FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Velox Rim Strip

VeloxRim Strip(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(27)
(9)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(25%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Solution for Latex Tubes

Tried to install latex tubes with OEM rim tape, but that was not successful. Talked with customer service and their recommendation was to use Velox Rim strip.

Received it a few days latter, installed on the wheels in a snap. Problem solved, tubes are doing well and love the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2018
by Anonymous
Lakeland fl
Overall Rating
Great tape

Have had great results with this tape for many years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2018
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Lovely Stepford, Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy to use

Some easy to use tube insurance. I applied this ribbon of cloth tape to Mavic Ksyrium Elite rim on my '07 Jamis Supernova. Never'd used tape on these rims previously and thought it couldn't hurt. Sticky-side sticks as expected, width just fine for the application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
by DiabloRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Diablo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great rim tape

I really like this Velox tape, it has adhesive that keeps it in place, which I rely on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Dirty-D
Cycling Enthusiast
san antonio, tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
bulletproof!

not the lightest, but if you are having problems with your tubes flatting from the inside of your wheels (not tire punctures but ribbing expanding into spoke holes).

This stuff will fix it!

I keep extra rolls of it in in lots of sizes because it is so handy, after a few years of riding a new wheelset, you will need this stuff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2017
by Jayhawker
Lenexa, Ks
Overall Rating
Tape

Very easy to Use and Helps a Lot from Having Flats. Change Every Year for preventing Flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2017
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Product

This is one of the best rim tapes on the market. I have been using it for years as my go to tape. I work on many of the bikes in my club and always keep a couple of extra rolls on hand. I have seen many other brands of tape roll or slip out of place. I replace it with this tape and know I will never have a problem with it ever again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2017
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10mm size is hard to find

It does its job.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2015
by JfromPO
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
top notch

lighter than rubber and (I know what your thinking) even wrenched duct tape in a high velocity place where grams matter most. Yes, Made in France.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2015
by chuck
Competitive Racer
ma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
best rim tape

many rims come with a thin plastic-like tape, causing flats. I replace it always with this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by Sonoranbird
Casual Cyclist
Ajo, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality Heavy Cloth With Strong Adhesive

The two bikes I purchased for strengthening my arthritic knee came with a very light weight rubbery plastic rim strip which I knew in time would cause a tube to blow out. And because like most bicyclists, I do not enjoy needlessly repairing flats or replacing tubes, I got the Velox rim strip to replace the factory strip. Velox really shouldn't be called a strip, but a cloth tape, and the cloth is very heavy and it has a strong adhesive, so once installed, it isn't going to move.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2014
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This was recommended by the sales lady at Bike Tires Direct

I bought the white rim tape as suggested by the sales person at their on-site store. The white tape allows better visibility of the position of the tube within the rim when fixing a flat to help eliminate pinched tubes. It was a great suggestion. The rim tape was easy to install.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing works better

This is the best. It doesn't wear out or slip for years. It'll protect the tube from any sharp spoke ends.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2013
by Tugs
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia Beach, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A great reliable product at a good price

Velox rim tape is my choice for every type of wheel. Wears well. Easily adjusted. BTD carries a variety of widths, essential when working with a wide variety of rim widths, at a good price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2013
by Jeremy
Casual Cyclist
Southern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Qulaity product, great for high pressure clinchers

I bought this tape because my hybrid rims came with a flimsy rubber rim strip the stretched and let the tube enter the spoke holes and pop. I got the 22mm width which was a tad too wide for my hybrid rims, but it doesn't interfere with the bead. I've rised the pressure more with these to 100psi, no signs of ever failing! This rim tape is a must for any tire with deep spokeholes in aero rims, or anybody tired of inferior rim tape popping tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2014
by oaktowncyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Calif.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
So much better than the rubber that comes on cheap wheels

There's no reason to buy that rubber crap. Stick to what the pros use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2014
by mitre
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good tape

high quality, industry standard.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate of SC.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
the benchmark of rim tape

I have always used this product and never disappointed with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Correct size for 27 rim

I've used this product in the past & its always worked fine. Largest problem is finding a source that stocks it in 10mm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Summerland B.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Still the best way to go

Velox has been THE rimstrip since.. well, I'm dating myself - but despite all the newer plastic alternatives it's still the one I can trust. I've had the slip on plastic ones move around on me and cause a flat more than once. To be fair, the Schwalbe rimstrips seem pretty reliable but you just can't beat the security of the Velox product.

Plus there's a certain vintage cool to a cloth strip, especially one made in France. Even if it's only you that knows its there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.