Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Silca Synergetic Wet Chain Lube

SilcaSynergetic Wet Chain Lube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(7%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by dide

Reviewed 2/6/2024
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
If you're not going to use chain wax , use this .

Silca Synergetic Wet Chain Lube is what I use when I'm not using Silca SS drip wax .

I use this for my bikes that see less maintenance because of cold , wet , weather.

One application lasts for a very long time, and the chain runs quiet and smooth.

Just a quick wipe with a cloth at the end of each ride and the chain stays fairly clean .

Great product that does what it says on the label .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jericevans

Reviewed 1/23/2024
by jericevans
Competitive Racer
San Antonio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best chain lubricant I've used

Of all the chain lubes I've used, this is hands down the best. Easy to apply, easy to clean off, and keeps the chain quiet and smooth for a considerable time. It is expensive (the good stuff usually is), but given that you only need a little, and that it lasts so long, I believe it's still a good value.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GL

Reviewed 2/5/2024
by GL
Daily Commuter
Santa Rosa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far so good...

This lube is quite and so far so good, seems to last as long as others but only time will tell...

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim Gayden

Reviewed 12/5/2022
by Jim Gayden
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Silca Synergetic Wet Chain Lube

I haven't really used this Synergetic lube long enough to have a long term experience yet. But so far I really like it. I've tried several different types and brands of chain lubes over the years. When I was young and dumb I just used the lube that came with the chain until the chain, along with the entire drivetrain was warn out. Back then, when everything was simpler it seemed to work well enough. As technology advanced and I became more conscientious about the condition of my chain and the entire drivetrain my perspective has changed considerably. I ride many more miles in a year than I used to. I also like a cleaner drivetrain that doesn't wear out at the same rate as the chain. And I like a meticulously clean drivetrain. Turns out that it's relatively easy to keep your drivetrain meticulously clean. However, the tradeoff is a drivetrain that doesn't last long at all. Neither does a drivetrain that is heavily lubricated that isn't kept clean though. A heavily lubricated drivetrain picks up much dirty grit that wears them out relatively quickly. So finding a source of good lubrication that lasts and is easy to maintain is quite a trick. Many of the clean lubes won't even last for 50 miles if you want a meticulously clean drivetrain. But it's a ridiculous concept to have to clean and lube your chain during a ride. There are many lubes that are very similar to this type. Some last a little longer and others are just very poor lubes. Silca Synergetic seems to be the perfect compromise of staying reasonably clean and also being a reasonably long lasting lube. I haven't yet had the opportunity to try it on anything over about 90 miles yet. But I did do an 80 mile ride and then a 50 mile ride the following day without wiping the chain down between the 2 rides just to see how it did. It was beginning to feel a little bit under lubed during the last part of the 50 mile ride. But it really wasn't as bad as I feared it might be. I believe the reason for this is because it was still eliminating the lube that I had been using previously. Because I didn't want to bother doing a thorough cleaning between the old lube and the Synergetic. Since that time I have just wiped the chain down after every ride. If it was only a 30 mile ride I will go ahead and not lube again until after the next ride as long as I don't intend on doing a century. I have used it a few times on wet rides and it seems to hold up well in the rain and doesn't seem to become overly contaminated with grime. So I think that I will just wipe the chain after every ride and lube as needed. The way I will determine when it needs a re-lube is to just wipe my finger along the chain for a few links after wiping down to see how it feels.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TinNC

Reviewed 7/26/2023
by TinNC
Cycling Enthusiast
Coastal NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great wet chain lube!

My favorite wet chain lube. I degreased a new chain and applied Silca Synergetic. It's surprisingly quiet. Great performance on two recent bike tours, each greater than 300 miles with rain/sand/gravel. The dirty chain was simply rinsed with water and wiped with microfiber cloth. It continued to perform well in the wet/dirty riding conditions. I developed some chain noise after aprox 300 miles and reapplied. It's my favorite chain lube for bikepacking, touring, and commuting. I highly recommend and continue to use this product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Oaklandbiker

Reviewed 7/24/2023
by Oaklandbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good oil-based lube that lasts

I moved from Rock n Roll Gold which was not offering long-term protection of drive train parts. I happened across Silca's wax products, not my cup of tea, and discovered they also made this outstanding oil-based lube which has low friction results in testing. I wish the needle tip applicator was available still for the lube but it works out all right. One must be sure to wipe the chain after each ride given how dirt and dust likes to collect on a chain with this lube. But, the noisy drivetrain is gone and I can go a bit longer between reapplications. Price is high but you use less than you would with, say, Rock n Roll Gold.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/5/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Lasts at least twice as long as the cheap stuff

Pricey, but worth it. Quieter and cleaner chain than using just "whatever" wet lubes. Added bonus of needing fewer applications. Definitely make sure you shake well before applying because the additives sink to the bottom.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/18/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bloomfield, CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best lube yet.

This really works. No chain noise. Seems to reduce friction better than other lubricants I�ve used.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Reviewed 6/9/2023
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Smooth and Quiet

Best chain lube i've found- chain and drivetrain run smooth and I forget it's there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SWF Rider

Reviewed 4/28/2022
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Silky and quiet

I experienced a smoother and quieter ride using the Silca's Synergetic Wet Lube. I replaced my previous wet lube product. I did have to spend a few minutes swaying the bottle back and forth to get an even distribution of some suspended components of the lube. But the end product was better shifting drive train.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 7/13/2021
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Viera, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth and great for wet weather riding

The lube bottle applicator is the best I ever used and lets you put an even amount of chain lube across each link with no waste. It's a great product as I was hooked on paraffin wax based lubes, however, they were good for dry conditions and terrible in wet conditions. The Silca Synergetic Wet Chain Lube is perfect for all conditions and it provides a very smooth low friction protection for your chain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by George

Reviewed 6/18/2021
by George
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great, but

Smooth and durable. Makes things a little quieter and very durable. One application lasted more than 350 miles. The only downside, it is oil, so, don't expect perfectly clean chain. It runs dirty especially for the first few rides. Be prepared to clean your chain after every ride. Eventually, it gets better, but don't expect the same as you see from a dry lube, such as the Rock n roll Gold

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Martyn

Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Martyn
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
super smooth and durable performance oil that doesn't require a perfectly clean chain

Concentrated oil that goes on well and precisely with the included applicator - I can imagine this little bottle lasts for over a year of frequent (3 times +) per week riding and in all conditions - easy to wipe chain after a few hundred miles of one use then re-apply and go again. Bought it for smoothness , quiet drivetrain and (compared with wax lubes) very little maintenance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dalen

Reviewed 8/8/2022
by Dalen
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, Utah
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Super quiet lube that works

I've used many different lubes through the years for my road bikes. This is still an oil based lube but actually runs cleaner than most. The noticeable thing for me is how much quieter and smoother my drive train runs. I'm a fanatic about putting my bike on the stand and wiping it down after every ride. Included with this is a meticulous pampering of my chain. I tried the UFO wax formula and it seems to work for the 1st 5 to 10 miles before I can hear it wear off which brings to question whether the wax method really is lubing good. The bonus to the wax though is how clean it stays. In the dry dusty region of southern Utah where I ride the Silca Synergetic works great. I don't mind wiping it after every ride since that's a habit for me anyway. It's just that it is so noticeable how it really is working. Chain wear is negligible. I reapply after each 100 miles although I know I could go farther. Night and day difference between this lube and for example Rock n Roll Red or Gold. I'm sold and don't see changing for years to come. It seems more expensive per bottle but you use so little in the application that it lasts long too. If you are tired of the wax thing and aren't put off by wiping off your chain regularly then you just can't find a better lube in my opinion. Do you like a quiet drive train? Then, you better try it! Cheers and happy riding...!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]