Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
TRP Spyre Post-Mount Mechanical Disc Brake

TRPSpyre Post-Mount Mechanical Disc Brake(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(32%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/19/2023
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
NECa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
looks good; maint SOB

These look nice and should work...havent put mileage on them yet. I like to take things apart, see how it is beneath the surface...they are little SOB's. Better have a fixture as every thing has been torqued very tight. You'll need some feed ramps to get the stirrup lever back on . Still I have high hopes they'll work OK

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
High quality, easily adjustable, good stopping power

I bought this brake to replace a TRP HY RD , which I found to be very hard to re-adjust when changing to beefier wheels. The Spyre allows full adjustment of pads from both sides of the rim making for easy wheel changes.

I use it on the back wheel and find the stopping power more than adequate and in control.

It is a low maintenance brake with a very good value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AdamS

Reviewed 6/10/2022
by AdamS
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Best a Man or Woman can get

These guys make brilliant brakes. Easy to install, and easy to dial in. Even on my old beater bike, which has abused cables etc, this are top notch. Will eventually replace all my brakes with TRP.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Urbana Biker

Reviewed 1/16/2023
by Urbana Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A Worthy Upgrade

Replaced the two outdated brake calipers on my son's 10-year-old MTB (which only moves one brake pad) and noticeably increased braking feel while reducing the annoying rubbing of the brake disc.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/15/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Stopped me

Purchased a set to replace my avids. Noticeable change. My touring bike weighs 265 with me on it and these did very well down long descents

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bryan S

Reviewed 2/16/2015
by Bryan S
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Nearly the best mechanical caliper you can buy

Outstanding product. Works beautifully. Takes a little tweaking to get them dialed in the first time after intial mounting, though, but once you have, they're awesome.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by schrapnel

Reviewed 1/18/2015
by schrapnel
Cycling Enthusiast
Renton, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Working great after 1,800 miles!

The revised version of the Spyre that reached the market over a year ago is a fantastic mechanical brake. I replaced the HYRD on my Salsa Fargo after problems with needing to be bled (TRP did the exchange and was great about it). I like the Spyre so much, I spec'd the brake on my new road bike as well and I'm seriously looking at switching to the Spyke when my Avid hydraulics on the mountain bike need to be rebuilt.

Maintenance is a snap and the individual positioning of each pad using a 3mm hex lets you dial in freeplay to your preference. The original pads were good for over 1,500 miles of heavy commuting. The nearly ubiquitous Shimano M515 pad is interchangeable with the stock pads, so you can choose from many suppliers to get the pad type you want.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/12/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Effective, light and pretty!

Since both pads move, they don't bend the rotors. This allowed me to use the XTR rotors with an aluminum core and heatsinking. The XTR rotors have a very stiff carrier which was clearly not intended to be flexed.

Being able to adjust both pads also makes adjusting t he pad clearance a LOT easier, And they do look really sweet on my black and white Ridley frame!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ed''s Shop

Reviewed 5/3/2019
by Ed''s Shop
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Oh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Should have switched sooner

I took too long to discover these brakes. Totally eliminates fiddling and that annoying squeak whenever you remount your wheel. Replacement was vey simple. Cables were a perfect match to my old Avids. The entire install was less than 20 minutes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Basement Troll mechanic

Reviewed 1/3/2019
by Basement Troll mechanic
Competitive Racer
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Came with a rotor too

Bought a flat mount for the rear and a post mount for the front. Thought it was odd that the post mount cost about $25 more. When it arrived, it came with a rotor. This was not obvious from the description. So now I have a spare. These brakes work quite well for a mechanical disc. Easy to adjust.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Reviewed 12/4/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
TRP Spyre mechanical disc calipers - a solid upgrade to my commuter

I replaced the stock disc brake calipers on my commuter bike with the TRP Spyre and I am very pleased with the improved braking performance. The dual pad actuation is a noticeable improvement over what I had on there. Installation and adjustment were relatively simple. Great product!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/24/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
I found these a big improvement over my stock components

Upgraded my stock setup which made noise no matter what I tried. Paired these Spyre�s with some Paul cantilevers and OMG night and day difference, and they are quiet. Easy to set up too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DT

Reviewed 3/19/2019
by DT
Portland
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good product, for a cable brake

So far so good. These calipers replaced 6 year old Avid BB5s. They are certainly much easier to adjust than the BB5s. They have not squealed or otherwise made a horrible noise when used. They have done a decent job of shedding to muck of a winter commuter. They are not as powerful as I had hoped, but they are only cable actuated. I will replace my brake housings over the summer and that may help. I am still on my first set of pads so I cant say much on durability yet, but they dont seem any worse than BB5s. I am guessing they should be a bit better since they pull more uniformly from both sides and are easier to adjust so they dont rub. All in all a good brake if you have to go with a cable.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ricky

Reviewed 5/21/2015
by Ricky
Portland
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to adjust but be mindful if you're a bit heavy

I love these brakes and I will always buy them for disc road bikes or cross bikes. The only thing that sucks is that they are a bit burly and if you press on the handlebars too hard whole you're mashing away the spokes may flex and hit the brake itself. Aside from that these brakes are easy to adjust and way better than the Hayes cx expert brakes I had.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/3/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best Mechanical Disc

I have been running TRP Spyre brakes on a gravel race bike for a year now. I have several other bikes with the BB7 brakes and the TRP has far better modulation and the big plus is wheel changes don't require adjustment for each wheel change like the BB7. I will be converting my cyclocross bike to the TRP brakes this year.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Boldaddy

Reviewed 11/14/2013
by Boldaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best mechanical disc brake yet!

I am very impressed with these brakes. I have another bike with Avid bb7 brakes.

Setup was super easy - much easier than the avids. I haven't worn them down enough to find out how the pads last or hold adjustment.

The barrel adjust is also a nice plus.

I'm going to replace the Avids on my other bike with these, or their hydraulic version.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spokes

Reviewed 6/26/2021
by Spokes
spokane wa
Overall Rating
Very good product

These calipers are a vital part of a budget gravel build. With a good rotor they have plenty of power when broken-in. Very hilly commute.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bill

Reviewed 5/24/2021
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best disc brakes for the cost

Installed on our tandems

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by treat_yo_self

Reviewed 2/15/2018
by treat_yo_self
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Brakes Real Good

Straightforward to set up. Includes rotor. Good modulation for mechanical disc brake. 2-piston design is a game changer. Downside is you need to use the more expensive compressionless brake housing or they will feel lousy.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]