Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
SKS B53 Commuter II Fender Set

SKSB53 Commuter II Fender Set(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(56%)
(33%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Dicimon Arustavi
Daily Commuter
SE Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Second pair in a few months

I have two pairs of these one for a Wabi classic fixed gear, another for my Fuji crosstown hybrid. Both bikes had a few issues with the hardware provided, with a few of the bolt on sections either not aligning with my frame and requiring a zip-tie instead (actually a snugger fit, but they tend to be frowned upon in the cycling community), the bolt just fell off due to short length, or the bolts were too short to pass through the fork and I needed to go buy longer bolts at the hardware store.

With some simple ingenuity they seem to work well as long as the clearance is correct, but it is kind of lame that the hardware that comes with them doesn't just work for all bikes.

IF YOU ARE RIDING FIXED GEAR BE MINDFUL OF THE REAR FENDER AS THIS WILL PREVENT YOU FROM BEING ABLE TO REMOVE THE REAR WHEEL WHILE THE FENDER IS ON SINCE FIXED GEAR DROP OUTS ARE DIFFERENT THAN MOST GEARED BIKES (just don't get a flat).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by nolacx2
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
nice quality fenders

these were not the first set of fenders i set up for my bike. i have another brand i use when i have my 37's on the bike but i stepped up to 47-700c for comfort on the city streets of new orleans. like every "one size fits all" fenders off the shelf, some adjusting and cutting was involved....take he time to do it right and they will be easy to remove and put on as needed. fits very close to the tire and looks great...well made and a great value

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Milltown, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great fenders

Fenders do exactly what they are supposed to do, keep excess water / mud off of you and your bike. A bit difficult to install but worth it once they are in place. They are lightweight but seem like they will last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2020
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good value

Great product for a good value. Easy to install.

Bike Tire Direct's availability of products and speed of deliver with value is a great help.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland Rainlandia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
perfect

Great fenders, hella value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2018
by Rick
Da Bronx
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Rugged and easy to install.

These fenders are well built and easy to install...just take your time to install.

Put these over 35mm tire and installed as close to tire as possible and they look great. Very sturdy and dont rub.

Just give yourself atleast 10mm difference from tire size when ordering

And check fork and triangle clearance before ordering

Very happy with purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2017
by Hank the Crank
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent addition for the Fall riding season

I recently bought these SKS fenders to install on my bike because the Fall and Winter are pretty rainy here in the PNW. I found the fenders and the mounting hardware to be top quality and should be very durable.

The installation is not difficult but it requires test fitting the fenders and cutting the stays to match your particular bike. A hand saw or even better, a cutoff wheel in a drill or moto-tool works like a charm.

Once everything's mounted, they even have clever snap-in-place covers to protect the nuts and keep everything nice and tight.

I really can't imagine anything better and the price is very reasonable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2018
by Lavick
Daily Commuter
NYNJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good fender, hard to install

This fender works great once installed. I put the fender on a commuter city bike. It works well to keep rain off work clothes. It was a bit tough to install as I needed to adjust back and forth to center on wheel and did break one of the plastic clips while tightening. BTD was not helpful in getting me that part and manf is not in U.S. I made up the part in my shop but wasn't happy about doing so. BTD is typically more responsive!

Once installed it does work well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/4/2017
by amarrufo57
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
low cost, keeps you dry, for the most part

I only put these fenders on when its raining or the ground is wet outside. I take them off and put them back on pretty frequently and that's really simple to do. I don't like how the hardware that came with the fenders are threaded, they want to go in rough every time, I used different hardware to attach to my bike. also getting them set perfectly to fit on my bike was a pain as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 26

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]