tires but You may end up injecting 70-80% of the can on one tire. Will you reply on 20% left over for next use?

You will need to use your Co2 on top of Vittoria sealant because the pressure is not high enough.

I have tried stan also. To me they both are in same level/strenght except stan is alot cheaper. Stan couldn't seal the cut more than 2 mm either but it worked for smaller size same as Vittoria

I valued the product low, simply because you are paying 5-10 times more compare to stan but you gain no advantage. This is my opinion. Decision is yours

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Flatlander

Reviewed 12/9/2021
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I finally got to use it and it worked

I bought this 4 years ago and today I got to use it today for the first and only time ever. It worked perfectly. No mess, no backfires. Back on the road!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/4/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Must have...

I run tubulars and never leave home without it. Have saved me more than once. Definitely recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/27/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Mandatory

Always bring one with me. Mtb or road tubeless.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mellis

Reviewed 5/19/2017
by mellis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
If your riding on tubulars, carry one of these

I've used half a dozen of these over the years. They'll seal small holes and get you going quickly without a laborious and time consuming tire change. If you're on regular tubed clinchers, it's too much to spend for the convenience without the assurance of a successful seal-maybe in a race. Have a plan B-a spare tub and a regular inflator in case the sealant fails.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/21/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Saved the day

I rode to work today, noticing that there was a lot of glass on various parts of the road. Got to work fine at 8am. At noon, I checked the bike and saw that my rear tire was flat. Brought out the Pit Stop, rotated the valve to 12 o'clock and gave it a shot. Fixed it instantly! Topped it off with a litte CO2. Now in the next four hours, I can make sure it holds before riding home.

A little pricy, but compared to replacing a tubular tire...worth every penny.

Running Vittoria Pave Evo CG tubulars on CX tubular wheels. Beautiful ride!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/13/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Didn't get me home

Didn't work for me. Had a flat in a Gran Fondo and went through two cans of this stuff. Didn't appear to be a huge cut in the tire. Disappointing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by sdlegal

Reviewed 4/11/2013
by sdlegal
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Riding tubulars without Vittoria sealant is asking for a ride home in the back of a truck.

Carrying an extra tire is a pain when a small canister usually will do the trick. I ride Cont. Competition tubulars and when needed this stuff works.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/21/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Quick road fix.

Works well on small punctures.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/10/2011
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Alpine TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good for sewups

We ride tough tubulars on racing bikes as West Texas is tough for flats. Although the pit stop may need to sit a day or two it usually seals spot punctures, saving purchase of a sewup. Our rims are 95mm so this is the only possible fix. I have heard people routinely start with this in sewups for prevention. Directions are simple- start with stem up top then be sure to rotate at intervals and dont leave stem at bottom for awhile. Get more air in soon.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/2/2011
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Chicago-ish
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
It simply doesn't work

Save your coin. What is ironic it doesn't work on Vittoria's own tires!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/22/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Palm Springs, CA
Overall Rating
Not that great.

I ride tubulars, it works about 30 percent of the time (maybe). It's $15 per can and I can call my wife for a ride or Uber home for $15 to $20 where I live. The only good thing about this stuff (crap) is that it gives you the hope that you can limp home in the event of a flat. Stans works far better. So, if it gives you peace of mind to know you have something that might get you out of a jam, great - but after using it +15 times and having mediocre at best results I don't feel that way anymore. Oh, and when it doesn't work and spits latex all over your rear triangle, have fun cleaning it (note, clean it as soon as you get home b/c once dried it's a bear to remove.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KA

Reviewed 5/20/2022
by KA
Cycling Enthusiast
macon ga
Overall Rating
Great product I have used it on both mountain and road bike tires.

UIsed for slow leaks

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/9/2014
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Well worth the cost.

I ride tubbies and this stuff has gotten me home numerous times. Easier than putting on my spare tire it had worked on some pretty large punctures. I don't even need to use an entire can to seal a puncture. The thing is, it is not cheap but when I am miles from home riding solo I'd pay double to be able to limp home and not have to, on the side of the road, pull off an old tubular and then put the spare on (and still have to limp home).

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CerveloRider

Reviewed 1/9/2014
by CerveloRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
If you like tubies this is your savior.

Can't live home without Vittoria pit stop if you like tubular tires, works very well and easy to use pump your tire right away without losing to much time and less to carry don't need spare. Downside if you have a blowout or huge cut it will not seal it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bbcross

Reviewed 10/2/2014
by bbcross
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
It works!

I run tubulars on my road bike...why? Because I build road bike from old CX bike parts. It works great. Buy a couple at a time. You may even consider trying it out at home before needing to use it on the road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by seabass

Reviewed 9/10/2012
by seabass
Big D
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A must have for Tubulars!

Riding tubular tires should be experienced by every cyclist at least once. I love riding my tubies, thus carrying this sealant is a must! Yes, it is a little expensive, but unlike other products IT WORKS, and that's nothing compared to your $100 tubular tire, which is rendered useless, unless you can seal that puncture, especially 60 miles away from home. Yes, you can carry a spare pre-glued tubular in your pocket, but who wants to go through the trouble of removing and mounting a new one in the middle of nowhere. Just make sure that you remove the puncture debris prior to using it.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]