Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Shimano WH-RS500 Tubeless Wheelset

ShimanoWH-RS500 Tubeless Wheelset(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(8)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(60%)
(23%)
(9%)
(6%)
(3%)
Reviewed 7/27/2021
by kevsy
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas, Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very Happy With This Wheelset

I got this wheel set after the back wheel on my newer Kestrel bike cracked. These wheels were so superior to the stock wheels, that I decided to buy a second set for my older Kestrel bike. The ride on both bikes has improved markedly. My local bike mechanic was even impressed with the quality. My wife and I ride daily, so these wheel sets were definitely a good investment. Also, delivery was prompt and all my questions as to the technical specifications were answered quickly and clearly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Chris Faino
Cycling Enthusiast
Philly , Pa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Reading reviews make me uncertain of their performance.

I bought these wheels because they were on sale and I had good experiences with Shimano products.

When reading the reviews, I see mixed ratings. Some say they are great and then some say they had trouble with this wheelset. So what reviewers should I believe. I just got the wheelset so I have no miles in them yet.

All I can say is, they came in great condition, wheels run true and I hope the hubs live up to its name. When installing the tires, they were so hard to get on. I broke a tire lever. I'm running them with a tube so I'm not going tubeless. If I get a flat on the road, I'm worired on how much trouble I'll have getting the old tube out and the new tube back in. On my personal opinion, the front wheel has only 16 spokes. I'm worried how stable it is with just 16 spokes. With the rim shimano in using, it should have about 20 spokes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
A win for BikeTiresDirect customer service!

I love Shimano groupsets, and I had a good experience with a pair of entry-level WH-R501s some years ago, so I was really excited to find an Ultegra-level Shimano wheelset for less than $300! Unfortunately, I found the RS-500s to be very flexy on the road, and didn't perform as well on descents as my $200 entry-level Fulcrum wheelset. Also, on a fast descent, I hit a small piece of road debris that I never did see, and ended up with a sizable gouge in the rim! I've hit much bigger pieces of debris with cheaper wheels and have never experienced such damage before. I don't think this wheelset lives up to the Ultegra name.

Fortunately, I was able to sell the Shimano wheelset, and the customer support staff at BikeTiresDirect helped me find a good deal on a pair of Easton EA70s, which vastly outperform the Shimano WH-RS500 set. Thanks, BikeTiresDirect!

I recommend either spending $150 for the bomproof (if a little heavy) WH-RS501 wheelset, or going upmarket and spending the the extra money for the Eastons, which weigh the same as the RS500s, but are much better wheels.

httpswww.biketiresdirect.comproductshimano-wh-r501-clincher-wheelset

httpswww.biketiresdirect.comproducteaston-ea70-wheelset

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great value

Best value for the money. Good price for the weight. Best bang for the buck for rim brakes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid, durable wheels!

I bought this wheelset to replace my Mavic Ksyrium wheelset. After a year of riding with the Mavics, the back wheel became very 'sticky'-it just didn't spin well anymore. I had several technicians service it (clean out the hub, re-lube), but it remained 'sticky'. I also was not very impressed by the durability of the Mavics. I have been riding these Shimano wheels for a few months, and I love them. They may not be the lightest wheelset around, but they are certainly durable (durability is more important to me than weight where I ride, as the pavement has potholes and is uneven in many places). Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2021
by drosen32
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great set of wheels

I needed new wheels as my original wheels on my Trek died out and were causing shifting issues. I had the new wheels set up at my local shop and it's been smooth saiing since. I'm glad I asked BTD for their recommendation, as it was certainly the right choice. The price didn't break the bank, to boot! The wheels roll very nicely and they're trued to perfection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great affordable upgrade

Good upgrade from the substandard wheelsets equipped on most bikes. Lightweight, bomb proof, and good looking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/9/2020
by old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Reeders PA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
smooth and fast wheels.

I don't have many miles on them yet, but so far they feel good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2021
by CycologistofNH
Cycling Enthusiast
Weare, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Light, Cheap, Stiff, and Perfect

Great wheelset!

Was doing an Ultegra upgrade and it matched the drivetrain perfectly. Very light, stiff and doesn't break the bank.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2019
by Matias
North Augusta
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Wheelset

Very nice wheelset. Have ridden approximately 500 miles and no issues to report. They are strong and accelerate well.

Very happy with my purchase.

Thank you Biketiresdirect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2019
by BR
Southern US
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great wheels

Wheels are light and fast- run them tubed- came true and straight

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by frosty
Tennessee
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The best wheel value out there

These are pretty much the best deal out there if you want a slight upgrade from your stock 11 speed wheels. Surprisingly light, tubeless compatibility, smooth hubs, and unquestionable Shimano reliability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesa , AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Good w11 speed wheels

We do road ride every day around 30 miles. Love the rim till it is time to fix a flat. We still use tubes so it is extremely hard to break the bead after it snaps in. You will hear it snap in when you inflate the tire. Need to find a fix for this problem.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2019
by Lisa Lipe
Reno Nv
Overall Rating
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Quality sucks!

Both hubs came egged shaped and both wheels out of true by a mile. Took these to a wheel builder to see if it was worth keeping them and he said hell no. The hoops could never be round with these below quality hubs. These have got to be factory seconds as Ive never seen this quality from Shimano.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2019
by USO
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
nice wheels

love shimanos quality and their ball bearings, though the wheels are a bit heavy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Bill
Casual Cyclist
West Cola.S C
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
affordable wheels

these are a decent set of wheels for the price, light and good looking . The only drawback is they have some wheel chatter

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2020
by Waterford
Texas
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Riding

Priced them out. They were lowest of the competition. Delivery was timely. Good quality. Rolls great and look sharp.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by Waterford
Texas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Riding

Priced them out. They were lowest of the competition. Delivery was timely. Good quality. Rolls great and look sharp.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by ndmhxc
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great wheelset for the price

Had a set of these before they rebranded them from Ultegra to the RS500. I ended up tacoing the front wheel in a sweet maneuver and had to replace the wheelset.

These are great quality. Excellent weight to price ratio, and as I mostly ride these on gravel, good durability too! So far at least.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/9/2018
by JCTuscaloosa
Casual Cyclist
Tuscaloosa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.
Seems Unquestionably the Best Choice for Me

I've had these now for a few months and probably have 500 or so miles on them consisting of several 25-ish mile rides and a few 50 miles rides. I've had no problems with them. They are smooth, fast, and attractive. I would have never believed that wheels, particularly at this price, would have an appreciable effect on my speed. But then there I was, looking down at the computer, ride after ride, until I became convinced that I had picked up 1-2mph. And the old wheels weren't particularly heavy!

There are lighter and faster wheels but get to a significantly better wheel, you would probably need to double the price and then some.

So, if you are a casual rider who needs to replace their wheels and wouldn't mind a modest increase in performance, get these instead of the bargain basement wheels. If you have an entry-midlevel bike with stock 2000 gram wheels, this would be a sensible upgrade (and weight saver) for those without unlimited budgets.

The hub is quiet-ish, not silent, but not annoying.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 92

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]