Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano Ultegra SM-BBR60 Bottom Bracket Cups

ShimanoUltegra SM-BBR60 Bottom Bracket Cups(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(59%)
(41%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by jeff

Reviewed 9/25/2023
by jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
quality part

I use this bottom bracket on my bikes with shimano hollowtech cranks. Never had an issue with it. It's light and still pretty cheap. One of those products you can install and forget about.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Johnny Sak

Reviewed 11/14/2022
by Johnny Sak
Competitive Racer
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect BB for Ultegra cranks

A threaded bottom bracket is a thing of beauty and this one did not disappoint. Lightweight, clean, and precise -- everything you'd expect from Shimano. This one went smoothly into my Surly Straggler, allowing me to re-purpose an Ultegra groupset for an all-steel, all-terrain ride. My only complaint was that it required yet another BB tool to install it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 6/8/2014
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
19 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Improvement over old version

I replaced my old Ultegra bottom bracket with this new 6800 version. There was substantial engineering effort put into this to decrease the drag from the seals. It's noticeably smoother and easier to pedal.

Do note that Shimano now has three different sizes of bottom brackets so you'll need the right tool for each. DA 9000 is the smallest in diameter, then Ultegra then 105 and none of them are the same size as the old outer diameter. Shimano includes a plastic adaptor with each bottom bracket to fit the old size Shimano tools (from Park or others). However, when you try and torque it down to the required 35nm or so, it's very easy to strip the plastic adaptor. Plan on getting the right tool ASAP. For this bottom bracket the right tool from Park Tool is the BBT-59.

Anyhow, this is a great deal in a BB in terms of cost and performance.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

You are correct, these require the proper size tool adapter, which Shimano includes with their bottom bracket cups. We strongly suggest using great care and a high quality torque wrench to ensure proper care for the bottom bracket cups and the included tool adapter. Thanks for your feedback. -Thomas
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 6speed

Reviewed 8/19/2021
by 6speed
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Cheap, lightweight, low friction

You can have it in any color you want, as long as it's black. The threads are not very robust, so make sure your BB is perfectly clean so you don't have to use any effort to thread it in. The seals look pretty effective, but probably not on par with a sealed cartridge. It seems pretty straightforward to set the preload, but the smallest change can make a noticeable difference in resistance when spinning the crankset by hand (and with no chain).

That's the end of the bad news. Otherwise, it is really lightweight and it feels like there is zero friction when you have it dialed in. Oh, and it's super cheap compared to any of the sexier options out there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mtdavidmt

Reviewed 6/11/2019
by mtdavidmt
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbia Falls, mt
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works Well, easy to install

I am a fan of this style BB and wish all of my bikes had a threaded shell. Simple, straightforward installation, and quite economical. This is a noticeable upgrade to the previous 6700 BB that had a lot of bearing tension on the spindle, this unit spins much easier. I would give 4 stars but that durability was an issue previously and unknown with this new unit. However, with the reduced bearing tension I do expect that it will last much longer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris A

Reviewed 9/20/2018
by Chris A
Competitive Racer
San Francisco, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It works great and looks great

This shimano bottom bracket simply works, and looks great. Even comes pre-greased at the bearing interface, ready for you to install your crankset.

I had similar issues with the tool adapter, specifically using it with the park tool BB total. it was a tight fit tool-to-tool, but it works. In contrast to other review, I was able to get it plenty tight by being careful.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/16/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
This BB doesn't come with a TLFC installation tool

Numerous comments talk about an included tool to help with the bottom bracket install. The part I received, SM-BBR60B, says "SMBBR60 BC137 W/O TLFC", and does not include any installation tool. I have a Park Tool BBT-59.2, which is the correct tool for installation, so it's not a show stopper for me ... but might be for someone else if you're expecting an installation tool to be included.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/29/2015
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Proper Tool

BBT-59 is the installation tool to use. Shimano's included tool strips out before the BB is torqued properly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FFA rider

Reviewed 9/3/2021
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light and Simple

It's a lightweight product and does the job well for some years. Easy to replace.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tommy

Reviewed 10/19/2018
by tommy
Cycling Enthusiast
oklahoma city, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
replacing a worn out bottom bracket on my Felt

replaced the worn out bottom bracket on my Felt. Price was great and it was shipped in a timely manner.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kevlar_heart

Reviewed 8/4/2018
by kevlar_heart
Cycling Enthusiast
White Plains, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid Bottom Bracket Upgrade

Upgraded my Specialized Roubaix SL4 Sport to all 105. This BB paired easily with the 105 crankset. Easy to install. Ove 1000 miles and no issues

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PrimalChief

Reviewed 5/10/2021
by PrimalChief
Competitive Racer
Austin, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Frame rebuild

I bought this to rebuild a road frame for use on my Wahoo Kickr. It's been low maintenance and reliable with an older Dura-Ace crank set.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by G Silver

Reviewed 4/16/2018
by G Silver
Walla Walla WA
Overall Rating
Shipping was fast, product fit perfect, 100% satisfies, as always! Will definitely keep ordering all my parts from BTD! Your the best!

Shipping was fast, product fit perfect, 100% satisfies, as always! Will definitely keep ordering all my parts from BTD! Your the best!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tmyoung

Reviewed 11/19/2021
by tmyoung
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Keeps my cranks spinning

This bottom brackets works great. Excellent performance for the price. Be forewarned, that noise that you think is the bottom bracket might actually be chainring bolts, or your seat post, or....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/26/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Overall Rating
Great value

Not a Chris King, but for the price, does what is should.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Anonymous
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Perfect fit

Once I was able to determine which bottom bracket to order this was a perfect fit. The instructions and the included adapter tool made installation very straightforward.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Carlascio

Reviewed 5/2/2019
by Carlascio
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho
Overall Rating
Light, smooth and easy to install

Bought this to replace my 5 year old bottom bracket on my Bianchi. This bracket is very reasonably priced, it's light and easy to install.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]