FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Topeak SmartHead Hose Upgrade Kit

TopeakSmartHead Hose Upgrade Kit(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(5)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(56%)
(28%)
(11%)
(6%)
(0%)
Reviewed 3/14/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I thought this would cure the leak . . .

I thought this would be the fix for my Joe Blow floor pump, but it didn't do the trick. While the locking mechanism on the replacement functions much better than the original hose, this hose's plastic threaded fastener cracked when I screwed it onto the hose mount of the old pump. So now I'm using the new hose and head with an old piece from the original hose. This isn't what I was hoping for at all and it still leaks at the hose mount. I don't know . . .I'll probably end up buying a new pump, but this was kind of a wast of money and effort in the long run.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2017
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
this is a big leg up on the original.

it is a tire pump

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2017
by Bikermike
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice product

Needed to replace an old head and picked this one from the reviews. Easy to install and the longer hose is a plus. The head seals welland locks on securely. This works best with smooth vs. threaded stems. It takes a bit more effort to pull the head off. The only knock I have is that the locking lever could be a tad easier to access but, this minor. I would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/14/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Replacement head for my JoeBlow pump

I thought this would resolve my pump's leak at the connection point between the hose and the pump, but it is still there. However, the lever for attachingdetaching from the valve stem is way better than the original. This wasn't quite the solution I was seeking, but it is at least an improvement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2015
by Zatoichi
Cycling Enthusiast
Sierra Foothills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The cure for a broken floor pump.

After I broke the chuck on my Specialized floor pump, I decided to try this kit. Very well made, easily installed and much cheaper than a new floor pump (my Specialized pump now works better than it did before). I'll probably buy another to upgrade my JoeBlow Sport.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Okay for presta, no good for schrader.

The whole idea of a single head adapting to two different stem diameters seems suspect and my experience supports this. It was always extremely difficult to use on schrader and since the rubber seal gets squashed hard when sealing against the larger diameter schrader stem the seal soon failed. Then it was worthless for both stem types. It worked well for presta alone though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2014
by K
Cycling Enthusiast
eastern wa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent idea

Lot better than the stock one on my Zephal floor pump. The stock head broke the first week and this one is much better built! Easy to install and saved me from buying a new floor pump. I like this connecter that can be used on all valve types.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2013
by Anonymous
Southwestern Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
More zoom from tires pumped to spec

Pump heads don't last forever. I keep a spare head at hand so I'm always ready to go. I'd rather ride than be frustrated with a worn out head.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2012
by LA RecumbentRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
An excellent and cost-effective solution for most worn-out floor pump problems.

I had three floor pumps in my garage, two of which were inoperative because of worn-out heads or hoses. Otherwise, they seemed OK. Neither were Topeak products. Both were expensive when new. I took a flyer, and ordered one Topeak Smarthead upgrade kit, to see if it would work on my non-Topeak floor pumps. To my pleasure and surprise...it worked on both. The upgrade kit comes with a variety of connection plugs from the hose to the pump, evidently with the idea in mind that there are many good brands of floor pumps , most of which have specific connection plugs. Not only did the upgrade kit fit my non-Topeak floor pumps , the Smarthead is a major upgrqde in and of itself. I ordered a second upgrade kit. It is a great bargain, and a true upgrade in convenience and performance. I highly recommend it .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2012
by CJONES
Competitive Racer
Huntington Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great replace for OEM Pump Head

My pump head broke on my old pump. I saved a lot of money by replacing the pump head with the Topeak Smarthead. Now I can pump up my tires again for the price of a inexpensive pump. I like the Topeak SmartHead.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2012
by mayday4scott
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very easy retrofit

I received the smarthead hose kit and found all the necessary parts to complete the install onto my existing pump. The head works flawlessly and the hose is longer than the one I replaced which is a nice addition. Well worth the money to save a pump that is otherwise fully funcdtional.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/17/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
chicago il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
simple and quick replacement

Used it to replace a worn put pump head, so i did not have to use any of the convertable fitting for use with other pump brands. Easy to change and cheaper than a new pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Better than buying a new pump!

I had a leak in the head of my pump and instead of trashing it I replaced the head...works like new and now I have a spare hose too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Tucson Az
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent buy

Saved a old pump from the dumpster. This thing works great, a great value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
LA,Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A must have upgrade !

I had the original hose and this was something I should have done a long time ago.

This replaces the Joe Blow hose assembly without the adapters and makes life easier.

Having the other hardware makes sense for alternate modifications.Not cheap,but worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2009
by Birdfish
Berkeley CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Works like a charm

What the heck, I thought, I got a perfectly good pump body with a bad head from a company that doesn't exist anymore. Well I'm glad I gave it a try. The install took less than 15 minuets, it works good, and all for under 20 bucks. My only gripe is that you must use the locking lever on both presta and schrader, so it takes a little longer to top up than a Silca style head, but since I've got other gear that has schrader valves this is a very good compromise.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2015
by Randi
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Overall Rating
Pump works like new again

Topeak stopped making my easy to read digital gauge pump that beeps when it reaches the correct pressure long ago. I'm a bit of a hippie so buying a new pump that otherwise works fine is against my religion. I replaced the interior smarthead parts about four years ago at a much cheaper price. It was, however, a lot of work! Replacing the entire head and hose is much easier and cheaper than buying a new pump. Pump works like new again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works great, no problems, shipping was on time....

Works great, no problems, shipping was on time....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.