Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Spurcycle Original Bell

SpurcycleOriginal Bell(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(131 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(123)
(6)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(94%)
(5%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by JPBiker

Reviewed 10/6/2023
by JPBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Western New York State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent bell

Though a high priced bell, it has proven its worth. During slow rolls, it greets residents along local streets with a clear and melodic ring that trails off in a long simmering sound. After hundreds of bell strikes during these rides, it is clearly one of the best noise makers among the riding group.

The green accent to the bell striker against the black body of the bell quickly provides a visual locator to ensure the bell is utilized at the right moment. It is impressive how effective the bell alarm is received by trail users, especially pedestrians. Again, pricing is bit high for such a small item, but one has the confidence that the bell will perform flawlessly for years to come and it operates as advertised.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/14/2023
by Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
The best bell I've tried

Other reviews really sum it up well already. Well made, clear and loud bell sound, and priced appropriately as I haven't found anything that competes.

A bit expensive, yes, but I expect this bell will probably outlive me and it is easily the best bell I've ever used.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/15/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent bell made of quality materials.

The only downside to this bell is the price tag. That said, it is built solidly and from high quality materials. The last word for this type of bell.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/20/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Like the spurcycle bell have always wanted one I�m waiting for a new bike that I ordered so I can install on it.

I haven�t put it on yet waiting for a new bike that I ordered but have seen these on other bikes and always wanted one.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tech Enthusiast

Reviewed 8/25/2023
by Tech Enthusiast
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Phenomenal bell!

You can tell by the many corroborating reviews that indeed, the quality of this work of art is worth the cost. It embodies form and function without compromise. Walkers and runners on the trail hear the piercing pitch through headphones and earbuds tens of yards away. I own two of these now.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rc4theking

Reviewed 10/27/2022
by rc4theking
Competitive Racer
Argyle, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
This Bell is Awesome!

When sharing a trail with runners/walkers, I have found the Spurcycle bell is awesome in being heard, even with earbuds in. Safety first with a sleek look!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
This bell is fantastic. The craftsmanship is impeccable. Sounds great as well!

I use this commuting as well as on MTB trails. It's plenty loud and not a harsh sound at all. I will be getting another for my wife's bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Loudest clean and clear sound

Love this bell, so melodic and LOUD. Clear crisp sound, gets attention in friendly way

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PK-Cyclist

Reviewed 6/4/2018
by PK-Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Very Pricey But Worth It

This bell is at the pinnacle of all bells. First, the sound is amazing: loud but not obnoxious, crystal clear and resonates seemingly forever. Esthetically, it's museum worthy. Functionally, it simply works every time effortlessly. It took me forever to pull the trigger due to the high price but glad I did. If you have a bike you love, treat it w this one of a kind bell.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bikerbabe

Reviewed 10/27/2023
by Bikerbabe
Little Rock
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Bike alarm

Love my alarm. It is perfect for Carbon handlebars

Sounds good also.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Grapes :)

Reviewed 6/18/2022
by Grapes :)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It's now the year 2022 and I am ready to give you my two cents worth review....Enter the Spurcycle Better Bell. I purchased my bell way back when ... circa 2016 and have logged in over 10,000 miles of riding with the Spurcycle Bell attached to my bike. The bell has withstood the test of time and the elements of the Pacific NW. As for the function, it has a very nice ring to it, with a ton of sustain to carry to garner the attention of whoever is around you. I have used to alert other bicyclists, pedestrians and motorists. The sound of the bell commands respects as long as you don't mind having to ring several times or more. In essence, it has saved my voice and provided me with a margin of safety to alert and collision avoidance. Aesthetically, its top notch, well designed, plus it's made here in the USA. Lastly, the install with simple and easy.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TomRidesBikes

Reviewed 6/4/2022
by TomRidesBikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia Metro Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Possibly the finest bell in the market!

It's not inexpensive but it is GREAT. Love this bell. Own three of them for different bikes (so I do not have to move the bell between bikes). Bell has a very unique, high quality sound with a long decay. Striker is high quality and supports loud thru soft ringing based on the energy you put into it. It is also compact in size (does not take a lot of space on the bar) and the mounting is very innovative and highly secure. The black finish holds up VERY well to rain, bike washes and salt air rides and stays at the beach. Here is when you know you have a great bell.... MANY riders, walkers, runners, dog walkers have complimented me on its sound. "Wow, nice bell!" is not uncommon to hear from people I am passing. It sure beats yelling "On your left" 100's of times on crowded/busy recreation trails! Highly recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 10/5/2023
by John
Viera, Fl
Overall Rating
Nicest bell

Its a very small bell and over engineered. Sounds outstanding and quality is superb. It goes dingggggggggg!!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MG_CHI

Reviewed 4/16/2023
by MG_CHI
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love this bell

Love this bell and the crisp, clear sound that it has. Listening to many other bells before getting this one. Quality is super high on this bell. Solid, solid solid.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mv

Reviewed 8/24/2023
by mv
las vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
smallest, loudest bell

Well made, functional worth extra cost

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Reviewed 7/22/2021
by Jim
omaha
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This bell gets attention

I do a lot of trail riding and I've tried several bells to announce my presence as I approach slower traffic. This bell gets by far the best response. It has a very sharp tone resembling a tuning fork. I have recommended it to several fellow bicyclists and will continue to do so.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/26/2023
by Anonymous
Rome Italy
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best bell - period.

This bell is absolute top quality. Clear, piercing, long last ring every time, any temperature, all weather. Ruffed construction and high quality precision construction. Simply the best out there. Worth the price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Evan Trent

Reviewed 3/8/2021
by Evan Trent
Daily Commuter
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Bell, Outrageously Expensive

The Spurcycle Better Bicycle Bell is an excellent bell, well designed, allows for multiple mounting positions and has a very pleasing tone. I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for the overall rating because the bell is not as loud as I'd prefer. It's loud "enough", but for $59 it should be the best darn bell ever made with volume to spare.

It's outrageously expensive for what it is, which is why I gave it 3 stars for value rating. It probably should be 2 stars for overall value, but the bell does what I need in terms of alerting other riders when I need to pass. I also really like the mounting system and small overall footprint. If the bell proves to be durable and long-lasting, and it does not need to be replaced in my lifetime, then I'd say it's good value for money.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nc3man

Reviewed 1/23/2021
by nc3man
Cycling Enthusiast
Solana Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not only better, but the BEST.

I have had many bells over the years and this is the best. It is neat and unobtrusive. The ring is so pleasant and long. Even a small flick for certain situations works perfectly. The black bell on my lovely black Synapse is not an impediment at all to looking cool. I've used it for ~6 months, the time that other bells I've used give out, and the superb craftsmanship should make this last as long as I ride this bike.

I looked at a couple of negative reviews and concluded they couldn't figure out how to mount it as it tightens completely against the bar with the simple hex bolt that effectively changes the length of the strap to tighten it down. I will admit that I scratched my head over it for a few minutes, so perhaps slightly better instructions to hand-hold the less mechanically inclined might give this 100% 5-star reviews.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Anonymous
massachusetts, on the Cape
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great bell

I often ride on rail trails. There are often other users, people walking, runners etc. the bell is loud, but not over bearing. It creates a pleasant tone. It clearly alerts people I am over taking. It is easier on my lungs to ring the bell than to call out �on your left� from 25 to 30 meters out from whom I am overtaking. I highly recommend the bell. Note: I opted for the silver vs the black. Personal feeling I am tired of all the blacked out components!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]