Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Spurcycle Original Bell

SpurcycleOriginal Bell(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(131 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(123)
(6)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(94%)
(5%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A must have item that I use frequently on every ride

I have this bell in the "raw" color on my road bike and have had it for almost 2 years now. The build quality and durability of this bell is second to none. The tone and volume of the ring of this bell is perfect and it does the job well. Even on a road bike, when you have walkers, runners, other riders that you need to alert of your presence, this bell does the trick. I pretty much use it on every ride and while you can simply tell people "on your left" - you can save your breath by simply using this bell and people seem to appreciate it as well.

I would like to add that my wife and I recently purchased gravel bikes and while we wanted bells for those bikes, in order to saves some money we decided to try the knock off bell from Amazon.com. After using both bells for almost 6 months now, while the knock of bell is not built as solid as the Spurcycle bell, the knock off bell does the trick and we've had zero issues with it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Beautiful tone, loud, and doesn''t look dorky

This is obviously a lot of money to spend on a bell, but this bell is beautifully made, very discrete, and has a gorgeous tone that is easy to hear from a distance.

It is a bit of a pain to mount, but once mounted it stays in place and works well. I now have three of these - my two oldest have been on my wife and my commuter bikes for several years and still look and work as good as they did when new.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CaryO

Reviewed 7/28/2022
by CaryO
Williamsburg VA
Overall Rating
Love it!

Small, easy to install, effective bell. I rode in my neighborhood and rang the bell to see how someone I know wearing ear phones would respond - from 75 feet away he looked around. I am sure he felt the vibrations! So cool!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Terry S

Reviewed 7/28/2022
by Terry S
Casual Cyclist
Bay City, MI.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very high quality hand made bell.

My new Kepler electric bike just arrived, and I wanted the best bell I could find for it. I found it here at Bike Tires Direct for a really low price. Love this bell, it has a quality ring to it. Up to 100 decibels loud. Got it in black to match my bike. Quick free shipping too!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sisophous

Reviewed 9/7/2019
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love it!!!!

I placed mine on the drop bar (over 2.5 Lizard Skin Handlebar tape) using the shorter strap so I can access it from the top or bottom bar. The bell is tiny yet loud. It is also warranted for life. No more yelling out ON YOUR LEFT or ON YOUR RIGHT. For someone not to hear this bell they have to either be deaf or blasting music into their earphones.

NOTE You need to have a 2.5 mm Hex tool to assemble this item. It is not provided by the company. All that comes in the box is the bell and two straps.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike in Richland

Reviewed 7/5/2019
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
Richland, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
You can ring my bell.

I have two of these bells - one on my commuter bike, and one on my road bike. I initially bought one for my commuter as I often ride on combination pedestrianbike paths here in Richland, WA. The bell sounds so clear, and the sound really carries to pedestrians and bikers. I put one on my road bike, as I start most of my rides in town. However, once out of town, I use the bell to say hello to other bikers on the road. I also bought one for my wife for her commuting bike, and she loves it. So much so that she says to me (creditcopyright to Frederick Knight)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

The night is young

And full of possibilities

Well, come on and let yourself be free, yeah

My love for you (love for you, love for you)

So long I've been savin'

Tonight was made for me and you

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ding-dong-ding)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ring-a-ring-a-ring)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ding-dong-ding)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PATOLIN470

Reviewed 3/7/2019
by PATOLIN470
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great sound but the holding strapS really sucks.

I decided to buy this particular EXPENSIVE bell just because they had a limited edition Chris King version of it, so I though this will be a good product, like I said on the review summary, the sound is great but they really need to work on how you hold the bell on the bars, they ship it with only 2 different size spring metal straps that do not work because metal simply does not grip on smooth surfaces unless is tighten with a screw, which in this case a screw is not existent. Also they definitely would not work on taper bars like the ones most mountain bikes have.

Long story short I was about to return it, but I improvised a way to make it work.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fatherof3onMI

Reviewed 1/8/2019
by Fatherof3onMI
Cycling Enthusiast
Merecer Isalnd, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Clear as a bell!

The sound is wonderful. Only need to ring it once and it carries. Finally a bell that chimes and sounds mature (like the rider on the bike ringing it). Seriously, a friend in Portland turned me on to this bell. All the cool bike riders should have one. It is expensive, so likely out of many riders' price range, but worth the splurge. When you have bought and paid for all the bikes, kits, wheels, etc. you will ever need , then this is the bell to buy!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ben t

Reviewed 2/28/2022
by ben t
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The best bell

I've got one of these on each bike. I tried different bells, but nothing compares to this one. It's rare to find someone listening to their music loud enough that this doesn't cut through it. Install is simple, they look good and they tuck up with the bar well enough on the mountain bikes to not get damaged in wrecks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dennis P.

Reviewed 11/23/2018
by Dennis P.
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
love this bell

I had a hard time paying so much money for a bell but did a lot of research and decided to give this one a try. I wanted a nice looking bell that was not big but delivered a high quality, loud, pleasant chime to be used on my CAAD 10 road bike. When I opened the box, the bell is small in size. It is about the same diameter as my handlebars and very unobtrusive when mounted. I love the tone as it is clear, loud and pleasant and very long lasting. But be warned that ringing it over and over in the house soon wares on wifes nerves no mater how pleasant it sounds to you. I purchased this because I ride the Silver Comet trail and in Atlanta area there are a lot of trail users walking, jogging and riding. I was tired of always saying coming up on your left. My first ride out, the bell worked great. Found that I could ring it once far enough back that people had time to respond and the lenght of the chime would ensure that they could hear it as I approached closer if they didnt hear the initial start of the ring. Everyone seemed to respond positive to the bell whether they were a walker, jogger or other cyclist. This bell has been exposed to rain and riding for the past year and still looks as good as when I purchased it. Just a last note, every once in a while riding I will just ring the bell to hear the chime. Is it expensive, yes. Is it quality, Yes. Would I buy it again, oh yah. Will I have too, probably not as I expect it to last a lifetime.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/30/2018
by Anonymous
los angeles
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Spur cycle x Chris King ring?

Best and loudest bell pound for pound. I love the quality behind spur cycle and initially was hesitant to spend the money for a bell but it has come in handy on rides and is loud for the size!

The Chris king edition with the red hammer was a nice touch to match my bike. Otherwise no difference functionality wise between this and the regular spurcycle bell

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jason

Reviewed 7/17/2017
by Jason
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Beautiful and Loud

I love these bells. I have as many as I have bicycles. I bought the first for my commuter bike. I found it so handy to have that I put them on all my bikes. They are barely noticeable but clearly audible, even in city traffic and crowded shared-use paths. They are easy to install with clips for small and large diameter handle bars. They are also virtually indestructible.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by UTdude

Reviewed 7/10/2017
by UTdude
Cycling Enthusiast
Wasatch Front
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best bell for me!

Last two bells I've had were too quiet and made with plastic parts that failed. I heard this bell and had to have one, and it is made of real metal with a cool resonance. You can dampen the ring with a finger for a subtle respectful ring, or really ding it to be heard over someone's death metal mix. Kinda spendy but I'm sick of buying stuff that won't stand up for the distance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/26/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
best quality minimalist classic bell

rock brothers and others are copying this but the quality of spurcycles is way better.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by oldirondog

Reviewed 6/26/2017
by oldirondog
Cycling Enthusiast
so cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
a crisp loud ring

use every day on my road bike

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BudgetPrivateer

Reviewed 7/30/2021
by BudgetPrivateer
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The sweet musical notes of overpriced indulgence

It is a bell. When you press a lever with your thumb you get a high pitch ring. It is not particularly loud. The mounting and design are top-notch and well done. I wish it was louder too.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Djgratz

Reviewed 6/5/2017
by Djgratz
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Yout have to try it to believe it!!

The tone on this bell is unbelievably melodic, and the sustain is way longer than any other bike bell I've ever heard. Despite the higher than typical price, I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. Plus it's made in the USA, something you don't see often for this type of product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FamilyMan

Reviewed 6/6/2017
by FamilyMan
Toronto, Canada
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great sound

Works as promised - the 'ping' just lasts and lasts

So good that my better half took the first one so I had to get a second one.

Fitting was straightforward - two different length metal 'straps' provided

Not inexpensive - but rewarded every time I use it

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/12/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay area, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Beautiful sound, subtle look, a bit tricky to install

I bought two of these, one for my bike and one for my wife's. The first took me 5 minutes to install, the second about 45 seconds. You have to make sure the little band is in the right position, and it's not that obvious from looking at the Ikea-like instructions. It's easier to get it started, then rotate the bell into the final position before tightening.

Once on, it looks and works great. Other riders and pedestrians seem to pay a lot more attention to the bell then a shout, and seem to respect it more as well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LocalDog2

Reviewed 2/16/2017
by LocalDog2
Cycling Enthusiast
West Swampland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Ding, ding, ding as it should, with clarity but not too alarming

Bought it, Would buy it again. It's a great dinger.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]