Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Third Eye Bar End Mirror

Third EyeBar End Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(71 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(39)
(22)
(5)
(1)
(4)
(55%)
(31%)
(7%)
(1%)
(6%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Wally

Reviewed 5/20/2023
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
almost perfect

A really good mirror. Takes a bit of getting used to avoiding my left leg when off the bike walking or whatever.

Good view when riding.

Downside: Very poor screwhead on the pivot bolt. Easy to damage, soft metal, shallow slot.

Suggestion: I wanted to make it more secure, but not permanent. I disassembled the pivot, put rubber cement on the faces, reassembled, adjusted, let it dry. Hasn't moved since even when bumped. And if I need to change it, the rubber cement will give.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Reviewed 4/10/2023
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Prov idence, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent value

I placed the mirror on the left bar end of my drop bars. The pack offers two sizes of rubber plug that fit inside the bar. These are contracted and thereby tightened with a screw that attaches the mirror assembly. The large plug was too big and the small was too small for my bike, a Marin with what looks like a standard bar to me. Eventually, I banged the big plug in most of the way with a mallet and was able to tighten it down. It's been very secure. The mirror optics are fine and it stays steady once positioned. It's a small mirror, so If I shift my position significantly I have to adjust the mirror. That's reasonably easy to do while riding.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rassy

Reviewed 1/18/2018
by Rassy
Casual Cyclist
Eugene, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good quality mirrors I adapted to a tadpole trike.

I've purchased and installed several Third Eye Bar End Mirrors in the past, but these were installed on a tadpole trike and not intended to be used in the bar ends. I added a small piece of angle aluminum to each fender mount on the tadpole, took the mirror base apart and removed the bar end pieces, replaced the bolt with a shorter one with a Nylock nut, and attached the adjustable mirror head to the angle aluminum so that the mirrors are mounted directly over the front fenders. Worked out great. The mirrors look good and are out of the way. And of course they provide excellent rear vision which is really needed on a tadpole trike because it's very difficult to turn and look back in the form fitting seat.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Flatlander

Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Less Vibration than Any Other Mirror I've Tried

I was most impressed with how little this mirror vibrates while riding. I'm not an engineer, but I think that's because there's almost no stem. Screwed tightly into handlebars, just like they said. Mine came with three different sized rubber expander sleeves, but not a lot of instructions, so it took a little experimenting to get it right.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sarkozi

Reviewed 5/22/2023
by Sarkozi
saline Mi
Overall Rating
Easy setup, works well!

This mirror is on my road bike. It�s a nice size but not too big. Super easy install!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ATL rider

Reviewed 8/17/2021
by ATL rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Should have installed years ago

I ride a lot in Atlanta traffic. I've pondered this mirror for years, and now I have no idea why I was suspicious. I guess because I never saw Miguel Indurain use one. This mirror weighs nothing, costs little, installs in seconds, and does not vibrate, so you can scan the road behind you with a quick glance. It takes about two seconds to appreciate it. It is especially nice because there are now many electric cars in the city.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/16/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good mirror

Works well dose its job better than

Others than ive tryed...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works okay but I can't recommend

So it works, that's good, but it's far from ideal. It needs to be micro-adjusted to really give you the view you need, but it's not easy to adjust and once adjusted it doesn't want to stay in place.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jon

Reviewed 4/14/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This has been a life-changer on my work commutes.

It never occurred to me to have a mirror before I started riding to work 2-3 a week. Now, I can't see how I ever got by without it. I just adjust it however slightly is necessary to get a good rearside view. This allows me to know when vehicles are coming up from behind, but the real difference I've found is when I've got to execute left turns or merge to a left turn lane. One little awkward bit is that when I'm in the drops, the mirror is in the way of my wrist. But that is a minor inconvenience when compared to the overall benefits of having a clear view of what's behind at all times without craning my head around and losing visibility of what's ahead at the same time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roi Hillkeeper

Reviewed 4/22/2021
by Roi Hillkeeper
Cycling Enthusiast
Kona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works Just Fine on my Drop Bars

Installed and went for a short ride to test it out. Could easily see traffic approaching from the rear; much better than my small helmet mounted mirror. Safety is becoming a bigger issue as it seems cyclists are having to avoid increasing numbers of inattentive/distracted drivers. This tool may save my life one day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/5/2016
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Roswell NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very good mirror!!

For the price it is a real good deal. I did have to shim it to make it fit in the dropbars I have . It works good I can see vehicles coming up from behind me better than I did with the other cheap mirror I had. Does take a little getting use to looking down but I can see what is behind me. Good price Good product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/12/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Collierville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Little Mirrir

I use this mirror on my road bike. It took me a while to get it adjusted properly, but once I did it functions well. It's not obtrusive and remains steady even when riding on bumpy terrain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chainlink

Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Chainlink
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This mirror is OK, but not as versitle as other makes.

I bought this to try it out. I'm using this mirror at the end of the tube of a drop handlebar. I was able to find a position that is functional, but additional articulation would make this product more useful. Possibly it works better on other style handlebars; I haven't tried that yet. On another bike with a drop handlebar, I have an old-style Mirrycle through which the brake cable passes. I prefer the Mirrycle mirror.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Proware

Reviewed 5/1/2015
by Proware
Cycling Enthusiast
Des Moines, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
It works!

I won't ride out on the streets without a mirror and this mirror (3rd Eye Barend Mirror) works great! I have it on all of my bikes too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/17/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Myers, FL.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bought for my wifes bike - easy install and has great clear vision.

Needed a new mirror for my wives bike. This was a good value and offers great vision while on the rode.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Walt

Reviewed 11/24/2014
by Walt
Cycling Enthusiast
Ajo, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Hi-quality, stays adjusted, with no vibration, and will not scratch.

In today's hi tech world of cell phones, texting, and GPS, drivers are more distracted than we know. And you never know what the driver will do with that technology as they are approaching from the rear. You absolutely have to be able to see what is going on behind you as you bicycle. This mirror is the tops. Clear, scratch proof glass with a wide enough angle, but not yet to wide, as to make vehicles appear too distant. Solid mounting inside end of handlebar assures no vibration at all. Get this mirror!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Walt

Reviewed 11/18/2014
by Walt
Cycling Enthusiast
Ajo, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A Rear View Handlebar Mirror That Surpasses In Quality All Other MIrrors

They call this a 3rd Eye mirror, and that it is. You get very clear, bright & full view of traffic behind you with no vibration at all. The mirror mounts easily and reliably and has been engineered very well, very sturdy, easily adjustable while riding. Its real glass so it's easy to keep sparkling clean, and of course will not scratch as do cheap plastic mirrors. Considering how well built this mirror is, it is surprising light weight. If you don't presently have a rear view handlebar mirror, get this one. You'll be more at ease and confident on the road, and most of all safe. Because one never knows what is going on inside the vehicle approaching you. Have fun and Safe cycling!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Roanoke Valley Biker

Reviewed 9/19/2014
by Roanoke Valley Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Roanoke Rapids, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great safety accessory!

Great safety accessory! Fits great, works as it should. Provides a sense of security to know what is behind you, while riding your bike. Liked it so much, I bought one for my wife's bike, too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Welcome to MN

Reviewed 7/15/2014
by Welcome to MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good value, works well, but needs to mount higher

Like the reviewer who added electrical conduit to the getup, I will report being satisfied with everything but this mirror's position. I don't like having to move my head down to view it - if it were a few inches higher I would only need to move my eyes. Moreover, in the winter my gloved hand obscures about half the view of the mirror and I can see the end of the shockcord on my gauntlet dangling in view. I might try the Myrricle model that is the same size but already has an adjustable arm. For a few dollars more, it would be easier and cleaner than figuring out how to make electrical parts fit on a bike handle!

I'm a commuter, since the options below don't list that. Nothing casual about it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BikinMike

Reviewed 6/10/2014
by BikinMike
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
large, stable view behind

I've tried many different kinds of rear view mirrors. I found the helmet/glasses mirrors to be annoying. Most handlebar mirrors shake and vibrate a lot and thus don't give a clear view of the road. I've tried a small bar end mirror, but the view was also small. This one is stable and big enough to provide a useable view behind. I use it on a racing style bike (purists, I know, will scoff), but there are too many distracted drivers on the road and I want to be able to see what is coming.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 24

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]