Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Velox Rim Strip

VeloxRim Strip(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(10)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/7/2022
by Geronimo
Daily Commuter
Radnor, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Rim Tape to stop them leaky tires

Have had an ongoing problem with tires losing air. Since installing the Velox rim strip, I haven't had a problem losing air pressure at all. Was easy to install - the stickum on one side really held it in place. Only negative is that it's made in France. Geronimo is not a big fan of them snooty french...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2020
by acmcguir
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
timeless quality

Nothing has ever replaced this basic rim tape. Plastic rim tape tends to shift exposing the edges of spoke holes causing flats. That is not to say this tape doesn't at times shift, but not like others. Had one actually shift, but easy enough to shift back unlike plastic tape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2021
by BicycleKitty
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Classic rim tape!

I've been a cyclist for a few decades now and have always used the Velox rim tape. I like how nicely it goes on and how the adhesive sticks for a good long time. The best feature is how pale it is, when I replace a tube it's easy to check for pinches because of the white background the Velox provides.

Happy riding!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2021
by SVBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just right!

I am still learning the intricacies of taking care of rims and ensuring I have good tape, tubes, and tires for the best rides and safety. This product was the perfect length and easy for me as a wannabe garage mechanic to install. It was just what I needed and is working well. I recommend using it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by squirtdad
Daily Commuter
San Jose Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The only choice for tubed tire rim tape

Velox rim tape works. That simple and great. Easy to put on, Prevents all the issues that rim tape for tube tire setups is supposed to prevent. I have tried others, including other cloth brands. This is the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2021
by Dan
BYRON
Overall Rating
Excellent.

Great rim strip, great price. Exactaly what I needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2017
by DiabloRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Diablo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great rim tape

I really like this Velox tape, it has adhesive that keeps it in place, which I rely on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2017
by Dirty-D
Cycling Enthusiast
san antonio, tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
bulletproof!

not the lightest, but if you are having problems with your tubes flatting from the inside of your wheels (not tire punctures but ribbing expanding into spoke holes).

This stuff will fix it!

I keep extra rolls of it in in lots of sizes because it is so handy, after a few years of riding a new wheelset, you will need this stuff.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2017
by Jayhawker
Lenexa, Ks
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Tape

Very easy to Use and Helps a Lot from Having Flats. Change Every Year for preventing Flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2019
by MJBurman
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This tape worked perfectly

I replaced my tubes & tires, so I decided to replace the rubber rim strip with a cloth rim strip. I got rid of any possibility of a leak caused by a spoke rubbing against the tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2015
by JfromPO
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
top notch

lighter than rubber and (I know what your thinking) even wrenched duct tape in a high velocity place where grams matter most. Yes, Made in France.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2015
by chuck
Competitive Racer
ma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
best rim tape

many rims come with a thin plastic-like tape, causing flats. I replace it always with this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Melbourne, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install

Does not seem to stick initially but in fact sticks quite well while enables adjustments to have it perfectly centered

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2021
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
Philaelphia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well installation and easy to install

Reasonably priced, so I bought a backup too. This is well made and was easy to install. Good value and quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by Sonoranbird
Casual Cyclist
Ajo, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Quality Heavy Cloth With Strong Adhesive

The two bikes I purchased for strengthening my arthritic knee came with a very light weight rubbery plastic rim strip which I knew in time would cause a tube to blow out. And because like most bicyclists, I do not enjoy needlessly repairing flats or replacing tubes, I got the Velox rim strip to replace the factory strip. Velox really shouldn't be called a strip, but a cloth tape, and the cloth is very heavy and it has a strong adhesive, so once installed, it isn't going to move.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2014
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This was recommended by the sales lady at Bike Tires Direct

I bought the white rim tape as suggested by the sales person at their on-site store. The white tape allows better visibility of the position of the tube within the rim when fixing a flat to help eliminate pinched tubes. It was a great suggestion. The rim tape was easy to install.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nothing works better

This is the best. It doesn't wear out or slip for years. It'll protect the tube from any sharp spoke ends.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/1/2013
by Tugs
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia Beach, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A great reliable product at a good price

Velox rim tape is my choice for every type of wheel. Wears well. Easily adjusted. BTD carries a variety of widths, essential when working with a wide variety of rim widths, at a good price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2013
by Jeremy
Casual Cyclist
Southern Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Qulaity product, great for high pressure clinchers

I bought this tape because my hybrid rims came with a flimsy rubber rim strip the stretched and let the tube enter the spoke holes and pop. I got the 22mm width which was a tad too wide for my hybrid rims, but it doesn't interfere with the bead. I've rised the pressure more with these to 100psi, no signs of ever failing! This rim tape is a must for any tire with deep spokeholes in aero rims, or anybody tired of inferior rim tape popping tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2018
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
The Solution for Latex Tubes

Tried to install latex tubes with OEM rim tape, but that was not successful. Talked with customer service and their recommendation was to use Velox Rim strip.

Received it a few days latter, installed on the wheels in a snap. Problem solved, tubes are doing well and love the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 15

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]