FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Showers Pass Mens Pro-Tech ST Jacket

Showers PassMen's Pro-Tech ST Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(17%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/23/2015
by Father of 3 on MI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Is this the mythical mithril?

Light and shimmery; protects from rain without sacrificing breathability. I have enough layers to stay warm; I just need the liner to keep me dry. This product does keep you dry on the inside. Sure it's not perfect, but better than anything else I have tried in over 30 years of riding in the rain. I like that it is a thin membrane so it breathes moisture better than a shell with an breathable liner. Test will be to see how long it holds up commuting here in Seattle. So far so good!

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thumbs up to the Tolkien reference! Anna BTD
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2014
by pilotguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great rain jacket

I live in Vancouver, BC. We have two seasons summer and wet. I was looking for a good, lightweight and breathable rain shell that wouldn't overheat me for wet fall/winter/spring rides when paired with my standard long sleeve jersey base layer (depending on temps). This is it.

It keeps the rain out, and breathes enough that you can dress for the ride as if it were dry, without worrying about overheating in a sweat-sack.

Nice form-fit (albeit with very minor wind flapping on the arms), great construction and design. Love this thing. It's all I need for long, wet rides.

Sizing is good. I'm 5'11 170lbs and wear the large.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2018
by nor cal biker
Competitive Racer
Placerville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
functional tool for wet weather

This rain coat does the job. Easy to pack in jersey pocket and can be worn for long periods due to breathability of material. Great functionality at a reasonable price range.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2015
by cpreston
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
waterproof but expect a ton of sweat inside as well

I wanted to love this jacket. Love the fit and the light feel. And the packability. But unlike most of the other reviewers I literally had puddles of water build up in the arms after just 13 of my ride. It was a cool 45-50 degree day on 100 mile ride but by mile 30 I couldn't figure out why my gloves were wringing wet. Thought my water bottle had exploded. Then my other arm let loose with ounces of water. I was soaked and chilled.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2017
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect light weight rain protection.

I crashed and tore my first one on the shoulder.

Since it was a key part of my gear, I promptly bought another.

That says that I'd buy it again, right?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/5/2015
by jarhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Seatle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
light weight and easy to carry on or off the bike

I use this product mainly for cycling on days when it looks like I might get caught on the road. Folds up into the read pocket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2014
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
keeps you dry

Got caught in the rain at mile 15. Did 20 more miles without my top getting wet. Unfortunately, can't say the same about the bottom. Could be more packable but it does pack into its own back pocket nicely enough. Breathability is average. I did not get soaked inside from my own sweat but it was only 65 degrees or so that day. My ride however did include over 3300 ft of climbing so it wasnt necessarily an easy effort riding. Size is appropriate. I wear medium in just about every brand I tried and medium in this jacket leaves just enough looseness. Soft collar is a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2014
by Anonymous
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best piece of cycling clothing I have purchased in years

Light, easy to pack, seals great, breathes. Basically it does everything it claims and does it well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2013
by Metaphor_man
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Rain is inevitable, being wet is not...

My wife and I live in Seattle, it rains in Seattle, often. We ride bikes a lot. When you pair those two situations you end up riding in the rain, a lot. When you need a jacket because It looks like rain...Showers Pass provides an intelligent and practical solution. This rain jacket is light, breaths, and wraps up in its own back pocket. While these jackets are not inexpensive, they are a great value for what they provide. In addition, if you race, the jackets are highly opaque and your number and team colors are easily viewed through the jacket. We are on our second SP Pro-Tech jackets and they continue to improve the design. The latest design's material, zipper placement and design -especially for storage- is even better than previous models. A good jacket you will use often and be glad you made the purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2013
by Lola
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Not just best lightweight rain jacket, but best rain jacket... period.

This jacket isn't just for short rides or light rain. It works as well as my full-blown rain jacket. Maybe better, since it breaths so well. With a regular rain jacket (even my amazing Showers Pass Elite jacket), you get pretty wet from your own sweat on the inside. But with the Pro-Tech ST Jacket, you stay dry on the inside and the outside.

The fit is great too - form fitting so it doesn't flap around in the wind.

This jacket has become my 1 go to jacket for wet rides.

There is nothing I don't like about it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2013
by OnTheRoad4TheTrack
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Surprisingly breathable, easy to stow...

I had the Hincapie version of this coat, which was like riding in a terrarium when you wore it. It was time to replace that jacket so, since i needed something that can fit in a jersey pocket, I gave this jacket a try. It's worked-out great. The Showers Pass breaths enough to be comfortable, while retaining enough heat to be something a little more than just waterproof. I'm diggin' it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2018
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL
Overall Rating
Exactly what I wanted.

Just gave it four stars because its a little pricey. Its light enough that it can be folded to your jersey pocket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2017
by Anonymous
Portland OR
Overall Rating
Very packable

It is not super waterproof, and if you ride hard you will sweat because it is not that well ventilated.

It is about the best balance of waterproof, ventilation, and packability I have used though, so when you need a little protection on a ride and the weather doesn't require a full on rain shell this is a good option.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2017
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Overall Rating
Great ventilation, fit, and features

Cycling Spring, Summer, Fall so the jersey shows. Have not found anything wrong with this item.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Packable Rain Insurance

I have a boatload of jackets, one for just about every situation. This jacket is the one I use when rain is possible, but I don't expect bitter cold.

My buds call it the shower curtain, but let me tell you ... it is completely waterproof and windproof. It has saved my rear end on more than a few rainy days. It is also remarkably breathable. With the double zipper and velcroed cuffs, it can be reasonably well ventilated too ... even without pit zips.

This is not a workhorse jacket you wear every day. The material is gossamer thin (one of the reasons it is so packable), and it probably would not last. But for totally packable rain insurance, it's hard to beat.

One criticism is the choice of color. I appreciate that the material itself is clear ... that allows your jersey to be seen underneath. But what little cloth material there is on this jacket is white ... and white is no bueno for a jacket that is going to be used in the rain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/4/2014
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Dry, warm, windpfroof!

Bought this for chilly wet days...50 degrees and cooler, down to the forties. First used descending The Galibier and then Alp d'Huez. What more is there to say...it works and is super light weight and stuffs into it's own self contained mesh bag and fits into jersey pocket easily. Only gave 4 stars because the inner collar material is white and is off color after 3 uses. But still, at Cyclocross.com price, NO complaints!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/2/2013
by Bob Macleod
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston Ma
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best rain gear ever

Highly effective and compacts to fit easily in rear shirt pocket. Highly effective in sudden rain showers experienced in Hawaii plus also excellent windbreaker.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Mountains
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome jacket, I had to buy my wife one because she was always stealing mine.

The Pro-Tech is a very effective rain jacket and packs up so small that I don't hesitate taking it on a ride. My other jacket is bulky enough in my jersey pocket that I often leave it behind thinking maybe it won't rain(or snow). It's been used in rain and sleet in the mountains of Colorado and has saved a few rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.