Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Shimano SM-SH51 SPD Replacement Cleats

ShimanoSM-SH51 SPD Replacement Cleats(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(38)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(93%)
(7%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/19/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Upgrade from SH-56

Previously I had used the SH-56 multi-release cleats, but had encountered instances of coming unclipped when I didn't intend to. Was buying new shoes and decided to try the SH-51 cleats this time. The connection feels much more secure than the multi-release version, but still easy enough to clip in/out.

If you're new to clipless or commuting with a lot of stop-and-go then SH-56 might be better, but otherwise I would recommend the SH-51.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DrumEmpo

Reviewed 1/9/2023
by DrumEmpo
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Charles, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Locked & Loaded

These cleats were the final component needed for my new shoes. Needless to say, these cleats clip in and release when needed. I would recommend these anyone looking to upgrade their current cleats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JB

Reviewed 6/12/2023
by JB
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ya get what ya get, no reason to throw a fit.

Replacement cleats, you get exactly what you pay for. No surprises or fancy thrills, just what you order. There's nothing to dislike in my opnion.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/30/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great price

These are the only brand of cleat I use. The price I got it for on Bike Tires Direct made it even better.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rainman

Reviewed 1/14/2023
by Rainman
Cycling Enthusiast
Camarillo, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Work Great and the are Long Lasting

These work well and last a long time. Shimano makes good stuff.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Reviewed 1/26/2017
by Chris
Competitive Racer
AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
bullet proof

these cleats have never failed over the years....Just wear out occasionally

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by anonymous

Reviewed 1/14/2021
by anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very effective SPD clips

I have these cleats attached to my Shimano winter biking boots. Very effectively, no unexpectedly sliding around with the pedals & no problems having them get stuck in place when I stop at lights. So no fear of falling over (because of cleats & bike shoes in any case.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ZBeast

Reviewed 5/7/2015
by ZBeast
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to install, work great

No complaints. I don't know how long they will last but they seem to be holding up better than the cleats I used when I had Crankbrothers eggbeaters. I put them on my Lake Boots and on my Sidi Mtn Bike shoes in about 10 minutes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by el scotto

Reviewed 2/13/2015
by el scotto
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Cleated

Each time I get a new pair of cycling shoes, new cleats get installed. They are cheap, and get the job done. I am tired of messing with my old used cleats- usually the bolts are all janky and gunked, thus the reason it's nice to install new ones.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TexasBigD

Reviewed 1/22/2015
by TexasBigD
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great Cleat

This is my first choice for a SPD cleat.

Universal, basic, and great performance.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/3/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They work great

The cleats are doing there job.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Cleats

Easy to install

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paula C

Reviewed 9/27/2021
by Paula C
North carolina
Overall Rating
Great with the Shimano SH-SD501 Cycling Sandal

I bought these to use with my cycling sandals and they were easy to attach and they worked very well! The service was great and shipping was quick

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/2/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Shimano quality. Enough said.

Mostly indoor spinning, but occasional trail riding.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CAPTAIN

Reviewed 10/5/2018
by CAPTAIN
Cycling Enthusiast
ILLINOIS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
GOLD STANDARD!!!

IN THE WORLD OF CYCLING THE SKY'S THE LIMIT IN ALL CATAGORIES OF COMPONENTRY BUT THESE LITTLE BEAUTIES ARE IN MY OPINION THE BEST A CYCLIST CAN GET. I DO A LOT OF COMMUTING, TOURING AND EVERYTHING UNGER THE SUN ON MY BIKES AND I NEED TO BE ABLE TO WALK AROUND WHEN I'M OUT AND ABOUT. MTB SHOES GIVE ME 95% OF THE PERFORMANCE THAT ROAD SHOES OFFER AND A GOOD 500% MORE COMFORT OVER ROAD SHOES. I HAVE A FEW BIKES ALL OF WHICH COST OVER FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS BUT I ALWAYS USE MTB SHES FOR COMFORT. I LIKE SHIMANO XTR TRAIL PEDALS AND HAVE THEM ON ALL MY BIKES. UNLESS YOUR A PRO RIDER ROAD SHOES AREN'T NECCESSARY IN MY HUMBLE OPINION. THESE ARE CHEAP CLEATS AND WORK EVERY TIME, BIG FAN OF THEM!!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Motmot128

Reviewed 6/7/2021
by Motmot128
Cycling Enthusiast
GA-ALA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Have about 70,000 miles on SPD cleats.

When they wear out, just change them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Robert

Reviewed 7/22/2018
by Robert
W
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These cleats work

Easy to install and they work. I expect they will work 20 years like the last ones.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/11/2018
by Anonymous
Wine Country
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Meet the Requirements

They're Shimano cleats and they work perfectly with my old road SPD pedals. The price was right and the delivery was quick. What more needs to be said?

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/4/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfectly functional, as expected, as a reasonable price.

No surprises...just a good, solid cleat for mountain riders.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/5/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
They are the only option

These work just like they should.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 76

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]