Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Shimano SH-RX800 Gravel Racing Shoe

ShimanoSH-RX800 Gravel Racing Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(7)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(77%)
(16%)
(5%)
(2%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic shoes

I use these shoes for MTB and Gravel. Very comfortable and cool looking. Can't wait to put them to the test for a hundred mile event!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Nick M
Woodland, Wa
Overall Rating
New Shoes

Purchased the Shimano SH-RX800 on recommendation from biketiresdirect.

Fit nice and snug when I first put them on. Initial rides were on the trainer and I didn't like the shoes too much. I experienced some pain on the top of my foot and thought about returning the shoes.

On my first ride outside on the bike the shoes felt a whole lot better. Since then I have not had any additional issues with the shoes on rides from an hour to 2.5 hrs.

From my experience, I had to suffer through a short uncomfortable period of breaking in the shoes. That being said I am happy now that the shoes have softened up but still fit snug and provide a stiff sole for pedaling efficiency.

It's a nice replacement from the older Specialized MTB Pro shoes that I had used forever.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Topeka, Ks
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A light, stiff, and comfortable gravel shoe

I updgraded to this shoe from a cheaper, plastic sole velcro strap gravel shoe the Shimano XC1 . The fit provides good arch support and I didn't need the provided inserts. I bought a 43. I'm a US 10, and I usually go one notch lower in shoe size for my cycling shoes. 43 is a happy medium between too tight for thick wool socks, and too lose during summer grinders. The single boa is plenty on my top-foot to cinch it down. The bottom velcro piece, is pretty much cosmetic as it does little to tighten the forefoot. All around I'm happy with this shoe after 400 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
The perfect gravel shoe

Fits like my other Shimano shoes. Only complaint is how stiff the tongue can be at times, but even so it's not a big deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/4/2021
by Bamboozle
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent lightweight walkable shoes!

I use these on my fixed gear and road bike on SPD pedals. I often get off and walk around with my shoes and these make it much easier to do so than traditional road-oriented shoes. I upgraded from old heavy MTB shoes and what a positive difference to power delivery and efficiency with the stiff sole and lightweight package (half the weight of my previous shoes)! The BOA system works really well and can't imagine going back to full velcro straps.

Excellent product by Shimano!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2021
by Shillz
Midwest
Overall Rating
Great road/gravel/mtb shoe

These shoes fit great, and are extremely comfortable when riding either gravel, road, cx or whatever.

Light, stiff, plenty of room. I also have the new S-Phyre shoes, and these are surprisingly a bit more comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by sjh
Competitive Racer
KC Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shoes

Shoes fit like glove and are very comfortable, light weight, and stiff. I wear a 46 in Bonts and Lakes and the 46 in Shimano fit well. I have narrow heel and relatively wide forefoot. The heel fits well and doesn't slip around. I like the closure as it provides an even pressure across the top of my foot and I can snug it up without causing any numbness or hot spots on my feet. Adequate room around my toes. Would recommend going up a half size if you need to wear winter socks. For me the tread is just right for gravel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by GorgeRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
White Salmon, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent All-Road Shoes, single-BOA simplicity. My go-to all-road shoe now too.

I needed a new pair of road shoes. These are very well built and well designed. The single BOA works without over-binding on my foot. I am an in-between size usually a 12 (11 34) so I end up in 46.5 or 47's . Many don't come in 12 sizes so on this me and my narrow feet went up to 47, and got the silver camo a fun color pattern option (black bike shoes are so bleh). The fit for my tween-size gives a tiny 14 extra room length-wise and width is roomy, but I have narrow feet, some may not like that room. It works well to be able to layer a 2nd pair of mid-weight wool socks for winter under shoe covers. The binding is super gradual and magically hugs your foot more toward the upper half, but foot shape like plays in here. I have found there is a slight break-in occurring and I'm comfortable increasing tension to very snughammer-time tension. I have a medium arch so stock insoles work perfect without the added high-arch ones needed. The BOA binding then snugs you into the nicely padded heal cup and damn, they fit so good. The sole is super stiff, walk-able when you need to. I am now riding these for everything, road, dirt, gravel. They are flat out the best bike shoes I've ever owned riding 35yrs. The one feature a little non-functional is the toe velcro adjust, I would like to narrow things up a bit more but the adjust-ability there is minimal then the small strap doesn't really have much velcro to grab hold with, but I got a 14 maybe so enough, but a little more would be nice. Also I've had some warm days recently and can confirm these breath nicely with my slightly roomy fit. I saw a review where someone claimed they didn't breath, but could be a case of too snug a fit or a fatwide foot blocking all the vent holes. Get fit for a little toe-box room and not too small and you're in business. I ride a big mix of roads and have pavedgravel all-road options all day long in the Col. R. Gorge (WA side). I also ride lone-ranger 99.9% of the time, and shoes I can walk in without sub-par pontoons adapted for SPD was a must-have, you could need a long-walk to cell signal or to get found somewhere paved or not. With 3 all-road bikes and 1 road bike I shifted to SPD pedalscleats after 30yrs on Look pedals for a decent all-road option. I have some decent Shimano Torbal's that are great low-price shoes and other mid-range shoes over the years, even SIDI, Diadora. These shoes I scored on a killer Christmas sale for more than 2x less than some SIDI's I wouldn't trade them for, not for overpriced $400-$500 shoes. I did not like the SIDIs I had years ago, not enough bang for the buck. When Shimano pops out some new colors, I'm coming back for another pair ) ..... Outstanding shoes, road shoes you can walk in. I'm a total SPD convert

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2021
by Sheriff
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fits true to size and the foot bed is comfortable

Love the Boa lacing system, cinching in the middle of a ride is easy as just reaching down and giving the knob a twist.

Plus Boa has a great part replacement warranty program on their website for when the dials or lace wear out. These shoes are much better then the Specialized S Works Recon pair I bought at > twice the price.

Nice looking, lightweight shoe at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by motorhead
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent shoe

Very comfortable. The single boa works well and produces even pressure. Weight of my size 45 is 604g for the pair without cleats. The stiff sole doesn't cause an issue when walking; it seems about the same as my previous shoes. The shape of the rubber pads on the shoe match the shape of my Shimano M8020 XT pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Jbcc
Competitive Racer
South tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light shoe

I really like these shoes. Great fit , lightweight and look good. Here are the cons: hard to get on, the boa straps are not real smooth when releasing and a little hard to get off. The cons are all about their convenience but once they are on and you are riding they are a great shoe. I have a pair of s-phire road shoe and they have a similar fit but not quite the quality, but hey they are half the price. Performance wise they are on the level of the s-phire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Amazing shoe, light and comfortable

Love these shoes. Super lightweight and extremely stiff. I use them for both road riding and gravel. I have generally wide feet and these fit way more comfortable compared to Fizik and Giro for me. The velcro is a little useless and I wish it had two boas, but honestly these fit down snug fine.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/21/2020
by Jeff
Competitive Racer
Los Angeles CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great gravel shoe

hard to beat Shimano for the wide footed amongst us, and wear your kicks to the disco? Priceless.

Great stiffness and comfort without the heavy duty treat of a MTB shoe. You should be dancing, yeah.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/16/2020
by surfnjmatt
Competitive Racer
Ocean City, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Better if they had half sizes

whish they had half sizes, I am an 11 and size 46 is to big and places the cleat to far forward and the 45 is to small. Will try the MTB show in 45.5

Also the front strap is useless and does not allow you to snug down on the front of foot

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great look, feel and performance

Looks great, fits very well. I've been wearing Shimano's higher end MTB shoes in size 44 for decades and it's sizing for me has always been spot on.

Very stiff sole for power transfer. The outsole lugs are narrower than those of a MTB shoe so they felt a little wabbly when you first walk in them, but you get used to it and it's no longer noticeable. It doesn't matter much though since you'll likely be pedaling way more than walking.

The fit was a bit snug at first but ended up breaking in nicely. Also getting in them at first was also a bit of a pain, but now that they are broken in it's pretty easy (just undo the BOA all the way). The BOA adjustment is awesome, very snug. I have yet to retighten mid-ride.

I use these for MTB and road (yes, I use MTB pedals on my road bikes). "Gravel" seems like a gimmicky trend to me, but I'm sure these are more than fine for whatever "gravel" riding really means. Liked these so much that I bought a second pair when they went on sale.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2020
by Duckberry
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great gravel and dirt road shoe

Stiff, comfortable, and light. This is more like a high end road shoe than a MTB shoe. The full carbon sole puts the power down, and the single boa dial makes it easy to tighten the shoe. The velcro strap is fairly worthless, imo, but otherwise the shoe is prefect. My favorite road shoes was a pair of R220 shoes with wht cat tongue heel. They were perfect, and size 46.5 fit great. I usually wear a size 12 US shoe, and got these in 47 thinking I needed extra room in the winter with heavier wool socks. In retrospect I probably could have gotten a 46.5 and been fine....what a great deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I love these shoes

I have worn Sidi for many, many years. I held off ordering the Shimano RX800 for months. I'm so glad I decided to give them a try. Very light weight, nice secure fit and a great looking shoe. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Yes!!

For my gravel bike I Wanted the exact feel as my road / 3 bolt S-Phyres, but not wanting to spend 400 on the xc9. In same size, These fit just a tiny bit roomier in toe box than my road s-phyres - excellent. Even with the single boa It's still the similar glove like fit as the s-phyre- super light and stiff but perfectly comfortable. For the gravel riding I do these are perfect. My only wonder is how long the tread lugs will last.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MarinMoab
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe.

I use the shoes for gravel and road riding. They are light stiff and comfortable. They would be great for MTB as well but perhaps not on slickrock.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/19/2020
by BV
Tucson
Overall Rating
Very light, ideal for cc and high value

Bought this purely as a cross country shoe....lighter and cheaper than top line cc billed ones. Impressed with overall quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 41