FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Vittoria Mastik One Rim Cement - 30g Tube

VittoriaMastik One Rim Cement - 30g Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(21%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/23/2018
by Richms
Competitive Racer
Westfield, new jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tubular tire glue

To those who still ride tubular tires, this works great. It worth the mess to have your tire secure to the rim and this glue does the job. Wish the tube was slightly larger

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2017
by Michael
Competitive Racer
Lenexa, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tire is never going to roll

This is the best glue for cross applications where tire rolling is a concern. It dries quickly (good and bad), applies easily, and creates a very strong bond. The downside is that you can rarely pull a tire off by hand or recover the basetape, you will lose some basetape with this glue. I find it is harder to remove via solvent and requires a heat gun for easy removal. I suggest 1.5 tubes per wheel (half tube on rim, half tube on basetape, another half tube coat on rim).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Bothell, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good glue - quantity not enough

Vittoria mastik tubular glue seems to be good - cleans up with water! However, the tube is small, and although it is advertised as adequate for a pair of tubulars, it isn't. Maybe, if there was some kind of measuring device, I could have prevented using too much on the first wheel, but there isn't, thank God I had some old tubular glue left over to finish the job.

Either make it larger, or advertise that a gluing a pair of tubulars requires two (2) tubes.

Thanks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2016
by Old John
Casual Cyclist
Ana Retentive county MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great stuff but not enough in the small tube to do one tire correctly ...

I boil some water in a pan first , then put the open can of glue in the pan to heat up the glue and use a small paint brush

to apply each thin coating ... do not put can in pan while on heat source ..... Fire Marshall Bill

I agree with the Montana gent's review do one on the rim and one on the tire wait 24 hours then do it again an wait 24

when ready to mount the tire brush a fresh thin layer to the rim that acts like solvent between the cured dry base layers

Have just enough air in the tire to roll it into position being very careful to properly seat the valve stem first while seating

the tire in both directions away from the valve finally you end up opposite of the valve kneading slack out of the tire

as you go so at the end you have only couple inch to roll on ...if too much air in tire , now let some out , put the monkey

grip fingers to work eyeball the tape strip on both sides make sure it is even and work the centerline tread into position

judge your good work by how much glue you want to remove from the sidewall when you are done none is very good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2015
by Anonymous
Bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best of tubular cement.

This is by far the best tubular cement I have used. It works well on campagnolo carbon wheels. Easy application and clean up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2013
by brij43
Competitive Racer
Santa Cruz
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tubular Cement

I finally went back to tubulars for cross after a couple costly mishaps on tubeless. (I raced tubeless for four years and think they're great it's just a matter of rim width etc.) Anyhow if you buy the big cans of Mastik One it can get dried out. Each tube is good for a wheel's worth (two layers on the rim, tape, a layer or two on the tire, good to go). The glue is really light-remember it's about thin layers, not glooping it on. This is a much better way to go than the big cans.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
As good as any glue I have used. Comes in a convenient tube or in the mulit use can.

I have used both the Vittoria Mastik and the Continental tubular glue. I find the Vittoria Mastik to be just as good or better than Continental glue. The can of Vittoria Mastik is usually a great value. I use the Vittoria Mastik for both road and cyclocross tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
north texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
the only glue i'll use

I use this glue on mavic SL aulum. wheels . Ive used other glue but this is very easy to use and holds well even in hot texas weather.Other glues just make a big mess

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, ME
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product

I used this in my garage to glue two Conti tubulars. Tires are still on the rims, so I am happy with the product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2012
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Does the job!

I use Mastik to mount cyclocross tubulars, and have had no concerns about rolled tires. Mastik supposedly works equally well on carbon and aluminum rims, which makes it a good all-purpose glue.

One caution Mastik sets up fast in my experience. Once I mount the tire, I gotta hurry to align the tire on the rim. Ambient temperature probably affects this,

so if you lack a cool, well ventilated workspace, make sure to mount your tires carefully and quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/19/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Bozeman, MT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
This stuff is the way to go...

Really great, secure glue - the only way to mount tubulars if you're serious about doing it right. while not as easy as Tufo tape, the tire is more secure and rolls faster with glue. The downsides are fumes, clean-up, and re-gluing. Fumes are nasty, so you need really good ventilation. Clean-up is hard because the glue dries so fast and you need to use potent solvents like Goof Off or acetone. So I use cheap disposable glue brushes from the hardware store, and nitrile gloves. Getting old, dried out glue off of the rim is a major chore that involves lots of scraping and solvent. One trick I found on the web use solvent to thin the cement before applying to the rim (not the tire). This allows easier spreading and thinner, more even coats. Vittoria's gluing recipe two thin coats on the rime, 24 hrs apart, let both coats dry completely. One coat on the tire, let dry at least 24 hours. Finally, 1 more thin coat on the wheel and mount tire immediately while glue is still tacky (within minutes of applying glue). Do it carefully and the tire will be secure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/28/2011
by Mark B
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
One of those things...

... that you just do without asking questions. Use Mastik. Moreover, they say that if you're running a Vittoria, then you absolutely must, btw. That probably goes for all the tires that look very much like they're made by Vittoria as well (Vred tubies, Mavic tubies, the Michelin tubie we have...). Use it. Use lots. Give it time to dry and it. will. stick. for. ever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2014
by Anonymous
Boulder
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The standard for a reason

Tub cement is one of those products that you will never notice if it is working. I've used this for 10 years of CX racing and it just works, is reasonably priced and can be found almost anywhere. The tubes are cleaner than the can IMO, as it is possible to squeeze a nice straight line into the center of the rim bed and spread with a flux brush. Also, contamination and dry-out are not an issue where as with a can, you risk it all going bad and I could never get away from spider webs from the brush dipping into the can. I'd say for road tires, you want at least 1 tubewheel and cx 2 tubeswheel. The consequences of too little glue vs too much glue make the extra $2.50 well spent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2012
by kevhogaz
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, AZ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Choice For Gluing Tubular Tires

I've used this glue on several sets of tubulars, and never had a problem. Goes on easy, and isn't real stringy, or messy. Holds like, well, glue!

I use two layers on the rim, and one on the tire, and this glue does not let go. Did a 35 mph on it for the first time, and had absolutely no problems. Tire stayed in place, and never squirmed around, or felt loose.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.