Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Thomson Elite Seatpost

ThomsonElite Seatpost(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 3/9/2009
by WebGeek
Cycling Enthusiast
Mountain View CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
Well made, solid, as easy as it gets. Awesome!

The Thomson seatposts are beautifully crafted and incredibly easy to adjust. The surface is very slightly roughened so it's easy to adjust but still rock solid.

The two-bolt configuration makes it cake to get your position exactly right and there's really precise markings on everything so you can read measurements right off of it to set up your next bike.

The weight is great too--you'd have to go to carbon at double the price to get much lighter than this. I'd use this post on any bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2012
by chris (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Vancouver, WA
Overall Rating
The Best

pThey're not carbon fiber, and they don't have a complex single-bolt adjustment, but the Thomson Elite seatpost is the go-to seatpost when you just want something that works.p

pI've used multiple Elites for many years and never been disappointed. Moreoever, I've sold Thomson Elite seatposts for a whole lot of years and have really only ever seen one warranty claim-and even that resulted from someone driving the bike into the side of a house while it was on the roof of his car. They're quite strong.p

pMy own unscientific testing involved clamping one of those half-bikes for pulling kids to a Thomson Elite, then attaching a trailer pulling two more kids to the half bike and doing a 20-mile ride that included some small but steep climbs and descents. Never, ever do this, by the way.p

pI towed this Train From Hell multiple times, usually with the 'cross bike, but always with a Thomson Elite. I would never have even tried it with another seatpost.p

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by iammikeDOTorg
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Stronger, lighter, and cheaper than most carbon - why buy anything else?

Simply the best seat posts out there. Instant install on every bike I buy. Light, strong as hell, good looking, outstanding craftsmanship, and half the price of something carbon. You could shave 20g on a VERY high-end carbon post, but is the cost and reliability really worth it?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Quality seatpost

It does what it is supposed to do and does it well. It looks good as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2015
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Indiana
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lightweight and attractive

Purchased the Thomson Elite Seatpost on a whim. I read the reviews and looked at various seatposts. Just to clarify, I am a recreational rider 100 or more miles per week. Actually was excited to get it. When it arrived, compared it with my stock seatpost and of course, no comparison. The weight difference was noticeable and the look is so classy. Goes great with my Brooks saddle.

I think I may be a bike freak or geek.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/2/2014
by Wild Bill 6949
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA
Overall Rating
Nice seat post

Though expensive, this is the go-to seat post when carbon isn't appropriate. I like the saddle adjustment, too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2014
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love it!

First setback post, nice change, easy to adjust seat tilt, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2017
by Bikingken
Cycling Enthusiast
Lewisville, TX
Overall Rating
Quality seat post

Used on gravel grinder, must have for saddles with oval rails, very adjustable. Top quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2013
by Chris
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
What more do you want?

Good-looking, light enough and strong. Thomson got it right the first time. I don't even bother thinking about it New bikes get Thomson stems and posts and King headsets. Move along, nothing to see here....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2013
by Rsherbak
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best seatpost. handsdown

If you know seatposts, this is the best. If you don't, upgrade. You'll be pleasantly surprised by the ease of adjustment and simple looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2012
by crittersteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Waynesville, NC
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent, fast service, with the best price I could find...all good

I can't find anything bad about the Thompson Elite seat post except I think I prefer a single bolt tightening rather than the two-bolt system, which I realize gives you much finer adjustment of the seat angle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2012
by Bryan
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Rock-solid seatpost!

This post replaced a stock carbon post on my road bike, and actually weighs less than the carbon- first plus.

The two-bolt adjustment makes it very easy to get the saddle to my exact position for a comfortable ride-second plus.

The clamping length is about 15mm longer than my old post, which holds the saddle rails much better-third plus.

The clamp works with the oval carbon rails on my Selle Italia saddle- fourth plus.

And if all that is not enough, the clamp and bolts are replaceable.

It's not the cheapest post, but for my needs it is the best.

Does aluminum transfer more road vibration than carbon? Not that I can tell.

Bottom line great post, stylish, worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2012
by Zack
Casual Cyclist
Emmaus,Pa.18049
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Made and crafted so good ,you have one on every bike that you own.

Thomson seatpost rock,you won't find another seatpost that is made with higher standards and durability for the long haul.Zack 3-15-2012

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
south east idaho
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
fast shipping, and a great price. will use them again.

I put this seat post on my Salsa Mukluk snow bike. I like everything about this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2012
by Hootie
Western CO
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
None better!

Put this on my Soma Double Cross. Excellent adjustment! Top of the line!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/3/2011
by Roy
Competitive Racer
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
All you should want or need in a seatpost

Ive had the same Thomson stems and seatposts on 2 of my bikes for 7 years. They looks great and simple, and most importantly work perfectly. A great example of a part you buy and never really have to replace or upgrade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 91

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]